728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Attachment for Trimmer helps you eliminate unsightly weeds and pulpy stalks from your yard. The straight-shaft attachment can be used with Ryobi, Toro, Weed Eater and Troy Bilt Trimmer.
Overall rating:
4.562 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product85 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(70)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product85 of 93reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Kansas City, Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Blackberry Tamer!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Ryobi 25cc gas-powered trimmer. It came with a string trimmer attachment. Several years ago, my wife planted some blackberry plants along our driveway, and boy was that a huge mistake! These plants spread like wildfire, and began hanging out into our drive. The last couple years, I painstakingly cut them back with loping shears, and ended up getting stabbed with thorns all over. I saw this brush cutter attachment here on Home Depot's website, and knew exactly what I wanted it for. I went to my local Home Depot store and bought one, along with four bottles of the anti-Ethanol oil for 2-cycle engines. Ryobi requires that you use that type of oil to protect the engine of your 2-cycle trimmer from being damaged by ethanol that gas makers add to the fuel we buy.
I brought the brush cutter home, and today I tested it out. Naturally, those blackberry plants were my first victims! What took me a day and a half of painful hand-trimming the last couple years went by in a half-hour! Needless to say, I was very impressed! So too, I was impressed with what came with this trimmer; namely an extra trimmer handle and a shoulder strap to take some of the weight off of you while using the trimmer. I already had a good handle on my trimmer, so I didn't need a new one, although I give props to Ryobi for including it. The shoulder strap and its bracket, I didn't have, so I really appreciated that!
I was impressed as well with just how big of plants you can take down with this brush cutter, given a little patience and a light touch. We had a bunch of baby trees coming up along our fence, as well as some old growth honeysuckle that had gone wild. I was cutting trees down that were 1-2 inches thick. You just have to be patient, and kind of use a sawing motion with the cutter, and not press it too hard against the tree, or it will bind up. When you hear the engine start to bog down, you know you are pressing too hard, and you need to back off a little and let the trimmer get back up to speed.
Right now, I am all worn out, but next weekend, I plan to go to my son's house and tackle a jungle he has growing in what is supposed to be his back yard. All in all, I am very happy with this purchase, and consider it to be an excellent buy! Thanks Ryobi, and Home Depot!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like a warm knife through butter

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great at hacking back the thick stuff. We have several acres and use this to cut back the edge of the meadow a few times per year - works great on some really thick bramble. Blades are easy to sharpen or replace, and it's light enough to work with for long periods of time. It includes a shoulder strap and aggressive handle - which also help.
Also, it's string enough to slice through copper A/C lines... I know from experience... so, be careful.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tool so far

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you have heavy vegetation to cut through, this tool is what you want. It works pretty good with the electric power head, but really good with the gas head.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Ryobi brush cutter

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just bought a acreage & it had lots of heavy brush this brush cutter cut thru it with no problem. Even cutting trees in 2" diameter.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Great price!

PostedJune 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wasn't sure about this at first compared to the echo attachment with the actual blade. I bought this for my Troy-Bilt and it works great! I didn't have any issues cutting over growth brush and with a little work even 12 ' tall trees 3in wide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Lancaster, MA

Simple to use and works great!!

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got this and used it the first day. Simple swap over and it was great on the larger weeds, heavier grass and even small saplings. This is well worth it!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Springfielld, VA

Brush Cutter

PostedJune 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for cutting/removing tough undergrowth. Works great around landscapping, fences, and house. Well worth the money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from W-S, NC

A real time & back saver

PostedDecember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Every expand-it attachment I have bought has been fairly useful in some way or an other. Having around 30,000 s.f. of sapling trees to clear out for a driveway, I feared I'd never get it done. A chainsaw wont cut tiny (dime-sized) saps efficiently. This gadget zipped right through dime-sized saps in a millisecond, at ground level, up to about 1". 1"-2" took a while to do, so a small chainsaw is better suited for larger saps.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from LA

Dirty Jobs

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product made my dirty job much easier. I had to clean a large ditch and pond banks. This product cut down on time. Great Product!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Walker,MN

Works good for cutting small brush.

PostedMay 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works good for brush up to about 3/4" in diameter. I cut hazelbrush and small pople for about 2 hours the first time I used it. Quick attachment and removal as I switch between the brush cutter and grass trimmer. Time will tell how long the blades remain sharp.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Boise, Idaho

Works very well

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The brush-cutter I purchased works very well. It cut down large weeds as big as 1 1/2 inches around. I love the Expand-it feature of the Ryobi products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Perry, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works GREAT

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works real well when cleaning fence rows and hedge rows. Goest right through thisles, briars, and small bushes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Moore, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is the 3rd Ryobi attachment I purchased. The tiller and chain saw work great and have had no problems with them. This attachment also works as advertised, however the blades could be a little larger and sharper. It does cut through brush and small saplings, but does take some time. All in all it works well and I would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: blades too small, blades not sharp enough.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for small brush

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was pleased with how well this brush cutter took care of the many varieties of briars around our house. It also works well taking out small saplings. You just need to get it to full throttle and hold it in place at the base of the tree for a couple of seconds. It doesn't just go through like string line does on grass.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It cuts blackberry brush, ceanothus, and grass

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It actually does what it's supposed to do, a surprise for me because I tried a similar unit from Sears and returned it quickly because it couldn't cut brush. This Ryobi unit has a dull three-tooth blade that I think would cut even better if it were sharp, but sharpening it is discouraged -- I don't know why. The whole unit seems sturdy enough for its purpose.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Maryland
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brush Cutter Worked Well But -

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had 15702 for about three years and found that it works well. I would warn users that the device has limited use in cutting brush. Anything over 3/8 of an inch in diameter is pushing it. It will cut sticks that size by chewing away at the stalk but if you force it, it canl jam and break the drive shaft. Making the unit useless. Hope this helps future buyers/users of the 15702
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good brush cutter

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I got this and attached it to my Ryobi 40-Volt X Lithium-ion Cordless String Trimmer. Worked pretty well for cutting light brush. Does better against live vegetation. Was able to cut through brush with up to 1/4 inch thick stems/branches without hesitation if you go slow and let the tool do the cutting work (don't force it). Struggles on things closer to 1/2 inch thick. The blade edge is blunt, not sharp. Ran for about 45 minutes of constant use with my Ryobi 40 Volt X. Blade shows no sign of wear, even after nicking concrete a couple of times by accident. Difficult to see blade edge when running; I will try painting the tips to see if it makes it more visible when running. Keep the spinning blade level to the ground or it will cut down to the dirt; however, this "bonus feature" is handy if you are trying to redo small patches of lawn overgrown with non-grass to get a fresh start. Some type of actual saw blade attachment to tackle thicker brush is the only improvement I can think of. Makes a good, solid connection with my Ryobi 40 Volt X. Works great for my needs!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from chesapeake Beach, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing for thick brush and small trees

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this instead of a brush trimmer head replacement for my ryobi 4 cycle trimmer. The quality of this product is amazing, solid steel and very well built. I couldn't have been happier with my purchase, this took care of very thick weeds/brush like a knife through butter. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment
from Nicholson, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very usefull

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easily attached and works well on heavy growth. long handle gives good reach .
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Expand-It 8 in. Brush-Cutter Trimmer Attachment

Ok, but could be better

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This brush cutter works ok, but not much better than a string trimmer.
It doesn't really cut through larger diameter shoots as one would expect for a "brush cutter".
I was surprised that the "cutting edge" of the cutter was not sharpened, it only apparently "smashes" through the stems and branches of the brush.
This tool would be much better with a cutting head much more like a circular saw blade.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>