728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine so you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(583 reviews) 583
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product527 of 558reviews
Rating Breakdown 583 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(475)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product527 of 558reviews
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 220 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Mobile, AL

Excellent Mower

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous mower was a 17 year-old Snapper. It was a joy, but finally gave up. RIP old friend...
I have to admit, considering something other than a Snapper created a large amount of anxiety for me, however, my wife persuaded me to expand my horizons; good call!
The Honda mower came out of the box easily. The handlebars flip/lock into place with little effort. The mower-deck height adjustment took all of about 30 seconds, although you'll probably have to play with that to get it to your liking. I checked the blade, added oil, installed the bag, opened the fuel cutoff valve, and fired her up! A very successful beginning.
After 17 years using the same mower, I anticipated that the controls would be awkward for a while, but after five minutes of use, it felt like I'd been using it all summer.
The engine starts easily and runs smoothly; has a nice note to it.
I didn't really think it was much of a big deal, but I do like that the engine continues to run when you let go of the controls, only stopping the blade. It reduces the time it takes to empty the bag. Also, I thought it was just marketing, but the clippings are actually smaller on this mower than the previous Snapper, and it does take longer to fill it up the bag; nice.
I'll finish this review, hopefully, 17 years from now.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

so glad

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am SO glad I didn't let the handful of negative reviews I have read persuade me to buy a different lawn mower. I make a good living but it was not easy for me to spend $750 on a lawn mower so I was really looking at all of the options and all of the reviews I could find.
Here's the thing... if you want to mindlessly walk behind your mower and let it do most of the work while you daydream or listen to your ipod, then this mower will work for you but there are cheaper alternatives. If you want a mower that gives you the power to mow as fast or slow or carefully as you want and you have a moderate amount of coordination and upper body strength, then this mower might be for you.
Some people complained about the weight. It is heavy but the speed control and clutch will allow you to make the mower do most of the heavy lifting.
Some people complain about bounce. If you have the throttle cranked up and you engage the clutch before you are ready to keep up, the front will come off the ground. You have to remember to throttle down if you are working in tight spaces or just starting off and then throttle up when you are on those long passes... this thing will move quickly.
Some people complain about fuel consumption. After you start the lawn mower, there is no need to leave the choke wide open. Set the choke at a moderate level and save yourself some gas and some unnecessary noise.
If you are a gadget person and you have a reasonable amount of strength and coordination, you should get this mower just for the fun factor.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Isn't Personal Pace out of patent protection yet?

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had some old [Redacted] with Personal Pace for 20 years. Died, it did.
I thought, "if I'm going to buy a mower for 20 more years, I might as well get a really good one." Toro's have middling reviews and seemed to have moved toward the cheapest-import business model. The Honda got rave reviews. And here I am.
Sore.
My old mower moved at the pace I did. When I slowed, it slowed; when I pushed, it moved faster. When I lifted the front wheels to turn, it stopped because the drive was there. I'd listen to my podcasts while barely paying attention to mowing.
If the [Redacted] was an automatic transmission, the GVC190 is a manual, with a choke to manage as well. You have two bars and a lever to deal with, and you're playing with them all the time. One bar controls the blade stop, you have to hold that against the handle and you have to hold the button in while you push it to the handle or your blades won't spin. The other bar is the clutch. You constantly letting this out as you turn or it keeps shooting off through the flowers and you're sleeping on the sofa. (This only happens because the drive is in the rear, if it was in the front it would stop whilst you turned). Then you've got the speed control, which you kind of want slower when going through the thorn bushes and faster when you're on free grass thinking about not having eaten breakfast. You have a throttle too, but that just stays on "fast." Of course the clutch bar can be used to slow the wheels, I hope it doesn't wear out quick, and thus you're using one hand holding the blade bar against the handle and using the other to adjust the clutch bar depending on speed and turns. Occasionally you're switching hands on the blade bar so that you can adjust the throttle too.
The result being pinched fingers, whacked knuckles, and very little knowledge of what the podcast was about.
On the good side, the mower is solidly built, mulches nicely, comes with a pretty bag, and starts well. It was easy to assemble and well packed. Build quality is far beyond that of my old mower, and I expect to have pinched fingers for many years to come.
But I'd go back to the [Redacted] with personal pace in a heartbeat.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use, sadistic
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best lawn mower I've ever had

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The lawn mower has been great. The first two times I used it, I tried mulching since I'd heard how great it mulches. Later, I asked my wife if she preferred mulching or bagging. She didn't know I had already mulched but she said she didn't like mulching because it leaves too much behind. Then I told her I had already mulched a couple of times and it mulched so well, she didn't even notice that it had been mulched. The on-the-fly adjustment for bagging to mulching is fantastic in case you need to switch quickly. Great lawnmower so far, I would definitely buy it again - assuming it lasts for many years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from VAN BUREN AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKED GREAT AFTER IT WAS REPAIRED

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mower blade would not engage after my husband assembed the mower. Although he has many years of experience with lawn equipment we still thought that the problem may have been in assembly. He took the mower to the authorized repair shop and had to leave it for several days before it was fixed.The service man said that it was not anything my husband had done wrong in assembling, it was a malfunction in the safety controls. He said it was a factory problem or maybe something that happened in shipping. The mower is working fine now and my husband is very happy with the way it performs but it will be several years before we will know if the quality is in line with the cost.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After paying someone to mow my lawn for years, I realized I was paying someone to do a half,you know what, job and my lawn suffered for it. I've been looking for a mower and comparing just about every self propelled model out there. Of course the Honda caught my eye first because of the name and features, but I figured no way was I going to spend that much on a mower. It didn't take long before I was again contemplating the Honda. No other mower out there was receiving a 95% approval rating so I decided to pull the trigger on one. Picked it up today and used it today. All I can say is everyone was right. The features were great, easy to use, easy to assemble and I haven\'t enjoyed mowing a lawn like I did today in years. Do yourself a favor, stop worrying about how expensive it is and pick one up. You won't regret it!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous machine

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tremendous machine. I opened the box and removed mower with no problems. Attached bag which can be a little tricky at first but not bad. Added oil which is included and gas. Adjusted the wheel height to my liking which was very easy. Then I turned on fuel knob and one pull and it started up. Very easy just one pull. First cut I mulched then on second cut I bagged. During bagging some fine particles do blow out sides on initial startup but stop after I started moving. Cleaned up easy and a real pleasure to cut lawn of about .60 acre. A little learning curve if you have not used self propelled mower before with rear wheel drive. I can go in a hurry if I need to or if I want to take my time I can back down speed for a more relaxed cut. Overall a tremendous machine. I'm so glad I finally purchased.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Boulder Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest mower purchase

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Everyone knows this is the best mower one can buy so why by it from Home Depot? It's a toss up. Several web sites offer the same deal. I had one of these mowers that I had purchased used. It broke and while I was looking on the web for repair shops I decided to skip all the trouble of taking it somewhere and waiting forever on a repair and get a new one delivered to my house free. What a deal. I gave the old one to a friend who picked it up. I can't afford a new car but how could I not afford a new top of the line Honda home mower.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, blade can stop with the engine running., ten bag/mulch ratio settings.
Cons: the handle on my old one broke like pot metal., i'm trusting that problem has been corrected., time will tell.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Ithaca, NY

Fun to use

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had my mower a week, but I find it fairly easy to use and it does a good job. Easy to start, but needs to run a bit before engaging blades or it stalls. I read the manual twice before starting it, and it didn't take long to get comfortable with the controls. I hold the blade-engaging handle down with my left hand, on the left side, and use my right to hold the self-propelling handle. That way, I can stop the wheels to make sharp turns without disengaging the blades. The wide wheels do flatten the grass, so I end up with a few small unmowed spots, not very noticeable. I have only been mulching, which it does very well.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Northern Indiana

Not happy with 10 month old unit

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was originally pleased with my unit. Ordered it online and received it with no problems. Although the box was damaged, the unit was fine. (They shouldn't ship it in the box that came from Honda, it isn't strong enough for shipping via carrier.) Easy to put together and started right up. I bought this August 2010. NO Problems. However, this season May was a different story. First 2 times, no problem. 3rd time would not start. Took in for service and was told it isn't a warranty item. The fuel I used caused the valve to stick. Although the Honda Tech said he never saw this before and the Carb was clean. He said it was a combustion issue not a fuel issue. Honda said otherwise. I am picking it up today and I will see how long this works....I am nervous and in hindsight, if I knew this would happen or this is how they handle a new lawnmower, I would have bought something else. I ran the engine dry over the winter. I am maintence savy and question their diganoses. Anyway, after spending $700 on a "good" lawn mower I have to spend another $120 for this "stuck" valve. My other Honda started up and is running like a champ at my business. Didn't do anything different. Until Honda is able to build a lawnmower for the fuel used today, I would buy a cheaper lawn mower and stay away.
+20points
35out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Phoenix, Az.

Exactly as advertised!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After readinig all the reviews of this mower before I made the purchase, I've got to say that all the positive remarks about the mower are correct. I don't want to just repeat all the same stuff that everyone has said previously. Instead, I'd like to comment on the few negative reviews and some other observations.
I've noticed that there have been some problems with the wheels in past reviews. The wheels on my mower look and work as they should. There is no indication of any quality problems. The next issue is that the motion controllers snag over-hanging plants or fences, etc. This is true. Last week, it happaned to me. I have some fencing to keep the dogs out of a section of privit bushes and the controllers caught the fence that was not completely vertical. Also some of the privit has grown over the fence and it caught. Bottom line is that I need to correct the fencing. The controllers do stick up more than some other mowers but every mower has some deficientcies. After using the mower for several weeks, this was the first time it caught. Perhaps if the controllers were on the right side that might correct the problem... or if I mowed in reverse.
I've noticed that the arms that the controler levers are on were much longer than my old mower. I thought that might be a problem but it actually gives more leverage in tilting up the front end of the mower. I've also noticed that the mower pushes manually much easier than my old mower. I attribute that to great bearings on the wheels.
One last thing I'll mention; I live in Phoenix, AZ. and I have Tiffgreen grass. That is a thick growing type that should be mowed with a front throw reel mower. I can cut though the grass with no problem in the mulch mode! It will slow or lug a bit so I over-lap and don't cut the full width in the thickest sections. It is far more powerful than my old 5.5 hp mower. A great improvement. It does cut beautifully.
I definately would recommend this mower to anyone. I did take some comments from my wife and family for spending so much but it was worth it.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Western Massachusetts

Much MORE than described!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Honda needs to re-write their marketing brochure for this mower. It is simply excellent and then some. Not only does the engine run like a top but the hydrostatic transmission works flawlessly. I mow on hills and when you set the speed control for a given speed, it holds that speed on the flat and going uphill. (I could not say that of my "Personal Pace" Toro.) Speed changes are easy and are done "on the fly". But the unspoken feature I like best is the infinately variable mulch control. Simply leave the bag in place and slide the big mulch knob left or right to select any percentage from 100% bag to 100% mulch. I have mine set at about 75% mulch and it cuts my Bluegrass lawn perfectly, provides mulch, doesn't leave any clippings on the lawn and has cut my bagging disposal in half. If you have a beautfiul lawn and want the very best self propelled lawn mower money can buy... this is it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Chelsea, AL

A Great Machine For Your Lawn

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I rely on reviews a lot. I spent weeks reading the reviews found here. There are some very helpful reviews that made the decision to purchase this mower easier.
Although cutting grass can at times feel like a real chore (hot and humid Alabama summers), I have always enjoyed cutting grass with a walk behind. When it came time to purchase a new walk behind, I decided to go top of the line. This mower did not disappoint.
The Great:
The engine starts with half a pull of the starter rope. Super easy. Idles beautifully and pretty quietly.
Love the blade stop system. I never thought I would enjoy this feature so much. I can cut front and back yards with only one pull of the rope. Feature comes in handy when emptying bag, moving objects, pushing over a curb, or when someone comes outside and needs to talk. Once the blade is stopped, the mower is much quieter.
Speed control is great. Plenty of incremental speed settings. You can use super slow in tight spaces, and faster in open stretches.
Blades give a nice smooth cut. I am one who bags my clippings. But I have cut in full mulch mode just to test it, and the clippings are so small they disappear into the lawn.
The good:
Grass bag is very easy to remove and put back into place. As other reviewers have noted, a few clippings seem to escape down near the bottom. The fabric could fit tighter to the metal frame in spots.
Mower has a very sturdy feel to it. It is not, however, a lightweight mower. It is not a small mower.
A few more features I like:
I like the large gas cap. I like how accessible the air filter is. I like the color scheme. Charcoal grey deck with crimson above.
Only "complaints":
After using only one time the black paint wore off in small spots where the self propelled control lever and blade engage level touch the handle bar. There is no way to avoid this. They have to touch when you use them and have them together under your hands. I just accepted that it was gong to make several "spots" like this. Maybe I will buy some Honda touch up paint and use it at the end of each season.
On concrete surfaces it is hard to pull the mower backwards when it the engine is not running. I usually lift the back wheels off the ground, making pulling it backwards easy. Not sure if they are binding or the protective rubber flap that hangs down is catching on the ground. I do not have this problem when it is running, and in the grass.
Summary: You get what you pay for here. Quality mower with a lot of great features. I am certainly no expert, but have been using walk behind mowers for over 20 years. I considered getting a riding mower, but new I could really get by without one. Also, as I mentioned earlier, I enjoy the experience of maintaining a lawn with a walk behind. With the Honda HRX 217 HYA I can take my time and know that I am giving my lawn a quality cut.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Forney Tx

People that say Expensive mowers are over rated Never used this mower

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a Troy Built upper end mower for 3 months.. Worked good till my grass got green and thick.. This made me a little upset so I set out looking for a better mower.. After all I spend a lot to get my grass thick and green.. So I looked at these for 2 weeks.. I even called out of state mower places to see what the recommend.. All pointed to this mower or a commercial Toro ($1250.00).. So I ended up making the wife mad and bought this one over the $599 unit do to the ease of use.. My neighbor has the $599 model and I checked it out very nice as well.. After using it this saturday I Took me 45 minutes to mow after ( normal time was an hour and a half ) and the mower did not bog down or leave anything uncut like the Troy built left strips.. I did a half bag half mulch.. All my wife could say is WOW when I was done.. LOL she isn't mad anymore other than said I should have bought this one first and not wasted the money on the Troy Built...Way to go Honda.. This baby is great cranks first time.. And you will have to run to keep up with full throttle...
Pros::: fast cutting, smooth, awesome product
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

I bought mine in 2007

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My equivalent model has run perfectly for five years, i just brought it to a service shop to have it tuned up.
The worse it needed was a new rear wheel. I have bought Honda self propelled mowers consistently. I'd have my first mower if it wasn't stolen. I highly recommend this model over the model just a little bit less expensive. I like this control system better.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Cruising Mower, Great!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a Toro Personal Pace Lawn Mower 22" cut. It is cutting the grass OK, but I have to push it always. Very hard, and exhausting under this Florida's Hot Sun. Honda has 21" cut but cutting time is a lot shorter, almost 1/2. And a lot easier to move around the mower. I set the fastest cruise setting, then I jog with mower! Fantastic!. I used it once for about 45 min. When mow without the bag, it discharges from the back instead of side. I am getting a lot less dust on my face on windy day. So far the best mower I have ever owned!
I would give 5 stars, if the price is $100.00 lower!.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Excellent Lawn Mower

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So ... my prior lawn mower gave up the ghost after 10 years. I decided to drop the change on this guy. To be honest, this would be the largest con, is its price and one of the reasons for a 4 star.
Considering I just purchased this mower, I can only give first impressions, so keep that in mind.
Started first pull.
For the first 10 minutes or so there was a slight burning smell. This is normal for small engines as the engines usually have some sort of coating and/or break in oil placed in them and this needs to be burned off.
Purrs like a kitten. It sounds soooo smooth!
The rear wheel drive initally scared me. My prior mower was front wheel drive. That lastest for a whole 3 minutes though and a few turns. Not a big deal at all.
My prior mower was single speed. I was surprised at how useful the variable speed was. For the thicker grass you can slow it down. For those sections of the lawn where the grass does not grow as thick, you can crank it up. The high speed is really fast, be prepared to jog :)
When cutting and coming to the sidewalk, I noticed A LOT of grass coming out the bottom. I will note however that the grass coming out was cut very very small. I thought maybe the bag was not sitting right. To my surprise, the bad was full! My prior mower would have choked up completely on a full bag. I could not tell in the least here with this mower. There were no changes in sound or behavior. It is definitely a testimony to the engine and the blades.
I noticed it sits higher than my prior mower; hence, for those lower bushes, I can't get under those now. I will need to use my weed eater a little bit more.
It is definitely heavier than my prior mower. If you have a lot of corners or tight spots that needs a lot of lifting and manuvering, it may take a bit more effort. This is the other reason for the 4 stars, is its weight.
The plastic deck feels really strong. I have seen videos of this deck getting run over by a car. I am not concerned with the deck in the least degree.
I find the bag very pourous and hence a lot more dust passes through. Perhaps the bag just needs some time to get plugged up a little with more use ;)
The wheels on this are awesome. Turning the self drive off, the mower keeps moving at its current speed for a little. Those extra bearings seem to help here.
When I purchased the mower, the first thing a home depot individual told me was "great mower". The next thing he said was "Make sure you change the oil at the 5 hour use mark. If you do that, it will last forever." This is recommended in the manual and makes sense. You want to drain all of that break in oil and any metal bits from normal engine break in.
Great mower!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Gainesville, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My second Honda

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is my second Honda Lawn mower. The reason I bought this was because the first one lasted 26 years. If this one lasts half as long it will still be worth it. I really wanted the commercial unit with the shaft drive, it is the same as the original one I had for 26 years but could not see paying $1200 for a walk behind mower. The blade brake and smooth engine make it all worthwhile.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, blade brake
Cons: Too Heavy
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best lawn mower I have ever owned.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The lawn mower exceeded my expectations.. very easy to assemble. Starts so easily every time, first time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Excellent Mower-Picture Perfect Results

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This mower was easy to assemble and effortless to start. I like the beefy wheel height locks and that they go up to 4 inches. I never had a mower that was so easy to start...and I wonder why anyone would spend the extra money for electric start (if they are physically capable of pulling the rope about 6"). The bagger is efficient. The mulching mode does a great job, but a small amount of clipping gets past the mulching "door", so I always wipe off the clippings before I store the mower. Downside? The only thing that comes to mind is the gas tank seems smaller than my old Toro...I can't mow the whole yard without refilling (the yard is about 1/4 Acre with slopes and gardens). Overall, I am really pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: gas tank?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 30 >>