728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed

Need storage space? Tired of all the clutter in your garage or backyard? Store your lawnmower, gardening products and more in a Rubbermaid Big Max. Big Max is a strong and durable resin storage building. It resists moisture and doesnt require maintenance. It includes a floor and comes standard with windows and skylights. The roof design sheds rain and snow.
Overall rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product158 of 172reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(99)
4
(51)
3
(12)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product158 of 172reviews
Customer reviews for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
Review 1 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from New York

Great shed

PostedAugust 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took my husband and I a lot longer than 60 minutes. Some of the fitted insets in the floor needed to be cut out and that was not immediately obvious to us. Everything needs to be square before it really snaps together, so plan on jiggling things a little bit. Closing the doors and having one person on the inside to screw things down was good. It also took a long time to cut up all the boxes so the trash folks will pick it up. I'm really happy with the shed and rubber maid storage items we got. They look nice, the engineering is clever and I'm looking for a kit that uses some of these neat groves to install shelves, hangers etc.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Knightdale, NC

Big Max Shed is a great value.

PostedAugust 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Big Max shed is a great shed without spending a lot of money. You will definitely need a full size truck or trailer to get it home from the store. I was able to assemble the entire shed by myself, but would recommend two people to make it easier and less time consuming. Take the time to prepare level ground and it will save a lot of aggravation getting the panels and roof to line up correctly. My only problem with this product was the hardware for the door windows and the skylights were not included in the box, so I have to wait for them to be sent to me. Overall, it was easy to assemble, looks great, and you will have a hard time finding a better quality product for the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Apollo, Pennsylvania

PostedJuly 10, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. it is far bigger inside, than it looks on the outside. I have a lawn tractor with a 42" deck, lawn mower, snow thrower, weed wacker and a leaf blower in the shed right now and I sent for the optional accesory kit for the walls to hang stuff. I reccomend 2 people to put it together. It took us about 1 1/2 hours from start to finish. I also reccomend bringing it home in a trailer. This product came in 2 rather large boxes and would be difficult to lay down in a smaller pick up truck. No rust, no painting, no wood rot. For the money, this is a GREAT BUY !!!!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Florida

Max shed Maxes on Rating

PostedMay 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed is great! My husband and I snapped it together in under 2 hours with only one or two minor frustrations. Delivery was a problem so after several attempts we went to the store and had it loaded into our pickup truck. It comes packed in two boxes and was easy for the two of us to handle. All the hardware ( and there isn't allot) was there and easy to figure out. We had to use persuasion (a hammer) on one wall and the roof sections are a bit challenging but once together it is sturdy and roomy. I could not have put it together alone, but with two of us it was a breeze.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed

AWESOME BUY

PostedMarch 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had the Big Max previous version shed for at least 5 years and i have been completely satisfied. It is easy to clean and never has leaked and has been through major wind and hail storms. The biggest problem i had was finding and honest person to do the concrete slab. Once the slab was compete I was able to install with little help from an 8 year old and i am a female! What I read from a few other reviews it was difficult to install on unlevel ground, I suggest a concrete slab because it was very easy installlation. The reason I am back on this site is I wanted to verify they are still selling this product so I can recommend to my sister!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from New York

Great Shed for the money!

PostedJuly 21, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
*The ground must be semi level in order for the doors to close properly and the peices to line up. **One thing about this shed is that there is optional instructions for the roof. If you want extra support for areas with snow you will need to buy a 16' 2X6 and cut it to double brace the roof. Buy pressure treated wood. It should only cost about $17. The reviews are true the assembly time is more like a couple of hours and the roof is the hardest part. I couldn't get my roof fully clicked in and I just screwed it together anyway. It has held up fine, you can't tell the difference. Another great idea is to put weed stop matting down underneath the shed before installing the shed. It should only cost around $20. It will make the shed last longer and prevent any weeds from finding there way throught the floor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Michigan

The Best Shed

PostedApril 4, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband is great at putting things together so this was a breeze! My children all got to help Daddy put the shed together is was great watching them all working together. We were able to fit more in this shed than I could have ever thought! All of the kids bikes, power wheels and of course the lawn mower,weed wacker and shop vac all fit too with room to spare! And how can you go wrong with not having to paint! This is a GREAT shed and it is definately worth buying.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Mass.

Great product, roof instructions STINK!

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great little shed. We use it to store our kids toys. Everything goes together great except the roof. DO NOT FOLLOW THE RUBBERMAID INSTRUCTIONS FOR INSTALLING THE ROOF. Follow the other posts and install the back panel first. Slide it all the way back and then lift it up gently and install the front panel.
My wife and I struggled with the roof installation for quite a while. I read some other posts, followed the revised instructions and the roof was up in 10 minutes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Portland, OR

Easy to set up except for the roof, and A TIP.

PostedSeptember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's true, this shed is as easy as putting together a LEGO toy. One exception, the back panels on the roof. After an hour of unsuccessfully trying to get the back panels in the grove. I tried to pry up with a screw driver from the inside. IT WORKED. Apparently, it just needed a little persuasion with the screwdriver from below and a mallet tapping from the edge of the roof panel. A two person job for sure.
A great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Oregon

The roof is a terrible problem

PostedMay 27, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was almost impossible to get the roof to fit. My son and I had to build it on the ground and then carry it to the shed. The problem is that the second piece on each side needs to overlap with the first, but there is no room for this overlap.
The other problem is the comments about a level starting spot are really, really true. I had a contractor pouring concrete for a patio and asked him to level the surface for the shed. I had put a lot of fine gravel there but wanted it absolutely level. He did this and rolled it to compress it. It was not level enough and the doors don't close easily. I bought a bicycle U-lock that I slide threw to lock the door.
The big pieces "snap" into place, but the snapping is minimal. The roof snaps in and it was a real pain dong that.
The floor is quite nice. The plastic is fairly thick. If it doesn't blow over it should last a long time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from San Jose, CA

Big Max Shed Assembly

PostedAugust 18, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit that was delivered has been upgraded from the picture at the Home Depot Website and the sample at our store. They have added windows in the doors and two skylights. The door styling also looks better. Some changes were made to keep the roof held down as it tries to warp. The more level the ground, the better off you will be during assembly, as the panels tend to distort and then not fit together quite right. The roof really is a bear to install and cannot be done by one person. That part needs a redesign. You need two step stools or ladders. After putting one panel in, which is not easy because of warping, you need someone to raise it and keep it in while your raise, bend out the warp and insert the other. Installing the optional 2X6 beams for roof support helps support the roof as it is being installed. Having survived the roof, I am quite pleased with how the shed looks. Best of all, it is termite proof!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from NJ

Great shed but didn't follow the directions exact

PostedAugust 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Big Max Shed was very quick to put together except the
roof. We ended up doing an internet search for tips
on installing the roof and didn't follow the directions
that came with it. We did get frustrated when following
the instructions but we ended up inserting the back
panel first then lifting it up a little and inserting the front
panel last (opposite to the directions). After struggling with
the roof and reading some very complex postings, we
found just installing it backwards worked for us. The
shed is great though for our bikes and ladders and such
and so much easier than any non plastic shed to put together.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Athens, GA

Great Storage Shed

PostedJune 11, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wouldn't be too concerned about getting the roof installed. I easily assembled and installed the roof according to the excellent instructions. The only assistance I needed was when I was attaching the roof to the gables and walls, and holding the front gable in place while I attached the doors. My wife held each corner of the roof down while I tightened the screws. Once each roof corner was attached the rest of the roof attachment didn't require assistance.
It is imperative that the foundation for the storage shed be as level as possible. I'd wager that the people who had so much trouble attaching the roof didn't have a level platform or slab.
One other point that you may find helpful. If you construct the foundation before purchasing the storage shed and reading the instructions you will need to add an inch and a half to the length. Although the building is 7' X 7', the front of the floor has a one and one-half inch additional lip. I had to add a 2 X 4 to the front of my platform to keep the floor from overhanging.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from CCT

PostedMay 24, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had this thing delivered at home. Unless you drive a full size truck you ought to have it delivered. Anyways, myself and my 12 yr old went to work. It probably could be done with 1 person but very difficult. All in all it was fairly easy to put together until we started on the roof. The roof panels were difficult to line up and took much effort. The instructions were confusing and I felt that whoever wrote the manual assumed that the customer would be mechanically inclined. The instruction says you need a small step ladder but probably better off having at least a 7ft ladder.
Took us about 4hrs. for a period of 2 days to finish. We'll see how it holds up with Texas weather.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed

Great storage building

PostedMay 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very unassuming appearance, fairly easy to put together (not a one person job, though). I love it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed

great product

PostedMay 16, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had my shed almost two years now and I love it, we've had lots of straight line winds and hail storms the past few years and my shed hasn't buldged the only problem I've had is when I put it together I didn't get the ground completely level and now I've got a few cracks at the seams so if I was to ever get another I would make sure I had a concrete pad other than that it's a very solid shed I didn't have to anchor it to the ground it like the other review stated takes around 3 hours to assemble and is a two people job even though I put mine up by myself there was a lot of frustration
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Barry, IL

Big Max Shed

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall, I'm very pleased with this product. I particularly like that it is waterproof and comes with the floor. Also, my daughter and I were able to put it together by ourselves. My only complaint is that it cannot be assembled according to the instructions. Everything was fine until it came to putting on the roof. We had to put both pieces of one side on, lock them together, then lower them in order to get the roof on. The instrctions say to put each piece up separately, lower them, then lock them together. That does not work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from South East MI

Big Max Shed

PostedJuly 15, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great easy to assemble shed. It went together with 2 people in a little over an hour. There is however a huge error in the instructions, the right right corner walls must be assembled before clicking to floor or you can't put the corner together. The roof overlaps were a bit tricky, but with a 6' step ladder and a second pair of hands we got it w/o much fuss. The only other problem was the hole for the lock was not large enough for a standard padlock, I had to drill the hole out to 21/64" for it to work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Southern tier mountains, NY

big max shed

PostedMay 10, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most it took me and my husband 2 1/2 hours to put the shed together. Overall we like it very much. My only BIG beef was the two 2x6 beams that are needed for extra roof support were not mentioned untill the middle of the directions. We assembled this shed in a remote mountain location at our camp and were not able to run out and get the additional lumber. My advice.... get the 2 2x6 support beams when you purchase the shed. Overall the roof was the most difficult to assemble, namely the last roof piece to go in place is VERY hard to set. I would also advise anchoring the walls to the floor via L-brackets or similar L-beams. Just snapping the walls to the floor does not seem like enough to me. The wall accesory kit is great and very handy for shelving and tools. I would gladly purchase another big max shed if needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 Ft. X 7 Ft. Big Max Shed
from Spring, Tx

Big Max Shed

PostedMarch 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this shed about 1 year ago since I had moved and I downsized, so I needed more space for my yard chemicals, mower, yard signs, etc.... THIS IS THE BEST SHED!! It is a great size and can hold a LOT....
I would reccommend a good flat ground with hard gravel under the base: if not it will sink as you place heavy items in it, which was my own fault....Otherwise, it is a great shed...
Keeps mositure out and stays dry when door is closed...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>