728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine so you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(582 reviews) 582
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product526 of 557reviews
Rating Breakdown 582 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(474)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product526 of 557reviews
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 219 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Craig, Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower started on the first pull after removing from box, adding oil and gas. This mower is probably the best mowing machine I have owned. I was skeptical of the plastic mower deck, but the machine mows dry and even wet grass with no problems. If there does happen to be any grass build up it is easy to just wash off with a hose. The one thing I have noticed about the plastic mower deck, is if you have obstacles in you yard, like trees, you must be a little more careful around them because the deck will flex if it hits something. The engine is much quitter than my previous machine with a Briggs & Stratton engine, but it seems to use just as much fuel to mow my yard. I thought a Honda would be better on fuel economy, my other Honda engines are gas sippers. Over all, this is a great machine and in the long run the higher price will be very much worth it!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bedford, TX

Great Mower

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I finally decided to replace my 15-year old Honda mower, which was still running great, with this model. The cost of the top-of-the-line Honda mower really hasn't changed much in 15 years, which is great but hard to believe. I've only used this one a few times, but I can tell it's a quality Honda product and I love the variable speed hydrostatic cruise control. My old one had the blade clutch, so I had to have that feature on the new one, too. I can't imagine having to re-start it every time you walk away from it. I chose not to get the electric start, because of the need to store the mower for the winter and keep the battery charged. Overall, I'm very pleased with the mower.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Youngstown ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised!

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought my first lawn mower in 1990. Toro recycler, paid nearly 500 bucks and was never satisfied with the power nor the cut. Was given a snapper ninja about five years ago and while much better mower than the toro still disappointed with the performance. So that brings me to this honda. I read all I could in probably two days on the thing. Me and a buddy went to Home Depot to check it out and touch it. Don't usually spend over seven hundred with out through once over. First trip left without it. Next day went back and made the purchase. Must say setup was easy, started second pull and performs as advertised. Best mower I have ever used. Went two houses up to find long wet grass...it didn't stand a chance. Honda has lived up to all the hype. As far as how long it will perform this we'll I have no idea. But I know for now couldn't be happier spending to money!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After paying someone to mow my lawn for years, I realized I was paying someone to do a half,you know what, job and my lawn suffered for it. I've been looking for a mower and comparing just about every self propelled model out there. Of course the Honda caught my eye first because of the name and features, but I figured no way was I going to spend that much on a mower. It didn't take long before I was again contemplating the Honda. No other mower out there was receiving a 95% approval rating so I decided to pull the trigger on one. Picked it up today and used it today. All I can say is everyone was right. The features were great, easy to use, easy to assemble and I haven\'t enjoyed mowing a lawn like I did today in years. Do yourself a favor, stop worrying about how expensive it is and pick one up. You won't regret it!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Son has a new mower!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had it shipped to my house with my 14 year olds name on it! Get the hint!! I love the safety feature that shuts the blade off when you walk away from the mower and leaves the motor running. It is a little tricky to get use to the speeds of the self propelled feature, but will get over fast enough. Grass cutting has never been better. I use to bag everything, now just mulch it up and gone!! No top mounted washer, so must turn on its side to wash. Motor does not bog down in high grass as long as you go slow and give it time.
A bit on the expensive side for a small self propelled mower, but I guess you get what you pay for!!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: very fast in full self propelled position.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

17 year old Honda mower

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased my one and only Honda Harmony 215 self-propelled lawn mower in 1995. Since then this mower has mowed at least an acre of grass once a week every season since 1995. I have replaced the blades countless times, the rear wheels twice and the engine oil once a season. That’s it…….. This mower has never been in the shop for any reason in 17 years. The mower has started on the first or second pull every single time. I credit the gas shut off valve with this. I always turned the fuel off and allowed the mower to run out of gas before storing. Without question the best mower I have every owned! I wish I had a dollar for every hour this mower has run in the Texas heat and dust. I am sad to report that last week while mowing the back yard of our new residence I found an old railroad spike our Lab dug up and the mower sent the spike through the deck of the mower. I guess it’s time to replace the old girl with a NEW Honda HRX. The only mower I will every buy.. Thanks Honda and Home Depot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The mower has met my expectations and has been easy to learn how to use.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased because I was looking for a mower that could both mulch and bag. Need bagging feature for fall due to the amount of oak leaves that do not break down easily. Can mow the leaves up without needing to rack the lawn first which has made the job easier. The mower also does a excellent job of mulching grass clipping so the lawn looks clean after cutting. The rear discharge of the mulch can make mowing a bit dusty after a dry spell which may be bothersome to the operator.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous machine

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tremendous machine. I opened the box and removed mower with no problems. Attached bag which can be a little tricky at first but not bad. Added oil which is included and gas. Adjusted the wheel height to my liking which was very easy. Then I turned on fuel knob and one pull and it started up. Very easy just one pull. First cut I mulched then on second cut I bagged. During bagging some fine particles do blow out sides on initial startup but stop after I started moving. Cleaned up easy and a real pleasure to cut lawn of about .60 acre. A little learning curve if you have not used self propelled mower before with rear wheel drive. I can go in a hurry if I need to or if I want to take my time I can back down speed for a more relaxed cut. Overall a tremendous machine. I'm so glad I finally purchased.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Flawed for price

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchaced this mower to replace my 10 YO craftsman. Shipped to home and very easy setup. Just pour oil and gas and fire it up.
Pros: Easy setup, easy start, one pull every time. Cuts fantastically. No leftover grass even at fastest propelled speed (which you have to jog to keep up with). Runs smooth. Holds lots of gas and the blade stop works as advertised.
Cons: For a mower that costs this much there shouldn't be any. Wheelies- because of how well the self propelled system works, and because the plastic decking doesn't weigh as much as metal and because it is rear wheel drive, every time you start from a stop, or try to stop or slow down before the delayed self propelled bar pops out, the mowers front end lifts, causing it to miss cutting the grass at that spot. Adjusting and timing might fix it, but for that much money that shouldn't be necessary. Also, if it bumps into something, the clip on air filter and cover will fall off. It did that 4 times the first time I used it. Noise- because you never turn it off and it has two blades, the noise from this mower bothered me enough that I had to put ear covers. Never had to do that with any other mower. Catcher- where the catcher attaches, there is a channel that, because the catcher bag is taller than the waste opening, will fill with grass every time. There are plastic ridges in there that make it difficut to clean out. Cheap controls - blade engage safety button and motor speed control are kids toy quality plastic and seem like they will break soon. Dust - the mower causes there to be way more dust flying around than I've ever seen on a lawn mower before. Self propelled controls - if you let go of the drive handle, it will not pop out till a second or two later. Which means if you let go when you get to something, the mower will drive right into it. When you have as many things to go around as I do (trees, bug furniture, above ground pool) that means running into a lot of stuff. It also causes it to wheelie since you stop and the mower doesn't.
Bottom line. I returned it to home depot (without trouble even though I used it) It mowed well in a strait line but it was way too much work and had too many issues, especially for the price.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Isn't Personal Pace out of patent protection yet?

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had some old [Redacted] with Personal Pace for 20 years. Died, it did.
I thought, "if I'm going to buy a mower for 20 more years, I might as well get a really good one." Toro's have middling reviews and seemed to have moved toward the cheapest-import business model. The Honda got rave reviews. And here I am.
Sore.
My old mower moved at the pace I did. When I slowed, it slowed; when I pushed, it moved faster. When I lifted the front wheels to turn, it stopped because the drive was there. I'd listen to my podcasts while barely paying attention to mowing.
If the [Redacted] was an automatic transmission, the GVC190 is a manual, with a choke to manage as well. You have two bars and a lever to deal with, and you're playing with them all the time. One bar controls the blade stop, you have to hold that against the handle and you have to hold the button in while you push it to the handle or your blades won't spin. The other bar is the clutch. You constantly letting this out as you turn or it keeps shooting off through the flowers and you're sleeping on the sofa. (This only happens because the drive is in the rear, if it was in the front it would stop whilst you turned). Then you've got the speed control, which you kind of want slower when going through the thorn bushes and faster when you're on free grass thinking about not having eaten breakfast. You have a throttle too, but that just stays on "fast." Of course the clutch bar can be used to slow the wheels, I hope it doesn't wear out quick, and thus you're using one hand holding the blade bar against the handle and using the other to adjust the clutch bar depending on speed and turns. Occasionally you're switching hands on the blade bar so that you can adjust the throttle too.
The result being pinched fingers, whacked knuckles, and very little knowledge of what the podcast was about.
On the good side, the mower is solidly built, mulches nicely, comes with a pretty bag, and starts well. It was easy to assemble and well packed. Build quality is far beyond that of my old mower, and I expect to have pinched fingers for many years to come.
But I'd go back to the [Redacted] with personal pace in a heartbeat.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use, sadistic
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this mower!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great mower, worth it's price. Very easy to push and to start. Mulcher works great! Would purchase again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love the mower

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the mower. Best one I have ever owned. Should have bought one years ago.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Mobile, AL

Excellent Mower

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous mower was a 17 year-old Snapper. It was a joy, but finally gave up. RIP old friend...
I have to admit, considering something other than a Snapper created a large amount of anxiety for me, however, my wife persuaded me to expand my horizons; good call!
The Honda mower came out of the box easily. The handlebars flip/lock into place with little effort. The mower-deck height adjustment took all of about 30 seconds, although you'll probably have to play with that to get it to your liking. I checked the blade, added oil, installed the bag, opened the fuel cutoff valve, and fired her up! A very successful beginning.
After 17 years using the same mower, I anticipated that the controls would be awkward for a while, but after five minutes of use, it felt like I'd been using it all summer.
The engine starts easily and runs smoothly; has a nice note to it.
I didn't really think it was much of a big deal, but I do like that the engine continues to run when you let go of the controls, only stopping the blade. It reduces the time it takes to empty the bag. Also, I thought it was just marketing, but the clippings are actually smaller on this mower than the previous Snapper, and it does take longer to fill it up the bag; nice.
I'll finish this review, hopefully, 17 years from now.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality product

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
really a quality product. Cuts, mulches and bags great and is easily adjusted. Power and speed are also great. Only draw back is learning to adjust the cruise speed with the hand clutch...takes some practice to get it right and not instantly intuitive or easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: speed control difficult to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Caguas. Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so good of a purchase after all.

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well I bought this machine and utilized the mulch feature which works great but I have utilized the bagging feature on it twice and the grass has been a bit dry and it starts kicking back dirt and debris because the bagging feature has a wide opening. I called Honda USA for a fix or advise and was told to wet the bag before it's use. I could understand doing this on a $200 dollar machine but not on a $640 dollar machine. I regret buying it, I used to have a Husqvarna which cost half and never threw dirt or grass back towards the operator. With this response I will be wary of buying Honda products in the future.
Pros: Mulches Well
Cons: bagging is terrible, too expensive for what it offers, customer service ????
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Beavercreek, Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the price.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second Honda mower. The first one was great but, didn't have the power to get through my back yard in the spring heavy growth periods. Cutting every 3 days was not on my calendar. After 15 years of buying higher powered, lower quality machines I came back. This model gets through a 7 day mowing schedule much better than the lesser brands do every 4 days. We have had an unusually wet summer but that "Honda" gets it done and I am truly satisfied with how my yard looks. I have a small hill that the other mowers can't deal with especially when it is a little wet. This Honda pulls me up the slope instead of wrestling it all over the place. The only downside is the blade brake! It knocked when first new with the blade not engaged and at idle. It has settled down and seems ok now. Looking to get another 10 years out of this Honda.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

so glad

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am SO glad I didn't let the handful of negative reviews I have read persuade me to buy a different lawn mower. I make a good living but it was not easy for me to spend $750 on a lawn mower so I was really looking at all of the options and all of the reviews I could find.
Here's the thing... if you want to mindlessly walk behind your mower and let it do most of the work while you daydream or listen to your ipod, then this mower will work for you but there are cheaper alternatives. If you want a mower that gives you the power to mow as fast or slow or carefully as you want and you have a moderate amount of coordination and upper body strength, then this mower might be for you.
Some people complained about the weight. It is heavy but the speed control and clutch will allow you to make the mower do most of the heavy lifting.
Some people complain about bounce. If you have the throttle cranked up and you engage the clutch before you are ready to keep up, the front will come off the ground. You have to remember to throttle down if you are working in tight spaces or just starting off and then throttle up when you are on those long passes... this thing will move quickly.
Some people complain about fuel consumption. After you start the lawn mower, there is no need to leave the choke wide open. Set the choke at a moderate level and save yourself some gas and some unnecessary noise.
If you are a gadget person and you have a reasonable amount of strength and coordination, you should get this mower just for the fun factor.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid, Powerful Mower

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love my new Honda. Easy to setup, goes through thick grass without a problem. Everything about it is quality.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Sidney, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mulching Mower

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well after a month of research and reading various reviews of all the different brands I purchased a Honda HRX217HYA. SO far I have not been disappointed. Mower was very easy to set up and mowed very well right out of the box Starting has been been on pull for my first six times I have mowed. Wheel height adjustment is easy and allows me to adjust for summer height. Have not had a chance to use the bagging mode yet but will try that latter this fall when leaves are present. Enjoy the blade break as I have a number of items that must be moved and not having to restart the mower each time is great. Having a little trouble finding the right setting for the drive control but I think I'm there. I gave this a 4 star only because It is still very new and has seen little use. I will probably upgrade my rating after my first 20 uses to a 5 star rating if everything stays as expected. While the price is a little high I believe you get what you pay for and so far that has been excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from VAN BUREN AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKED GREAT AFTER IT WAS REPAIRED

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mower blade would not engage after my husband assembed the mower. Although he has many years of experience with lawn equipment we still thought that the problem may have been in assembly. He took the mower to the authorized repair shop and had to leave it for several days before it was fixed.The service man said that it was not anything my husband had done wrong in assembling, it was a malfunction in the safety controls. He said it was a factory problem or maybe something that happened in shipping. The mower is working fine now and my husband is very happy with the way it performs but it will be several years before we will know if the quality is in line with the cost.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 30 >>