728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sand Bags (50-Pack)

Sand Bags (50-Pack)

The Hercules Sand Bags (50-Pack) offer dependability and convenience when you must divert floodwater or keep erosion in check. These tear-resistant bags hold up to 45 lb. of sand (not included) and feature a peel-and-stick closure.
Overall rating:
2.812 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product16 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product16 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
Review 1 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from NJ,
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sand bags,fast flood.

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used only for sand and gravel. 3 years later still in good shape, all filled and storage under my deck. They stick and stick tight (at least initially) the longevity of these is good as long they're covered and out of direct UV light.
I scratch my head about why people say they are paper thin (just like a Walmart bag). I didn't puncture a one, even when moving them bare handed and having to dig my fingers in.
I also didn't have a problem with the seal. I filled all the bags I needed. Not a speck of sand on the seal.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as expected, decent thickness, seals tight

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed these for an emergency but was VERY afraid to buy based on the reviews. I needed them bad so I ignored the reviews, bought them in store and am happy that I did.
I scratch my head about why people say they are paper thin (just like a Walmart bag). I didn't puncture a one, even when moving them bare handed and having to dig my fingers in.
I also didn't have a problem with the seal. I filled all the bags I needed, stuck them in the car (open end up), then peeled and sealed them when I got home. Not a speck of sand on the seal. They stick and stick tight (at least initially) so much so that trying to pull it back off ripped the bag where it was sealed.
I can not speak for the longevity of these as I just go them the other day.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from North Carolina
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product has moderate features

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
sand bags are a great size when filled, and are easy to stack into place. They're not real sturdy though, and it doesn't take much to tear the plastic. All things considered, they do what they're supposed to do and when handled with care, seem to hold up okay.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Phoenix, AZ

Serves the purpose for which it was intended

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the sand bags to support cinder-block walls around an equipment shed, built into a hillside. They work fine to provide a solid, stable barrier between the structure and dirt covering the project. Plastic is fine for this sort of project, since it is then further covered permanently with dirt and thus not subject to the sun, rain or other elements that might normally rot or desintigrate standard burlap or fiberglass reinforced sandbag material. Easy to fill, easy to work with. I would recomend this product to others. KB
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)

better available but ok in a pinch, short term

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bags are strong enough to take the weight and to be placed without tearing. They are a clear plastic like a sandwich bag. Where they fail is the adhesive strip that is supposed to seal the bag. Maybe 5 percent fail to hold.
That's ok if you position the seal against something that might help support the seal or reduce the leaking of sand.
For my use I found a traditional mesh bag with that tied at the top. The material was far stronger and the seal permanent.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Lakeside, California

sandbags

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They were not what I thought I ordered, but fine just the same. They were not the heavy white thing. Filled them and now are in the needed area. We'll see how they work Filling them they seem to be quite strong, We covered some with dirt to bi build up a washed out area as well as damming. They see to be great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from RI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product fair

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The glue on the bags melts in the sun. The bags are ok for an emergency but do ont last very long and are not tough enough to withstand water surges. The bags were pretty easy to fill as long as the glue protector strip stayed in place.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from s.c.

peel and stick closure broke loose after a short time

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bags are ok but the glue let loose after a few weeks on about half of them. Had to re-enforce with duct tape.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very bad.

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time I tried to use one of the bags I filled it a little over half way with old sand tube 'traction grit'. The bag came apart at one of the side seams. Needless to say I was extremely disappointed as I now have 50 bags that I am planning to return to the store or ship back. Its was not as good of a value for the money as I had thought.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Shelby Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I got what I paid for.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bags held more than I expected. They were able to contain 90 lbs.! I don't have a lot of experience with sandbags, but I was definitely satisfied. I used them to get rid off excess rock in my small garden area.
Pros: Good Shape, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Dallas, TX, USA

Bags worked well

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product for storing sand, etc. Easy to use, sealed well, durable, did not break, good option compared to traditional sand bags.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Greensburg, IN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

These are cheap!

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a deal that is too good to be true. I bought these to fill with sand for my dad's truck in the winter and when we tried to fill with sand, the first one split open. The second one we couldn't get to seal...the sticky stuff wouldn't hold the bag shut. Money down the drain. Don't buy them!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)

May as well use a Wallmart shopping bags

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of all, it has a sticky seal that will get dirty when you fill it with sand, and it is just too goofy.
Second, the quality of plastic is so cheap that it will not hold for long at all.
Garbage!!!
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Highlands, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A Waste Of Time

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I live in a flood zone. You would think Home Depot would carry sandbags. No, I had to buy the sandbags on line because the local store doesn't carry them AND then I had to go to Lowe's to buy sand because you don't carry sand and they don't carry bags! I had to make like 3 trips to get something you should be carrying in this area anyway! And, frankly, I'm not even too crazy about the bags themselves.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)

Bad closure system.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your supposed to fill the bag w sand and then peal off a plastic strip to reveal the verry narrow sand covered strip of adhesive that is supposed to seal the bag closed. It does not. I will not buy again. If you do, Fill the bag right where you plan to leave it to avoid leaving a trail to it. I was looking for a more permanent solution.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Verona, NJ
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Could be sufficiently strong, but I felt double-bagging was necessary.

PostedOctober 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It's a plastic sandbag. It didn't feel strong enough for a single bag to suffice when filled with sand, so I doubled them up. Fortunately there will be enough bags left over from the package that this was economical to do.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sticky seal fails

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most of our bags failed as water melted away the sticky sealant. They are no good in wet environments.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Va.

Bags OK

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bags are sturdy and the peel and stick seal holds securely. They hold lots of sand, more than I expected. I will know how well they work when the next flood comes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product stinks.

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted sand bags not plastic bags that I put the sand in. The sand already comes in plastic bags. Sand bags are supposed to allow water to penetrate so that it slows the water down. These bags were a total waste of my money.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sand Bags (50-Pack)
from Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit my need.

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sandbags were not too large and had self sealing adhesive strips that worked great.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>