728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product43 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
jimmy123
from C.T.

ryobi

PostedMay 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This brush cutter is a great tool it can cut really thick brush and even 1 1/2 inch trees or more. I like the expand it system great job ryobi.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Cyberlessbiker
from W-S, NC

A real time & back saver

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every expand-it attachment I have bought has been fairly useful in some way or an other. Having around 30,000 s.f. of sapling trees to clear out for a driveway, I feared I'd never get it done. A chainsaw wont cut tiny (dime-sized) saps efficiently. This gadget zipped right through dime-sized saps in a millisecond, at ground level, up to about 1". 1"-2" took a while to do, so a small chainsaw is better suited for larger saps.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
chuckieb
from CT. AND MA.

GREAT CUTTER

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BEST CUTTER I HAVE OWNED. FAST AND EASY TO USE.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Becky
from Angier,NC

Five stars all the way

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to attach, runs great, and very efficient on all types of brush. Highly recommend this tool. Cuts through even larger brush with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Moreorles2
from Greater Boston, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for an overgrown yard

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I personally like the concept of modular components. Replace the part that needs replacing and not the entire tool. This brush cutter exceeded my expectations. Easy to use and it quickly shreaded my thick brush. The cutter easily cut thru green brush ...some as thick as 3/4 inch diameter. I would purchase again........
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
pkhu50
from Black River, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64

So Easy to Use

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush cutter attachment is so easy to change. Just a push of a button on the shaft and you are ready to switch attachments.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Bushwhacker
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It cuts blackberry brush, ceanothus, and grass

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It actually does what it's supposed to do, a surprise for me because I tried a similar unit from Sears and returned it quickly because it couldn't cut brush. This Ryobi unit has a dull three-tooth blade that I think would cut even better if it were sharp, but sharpening it is discouraged -- I don't know why. The whole unit seems sturdy enough for its purpose.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
unclecoffee
from connecticut

this bruscutter really works

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been clearing my back lot with this thing ever since I bought it. First, I cut the saplings and bramble bushes and prickers down around near the stems. Then I take the machete out and whack the stalks down to the ground. This isn't a tool for large jobs or professional landcsapers. I only have about .25 wooded acres that I need to clear every few years to keep the prickers from choking the specimen trees. But this is the perfect attachment for me and my Ryobi weedwacker in the back yard. Assembly is a snap. Cuts through stems up to 3/4 or 1 inch thick. Wear goggles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
leftd5
from Lancaster, MA

Simple to use and works great!!

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this and used it the first day. Simple swap over and it was great on the larger weeds, heavier grass and even small saplings. This is well worth it!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
AngelB
from Myrtle Beach Area, SC

Cuts through Jungle!

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My backyard looked worse than any desserted lot! I was worried that snakes were going to show up soon. It was getting so thick that the normal weed eater would have not gotten the job done but with this attachment WOW it cut through like butter! ABSOLUTELY get this one to cut through thick weeds & small brush it gets the job done! This is a GREAT investment & NOONE is going to borrow this one. LOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Undercut
from vancouver wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

is not as compatable as thought to be

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Look, I baught this attachment for some heavy cutting for example, blackberry stocks. On the cover of the box it named plenty of BIG NAME BRANDS that was COMPATIBLE, ya it may turn the blade but it doesnt mean it will work with your tool!! Stick with the brand you have for the extra attachments! I have a 4 stroke Troy Built weed eater with pleanty of power to run this attachment, it wouldnt do the job for me!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Skip
from Perry, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works GREAT

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works real well when cleaning fence rows and hedge rows. Goest right through thisles, briars, and small bushes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
amiracle
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This brush cutter works great, but the head unit broke!

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The brush cutter itself worked great. It cleared out an entire overgrown area in a matter of minutes. Large brush didn't have a chance against it. However, the unit that attaches to this broke rendering this piece useless.
I returned it without issue at Home Depot.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Dale
from Leesburg, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Product

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so easy to use, easy change out, just push the button. This product has meet all my expectations, and then some. I had very high weeds around my pond, and with this product they are all gone.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Cannonball
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great string trimmer

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looking for a new weedeater and found this Ryobi attachment that would fit my Poulon split-shaft pole saw. Also needed a new blower, so bought that attachment as well. The dual-string head does a good job trimming up around the trees and fence. This is designed for the weekend warrior, not a commercial user. Does a good job.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
KimK
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Awsome attachment

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This attachment is a great addition to my Expand-it system. It cuts through brush like butter. It's light weight and easy to use. The guide handle they include is a bit cheap with plastic wing nuts. I suggest you replace the plastic nut with a metal one so it doesn't strip out and you can get the handle tight enough. I can't speak to the durability yet. Seems tough though.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: guide handle could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
tman43
from michigan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good overall value

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had reservations about the product due to its odd three-sided blade. Other products had blades similar to a circular saw blade. The cutter did not disappoint at all. Cutting heavy grass/weeds is easy by just lightly skimming the ground. The blade even cut through 1" diameter trees nearly as easily. After clearing 200' of brush and trees for a fence project, the tool shows no significant wear to the blade; even though that includes many encounters with a steel fence. The cutter never kicked back or bucked and jerked. If things were too heavy, the motor would bog down until I backed off a bit.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Northwoods
from Northern New England

Expand-It Brush Cutter

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Always wear eye protection. This is simply an excellant product. It does the job as promised and it is extremley durable. Always wear eye protection.Easily takes down 1/4 inch brush, thick weeds and tall grass. I did a wild 500ft long 12ft wide stretch, next to a stone wall, in about 2 hours. And did I mention alway wear eye protection. This is a serious tool and it gets results. The additional handle and shoulder strap that came with the brush cutter blade transformed the header end and gave the tool needed control and comfort.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
MPC10105
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT TOOL FOR THE PRICE

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
BOUGHT THIS TO CLEAR TOUGH BRUSH, MOSTLY RED BRIARS, THICK GRASS, THISTLES, AND SMALL TREES LESS THAN 1/2". THIS HEAD CUT THEM VERY EASILY. WELL WORTH THE PRICE. SAVED ME ALOT OF WORK CUTTING BY HAND!!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
RATTLER
from Kutztown, PA 19530, USA

I LIKE IT.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A GREAT LITTLE TOOL. SERVES MY NEEDS TO A TEE. VERY STRONG AND POWERFUL TOOL. CUTS BRUSH WITH EASE.
Pros: Cuts Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>