728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dog Supplies or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED

6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED

Eliminate the hassle of assembling a complicated pet enclosure with the K-9 KWIK KENNEL 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. high Kennel. This kennel features framing that simply slides together and requires only a hammer, screwdriver and a pair of pliers to install.
Overall rating:
3.34 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product57 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(17)
3
(16)
2
(8)
1
(22)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product57 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Marion, TX 78124, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy assembly

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble if you follow instructions, I used this kennel as part of a chicken tractor, so therefor I added a roof made of chicken wire and beefed up the sides with horizontal rails mid way between top and bottom,I used self tapping 3/4 screws where each piece come together, I added retractable wheels on one end so it can easly be moved aroung the yard.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Anthony, FL 32617, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is sturdy and easy to assemble

PostedApril 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this kennel to attach to my 50 ft x 60 ft chain link fenced play area for my 7 dogs. Prior to using the kennel, we had a few escapes while trying to put them all in the play area as well as when we were bringing them back into the house. I left the fencing off one side of the kennel and attached it to the play area fence surrounding the gate. That way if a dog runs out while we are opening the gate, they are still contained in the kennel and we can leash them safely. It has worked beautifully. The dogs and humans are much calmer. The kennel was easy to put together with 2 adults and my teen daughter. It took us about 2 hours, even with adjusting the fencing to leave one side open. I am very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, easy to follow instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED

eh. avoid.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this as I was pricing out building my own 6x10 kennel. Cost was near the same if not a little cheaper and I figured that made the precut, pre-engineered one a better deal. Once I got it home and started getting it together, I realized that i it was going to work as I needed it, it would be just barely and with modifications. The railing is TINY, just 1" and not strong at all. The chain link is weak. The gate is an atrocious design! You can latch it and still just push the gate open as it swings around the pole... If you're putting a larger dog in a kennel there's probably a reason, and unless you modify this one of three things will happen: it'll either end up on its side somewhere and your dog will be free, or the gate will be wide open and your dog will still be free; or, your dog will fuss with the chain link enough to pull the tensioners off the puny hooks that "hold it in place".
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Knoxville, TN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for what we needed!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have an auto body repair shop that we take our dogs to and from with us each day. (60 lb boxer and an 80 lb american bulldog) They had destroyed the break room and almost killed themselves chewing the AC power cord. We assembled this kennel and placed it inside the workshop and it is perfect! It took 3 of us about an hour and a half to set it up and feel really good about it. (Probably would have been fine, but we added some extra anchors to the frame with wire coat hangers for a little more peace of mind... the boys are pretty good at figuring out any weak spots.) The frame connections are a little loose until you get the chain link stretched around it... We just put a little tape around the joints to hold it for a few minutes.
We have our break room back and the bulldog doesn't have to live in his taxi all the time so that he can't get to the drywall.
The kennel rocks!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Will not hold dog in or out !

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one so I could keep chickens in because I got the Idea online the first week another dog came and scratch and chewed through chain link mesh killed all my chickens then proceeded to get out of the kennel with no problem. Lost a nice rooster and two hens. So if you want to protect any animal inside or from getting in please do not buy this product !
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Washington, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Would buy again

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 90 pound rot/lab mix, he has destroyed travel kennels in the past within days and escaped (as an example of his attitude and strength). This kennel has kept him secure for over a week now and I do not see any signs of wear or tear whats so ever. The other reviews that say their dog escaped - Those are also the ones that say they got it up in 30 minutes. It took my dad and I 2 hours to put this up and we made sure we did a good job. We used every single fastener that was supplied + some heavy duty zip ties and steal wire. If you put extra support on this kennels week spots there is no way of escape other than digging (I have it under some plywood). Also make sure you tighten the bolts on the latch or it can push open easily.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: must re-inforce every few inches top and bottom.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ

Great Kennel if assembled right

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this kennel for our large german shepherd. I was a little worried based on other reviewers comments. We decided to take a chance and I am happy we did. The frame itself takes no more than 5 minutes to get up. The hard part is making sure the fencing is wrapped correctly (removing any slack) and also taking the time to place the ties on the kennel. This is very important though. Your hands start aching and you will want to rush it but you will pay for this later. Make sure you take your time and tie it securely with at least 3 wraps around the wire. After, you will be entertained as I was as I watched my shepherd test the whole kennel for weaknesses then lie down in surrender. He even likes his new home now and voluntarily goes in even when he isnt required to. Take your time and you will have great results.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from North Fork, CA 93643, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor construction

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Chain links not complete. You have to know how to
weave chain links to complete this . Took 3 adults
3 hours to put together.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Flower Mound, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect When Assembled Correctly

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kennel was a breeze to assemble if the instructions are followed as written. This includes removing slack fabric and securing it to the frame with the provided tie wires. It is very sturdy. One small glitch was the breed of my dog. I have a beagle, otherwise known as the escape artist breed. She dug a hole under the frame during her first stay and escaped. I was able to remedy this issue by moving the kennel, rolling out mesh screen and replacing the kennel on top of the screen. Problem solved. The kennel is now perfect.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this kennel and I must say that I wish I would have sucked it up and paid a little more for quality. The frame is okay with the exception of how it is connected. The mid pieces can be easily pushed in unless anchored. However still leaves the top to be flimsy. The chain link was of poor quality. It was tangled, miss woven and uneven. Even after removing many strings of the fencing and tying it to the frame it is still loose. A large dog could easily tear this up over time. I live in a remote area and drove 2 hours to purchase this, plus the difficulty of repackaging will probably leave me to just eating the price. I plan on paying for a quality kennel.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Despite some bad press, We think its perfect!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for an outdoor enclosure for our two 55 lb hound dogs. I almost didn't get it because of some of the reviews about the chain link, holes, the chain link too short, very difficult to install, poor quality etc. etc. Well we did not have a single problem with installing it and the quality is just perfect for the price we paid. It took 2 average DIY adults about an hour to put it together and we had none of the difficulties of what others stated, we didn't even need a screwdriver let alone a come-along to tighten the chain link. Just took our time and thought about it. We did have one spot "unravel" a bit, causing a hole, but it was an easy fix, I just spun the 2 wires/links back down one diamond where they were supposed to be and reconnected it at the bottom, took about 3 minutes. No big deal. I also think it will be plenty strong enough for our 55 lb. dogs, but they also respect boundaries. If you have a bit of common sense and take your time ...and your dog is not Cujo, this is a snap to put together and use.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Rosenberg, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value: takes more than 30 minutes to assemble

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this kennel yesterday about 6PM picked it up at my local store they had only 1 in stock, got it home and began to assemble it, even followed the directions, not like me at all but since it was my first time to assemble a kennel decide it might be a good idea, it looks great I don't think my 60lb black lab will get out of it. so it was a great value and looks good in my back yard. The only issue I had is the the directions say 30 minutes to assemble but it takes a lot longer than that. I am good at putting things together and it took me about 2.5 hours, stretching the wire AKA fabric as the directions call it is not easy it goes together well but the frame wants to fall apart before you get the chain link around it, The chain link is not easy to deal with I am a 47 year old X football player and it was a strain to get it all the way around the frame and it took some muscle to get it the last few inches. Still think it is a great buy and will serve the purpose, but don't belive you can set it up in 30 minutes without a lot of help.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED

LOVE this kennel!

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this kennel at my local Home Depot. It is great for the money and VERY EASY to put together, I do not know why people are complaining about setting it up. Mine came with clear directions and each part has a letter on it and the directions tell you which letter goes to what part. My dad and I put this together in 20 minutes, not hard at all. I have a 70 pound dog and a 45 pound dog that I put in it and it is holding up just fine. The fencing is still all together, no bends, holes or breaks. If you put it together THE RIGHT WAY it will last for you.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas Texas

Too Cheap to be secure

PostedOctober 23, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal is so soft that my black lab puched against the bottom and bent the three metal ties and the mesh spread apart and she crawled out between the bottom rail and the fencing. I'm checking out Home Depots return policy next.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product meets my needs

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is OK, but have to say that it takes more than 30 minutes to assemble. Some of the chain link had to be straightened because it was twisted and not linked to each other. Also, stretching the fencing was quite a feat. All in all, after it was done, it looks good.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED

58 yr old woman set it up ALONE in 1 hr

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this to house 2 cats and a Chihuahua while I'm at work. With my own home-made roof, it's perfect for them to get some fresh air and be safe. Tall enough to allow lots of cat shelves for climbing and secure enough they can't get out.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Huntsville, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent solution for us

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was relatively inexpensive and surprisingly easy to assemble. The 60 sq ft gave our 10 puppies and their Black Lab mom plenty of room to be comfortable between their exercise times. It is very sturdy - but- light enough that a couple of people can easily move it around the yard.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 Pitbulls

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two very intelligent pit bulls who love to escape everything. My wife and my father put this up in 30 minutes. Dogs don't mind it it seems. First night they spent there they ripped the fence from the gate frame. Had some chain (20 ft) and looped it through the chain and frame and its fixed. Would recommend a sun block top or lots of nearby trees. Would definitely buy again and recommend. May buy a second to separate dogs. Great price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Sunrise, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very satisfied

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put up and dogs thoroughly enjoy. Have 95 pound American Bull dog and it is holding up very well. Very satisfied with product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6 ft. x 10 ft. x 6 ft. Galvanized Steel Boxed Kennel Kit-DISCONTINUED
from Bemidji MN

Installation is easy

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installation and assembly was easy. Uses a minimum of tools. Sturdy, but the wire ties are very soft and weak. I upgraded our ties to 12 guage steel wire. I would suggest also adding more strap clips on the ends of the fence because 3 is just not enough- the dog can easily shove their head through the fence.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>