728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.548 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product75 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(16)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product75 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Kansas City, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Blackberry Tamer!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi 25cc gas-powered trimmer. It came with a string trimmer attachment. Several years ago, my wife planted some blackberry plants along our driveway, and boy was that a huge mistake! These plants spread like wildfire, and began hanging out into our drive. The last couple years, I painstakingly cut them back with loping shears, and ended up getting stabbed with thorns all over. I saw this brush cutter attachment here on Home Depot's website, and knew exactly what I wanted it for. I went to my local Home Depot store and bought one, along with four bottles of the anti-Ethanol oil for 2-cycle engines. Ryobi requires that you use that type of oil to protect the engine of your 2-cycle trimmer from being damaged by ethanol that gas makers add to the fuel we buy.
I brought the brush cutter home, and today I tested it out. Naturally, those blackberry plants were my first victims! What took me a day and a half of painful hand-trimming the last couple years went by in a half-hour! Needless to say, I was very impressed! So too, I was impressed with what came with this trimmer; namely an extra trimmer handle and a shoulder strap to take some of the weight off of you while using the trimmer. I already had a good handle on my trimmer, so I didn't need a new one, although I give props to Ryobi for including it. The shoulder strap and its bracket, I didn't have, so I really appreciated that!
I was impressed as well with just how big of plants you can take down with this brush cutter, given a little patience and a light touch. We had a bunch of baby trees coming up along our fence, as well as some old growth honeysuckle that had gone wild. I was cutting trees down that were 1-2 inches thick. You just have to be patient, and kind of use a sawing motion with the cutter, and not press it too hard against the tree, or it will bind up. When you hear the engine start to bog down, you know you are pressing too hard, and you need to back off a little and let the trimmer get back up to speed.
Right now, I am all worn out, but next weekend, I plan to go to my son's house and tackle a jungle he has growing in what is supposed to be his back yard. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase, and consider it to be an excellent buy! Thanks Ryobi, and Home Depot!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like a warm knife through butter

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great at hacking back the thick stuff. We have several acres and use this to cut back the edge of the meadow a few times per year - works great on some really thick bramble. Blades are easy to sharpen or replace, and it's light enough to work with for long periods of time. It includes a shoulder strap and aggressive handle - which also help.
Also, it's string enough to slice through copper A/C lines... I know from experience... so, be careful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tool so far

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you have heavy vegetation to cut through, this tool is what you want. It works pretty good with the electric power head, but really good with the gas head.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Ryobi brush cutter

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought a acreage & it had lots of heavy brush this brush cutter cut thru it with no problem. Even cutting trees in 2" diameter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from LA

Dirty Jobs

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product made my dirty job much easier. I had to clean a large ditch and pond banks. This product cut down on time. Great Product!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Boise, Idaho

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The brush-cutter I purchased works very well. It cut down large weeds as big as 1 1/2 inches around. I love the Expand-it feature of the Ryobi products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Perry, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works GREAT

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works real well when cleaning fence rows and hedge rows. Goest right through thisles, briars, and small bushes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Moore, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is the 3rd Ryobi attachment I purchased. The tiller and chain saw work great and have had no problems with them. This attachment also works as advertised, however the blades could be a little larger and sharper. It does cut through brush and small saplings, but does take some time. All in all it works well and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: blades too small, blades not sharp enough.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brush Cutter Worked Well But -

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had 15702 for about three years and found that it works well. I would warn users that the device has limited use in cutting brush. Anything over 3/8 of an inch in diameter is pushing it. It will cut sticks that size by chewing away at the stalk but if you force it, it canl jam and break the drive shaft. Making the unit useless. Hope this helps future buyers/users of the 15702
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from chesapeake Beach, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing for thick brush and small trees

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this instead of a brush trimmer head replacement for my ryobi 4 cycle trimmer. The quality of this product is amazing, solid steel and very well built. I couldn't have been happier with my purchase, this took care of very thick weeds/brush like a knife through butter. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Nicholson, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very usefull

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easily attached and works well on heavy growth. long handle gives good reach .
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Ok, but could be better

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This brush cutter works ok, but not much better than a string trimmer.
It doesn't really cut through larger diameter shoots as one would expect for a "brush cutter".
I was surprised that the "cutting edge" of the cutter was not sharpened, it only apparently "smashes" through the stems and branches of the brush.
This tool would be much better with a cutting head much more like a circular saw blade.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Northern New England

Expand-It Brush Cutter

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Always wear eye protection. This is simply an excellant product. It does the job as promised and it is extremley durable. Always wear eye protection.Easily takes down 1/4 inch brush, thick weeds and tall grass. I did a wild 500ft long 12ft wide stretch, next to a stone wall, in about 2 hours. And did I mention alway wear eye protection. This is a serious tool and it gets results. The additional handle and shoulder strap that came with the brush cutter blade transformed the header end and gave the tool needed control and comfort.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from maine

this product works well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works well very well made,easy to install i would buy again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Kutztown, PA 19530, USA

I LIKE IT.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A GREAT LITTLE TOOL. SERVES MY NEEDS TO A TEE. VERY STRONG AND POWERFUL TOOL. CUTS BRUSH WITH EASE.
Pros: Cuts Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Goodbye Ivy !!!!!

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to go with my Toro weed trimmer. We have a problem with ivy coming over from the neighbors yard.Not any more !!!!! This tool is fantastic clearing all the unwanted ivy from the ground. The ivy will no longer control my back yard. It is so easy to change from one head to the other.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This works as advertised.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to clear some heavy brush to make a path to the lake. It worked extremely well making short work of even the thickest brush. The only downside was the weight. The attachment came with a strap but it was too short to do any good. Other than that, this is a great product.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Vashon, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm :)

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cut my 10' X 20' blackberry patch out in about 30 minutes. Easy switch over from weedeater head.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Caldwell idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product definately worth money

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great and cuts all sizes of brush very affordable and staff was very helpful. And easy to maintain
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Walker, Minnesota
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was pretty much what was advertised and expected.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>