728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.573 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product67 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product67 of 73reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like a warm knife through butter

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great at hacking back the thick stuff. We have several acres and use this to cut back the edge of the meadow a few times per year - works great on some really thick bramble. Blades are easy to sharpen or replace, and it's light enough to work with for long periods of time. It includes a shoulder strap and aggressive handle - which also help.
Also, it's string enough to slice through copper A/C lines... I know from experience... so, be careful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Texas

Absolutely Wonderful!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the touch start trimmer with a blower, pruner, edger and this. I used this today to take out some large weeds and a few little trees. It WILL take down anything you aim it at. I am a fairly small lady in my 50's. I had no trouble using it. I wish I had more big things to use it on. This is well worth the money I spent on it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Marion NY

Expand-it Brushcutter

PostedOctober 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a poor performance with me echo trimmer(didn't make it 18months) I decided on the Ryobi Expandit line (liked better than the Troybilt for the 18 string line) I live around heavily wooded/brushy land.
This does an amazing job on the thicker grass and small sapplings around my yard perimeter. I typically get a start on the first pull.
Can't wait to add some more attachments, I has plenty of power so they should work well also *crossfingers*
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from W-S, NC

A real time & back saver

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every expand-it attachment I have bought has been fairly useful in some way or an other. Having around 30,000 s.f. of sapling trees to clear out for a driveway, I feared I'd never get it done. A chainsaw wont cut tiny (dime-sized) saps efficiently. This gadget zipped right through dime-sized saps in a millisecond, at ground level, up to about 1". 1"-2" took a while to do, so a small chainsaw is better suited for larger saps.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Lancaster, MA

Simple to use and works great!!

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got this and used it the first day. Simple swap over and it was great on the larger weeds, heavier grass and even small saplings. This is well worth it!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from connecticut

this bruscutter really works

PostedMarch 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been clearing my back lot with this thing ever since I bought it. First, I cut the saplings and bramble bushes and prickers down around near the stems. Then I take the machete out and whack the stalks down to the ground. This isn't a tool for large jobs or professional landcsapers. I only have about .25 wooded acres that I need to clear every few years to keep the prickers from choking the specimen trees. But this is the perfect attachment for me and my Ryobi weedwacker in the back yard. Assembly is a snap. Cuts through stems up to 3/4 or 1 inch thick. Wear goggles.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Berkeley Springs, WV

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This attachment can knock out serious amounts of brush, thick weeds and small saplings. I agree with the folks who said it will take down a 1" sapling but not much beyond that. Every year I try to clear more of my land and this brush cutter is making the job much easier.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from C.T.

ryobi

PostedMay 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This brush cutter is a great tool it can cut really thick brush and even 1 1/2 inch trees or more. I like the expand it system great job ryobi.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Myrtle Beach Area, SC

Cuts through Jungle!

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My backyard looked worse than any desserted lot! I was worried that snakes were going to show up soon. It was getting so thick that the normal weed eater would have not gotten the job done but with this attachment WOW it cut through like butter! ABSOLUTELY get this one to cut through thick weeds & small brush it gets the job done! This is a GREAT investment & NOONE is going to borrow this one. LOL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Boise, Idaho

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The brush-cutter I purchased works very well. It cut down large weeds as big as 1 1/2 inches around. I love the Expand-it feature of the Ryobi products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Angier,NC

Five stars all the way

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to attach, runs great, and very efficient on all types of brush. Highly recommend this tool. Cuts through even larger brush with ease.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from maine

this product works well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well very well made,easy to install i would buy again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

This Brush-Cutter does an excellent job

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I neede to remove a thick carpet of ivy because it was too hard to control. After I used roundup on it to kill the ivy it had to be cut. The brush cutter did a n excellent job cutting the dead ivy.I woould recommend this item to anyone who has a tough job to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from CT. AND MA.

GREAT CUTTER

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BEST CUTTER I HAVE OWNED. FAST AND EASY TO USE.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from LA

Dirty Jobs

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product made my dirty job much easier. I had to clean a large ditch and pond banks. This product cut down on time. Great Product!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Walker,MN

Works good for cutting small brush.

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works good for brush up to about 3/4" in diameter. I cut hazelbrush and small pople for about 2 hours the first time I used it. Quick attachment and removal as I switch between the brush cutter and grass trimmer. Time will tell how long the blades remain sharp.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

How do I add more string

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Instructions are very poor. Is there a spool of string? Did it come with one string? The worst instructions I have ever seen.
-49points
1out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Evington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK--not great

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
"Brush cutter" is a misnomer. It is a glorified weed whacker. Anything bigger than a soda straw is a problem. We even sharpened it.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Perry, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works GREAT

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works real well when cleaning fence rows and hedge rows. Goest right through thisles, briars, and small bushes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

GREATEST THING EVER!!!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my yard had developed some extereme weeds this year and the string trimmer was just not cutting it. It seemed every 5 min I was untangling brush and weeds out of the head. I tried buying one of the universal heads that you screw on to your trimmer but after an hour of messing around I brought it back and bought the brush-cutter attachment. I did more in 1/2 an hour than I had gotten done the entire day before, it was liek payback almost fun.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>