728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Freestanding Stoves or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

The Englander 2,200 sq. ft. Wood Stove burns a super-clean 1.63 grams of emissions and is EPA certified. Its hefty 3.5 cu. ft. firebox can take logs up to 20 in. long, and it can heat up to 2,200 sq. ft. of living area. It has a rear heat shield and a large ash pan for convenience. Side heat shields (not included) may be added for even closer clearance to combustibles.
Overall rating:
4.534 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product91 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(20)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product91 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Review 1 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from harford county, md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stove

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my wife and I sat down and compared the Englander and a competing model from Lowes, we looked at all the pros and cons and found the Englander had a 3.5 square feet box, compared to the 1.5 at Lowes. Also the Englander is made in Virginia and the other in Canada. Once we installed it, we ran a fire for 12 hours on Thanksgiving. This brought our house up to 81 degrees while the outside temp was in the 30's. The next morning it was still 60 degrees in the room. It also comes with a blower, which circulates the warm air off of the unit. A fire was easy to start in the unit. The only negative is it weighs 475 pounds, so bring 3 friends.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, sturdy large box made in usa
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Long lasting, hot fire-fast!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this stove! We heat a 2000 sq ft house with this stove. After more than 10 hours, there are still plenty of coals to start a fire - a fire that starts up fast and hot so there's no "cool" time while we wait for warmth. Stove takes wood sideways or front to back and has a huge firebox. Our only advice is to buy a stove glove with long sleeves because sometimes there are too many coals and they will be very hot. And buy an ash bucket, too. We couldn't be happier with this stove. Efficiency, heating capacity and firebox match all the top stove makers. Can't believe any of the more expensive stoves could do a better job. And the box made a great fort for our granddaughter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good capacity.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this stove as primary heat source for three years now. I start burning in late November and keep a fire going 24/7 until april. This stove has no problem heating my 2500 sq ft W Michigan home with the aid of the AC-30 blower. Stove is located in finish basement and have thru vents in floor to heat entire home. I load up at night and plenty of hot coals in the am. The stove is very durable and finish is still in great shape.
Advice: If you want to maintain good finish do not let anything touch it when its hot. Keep off the kettle of hot water (you will get a rust ring) buy a humidifier.
First few burns you will need to have windows open and keep the fire small.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very efficient

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love being able to see the flames. The glass is nice and large. It is very efficient. Our heat pump has come on only twice since we bought this stove. It was great having heat even with the electric off during the ice storm. The damper makes it possible to control the burn. I have even had a pot of stew cooking on the top. The blower distributes the heat to make it even more efficient. It gives even heat. Really appreciate having this stove.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from east stroudsburg pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a nearly perfect stove

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stove about a month ago and have used it nearly every day since then and it has been a delight. The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that the ash pan is a little to small, the ash plug could be bigger as well - or have a small grate that can be covered. Also the blower is noisy and does not move enough air. Bought one of these stove top eco-fans which are noiseless and move the air very well without electricity. The stove burns well the window wash works well as long as you don't reduce the airflow too much. In other reviews I read about issues with the air draft but figured out quite quickly that you have to make sure the ashes are removed from the ash plug because this is where the stove gets the fresh air and it works very well after you have established a good burning fire. Have a 3000 sf home with 20 feet high ceiling in the second floor, however have the stove located in the first floor and only the staircase is open. If I have a good fire burning it will heat most of the home without any additional heat for a couple of hours with outside temperature around 30 degrees.
Ideal would be also if you could remove the heat shield in the back since I have a masonry wall which can store the heat quite well. It takes now longer to get it warm but after several hours it will get up to about 110 degree. But overall for the price this is a heck of a stove. This is my 4th steel/cast iron stove I had and by far the best with the exception of the Austrian Kachelofen we had in my grand parents house. But you cannot compare this since this is a masonry stove which has to be custom installed and can take easily 10-20 grant out of your pocket and you have to have it custom installed and so far it has not been available in the US
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stove For The Money

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got a good deal on this stove. Just completed my first overnight burn. Very efficient and really throws the heat. Huge firebox (double my old stove), so very easy to get long burn times. Please be aware that this stove requires a R1.5 hearth protector (minimum size 39" x 52.5"). I built a raised hearth from 3" steel tubing, 1/2" Micore, 1" Durock, and stone tile. I built the wall protection from 1" of Durock (spaced 1" off the wall), and stone tile that matches the base. Looks good, and the air flow (that goes under the stove and up the wall), adds another layer of protection.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from New Era MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent stove

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been burning wood since the early 80s. Owned various TSC stoves, 3 add ons, two Peacocks, two Quadra fire, and a Jotul. I researched all the name brand stoves and chose this Englander 30-NC. This is the best stove I have ever owned. I love the big firebox. If you have a stove with a small firebox you have to split your wood into toothpicks. This stove will take a huge chunk or several smaller pieces. The ash and coals take up a portion of the floor so the fire box on this stove is nice. The stove heats very efficiently. Built a hearth and installed this stove on my porch with cement floors. From the porch you walk into the kitchen. I am not using any fans to move the heat. I do not even use the blower on the stove. Just radiant heat going through a passage door and the kitchen was 94 and the very back bedroom was 80 degrees. It is so nice to be warm and not worry about the cost of propane or kerosene. Wood heat is a radiant heat that warms you unlike anything else. I love this stove. The efficency, operation and draft on this stove is perfect. I have no complaints and would not change one thing on this stove. It is built stronger than the more expensive competitor brands. The door works great, it is a nice looking stove and i plan to purchase another one for my pole barn. I compared this to Quadra Fire, Lennox, Pacific Energy, Lopi, and Jotul and I am very satisfied because this stove works just at good or better at one third the cost. Performance is perfect, quality excellent, and it is very strong and durable. The staff at Home Depot were exceptionally helpful. They had four guys carry this into my trailer and then helped me secure it. Great customer service. Thank you Home Depot and Englander Thank you Englander for providing such a quality stove at a reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Brighton, IL 62012, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Big Stove

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful stove that truly pumps out the heat. Load the huge 3.5 cu/ft firebox full and it will give you 12-15 hours between reloads. We are heating our 2400 sq/ft home comfortably with the Englander 30.
Englander is also well-known for their quality and helpful tech support and customer service.
Home Depot handled my order perfectly ... and the stove was delivered to my home in 7 days and in perfect condition.
Couldn't be happier with my purchase from England Stove Works ... and with Home Depot's handling of my order.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the stove!!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought stove to replace a Riteway 37 due to age and clearance to combustible concerns. I couldn't be happier with the large viewing window and heat output. Stove is in our basement family room and heats main floor and upstairs bedrooms nicely. Burns all night with enough hot coals to easily fire up in the am. I have only used for a little over 2 months and am very pleased with its performance. I'm looking forward to stocking up on wood soon to be prepared for next winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After comparing the prices of the most expensive NC stoves to this price, I decided to try the least expensive Englander stove. It has worked just fine and puts puts out enough heat to keep my place comfortable. It burns a good 8 hrs. and keeps a good pile of hot coals another 3-4 hrs. I have cut down on the amount of wood being burnt a great deal which is what I wanted the stove to do. Maybe there are better stoves out there, but this one is well worth it for the cost. The fan is small and doesn't really blow strongly but with as much heat that comes from the stove I don't really need the fan to do a great deal anyway. I checked out lots of stoves, NC and CAT and am satisfied very much with this one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Eagle River, AK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good stove but poor metals used in manufacturing

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 2 of these stoves in 2007 and within 4 years one of the stoves the door would not seal properly even after replacing the door gasket. After further review the firebox was warped. New Englader did replace the stove but it cost $250 for shipping. Now 3 years after the first stove was replaced the second one has the same problem. Out of warrenty period I think I am out of luck and now have a 300lb door stop. Pay a few more bucks and purchase a better stove.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made in the USA! Great stove for New Hampshire.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought mine a month ago replacing an old rite way model 37. So far it has been great, I read all the reviews. Fantastic stove, loaded it last night at 10pm and at 8am still tons of hot coals. Much nicer than my old riteway which I would have to relight. I'm heating a 1800 sqft house from the basement. To top it off it is made in the USA. Can't beat the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design, made in usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Poca, WV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a complete heat resource

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stove puts out some great heat, once you have the coals going. I live in a 1000 ft, space and it kept my house at no less than 71degrees in the furthest place, with the fan running, and in the liveing room I have to crack a window alot of times. The glass seems to catch the smoke and creo easily, but just open the door and let the fire get roaring again, shut it and it somewhat self cleans. The clean out tray is useless and a pain, would rather the big ring wasnt there for the trap, gets in the way. Over all I am pleased with this stove. I had bought another brand and brought it home,,,,,didnt even trust it,,,took it back, and ordered this one. It was between this and a buck, this was cheaper and Im statisfied with its performance for its size. I do believe tho,,,most all these stoves are more expensive than what there worth. I can say tho if you burn it every day,,,you do not have to turn your furnace on at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great heat output
Cons: trap not friendly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Easton, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Stove for the Money!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to Start!!! This stove is simple to use with a burn time of 10-12 hours... I bought it at HD and within 2 hours I had it running. Piping was already in place. It has a small hatch at the bottom part of the stove to drop ashes into and then picked up from a tray when they cool off. Great looking and puts out great heat. Don't pass this deal... I am very happy I found this brand and this particular stove.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Wood Burning Stove

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The stove is beautiful and was a good price. The only concern we had was how heavy it was to take off of a truck and carry it into the house. It weighed 455 lbs. It took 4 men to do this task.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Too Heavy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Jones Creek, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BEST of the BEST

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one fine heater and in my opinion, you can find many, many heaters that cost much, much more, but none that will out perform this stove, this thing is fabulous, it's very easy to light, easy to load and the damper works perfect, you can have a blazing fire, close the damper and have a nice slow burning fire that just dances around and looks beautiful and if you really need a lot of heat, this Englander is the ticket, there was a reviewer that said you have to run the chimney pipe straight up, well I installed my chimney through the wall 4 years ago, it has worked perfectly with my U.S stove which this stove replaced as well as the this 30 NCH, I could not be happier, this stove is fantastic, the extra large ( 3.5 cu. ft. ) fire box makes for some really long burn times really easy loading of the wood and very serious heat. The stove is made in the U.S.A., but the blower they send you from Englander is made in Mexico and does not match the quality of the stove, It has 2 oil holes that you have to use an eye dropper to 7 or 8 drops of oil in every 2 to 3 months, sounds like a real pain in the neck, oh well I can always get a different blower but I wouldn't take anything for this Englander stove, The door and door glass are a very good size as is the stove itself, This thing is really well built and weighs in at 455 lbs. I can't see ever having to buy another stove, but if I did, it would be another Englander 30 NCH or it's replacement. I don't see how anyone could not enjoy this stove. P.S. my last burn went for 12 hours and was able to just add more wood and was burning again. I should also note that this stove comes with pedestal and legs, the legs are heavy duty cast iron, and it comes with the pedestal already installed, it also comes with bronze or stainless knobs and door handle springs, nice to have your choice. Marvin
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, burns a very long time, large door, pedestal or leg set included
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Mid Coast Maine
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price!

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm using this stove to heat roughly 1800 square feet, and at twice the firebox of our previous stove (which did the job of being our sole heat source, but just barely) I feel like this thing'll keep us nice and toasty this winter. First firing with some left over ash sawmill planks netted a 10 hour burn, i'm confident that this'll keep a fire over night, and be just fine the next morning. All in all i'm elated this was just what i needed. Would highly reccomend to anyone looking to heat a comprable space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value. Very satisfied!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super nice stove that has all of the features of models costing 2-3 x more.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Anchor Point, AK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This Stove is a great value.

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the stove for two months with no issues. After going through my last winter in Alaska using oil, and with an 800 dollar monthly bill, I needed change. The stove was easy to install, and keeps the house warm in the summer (50s day 30s night). I have not had to purchase any oil over the past two months and the neither two oil stoves have turned on set at 68 degrees. My house in 3400sq ft and it keeps the house comfortable. I still have oil for back up. With the stove loaded and damper closed it last around ten hours of burn time. With damper open it is around five to six hours. I have lived using a blaze king stove most of my life, but after pricing them they were two to four times the amount of what I purchased. I recommend this stove to anyone that a needs affordable heat source. The stove will pay for itself over a three month period this winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Economical
Cons: small ash pan
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

excellent heat source

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have been using this product as not only my primary source of heat, but my only source of heat for the past 3 years. it heats my 1800 sqft home very well even when it gets down into the teens. and that's really saying something for an old drafty house built in 1790. enough said.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>