728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product90 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(74)
4
(18)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Features 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product90 of 98reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Kansas City, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Blackberry Tamer!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi 25cc gas-powered trimmer. It came with a string trimmer attachment. Several years ago, my wife planted some blackberry plants along our driveway, and boy was that a huge mistake! These plants spread like wildfire, and began hanging out into our drive. The last couple years, I painstakingly cut them back with loping shears, and ended up getting stabbed with thorns all over. I saw this brush cutter attachment here on Home Depot's website, and knew exactly what I wanted it for. I went to my local Home Depot store and bought one, along with four bottles of the anti-Ethanol oil for 2-cycle engines. Ryobi requires that you use that type of oil to protect the engine of your 2-cycle trimmer from being damaged by ethanol that gas makers add to the fuel we buy.
I brought the brush cutter home, and today I tested it out. Naturally, those blackberry plants were my first victims! What took me a day and a half of painful hand-trimming the last couple years went by in a half-hour! Needless to say, I was very impressed! So too, I was impressed with what came with this trimmer; namely an extra trimmer handle and a shoulder strap to take some of the weight off of you while using the trimmer. I already had a good handle on my trimmer, so I didn't need a new one, although I give props to Ryobi for including it. The shoulder strap and its bracket, I didn't have, so I really appreciated that!
I was impressed as well with just how big of plants you can take down with this brush cutter, given a little patience and a light touch. We had a bunch of baby trees coming up along our fence, as well as some old growth honeysuckle that had gone wild. I was cutting trees down that were 1-2 inches thick. You just have to be patient, and kind of use a sawing motion with the cutter, and not press it too hard against the tree, or it will bind up. When you hear the engine start to bog down, you know you are pressing too hard, and you need to back off a little and let the trimmer get back up to speed.
Right now, I am all worn out, but next weekend, I plan to go to my son's house and tackle a jungle he has growing in what is supposed to be his back yard. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase, and consider it to be an excellent buy! Thanks Ryobi, and Home Depot!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tool so far

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you have heavy vegetation to cut through, this tool is what you want. It works pretty good with the electric power head, but really good with the gas head.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like a warm knife through butter

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great at hacking back the thick stuff. We have several acres and use this to cut back the edge of the meadow a few times per year - works great on some really thick bramble. Blades are easy to sharpen or replace, and it's light enough to work with for long periods of time. It includes a shoulder strap and aggressive handle - which also help.
Also, it's string enough to slice through copper A/C lines... I know from experience... so, be careful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Ryobi brush cutter

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought a acreage & it had lots of heavy brush this brush cutter cut thru it with no problem. Even cutting trees in 2" diameter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Great price!

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wasn't sure about this at first compared to the echo attachment with the actual blade. I bought this for my Troy-Bilt and it works great! I didn't have any issues cutting over growth brush and with a little work even 12 ' tall trees 3in wide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from connecticut

this bruscutter really works

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been clearing my back lot with this thing ever since I bought it. First, I cut the saplings and bramble bushes and prickers down around near the stems. Then I take the machete out and whack the stalks down to the ground. This isn't a tool for large jobs or professional landcsapers. I only have about .25 wooded acres that I need to clear every few years to keep the prickers from choking the specimen trees. But this is the perfect attachment for me and my Ryobi weedwacker in the back yard. Assembly is a snap. Cuts through stems up to 3/4 or 1 inch thick. Wear goggles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Berkeley Springs, WV

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This attachment can knock out serious amounts of brush, thick weeds and small saplings. I agree with the folks who said it will take down a 1" sapling but not much beyond that. Every year I try to clear more of my land and this brush cutter is making the job much easier.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Northern New England

Expand-It Brush Cutter

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Always wear eye protection. This is simply an excellant product. It does the job as promised and it is extremley durable. Always wear eye protection.Easily takes down 1/4 inch brush, thick weeds and tall grass. I did a wild 500ft long 12ft wide stretch, next to a stone wall, in about 2 hours. And did I mention alway wear eye protection. This is a serious tool and it gets results. The additional handle and shoulder strap that came with the brush cutter blade transformed the header end and gave the tool needed control and comfort.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Marion NY

Expand-it Brushcutter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a poor performance with me echo trimmer(didn't make it 18months) I decided on the Ryobi Expandit line (liked better than the Troybilt for the 18 string line) I live around heavily wooded/brushy land.
This does an amazing job on the thicker grass and small sapplings around my yard perimeter. I typically get a start on the first pull.
Can't wait to add some more attachments, I has plenty of power so they should work well also *crossfingers*
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from W-S, NC

A real time & back saver

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every expand-it attachment I have bought has been fairly useful in some way or an other. Having around 30,000 s.f. of sapling trees to clear out for a driveway, I feared I'd never get it done. A chainsaw wont cut tiny (dime-sized) saps efficiently. This gadget zipped right through dime-sized saps in a millisecond, at ground level, up to about 1". 1"-2" took a while to do, so a small chainsaw is better suited for larger saps.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Walker,MN

Works good for cutting small brush.

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works good for brush up to about 3/4" in diameter. I cut hazelbrush and small pople for about 2 hours the first time I used it. Quick attachment and removal as I switch between the brush cutter and grass trimmer. Time will tell how long the blades remain sharp.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Boise, Idaho

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The brush-cutter I purchased works very well. It cut down large weeds as big as 1 1/2 inches around. I love the Expand-it feature of the Ryobi products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from vancouver wa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

is not as compatable as thought to be

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Look, I baught this attachment for some heavy cutting for example, blackberry stocks. On the cover of the box it named plenty of BIG NAME BRANDS that was COMPATIBLE, ya it may turn the blade but it doesnt mean it will work with your tool!! Stick with the brand you have for the extra attachments! I have a 4 stroke Troy Built weed eater with pleanty of power to run this attachment, it wouldnt do the job for me!
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Lancaster, MA

Simple to use and works great!!

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this and used it the first day. Simple swap over and it was great on the larger weeds, heavier grass and even small saplings. This is well worth it!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from CT. AND MA.

GREAT CUTTER

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
BEST CUTTER I HAVE OWNED. FAST AND EASY TO USE.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Angier,NC

Five stars all the way

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to attach, runs great, and very efficient on all types of brush. Highly recommend this tool. Cuts through even larger brush with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Texas

Absolutely Wonderful!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the touch start trimmer with a blower, pruner, edger and this. I used this today to take out some large weeds and a few little trees. It WILL take down anything you aim it at. I am a fairly small lady in my 50's. I had no trouble using it. I wish I had more big things to use it on. This is well worth the money I spent on it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Roselle Park, NJ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make a difficult job quick & easy

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this for my craftsman trimmer head and was really happy it actually worked. I spent a few hours today cutting up brush that was just a bit too small to go after with a chainsaw. I was surprised at how this little workhorse took on the task. One recommendation I'd make to everyone is to really give it gas and get the RPMs up. This blade isn't really sharp and tends to cut the brush via brute force. I don't care though, it worked!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Evington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK--not great

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Brush cutter" is a misnomer. It is a glorified weed whacker. Anything bigger than a soda straw is a problem. We even sharpened it.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small brush

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleased with how well this brush cutter took care of the many varieties of briars around our house. It also works well taking out small saplings. You just need to get it to full throttle and hold it in place at the base of the tree for a couple of seconds. It doesn't just go through like string line does on grass.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>