728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Marion NY

Expand-it Brushcutter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a poor performance with me echo trimmer(didn't make it 18months) I decided on the Ryobi Expandit line (liked better than the Troybilt for the 18 string line) I live around heavily wooded/brushy land.
This does an amazing job on the thicker grass and small sapplings around my yard perimeter. I typically get a start on the first pull.
Can't wait to add some more attachments, I has plenty of power so they should work well also *crossfingers*
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from C.T.

ryobi

PostedMay 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This brush cutter is a great tool it can cut really thick brush and even 1 1/2 inch trees or more. I like the expand it system great job ryobi.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from W-S, NC

A real time & back saver

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every expand-it attachment I have bought has been fairly useful in some way or an other. Having around 30,000 s.f. of sapling trees to clear out for a driveway, I feared I'd never get it done. A chainsaw wont cut tiny (dime-sized) saps efficiently. This gadget zipped right through dime-sized saps in a millisecond, at ground level, up to about 1". 1"-2" took a while to do, so a small chainsaw is better suited for larger saps.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Angier,NC

Five stars all the way

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to attach, runs great, and very efficient on all types of brush. Highly recommend this tool. Cuts through even larger brush with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for heavier weeds and light brush

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this to go with the other Ryobi click and switch products we have. All work really well and the brush trimmer is no exception. It cuts through heavy ground cover like ivy and red apple which the string trimmer can not. We are finally able to reclaim our back yard! Blades are pretty sharp so be careful!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Moore, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is the 3rd Ryobi attachment I purchased. The tiller and chain saw work great and have had no problems with them. This attachment also works as advertised, however the blades could be a little larger and sharper. It does cut through brush and small saplings, but does take some time. All in all it works well and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: blades too small, blades not sharp enough.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It cuts blackberry brush, ceanothus, and grass

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It actually does what it's supposed to do, a surprise for me because I tried a similar unit from Sears and returned it quickly because it couldn't cut brush. This Ryobi unit has a dull three-tooth blade that I think would cut even better if it were sharp, but sharpening it is discouraged -- I don't know why. The whole unit seems sturdy enough for its purpose.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from connecticut

this bruscutter really works

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been clearing my back lot with this thing ever since I bought it. First, I cut the saplings and bramble bushes and prickers down around near the stems. Then I take the machete out and whack the stalks down to the ground. This isn't a tool for large jobs or professional landcsapers. I only have about .25 wooded acres that I need to clear every few years to keep the prickers from choking the specimen trees. But this is the perfect attachment for me and my Ryobi weedwacker in the back yard. Assembly is a snap. Cuts through stems up to 3/4 or 1 inch thick. Wear goggles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Berkeley Springs, WV

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This attachment can knock out serious amounts of brush, thick weeds and small saplings. I agree with the folks who said it will take down a 1" sapling but not much beyond that. Every year I try to clear more of my land and this brush cutter is making the job much easier.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Evington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK--not great

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Brush cutter" is a misnomer. It is a glorified weed whacker. Anything bigger than a soda straw is a problem. We even sharpened it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Leesburg, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Product

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so easy to use, easy change out, just push the button. This product has meet all my expectations, and then some. I had very high weeds around my pond, and with this product they are all gone.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as I hoped

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this to cut some high weeds and rather thin blackberry bushes. Unfortunately, it doesn't do much better than the string trimmer attachment. The high weeds got wrapped up in it easily. Might be ok for short thicker weeds, but that wasn't what the other reviews led me to believe this could do. Too bad!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: not really useful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Vashon, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm :)

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cut my 10' X 20' blackberry patch out in about 30 minutes. Easy switch over from weedeater head.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Springfielld, VA

Brush Cutter

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for cutting/removing tough undergrowth. Works great around landscapping, fences, and house. Well worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from LA

Dirty Jobs

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product made my dirty job much easier. I had to clean a large ditch and pond banks. This product cut down on time. Great Product!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Walker,MN

Works good for cutting small brush.

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works good for brush up to about 3/4" in diameter. I cut hazelbrush and small pople for about 2 hours the first time I used it. Quick attachment and removal as I switch between the brush cutter and grass trimmer. Time will tell how long the blades remain sharp.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Boise, Idaho

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush-cutter I purchased works very well. It cut down large weeds as big as 1 1/2 inches around. I love the Expand-it feature of the Ryobi products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

This Brush-Cutter does an excellent job

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I neede to remove a thick carpet of ivy because it was too hard to control. After I used roundup on it to kill the ivy it had to be cut. The brush cutter did a n excellent job cutting the dead ivy.I woould recommend this item to anyone who has a tough job to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small brush

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleased with how well this brush cutter took care of the many varieties of briars around our house. It also works well taking out small saplings. You just need to get it to full throttle and hold it in place at the base of the tree for a couple of seconds. It doesn't just go through like string line does on grass.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Weight is a factor with this attachment. An hour work with this will have you taking off work for a day. Of course I'm 62 and fairly healthy. Works good though !
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>