728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Sheetrock brand Plus 3 Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound weighs up to 30% less than conventional compounds. Handling and applying are simpler, easier and faster for the installer. Each job goes more quickly so productivity is higher and in-place costs are lower. To further cut labor costs, Plus 3 lightweight all purpose joint compound requires only two coats over metal, such as corner beads and fasteners. The added coat needed with conventional compounds is eliminated. Plus 3 lightweight all purpose joint compound also sands more easily than any other compound, using only 150-grit sandpaper or 220-grit abrasive mesh cloth. It needs only minimal mixing, thinning or retempering. Joint finishing is faster, easier, smoother, with a quality finish in less time. All of which means minimal callbacks and maximum job completions for improved job labor costs. Plus 3 lightweight all purpose joint compound bonds like a taping product, providing a tough, tight bond under most job conditions. It combines all-purpose, single-package convenience with optimum taping and topping performance. Use it for embedding and finishing, even for simple hand-applied texturing. When used as a texture finish, it should be overpainted when dry (not washable unpainted).
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product14 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Review 1 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

I love this stuff!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used a few other types of mud in the past. This product is smooth and glides on with few bubbles. I like to work mine a bit with the knife when I put it in the pan to make it nice and creamy before spreading it on the wall. There is not a lot of dust when you sand either. Most of the sanded material drops straight to the ground and stirs up very little powder. Thinner coats dry very quickly being ready to sand in just a few hours. Thicker coats are less prone to cracking unless you apply heat to dry them. Then, of course they will crack.
I would recommend this product to new users as well as experienced applicants.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Wellsville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Have used this for years

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not a professional spackler but I rehab houses so I go through tons of this stull. I find it easier to blend than the general purpose joint compound so less sanding is required. If I require a third coat it's usually a touch-up coat to fill in pin holes. I'll cut this third coat with water to the consistency of pudding so it feathers nicely. Here's some pointers I learned over the years. Scrap down the sides of the bucket as you go so all the compound remains moist. Dried bits of compound in the mix equates to streaks on the wall. Load your hawk with small amounts at a time so you won't have to return unused portions to the bucket. Lastly, if you cut the mix with tap water cut it on the hawk and not in the bucket. This stuff will form a layer of mold in no time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Drywall Newbie

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first time doing drywall and I started with another product and had the hardest time working with it. I switched to Plus 3 and now I don't mind it at all. it goes on much smoother and with less air bubbles as it dries. I only had to use 2 coats instead of 3 because it doesn't shrink as much as the other product. It also doesn't flake off at the edges when you sand it. I would recommend this to all first time drywall finishers. The 4.5 gal bucket also covers more area than the standard stuff in the 5 gal bucket and the bucket is a full 15 lbs lighter which is fantastic for a smaller person to handle.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

cracks at joints after curing

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was applied to new sheetrock on ceiling and walls with taped joints. After about a week later, just about all the joints have cracks. Never had this problem with the other joint compounds that I've used over the years...very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Chicago, IL

Easy to use

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best compound to use if you are repairing drywall, or if you are creating new walls. Easy to use and fairly inexpensive.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

A pro's favorite

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 15 years of finishing drywall, Plus 3 is my favorite mud to finish coat with. Nice and lightweight, goes on super easy and sands even easier.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Auburn Hills, MI

Great Product

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We usually buy the bag and mix ourselves, but this was MUCH easier to use and worked just as well! It didn't shrink at all, we only had to apply once and then sand and paint.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product for making new walls

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this over ugly wood paneling(taped over the grooves), to create a new wall in my house. Worked great, sanded easily. Very easy to apply, and dries quickly(though I gave it a few extra days before sanding).
Eats up the first coat of paint, so if you paint over it, use a cheap paint for the first layer, then use your better paint on top.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+14points
18out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Exceptional for wall finishing

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! Recently used to refinish the drywall in my house for a smoother surface. Also have used to create smooth ceilings in my home. Easy to use. Use a spray bottle of water to moisten the mixture as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Joint Compound

PostedJanuary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product at a decent price. Works just as advertised, goes on easy with no fuss.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product saves a lot of time

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good product. It comes mixed to thick for taping or trying to put on a really thin coat. With a little thinning it works great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: too thick
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product made me look like a pro!

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product work beyond expectations and was easy to work with
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very easy product to use!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I loved this product. it was vey consistant and very easy to use. I had to do minimal sanding after using this compound. The lighter weight was much apprciated also!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound

Easy to Use!

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SHEETROCK Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound is easy to apply, dries quickly with minimal shrinkage, and iseasy to finish/sand.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plus 3 4.5-Gal. Lightweight All-Purpose Pre-Mixed Joint Compound
from new york, ny

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is at a very fair price and you only have to put one coat!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.