728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

The Englander 2,200 sq. ft. Wood Stove burns a super-clean 1.63 grams of emissions and is EPA certified. Its hefty 3.5 cu. ft. firebox can take logs up to 20 in. long, and it can heat up to 2,200 sq. ft. of living area. It has a rear heat shield and a large ash pan for convenience. Side heat shields (not included) may be added for even closer clearance to combustibles.
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(72)
4
(20)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product89 of 96reviews
Customer reviews for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Review 1 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from harford county, md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stove

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When my wife and I sat down and compared the Englander and a competing model from Lowes, we looked at all the pros and cons and found the Englander had a 3.5 square feet box, compared to the 1.5 at Lowes. Also the Englander is made in Virginia and the other in Canada. Once we installed it, we ran a fire for 12 hours on Thanksgiving. This brought our house up to 81 degrees while the outside temp was in the 30's. The next morning it was still 60 degrees in the room. It also comes with a blower, which circulates the warm air off of the unit. A fire was easy to start in the unit. The only negative is it weighs 475 pounds, so bring 3 friends.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, sturdy large box made in usa
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

Long lasting, hot fire-fast!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this stove! We heat a 2000 sq ft house with this stove. After more than 10 hours, there are still plenty of coals to start a fire - a fire that starts up fast and hot so there's no "cool" time while we wait for warmth. Stove takes wood sideways or front to back and has a huge firebox. Our only advice is to buy a stove glove with long sleeves because sometimes there are too many coals and they will be very hot. And buy an ash bucket, too. We couldn't be happier with this stove. Efficiency, heating capacity and firebox match all the top stove makers. Can't believe any of the more expensive stoves could do a better job. And the box made a great fort for our granddaughter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good capacity.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this stove as primary heat source for three years now. I start burning in late November and keep a fire going 24/7 until april. This stove has no problem heating my 2500 sq ft W Michigan home with the aid of the AC-30 blower. Stove is located in finish basement and have thru vents in floor to heat entire home. I load up at night and plenty of hot coals in the am. The stove is very durable and finish is still in great shape.
Advice: If you want to maintain good finish do not let anything touch it when its hot. Keep off the kettle of hot water (you will get a rust ring) buy a humidifier.
First few burns you will need to have windows open and keep the fire small.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very efficient

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love being able to see the flames. The glass is nice and large. It is very efficient. Our heat pump has come on only twice since we bought this stove. It was great having heat even with the electric off during the ice storm. The damper makes it possible to control the burn. I have even had a pot of stew cooking on the top. The blower distributes the heat to make it even more efficient. It gives even heat. Really appreciate having this stove.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from east stroudsburg pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

a nearly perfect stove

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this stove about a month ago and have used it nearly every day since then and it has been a delight. The reason that I did not give it 5 stars is that the ash pan is a little to small, the ash plug could be bigger as well - or have a small grate that can be covered. Also the blower is noisy and does not move enough air. Bought one of these stove top eco-fans which are noiseless and move the air very well without electricity. The stove burns well the window wash works well as long as you don't reduce the airflow too much. In other reviews I read about issues with the air draft but figured out quite quickly that you have to make sure the ashes are removed from the ash plug because this is where the stove gets the fresh air and it works very well after you have established a good burning fire. Have a 3000 sf home with 20 feet high ceiling in the second floor, however have the stove located in the first floor and only the staircase is open. If I have a good fire burning it will heat most of the home without any additional heat for a couple of hours with outside temperature around 30 degrees.
Ideal would be also if you could remove the heat shield in the back since I have a masonry wall which can store the heat quite well. It takes now longer to get it warm but after several hours it will get up to about 110 degree. But overall for the price this is a heck of a stove. This is my 4th steel/cast iron stove I had and by far the best with the exception of the Austrian Kachelofen we had in my grand parents house. But you cannot compare this since this is a masonry stove which has to be custom installed and can take easily 10-20 grant out of your pocket and you have to have it custom installed and so far it has not been available in the US
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from New Era MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent stove

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been burning wood since the early 80s. Owned various TSC stoves, 3 add ons, two Peacocks, two Quadra fire, and a Jotul. I researched all the name brand stoves and chose this Englander 30-NC. This is the best stove I have ever owned. I love the big firebox. If you have a stove with a small firebox you have to split your wood into toothpicks. This stove will take a huge chunk or several smaller pieces. The ash and coals take up a portion of the floor so the fire box on this stove is nice. The stove heats very efficiently. Built a hearth and installed this stove on my porch with cement floors. From the porch you walk into the kitchen. I am not using any fans to move the heat. I do not even use the blower on the stove. Just radiant heat going through a passage door and the kitchen was 94 and the very back bedroom was 80 degrees. It is so nice to be warm and not worry about the cost of propane or kerosene. Wood heat is a radiant heat that warms you unlike anything else. I love this stove. The efficency, operation and draft on this stove is perfect. I have no complaints and would not change one thing on this stove. It is built stronger than the more expensive competitor brands. The door works great, it is a nice looking stove and i plan to purchase another one for my pole barn. I compared this to Quadra Fire, Lennox, Pacific Energy, Lopi, and Jotul and I am very satisfied because this stove works just at good or better at one third the cost. Performance is perfect, quality excellent, and it is very strong and durable. The staff at Home Depot were exceptionally helpful. They had four guys carry this into my trailer and then helped me secure it. Great customer service. Thank you Home Depot and Englander Thank you Englander for providing such a quality stove at a reasonable price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stove For The Money

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got a good deal on this stove. Just completed my first overnight burn. Very efficient and really throws the heat. Huge firebox (double my old stove), so very easy to get long burn times. Please be aware that this stove requires a R1.5 hearth protector (minimum size 39" x 52.5"). I built a raised hearth from 3" steel tubing, 1/2" Micore, 1" Durock, and stone tile. I built the wall protection from 1" of Durock (spaced 1" off the wall), and stone tile that matches the base. Looks good, and the air flow (that goes under the stove and up the wall), adds another layer of protection.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Brighton, IL 62012, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Big Stove

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful stove that truly pumps out the heat. Load the huge 3.5 cu/ft firebox full and it will give you 12-15 hours between reloads. We are heating our 2400 sq/ft home comfortably with the Englander 30.
Englander is also well-known for their quality and helpful tech support and customer service.
Home Depot handled my order perfectly ... and the stove was delivered to my home in 7 days and in perfect condition.
Couldn't be happier with my purchase from England Stove Works ... and with Home Depot's handling of my order.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the stove!!!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought stove to replace a Riteway 37 due to age and clearance to combustible concerns. I couldn't be happier with the large viewing window and heat output. Stove is in our basement family room and heats main floor and upstairs bedrooms nicely. Burns all night with enough hot coals to easily fire up in the am. I have only used for a little over 2 months and am very pleased with its performance. I'm looking forward to stocking up on wood soon to be prepared for next winter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made in the USA! Great stove for New Hampshire.

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought mine a month ago replacing an old rite way model 37. So far it has been great, I read all the reviews. Fantastic stove, loaded it last night at 10pm and at 8am still tons of hot coals. Much nicer than my old riteway which I would have to relight. I'm heating a 1800 sqft house from the basement. To top it off it is made in the USA. Can't beat the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design, made in usa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After comparing the prices of the most expensive NC stoves to this price, I decided to try the least expensive Englander stove. It has worked just fine and puts puts out enough heat to keep my place comfortable. It burns a good 8 hrs. and keeps a good pile of hot coals another 3-4 hrs. I have cut down on the amount of wood being burnt a great deal which is what I wanted the stove to do. Maybe there are better stoves out there, but this one is well worth it for the cost. The fan is small and doesn't really blow strongly but with as much heat that comes from the stove I don't really need the fan to do a great deal anyway. I checked out lots of stoves, NC and CAT and am satisfied very much with this one.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Poca, WV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a complete heat resource

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stove puts out some great heat, once you have the coals going. I live in a 1000 ft, space and it kept my house at no less than 71degrees in the furthest place, with the fan running, and in the liveing room I have to crack a window alot of times. The glass seems to catch the smoke and creo easily, but just open the door and let the fire get roaring again, shut it and it somewhat self cleans. The clean out tray is useless and a pain, would rather the big ring wasnt there for the trap, gets in the way. Over all I am pleased with this stove. I had bought another brand and brought it home,,,,,didnt even trust it,,,took it back, and ordered this one. It was between this and a buck, this was cheaper and Im statisfied with its performance for its size. I do believe tho,,,most all these stoves are more expensive than what there worth. I can say tho if you burn it every day,,,you do not have to turn your furnace on at all.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, great heat output
Cons: trap not friendly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Easton, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Stove for the Money!!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to Start!!! This stove is simple to use with a burn time of 10-12 hours... I bought it at HD and within 2 hours I had it running. Piping was already in place. It has a small hatch at the bottom part of the stove to drop ashes into and then picked up from a tray when they cool off. Great looking and puts out great heat. Don't pass this deal... I am very happy I found this brand and this particular stove.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Jones Creek, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BEST of the BEST

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one fine heater and in my opinion, you can find many, many heaters that cost much, much more, but none that will out perform this stove, this thing is fabulous, it's very easy to light, easy to load and the damper works perfect, you can have a blazing fire, close the damper and have a nice slow burning fire that just dances around and looks beautiful and if you really need a lot of heat, this Englander is the ticket, there was a reviewer that said you have to run the chimney pipe straight up, well I installed my chimney through the wall 4 years ago, it has worked perfectly with my U.S stove which this stove replaced as well as the this 30 NCH, I could not be happier, this stove is fantastic, the extra large ( 3.5 cu. ft. ) fire box makes for some really long burn times really easy loading of the wood and very serious heat. The stove is made in the U.S.A., but the blower they send you from Englander is made in Mexico and does not match the quality of the stove, It has 2 oil holes that you have to use an eye dropper to 7 or 8 drops of oil in every 2 to 3 months, sounds like a real pain in the neck, oh well I can always get a different blower but I wouldn't take anything for this Englander stove, The door and door glass are a very good size as is the stove itself, This thing is really well built and weighs in at 455 lbs. I can't see ever having to buy another stove, but if I did, it would be another Englander 30 NCH or it's replacement. I don't see how anyone could not enjoy this stove. P.S. my last burn went for 12 hours and was able to just add more wood and was burning again. I should also note that this stove comes with pedestal and legs, the legs are heavy duty cast iron, and it comes with the pedestal already installed, it also comes with bronze or stainless knobs and door handle springs, nice to have your choice. Marvin
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, burns a very long time, large door, pedestal or leg set included
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value. Very satisfied!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Super nice stove that has all of the features of models costing 2-3 x more.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Lawrenceville, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dont buy it

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The stove burns differently than any wood stove I have used previously, so it took some time to lean the quirks to it. This stove burns efficiently and heats very well, but you NEED to let the firebox heat up to see the benefit. I have had to open my cellar windows to get the stove started when it’s cold or it would back draft even then, you need to get some heat in it quickly or the house would fill with smoke. The coals are a pain to remove through the hold in the bottom of the stove. So I just cut the ring off the top of the cast iron plug and use a shovel to scoop the coals from the top (easier this way)
Pro’s – Efficient, nice heat once you get it going, no calcium buildup in the chimney, burns less wood than the old style wood stoves.
Con’s - Ceramic insulation on top doesn’t last very long & very expensive to replace, the dog house (directional air distribution in the front) only lasts one season and is expensive to replace, Lots of coals remain but the heat output drops, the blower is noisy and does not move enough air, The clean out tray is useless and a pain.
Closing – it’s not too bad of a wood stove but I would not purchase another one from this company. It is made cheaply by design to make you continually buy parts from them. I would NOT recommend anyone to buy this wood stove, I will try someone else next time.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Upstate New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stove

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used wood stoves most of my adult life, from old fashioned cast iron parlor stoves to an airtight Fisher that I used to consider a great stove, until I replaced it with this Englander. What a difference! After a short learning curve, I do believe I will cut my wood consumption by at least a third from the Fisher. I have my own woodlot, but if I had to buy my wood, this stove would pay for itself in a couple of years. Those reviews that claim it won't hold a fire overnight might not be leaving enough of an ashbed, as this is what holds the coals. I sure do enjoy watching the secondary burn in the evening after dark.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Graham, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Value!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this stove based solely on the reviews I read online. I needed to heat a 2600 SF house and this is the only source of heat. I couldn't be more pleased with this stove. It is easy to get a fire started, burns all day and will hold a fire overnight so there are still coals in the morning to get another fire going. The large firebox is a great plus.
The one thing I would suggest is to make sure you burn several really hot fires in it before bringing it inside your home and setting it up. We did a few smaller fires for about 5 hours and thought that would be good enough. After we installed it and fired it up to a high temp it still had a chemical smell as the paint continued to cure. I'm sure this is not just with this stove but any painted stove.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove
from Marysvale, UT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great stove

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was such a good decision to purchase this wood burning stove. It's easy to light and it maintains a good low flame and it heats the whole home. Our furnace has only come on once since we installed the stove. The installation wasn't so difficult as we thoughts. The guidelines for installation were easy to follow. I'd recommend this to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2,200 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Stove

excellent heat source

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have been using this product as not only my primary source of heat, but my only source of heat for the past 3 years. it heats my 1800 sqft home very well even when it gets down into the teens. and that's really saying something for an old drafty house built in 1790. enough said.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>