728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

The Englander 2,200 sq. ft. Wood Stove burns a super-clean 1.63 grams of emissions and is EPA certified. Its hefty 3.5 cu. ft. firebox can take logs up to 20 in. long, and it can heat up to 2,200 sq. ft. of living area. It has a rear heat shield and a large ash pan for convenience. Side heat shields (not included) may be added for even closer clearance to combustibles.
Overall rating:
4.594 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product130 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(108)
4
(24)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product130 of 139reviews
Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Review 1 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Gillett, Wi
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best investment ever

PostedJanuary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read so much on woodstoves and decided this one fit everything. We are heating a 2000 sqft double wide. Took some getting used to but with the help of some awesome websites we are learning to keep temps around 74-78. Bedroom alittle cooler, it is the furthest away, but even that is 65. Between Englanders tech support and Home Depot customer service this was the right choice. The blower it comes with is loud but not something we cant live with for now. You can order a different kind. Sure don't miss the old "for looks only" fireplace we took out. And as you can see the dogs love it!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Blue Springs, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We LOVE this wood burning Stove

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our house has never been warmer!!! We (my husband) installed the stove and chimney ourselves. Can't say enough good things about this stove. Wish we had gotten it years ago. Good bye propane bills! We will never go back! On top of everything else it is so beautiful and comforting to sit by the fire and share the day.
Our master bedroom is off the kitchen so I put a small fan on top of the fridge aiming into the room and it circulated the warm air even to that end of the house.
Get one of these stoves you will not regret it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design, hot fires
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Myerstown Pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super simple to operate

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We burned it off outside before bring it in the basement so we have zero complaints about the smell. This is a well made top notch stove and we couldn't be more pleased. Very easy to start with starter logs.
And so far we have kept it burning night and day with no problems. So far it keeps our up stairs around 70. The basement is well insulted and completely finished. It is Dukes favorite spot now (see the picture below).
We are ready to take a big bite out of our propane bill.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from greensboro ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

better than i expected

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this wood stove after reading previous comments about it being good. I heat a 2200+ sq foot house easy. I can get it over 80 c in my house with no problem. Easy install and the inside was bigger than i thought. Only problem is the blower its alittle loud but it helps. Takes some time to get use to but if you cut it down at night the wood will last 7+ hrs easy. Had the same fire going for over a week. Worth the money
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from harford county, md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stove

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When my wife and I sat down and compared the Englander and a competing model from Lowes, we looked at all the pros and cons and found the Englander had a 3.5 square feet box, compared to the 1.5 at Lowes. Also the Englander is made in Virginia and the other in Canada. Once we installed it, we ran a fire for 12 hours on Thanksgiving. This brought our house up to 81 degrees while the outside temp was in the 30's. The next morning it was still 60 degrees in the room. It also comes with a blower, which circulates the warm air off of the unit. A fire was easy to start in the unit. The only negative is it weighs 475 pounds, so bring 3 friends.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, sturdy large box made in usa
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good capacity.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this stove as primary heat source for three years now. I start burning in late November and keep a fire going 24/7 until april. This stove has no problem heating my 2500 sq ft W Michigan home with the aid of the AC-30 blower. Stove is located in finish basement and have thru vents in floor to heat entire home. I load up at night and plenty of hot coals in the am. The stove is very durable and finish is still in great shape.
Advice: If you want to maintain good finish do not let anything touch it when its hot. Keep off the kettle of hot water (you will get a rust ring) buy a humidifier.
First few burns you will need to have windows open and keep the fire small.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
46out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from pittsfield, me
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good wood stove.

PostedDecember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had this stove for just over 1 year. we had a cast iron wood stove that had many cracks regularly filling with stove cement to keep it useable. 2 years we had used 2.5 chord of wood. we finally got rid of it and purchased the new Englander 2200 sq. ft. it was a longer and colder winter by far and we used 4.5 chord. Im summing it up as the same amount of wood usage due the to extreme cold long winter. I have not bought heating oil for 3 years and am proud to say that. Getting my firewood for free is a big plus. There are pros and cons, I would say with any stove. I like the appearance, it is attractive, heats well, burns efficiently. inside ceiling of chamber looks like a gas grill burner, burns the extra gases more efficiently. The ash pan is rather useless, BUT I fill it with ash and leave it, that way the bottom does not heat up the floor underneath.( I had that problem with the old stove, the hearth mat stuck to the carpet underneath when we pulled it up)(now have a custom hearth with 2x4's/cement board/ porcelain tile- very nice 60x60- 6 sided) I had to get used to the damper thinking had to have damper in the chimney, ending up taking the damper out of the chimney. all the way closed for over night, and half inch open or inch open for daytime while at home, (or fully closed if too warm) My damper never has been stuck at all (referring to another review) slides perfect every time. The door handle should have a stop on it so it does not turn 270 degree around to the 6 o clock position. The inside latch stick out and I've stuck my arm on it and burnt my arm almost a dozen times. so I try to swing the door more open when loading. I find that the "racks" inside top, that hold the tiles for after burn of the gases are too low and I hit wood onto them often. and in turn have had to replace inside upper tiles yearly. (I wonder if can use a porcelain tile? because the existing ones break easy when a stick or something jams upward. I try to load it gently, but I also know im not the one that broke them LOL. other family members wont admit to it as well. Last year they replaced the tile at no charge. I believe it is a minor issue. The wood stove is still beautiful and looks like new. Yes you MUST burn a few fires thru the wood stove outside before you use it, the new paint burning off is toxic, this is the same with any woodstove. including your stove pipe. I even took out all the firebricks to get the bottom 8" of paint to get hot as I noticed it wouldn't without doing so. it wont hurt it at all, just don't get it cherry red. over all I would recommend this wood stove with a letter grade of an A. being 95% satisfied. I heats my 28x72 mobile home all winter. I will never buy oil again!! ( Ill post a pic after this post) very pretty
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Long lasting, hot fire-fast!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love this stove! We heat a 2000 sq ft house with this stove. After more than 10 hours, there are still plenty of coals to start a fire - a fire that starts up fast and hot so there's no "cool" time while we wait for warmth. Stove takes wood sideways or front to back and has a huge firebox. Our only advice is to buy a stove glove with long sleeves because sometimes there are too many coals and they will be very hot. And buy an ash bucket, too. We couldn't be happier with this stove. Efficiency, heating capacity and firebox match all the top stove makers. Can't believe any of the more expensive stoves could do a better job. And the box made a great fort for our granddaughter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very efficient

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love being able to see the flames. The glass is nice and large. It is very efficient. Our heat pump has come on only twice since we bought this stove. It was great having heat even with the electric off during the ice storm. The damper makes it possible to control the burn. I have even had a pot of stew cooking on the top. The blower distributes the heat to make it even more efficient. It gives even heat. Really appreciate having this stove.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stove ROCKS!

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had been looking for a wood stove for quite a while and came across this deal from Home Depot. We had it delivered directly to our house and our masonry guy installed it. So glad we didn't spend the extra money for a soapstone stove. This stove rocks, the fire box is huge, takes a large load of wood and the heat it puts out is extraordinary. Great deal on a quality wood stove!!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stove For The Money

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got a good deal on this stove. Just completed my first overnight burn. Very efficient and really throws the heat. Huge firebox (double my old stove), so very easy to get long burn times. Please be aware that this stove requires a R1.5 hearth protector (minimum size 39" x 52.5"). I built a raised hearth from 3" steel tubing, 1/2" Micore, 1" Durock, and stone tile. I built the wall protection from 1" of Durock (spaced 1" off the wall), and stone tile that matches the base. Looks good, and the air flow (that goes under the stove and up the wall), adds another layer of protection.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

great stove for the money!!!

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the stove a couple months now. I replaced an acient non airtight stove with this one. We heat about 2000 sq ft with it and it works awesome. As long as the wood is well seasoned this puppy will crank out the heat. The blower is a little noisy but we hardly ever use it. It has been below zero quite a few times this winter and the house was nice and toasty
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

expert review

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I read reviews on everything I do and buy. I do not do much without researching it first. I burn wood exclusively in my house and detached garage and have been doing so for 15 years. I purchased an englander 30 nch several year ago and can honestly say that this was some of the best money I have ever spent. I have a small house of 1350 square ft and was worried it would be too big. The fact is you do not have to load it to the gills. HOWEVER.... on a full load it easily lasts overnight. I will run it in the evening and load it before bed around 10pm and when I wake up the next morning at 6 to 9 am its still full of coals and putting out plenty of heat. If I do not reload it at this point, I can go to work and return around 4pm and it will still be warm to the touch. I cannot say enough about this stove. I used to have a nashua freestanding stove and although we loved it it required reloading around 2am or we would wake up chilly. I truly love this stove and the price absolutely cannot be beat. I saw my wood consumption drop apx 1/3. I now burn apx 5 cords per winter on the eastern shore of maryland. We get a lot of wind from all the fields and farmland around us. We are about 10 miles south of middletown delaware. We often open a window to help regulate the heat but welcome the fresh crisp air. I have been using this stove for about 2 years now and am overcome with joy everytime I look at this stove. If you want a freestanding stove, good wood capacity, and excellent burn times I truly encourage you to get one of these. It is not carried in my local home depot stores. I ordered one from a store near Gap PA and picked it up. I regret nothing about this purchase.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Brighton, IL 62012, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Big Stove

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Beautiful stove that truly pumps out the heat. Load the huge 3.5 cu/ft firebox full and it will give you 12-15 hours between reloads. We are heating our 2400 sq/ft home comfortably with the Englander 30.
Englander is also well-known for their quality and helpful tech support and customer service.
Home Depot handled my order perfectly ... and the stove was delivered to my home in 7 days and in perfect condition.
Couldn't be happier with my purchase from England Stove Works ... and with Home Depot's handling of my order.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Great stove 2200sqft

PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought on Jan 2015 this stove works great paid 100. less because a floor model, out of 14 stores only two on them had it. I guess its a hot item. The workers were very helpfully Not like at LO..and its made in the USA that's rare theses days. Went to a stove stove they wanted double of the price for about the same stove with some more frills. Plus Home depot has a 90 day money back return policy .. The other places don't have that. plus the blower came with the stove. Plus it comes with the option of having legs or a base. And brass or nickel style handles.. What a value...And it weighs about 423pounds. Build very well. I Have No complaints about this 2200 sqft wood stove. 18" logs would be the max size I would used
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from New Era MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent stove

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been burning wood since the early 80s. Owned various TSC stoves, 3 add ons, two Peacocks, two Quadra fire, and a Jotul. I researched all the name brand stoves and chose this Englander 30-NC. This is the best stove I have ever owned. I love the big firebox. If you have a stove with a small firebox you have to split your wood into toothpicks. This stove will take a huge chunk or several smaller pieces. The ash and coals take up a portion of the floor so the fire box on this stove is nice. The stove heats very efficiently. Built a hearth and installed this stove on my porch with cement floors. From the porch you walk into the kitchen. I am not using any fans to move the heat. I do not even use the blower on the stove. Just radiant heat going through a passage door and the kitchen was 94 and the very back bedroom was 80 degrees. It is so nice to be warm and not worry about the cost of propane or kerosene. Wood heat is a radiant heat that warms you unlike anything else. I love this stove. The efficency, operation and draft on this stove is perfect. I have no complaints and would not change one thing on this stove. It is built stronger than the more expensive competitor brands. The door works great, it is a nice looking stove and i plan to purchase another one for my pole barn. I compared this to Quadra Fire, Lennox, Pacific Energy, Lopi, and Jotul and I am very satisfied because this stove works just at good or better at one third the cost. Performance is perfect, quality excellent, and it is very strong and durable. The staff at Home Depot were exceptionally helpful. They had four guys carry this into my trailer and then helped me secure it. Great customer service. Thank you Home Depot and Englander Thank you Englander for providing such a quality stove at a reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Great stove.

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I believe this is the best stove you'll find in this price range. Heats my entire 2,500 sq. ft. home. I don't use the ash pan.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

3 years use and now the review

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for my metal building 50x40 feet. Although it is a shop and is insulated,, it has a large door and 12 ft walls, I knew this building would be hard to heat. I bought this stove because it was cheap in price so my expectations were not high. Was I surprised. It heats the building to comfort levels even when the outside temperature is below 10F. I have a much more expensive stove in my house, and it does not perform any better than this stove. Excellent buy for the money, and will compete with much more expensive stoves. The only negative is that the ash box comes very close to being a joke. I am sure everyone shovels the ash from this stove. Also, embers tend to "pile up" at the back and have to be distributed across the bottom with a poker, if you load several times a day. Otherwise, a wonderful stove and I couldn't be happier with it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from east stroudsburg pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a nearly perfect stove

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this stove about a month ago and have used it nearly every day since then and it has been a delight. The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that the ash pan is a little to small, the ash plug could be bigger as well - or have a small grate that can be covered. Also the blower is noisy and does not move enough air. Bought one of these stove top eco-fans which are noiseless and move the air very well without electricity. The stove burns well the window wash works well as long as you don't reduce the airflow too much. In other reviews I read about issues with the air draft but figured out quite quickly that you have to make sure the ashes are removed from the ash plug because this is where the stove gets the fresh air and it works very well after you have established a good burning fire. Have a 3000 sf home with 20 feet high ceiling in the second floor, however have the stove located in the first floor and only the staircase is open. If I have a good fire burning it will heat most of the home without any additional heat for a couple of hours with outside temperature around 30 degrees.
Ideal would be also if you could remove the heat shield in the back since I have a masonry wall which can store the heat quite well. It takes now longer to get it warm but after several hours it will get up to about 110 degree. But overall for the price this is a heck of a stove. This is my 4th steel/cast iron stove I had and by far the best with the exception of the Austrian Kachelofen we had in my grand parents house. But you cannot compare this since this is a masonry stove which has to be custom installed and can take easily 10-20 grant out of your pocket and you have to have it custom installed and so far it has not been available in the US
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from douglas, ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Some pro's, MANY cons- read my review before buying...

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've been burning wood for over 20 years- I've had many different stoves. I'm heating a 15 yo 2900 sf expanded cape house from mid October to mid april in central Massachusetts.
first the pro's:
it has a huge firebox. I think around 3.5cf worth. This stove is huge and heavy. welded steel construction. from mid October to mid November, I only need to load this stove once per day to keep my house in the low 70's. the large glass door makes for a nice visual (when it isn't blacked out with soot and tar) Another pro is that it uses regular common rectangle firebricks which are very easy and cheap to replace. It throws good heat and so far, has been easy to light a load using typical fire starters.
now the cons- MANY cons...
This is the noisiest wood stove I've ever owned by far!
1)The damper design is horrible. Basically a block of steel attached to a rod that you push & pull to open & close the damper. Problem is, the rod and damper gets stuck EVERY SINGLE TIME you try to move it. So now you're fighting with this rod, pushing & pulling to get it unstuck and open or close it- and it makes a lot of noise!
2) the blower is absolutely useless. it's bolted to a piece of thin sheet metal on the back of the stove, it blows air between the sheet metal and the stove- and there's no real channel for the air to be forced into, so it just blows out of every edge and corner. You can basically get the same effect by using a regular fan blowing across the stove.
3)the blower is UNBELIEVABLY loud!!!! it has two settings, low & high. While on low, I can only compare it to the sound of a hair dryer! forget about high! I'm serious- no exaggeration. You will not be able to hold a comfortable conversation in the same room as this stove if the blower is on. Plus- it attaches so flimsy to the back of the stove, that you get an annoying rattle!
4)The ash pan is useless. it's the size of a flat tissue box- if you used it, it would fill up in a couple hours of burn time. We just use a shovel and tin can to shovel the ash out.
5) the handle to open the door is horribly designed- it's a big door, and the latching mechanism is simply a wedge design- even worse is that you have to swing the handle over 180* to open the door! this leaves the handle in the middle of the glass door while it's open- so you simply just cant reach to grab the handle to close the door- you have to get up and go around the door to grab the handle and close it, rotating the handle over 180* to latch it- it's a very clumsy and cumbersome door / latching setup- something you'd find on a 50yo stove.
6)even though this stove is welded steel- there's so much creaking and cracking as it heats up and cools off- none of my other wood stoves did this (fisher, russo, all nighter to name a few) So I'm curious as to how long before I find a cracked weld-
I'll post a video soon to show the points above...
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS STOVE TO A FRIEND!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor damper design, blower is very loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
12out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>