728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(581 reviews) 581
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product525 of 556reviews
Rating Breakdown 581 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(473)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product525 of 556reviews
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 219 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 1 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Port Angeles, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mower!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A big step up from our previous 3 speed Honda mower. Every feature is improved, from adjustable handle height (I'm 6' 2") to the more powerful 190 engine - no stalling or slowing down in tall grass. Quality cutting and mulching job. The picture is of only the second cutting this season. As you can see, there are no clumps of un-mulched grass. Very pleased as I mulch everything! Also like the blade stop feature, so I can leave the engine running and roll over something like a mole dirt mound without damaging the blade. Hydrostatic cruise control, I have read, is far superior to the 3 speed, which quit on us after 3 years. This mower has a 5 year warranty with an additional 1 year for a limited time when registering with Honda. Started first pull out of the box, and as long as you follow their guidelines, should deal with the bad gas we have these days. Free shipping to your home, too! Definitely worth the investment!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from North Bend, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic cut

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with the overall performance and quality of this mower. The mulching and cut is excellent. The engine has an automatic choke that works very well. The mower always starts on the first pull even on a cool morning.
I have two small issues with the mower. First, the throttle and the propulsion speed controls are next to each other and I find it is easy to move one when you intend to move the other. Second, when stopping to empty the bag, I often end up with a clump of grass left where I had stopped.
Overall I am happy with the mower and would recommend it to a friend.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from North Augusta, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower with Great Pedigree

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My first Honda self-propelled, blade-break clutch (BBC) mower lasted 14 years before the transmission went out. My second, a Honda "Masters" with steel deck and BBC, lasted 17 years before its transmission failed. Replacing transmission on each of those mowers would cost 65%, or thereabouts, the cost of a new, similar mower. So, that's why I bought a new one instead of replacing the transmissions. Neither of those mowers were ever in the repair shop until close to the end of their transmissions' lives. So, this new Honda mower, which is a super performer, may outlive me!!! It has the run, feel, and exhaust sound of the former two Hondas I've owned. I like that! It also has a 6-year limited warranty. The extra year was given by Honda when I registered the new one with them.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, it isn't light but it is sturdy & solid., i love the "roto-stop" feature!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive, but worth it!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was initially hesitant about spending this much money on a walk behind mower. However I was disappointed with the fact that my previous Craftsman lawnmower only last me 6 years before dying. So this time around I was hoping to make a purchase that will last me a while. In talking with friends and family who own Honda lawnmowers, the advice was unanimous... if you were willing to spend a few extra dollars it was well worth it for a Honda. I was told that many really old Honda lawnmowers have engines that still work perfectly fine, however the bodies get all rusted out. It appears that Honda solved that problem with the Nexite decking that has a lifetime warranty. I was a little skeptical of a "plastic" decking. But after using it for a few months, I definitely think it works well. Lots of great features on this one, my favorite of which is the blade stop. My only gripe about this lawnmower is the bagger. It allows far more dust through and into my face than my previous Craftsman did. Also, the bag opening is nice and large, which is great to make sure that it gets filled up. However I find it a pain trying to empty the bag into one of those compost paper bags. My previous Craftsman fit into the paper bag opening just right. This bagger is too big to fit into the paper bag and makes a mess when trying to empty into it. Not the end of the world, but more of a nuisance than anything and the cons of this lawnmower absolutely outweigh it. Highly recommend it and would make the same purchase again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
29out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Awesome Mower!!!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a Toro mower that was 52 years old and it was hard to replace it / let it go. Toro does not make a quality mower like they use to. I absolutely LOVE this mower. It was very easy to take out of the box and set up. You have to put the oil in before you start it up. I was a bit taken back by the Nexite deck. I did not expect it to be a hard plastic. This is only a small issue, if it is an issue at all. It mows my yard without an issue. I like the mulching mode. It evaporates the grass clippings in nothing. It is pricy, but I fully expect that this Honda mower will last as long as my old Toro...if not longer. Honda has a great reputation. I checked Consumer Reports ( I have a subscription to C.R.) and it received the highest rating of any powered push mower, 83 out of 100. I also check as many other reviews on this & other mowers and this one came out on top. Weight is not an issue for me. i am a 42 year old male. If you want to disengage the drive to pull it backwards it is very easy to do. I also like the variable speed control. Bottom line....you can't go wrong with this one.
Cons: None ( at this time )
Length of ownership: 1 month
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, easy to start first pull
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
49out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Fishers, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not the Messiah of Mowers!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A mower this expensive deserves some honest criticism. First, let me state that I'm happy with my purchase and I do recommend this mower. It IS an excellent mower and hundreds of other reviewers have rated it highly. For context, I've had this mower for one year now and I'm comparing this experience with my previous mower of 20 years: a Toro Recycler II.
Some (minor) drawbacks to the Honda CGV190:
1. Significant grass clippings get trapped in the Versamow compartment. This isn't a huge problem except that you have to manually scoop them out after each mow or the grass will sit in there and rot and stink up your garage. Annoying detail for such an expensive mower.
2. So many reviewers have commented that the mulched grass clippings virtually disappear into your lawn. I disagree. I don't think this mower is all that much better than other mulching mowers at making the grass clippings disappear. It's not bad, but don't expect invisible clippings. I have a healthy, thick lawn and I can definitely see some clumping from time to time with this mower. It's about the same as my old Toro Recycler.
3. The Nexite deck is great, but you'll still have some grass stick to the inside of the deck, especially if it's damp. Believe me, no deck material will prevent that.
4. This machine is heavy! I can't believe some reviewers marveled at how light it is! What were they pushing before this: a tank?! If you have quite a few turns, stops, backing up, etc. to do in your lawn, you're going to get a workout. The heaviness does cause the machine to slide a bit down a slope if you are cutting laterally across the slope -- making it hard to keep straight lines.
5. The dual bar system for propulsion and blade control takes some getting used to. It's definitely a two-handed operation. It's fine once you get used to it, but you should ask yourself: how important to me is it really to have the blade shut-off option? How often am I really going to be stopping to pick up objects, etc and is it really that much of an inconvenience to buy a less expensive mower where I have to re-start the engine every time? I don't think the Roto-stop feature is such a make-break aspect.
I consider these all minor annoyances, but for a mower this expensive, you should know what some of the slight drawbacks are. Final verdict: I don't think you can go wrong with this mower, but if price is an issue for you, I think you'll be fine with less expensive mulching mowers.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting, starts on first pull every time
Cons: Too Heavy, grass clippings get stuck in compartment
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Orange County, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Treat yourself to the best residential mower available

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once you mow your lawn with this mower, you won't want to use any other mower, plain and simple. I now have two of these Honda mowers, one at home and one at my mountain cabin. I bought my first HRX-217 over 5 years ago when Honda called it a "xenoy" deck, it still works perfect and starts on the first pull. It's smooth, has plenty of power, and does a magnificent job. The older Honda is the reason I fired my gardener (who infected my lawn with crabgrass with his old commercial mower) and I replaced him with this new Honda so I can take better care of my lawn. After 1 month of mowing with my new Honda, my lawn looks amazing now... Don't let the off-brands sold at the membership warehouses with their "Honda" engines fool you, you get what you pay for - there IS a difference and this one is the real deal!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
33out of 46found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Durham, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Suitable for Commercial Use

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Been using this HRX mower commercially for a few years. It provides a fast clean mow and it's easy to adjust your blade to ground speed ratio for a clean mow every time even on the tallest turfs. Rear drive (or all wheel drive) is way better than front drive and this hydrostatic transmission is a rugged terrific engineering marvel.
I've seen some bad reviews in other places and they stem mostly from users not reading the manual (For instance not being able to roll backwards when a simple cable adjustment is in order). Unfortunately these reviews carry equal weight. This really is a great mower. The plastic deck is almost like Teflon (It may be a ETFE Fluoroplastic) and washes easily. Since I certify that I always begin my mows with a clean mower (your mowing company is the #1 vector for weeds! ) this feature alone saves me hours over mowers that are a pain to wash. I don't know of any mower large or small that cleans up this easily. Don't mow large branches, rocks or metal as they can crack the deck (For safety you should always look an area over before you mow with any mower anyway - Foreign objects can become dangerous projectiles.).
This mower is also easy to service with only a few tools. The seals in the hydrostatic tranny may begin to leak after a term of service. The tranny can be topped off (see Youtube) but it's best to replace the seals. These and other parts are readily available.
I do have a minor complaint and that is the catcher rest spots s/b protected and deeper so they hold the catcher better. The grooves tend to accumulate clippings and need to be cleared often for the catcher to be seated properly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, cleans easily, easily servicable, well written user guide
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Indianapolis, IN

Very Well Built

PostedApril 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this a few days but am thrilled with the quality, first use was fantastic. Assembly only took 5 minutes and started on the first pull. It takes a while to get used to the blade stop feature and cruise control but very nice to use once you learn it. The motor is extremely quiet and smooth running, Honda is offering an extra 1 year warranty now if you register it within 30 days. Expensive but seems worth it, especially with a 6 year warranty. I just junked my 2nd cheaper competitive model which only gave me 3 years so upgrading and hoping the quality pays off with Honda.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Alexandria, Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This mower gets. It. Done.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
OK so I don't write reviews, never have for ANYTHING I've purchased online before. That's about to change, now. I love my lawn. I've always loved cutting grass--since I had my own grass cutting "business" in high school. I take pride in how my yard looks, and especially how my grass is cut. I'm the guy out there making stripes in the lawn, because it looks cool and because I can. My 14-year-old son cuts four other pretty large lawns with this mower every week (.25+ acre lawns) and loves this mower as well.
Like a lot of other people who bought this mower, I researched...then I researched some more...then I thought about it, looked at the price tag, researched again then bought this mower. All of the good things people have said about this mower are true. Here's the list of what I considered and what has held true for me from where I'm sittin' looking at my amazingly well-cut lawn:
1. Power. It has it...and then some. Mowed a friend's lawn that hadn't been mowed for 4 months--FOUR MONTHS--the grass was up to my waist (5'11" of me). The mower never got bogged down, never choked, hardly even sounded like the engine was under any strain. Your grass, it will mow it. Perfectly.
2. Mulching. I don't like it. Leaves clippings all over the place--I don't like my grass with bits of brown all over it, green...you know, the color of grass. Correction: I USED TO NOT LIKE MULCHING. The double blades on this make the clippings practically disappear.
3. Bagging. I believe in it (I still believe in it) and I hate having to change the bag every two laps around the yard. With this Honda mower, the clippings are so fine that I only have to empty the bag twice on my front yard...with my old Cub Cadet mower, I emptied five times in the front yard. Also, the bag is the easiest to take off and put on I've ever experienced. No slots to line up, nothing that doesn't quite fit properly...you pick it up you put it back you continue mowing. Done.
4. Plastic deck. Was skeptical. Until I hit my first branch...and my first stone. We've all done that...and it sounds horrible and you think, "Man, hope I didn't ruin the deck or blades when that happened." The Honda deck is TOUGH--and I also like the color. Lifetime warranty on the deck = awesome.
5. Blade-stopping-cluch. Jury was out on this when I bought it. Now don't know how I ever owned a mower that DIDN'T do this. So great to empty the bag and not have to restart the mower. Also, great if you have a walk between areas to mow. My son uses this mower to mow yards around our hilly neighborhood and it is great that he can use the engine's power to get up and down hilly sidewalks without having a cloud of dust and debris following.
6. Starts on the first pull. Did it the first time. Has done it every time since. Again, how did I ever own a mower that DIDN'T do this? Honda is synonymous with reliability, and so far this engine has lived up to the billing.
7. Rate of speed. I walk fast normally and like a mower that keeps pace. This mower does that. I also like to make sure that I'm not going so fast that I take out the flower beds or bushes...this mower will slow to almost a crawl. Easy to select speeds, comfortable handle, easy to maneuver.
8. Quiet. We live on a seminary campus--yes, when I say, "It needs to be quiet," it needs to be THAT quiet...and it is. The first time I started the mower my wife's only reaction was, "Wow, that's quiet."
In short--everything that Honda has done to make this a best-of-class mower has worked. Sometimes you get what you pay for, other times you feel like you might only be paying for the name. This mower has been worth every dollar spent. The only thing I'm disappointed about is that my old mower didn't die faster so I could buy this mower sooner.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Naples,Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My 3rd Honda mower from Home Depot.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this Honda mower. It is my 3rd I have purchased from Home Depot. My first lasted 16 years. My second lasted about 8 years. I went looking for something different. I looked at a lot of different makes and models but could not find one that did what this model does with blade stop aand how well it bags the grass. So I bought another one and love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Franklin, Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best of the Best - 7 years strong

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ok, i love this Honda mower... japanese quality! I got this about 7 or 8 years ago and Home Depot. Easy to start.... no hard starts like B&S engines which are fussy as heck. it runs well and does everything and more. I have a craftsman leaf vac chipper/shredder which has stopped working. i used my Honda in place of collecting the leaves. I set the mower on the lowest level (.75 off the soil) and it really cleaned away the leaves and mulched them so nicely. The best part was that the collection bag is about the same size as the paper leaf bags... as wizzz to drop a load of mulched up twigs, pine cones/needles, and leaves in the bag without too much spillage. The self propelled is soooo much easier than pushing a mower let alone a near full load in your collection bag.... especially up those little hills that really are a killer. This baby can climb up a pretty steep embankment. Great machine and going strong after all these years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Walk Behind Mower Ever

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mower in April 2012 and wish that I had purchased this when I saw it 5 years ago. It is built extremely sturdy and I am sure it will last the next 25 years. I was caught between a Snapper and the Honda. Both great products, but the Lifetime Nexite deck and Hydrostatic cruise control feature caught me. It bags clippings with the grass wet or dry and stuffs the bag plumb full wet or dry. The clip deflector is a great feature for keeping up your mowing speed. It allows me bag some and mulch some. I mow .42 acres in less than 40 minutes with this mower. I was lucky to hit 1hr 45 mins with my previous 6 year old mower (the deck rusted out beyond repair even though I cleaned it every week).
I am absolutely satisfied with this purchase and I recommend this Honda to anyone who wants to speed up their cutting time with hilly yards, thick grass and many obstacles (swingset, pool retaining walls, gardens). What a fantastic machine!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
25out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Great mower

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You definitely get what you pay for with this one. It makes mowing the yard a breeze. The mulching feature works great. I had a yard covered in leaves, I pulled out the mower set it to mulch and took off the bag before you know it my yard was spotless like if there weren't any leaves in the first place.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Fast, no foul emissions and quiet - cons - expensive

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Everything you need comes in the box. The mower operates quietly and doesnt wake up my 5-month old in the house. Cannot run at full forward speed with the mowing height set to very low and with about 6 inches of grass. Have to lower the speed. Since I am new to mowing, I incorrectly set the height to a very low height. Once I increased the mowing height so that I leave about 3 to 4 inches of grass, I was able to walk behind it at full speed.
I cannot detect any exhaust smell either which is a big plus for me. It also mulches very well - I do not bag clippings. Overall very pleased with the mower and the quality of the components. I hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great lawn mower.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was delivered to our door. Took it out of the box and added oil and gas and it started on the first pull. The grass was wet the first time I used it, there were no problems. I read the reviews before I bought and had some concern about the controls, after using it I found them very easy to use and not confusing at all. I've used it 4 times now and it has started on the first pull every time. The leaves have started falling now and I have several oaks and maples, it picks up every leaf and twig that has fallen. The only complaint I have is the steep price on this machine, but it does a very nice job mowing and mulching and picking up all the clippings,(I've tried all the settings) it's easy to use time will tell if it lasts.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Lynchburg, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's good to see some companies still build quality products

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much research and considerable thought to the cost, I decided to spend the extra money on the Honda. The other customer reviews about this mower were dead-on. This machine is amazing!
The blade clutch feature is awesome. With my old mower, I had to shut it off and restart it every time I needed to move something out of the way or pick something out of the grass. With the Honda, I disengage the blade and leave the mower running then re-engage the blades and keep going.
The mulching and bagging capabilities are amazing too. Mulching leaves such fine clipping that you'd hardly know it was mulched and not bagged.
Finally, its a pleasant surprise to buy something from a company that still takes pride in the quality and craftsmanship of their products. If quality matters to you too, buy the Honda.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, easy to start, blade clutch
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Oswego, ill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True to Honda's reputation.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower works great, starts easily on first pull, good mulching and cutting with plenty of hight adjustments. My only negative issue is a small one, the bagger base is larger then my old model and does not fit into a craft bag so to transfer clippings to a craft bag is more difficult then my old Honda.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: emptying bag into craft bags is difficult
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Coburg Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good machine

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good product - I bought it in the box - very easy to assemble - This is my 4th Honda lawnmower - They are the best -
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely outstanding!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really anguished over purchasing this mower because of the price. I bet that same state of mind attacks those people contemplating the purchase of a Rolls Royce.
Get over it, it's only money, and in the case of this fine mowing tool the cost is very reasonable.
When I do the math I assume this mower will cost me about $3 for each time I mow the lawn - not too bad of an investment....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 30 >>