728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(578 reviews) 578
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product522 of 553reviews
Rating Breakdown 578 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(470)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product522 of 553reviews
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 219 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality product

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
really a quality product. Cuts, mulches and bags great and is easily adjusted. Power and speed are also great. Only draw back is learning to adjust the cruise speed with the hand clutch...takes some practice to get it right and not instantly intuitive or easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: speed control difficult to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

expensive but *probrably* worth it.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
bought the hydro because the paddle controlled self propelled model hurt my wrists. i can bench, squat and row more than my body weight and that paddle system hurt my wrists. lol! the hydro takes some getting used to. with cruise control you're less involved in mowers movement. you set the speed, squeeze the drive lever and walk behind it. no pushing, accelerating or slowing down unless you change the cruise speed with a seperate control. consequently you must get accustomed to letting go of the propell lever when making sharp turns or stopping. once your adopt this technique and mow for 30 mins or so it becomes second nature. we had a toro personal pace before this honda. it was super easy to use but lacked power, was always a terrible bagger and finally died after 7 years of service. we wanted a to try a honda. when my wife tried this honda the first time she fought the mower for a minute, swore out loud and then finally listened to me. she loves it now. 190cc engine is unstoppable. deck is uncloggable while bagging. good mulching when height is set appropriately. i wish it had an external oil filter and automatic choke for cold starts. other than that i am entirely satisfied. keep your left hand at 9 o'clock with the blade safety and your right hand at 1 o'clock with self propell lever.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I enjoy Mowing the lawn again

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mulches great at any speed. Many adjustments to meet the needs of different users and needs. Starts on the first half heart pull every time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from UT

Awesome Cut, Cumbersome Controls

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sold my new John Deere walk behind because it was junk - loud, rattled and left rows of uncut grass unless you overlapped about 8 inches - which was ridiculous. Decided to buy the "best" Honda Home Depot had to offer (best meaning most expensive). The mower started first pull and was very quiet as mentioned by several reviewers. Howerver the thing that killed my impression was the controls. There are two handles that mesh together to get everything working - the first is the blade engage handle, then the drive engage handle closes over the top of the blade lever - you hold both to go/mow. The rear wheel drive means every time you want to change directions with the mower you have to release the top (drive) handle while holding the bottom (blade engage) handle with one hand. This quickly becomes extremely irritating. I found myself sometimes forgetting to release the drive before turning (and nearly mowing bushes as the rear wheels continued to drive), or I'd mistakenly release both handles which stopped the blades as well. When you do this you have to press the little yellow button on the bland handle then push the handle forward to engage the blades, then push the drive handle forward to get the rear wheels driving before beginning the next row. Again, when you're mowing several rows and turning frequently this quickly becomes very irritating - way too many steps to simply flip the mower 180 degrees and keep mowing. As I tried to learn a routine and more quickly release/turn/re-engage I even smashed my fingers that were holding the blade engage handle when I re-engaged the drive handle - that was the last straw. I finished my front yard then promptly put the mower back in the box and returned it to Home Depot where I swapped it with the $599 model with the thumb drive lever. The option to disengage the blades isn't all that important to me. I got the "new new" mower home late last night and started it up - again first pull, but one thing I noticed right away is that although it appears to have the same engine, is seems almost twice as loud (likely because the blades aren't on a clutch drive?). Will give it a shot and review it on the appropriate page. Bottom line on this one - great motor, great cut, but the combo blade/drive levers coupled with rear wheel drive make this $699 model too cumbersome and I'd say borderline dangerous if you intend to have someone other than an adult operate it in a yard that requires frequent 90-180 degree turns.
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid, Powerful Mower

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new Honda. Easy to setup, goes through thick grass without a problem. Everything about it is quality.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

First time Honda Owner

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As the review title states, this is my first Honda mower. (And my first product review ever). I was considering the Toro Timemaster 30, however poor quality drive parts on my previous Toro 22" Personal Pace mower gave me second thoughts about another Toro product.
I bought the Honda today. As many others have said, set up was a breeze; oil, gas and off to the races. Fired up on the first pull. I like the adjustable handle height as I'm 6'5". The highest setting is very comfortable.
The first impressions on cut quality are very good. Nice clean cut. The blades stop feature is really convenient as well. The drive system will take a little getting used to after using a Toro Personal Pace for the past 5 years, however the Honda drive quality is very good. Pulls up inclines extremely well.
The 190 motor on this mower is probably the best I've ever used. I have a lot of drainage in my back yard due to the daylight drain for my foundation in addition to general drainage for my neighborhood running through the extreme rear portion of my yard. My Toro was never able to properly mulch the back yard. I always had to side discharge because the motor would constantly bog down and stall while mulching. Well, I'm thrilled to say the Honda mulched the entire yard (slightly damp from rain the past few days) at a lower height setting than I ever used on the Toro. The motor never even hinted at signs of struggling to keep up. Needless to say, I am extremely pleased.
The only negative that I can mention is the rear discharge. Clippings seem to clump pretty bad when discharging from the rear, however the mower mulches so well I will likely never need to discharge ever again.
Time will tell if the mower holds up, however the 5 year warranty is a great insurance policy in the unlikely event something does go wrong.
Overall, my first impression is very good. Hoping to use this mower for a very long time to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Lakeville, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Glad to be back!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just built a new home last year and I thought I would save money by buying a cheaper brand (Craftsman) but still with a Honda motor on it. The only reason I didn't even look at getting the same one I did before is because I figured it would be even more expensive 15 years later from when I originally bought my first Honda mower.
So, I used my new "bargain" mower and quickly became frustrated with the poor quality, poor quality of mowing and lack of features, so I made a trip to my local Home Depot only to find out I could get the mower that I actually wanted from the beginning, for THE SAME PRICE as I did 15 years earlier. I had to think for about 30 seconds on that one!
I bought my first Honda mower over 15 years ago for the same $699 that I paid 2 months ago.
The only difference is my new one has even more features than the last one and quality has improved even more!!
Who actually makes a product BETTER than they did 15 years ago??
Apparently, the Honda Mowers Division does.
I now have used my new and improved Honda mower and I'm back to enjoying mowing the lawn again instead of dreading it.
Spend the money!
It's absolutely worth it.
I had my last Honda for more than 10 years until we sold our home and the lawnmower with it.
It never gave me one problem and worked perfectly that entire time!!
Absolutely worth EVERY penny I paid!!
LOVE IT!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a very similar model that has performed well for years. We wanted a second mower so both of us could mow simultaneously and get the yard done more efficiently. I immediately determined that I wanted the same mower, so we purchased this model. Like the older one it starts first pull, and is even easier to start (than the older one) since it now has an automatic choke. Although not cheap, we felt the mower was a good value since we have an older one (7-8 years old) that is still "going strong".
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

" By far the best, very reliable.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first Honda Lawnmowerguy lasted 25 years. the Nexite deck seemed lighter than other decks. Hondas will start on the first pull if you keep fresh gas in them. Never had a problem with the Variable drive. The Lawnmower vacumed up every bit of debris I encountered. Iused it on curbs, driveways and sidewalks. It was great. It did a great job. I'm headed out to buy another one at H. D.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Staying with what works

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father gave me his 15 yr. old Honda mower about 8 years ago. It has been the best mower I've ever used. When the time came to replace it, there was no doubt about which brand of mower I was going to get.
This mower starts the first pull, mulches way better than the old Honda (HR-215), and has a larger bag. The hydro-static drive is the same, but it has a much higher top speed.
A couple of thing really stand out:
1. The adjustable handlebar makes this the first time I don't have to stoop (6'5") to mow. Instant relief.
2. The hydro-static drive is the best- period. You set your speed with the orange lever, but slower speeds for going around trees etc. are just a matter of letting out on the "drive clutch lever"- the part that you hold to make it go. This is not an on-off lever, but rather a variable speed control which engages smoothly. You can hold it fully depressed to go to the max speed you've selected with the speed lever, or at any point between that and 0 mph.Smooth as silk.
3. The clip director seems gimmicky, but is actually pretty useful. I usually bag, but this mower make "partial mulching" too easy. Much less grass to haul, and not enough mulch to cause thatch problems. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out on leaves this fall.
4. All of the little things that Honda does so well. The gas tank has a neck in it so that you don't overfill. It truly does start with one pull, and has an automatic choke- my wife now has no excuse to not help mow..... It's quiet.
If it lasts as long as the first one, it will be my last mower, and the price paid will be long forgotten.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from San Antonio, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

truly the cadillac of mowers.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing was super easy to setup. I love the cruise control. I am super disabled and I run it on the second speed. I also love that I can leave the motor running with the blade disengaged. I love also that it has a throttle control. It does a fantastic cutting job, no need to bag. This is also better for the soil. I got over the price on the first use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts nicely

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower is a very nice high quality mower. The only problem, and reason I returned product, is the clutch is too difficult to use. If it had a thumb driven clutch with a single bar it would work well. The mower is too awkward to use.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Cherry Valley, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good unit, except that it's a 3-hand drive

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower appears to live up to the Honda name; solid construction, smooth engine, low vibration, moderate noise. However, after a couple months and using it to mow ~6 times now- I find it to be a 3-hand drive, meaning I continually wish for that third hand to ease the process. The left hand is committed to the blade-engagement & hold, provides a comfortable grip and angle, and the lever overlap config is a clever set-up. This leaves the right hand for engaging the drive (top-center) & controlling speed, but the speed-set-lever is on the opposite side of the handlebar. There is always a need to be shifting hands to slip/engage clutch (virtually every turn or obstacle), adjust speed (opposite side from 'clutch hand') upward for straight runs, downward for approaching obstacles, etc. This means either over-hand reaching, or switching hands to permit left hand speed adjustment. This model requires a very interactive control process- it requires an excess of dexterity and mental effort for mowing ( a safety concern?). The good news- if (or when) you get flustered and just let go of everything, mower and blades come to a quick stop.
One more point- you never get to utilize the right-hand grip-angle (unless pushing manually), since you must hold the clutch bar somewhere along the top-center. They should have devised the clutch bar to allow utilizing the right side grip for improved ergonomics.
That said- quality & construction appears solid, just as everyone else reports. Things I don't see others mentioning- Handle is solid, one piece construction, anchored solidly to base, and folds over easily with a single hinge point that's easy to release (1/4 turn). The long base and handle reach is excellent (since I'm 6'3"), and there's good adjustment range for angle/height. Wheels have bearings, made with a quality polymer, with versatile tread pattern to provide reasonable traction in dewy conditions, and runs smooth on harder soils and surfaces. The Nexite deck is rigid and quiet, and appears durable (...but I still want to talk to someone 8-12 years into it...).
I don't recommend this unit simply due to the complexity of the controls, driving a mower should not be this much work. The grip-angles appealed strongly to me, but I never get to use the right side, so the benefit is not realized. Doing it over, I'd strongly consider a model with the thumb-paddles and less ergo handle angles (... but then risk the thumb strain or cramps).
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Good overall quality but harder to operate

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The Honda mower starts easily and the overall quality of construction seems good at this time. It seems to do a good job of mulching grass clippings. However, this mower is harder to operate than any I've had (It's very complicated with numerous levers and controls) and the vacuum doesn't seem to be as strong as my previous two mowers. It's also very heavy and quite expensive compared to previous mowers.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Chester, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Lawn Mower I Ever Bought

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this lawn mower in July 2013 but wanted to wait a year before I reviewed it so I could review it's durability. Needless to say that it has stood up to some abuse (some intentional and some not) and is just as good as it was the day I bought it. This mower replaced a Craftsman Honda Self Propelled Mower and it was well worth the risk. It is the best mulching mower I have ever used and rarely bogs down except when the grass is extremely thick / high and slightly wet. This mower has cut grass without bogging down where my other Craftsman Honda and Briggs and Stratton mowers would flat out shut down. For the price you should expect it to be outstanding and it lives up to the price. For those worried about the durability of the Nexite deck you have nothing to worry about. It holds up to sticks, rocks and anything else you can think of running over. This mower is hands down the best you will find in the push mower section of any store.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not So Fast with the 5-Star Ratings

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A nice mower? Yes. However, there are significant design flaws that should leave folks wondering about Honda's engineering design team, and wondering if the ultra high price is really worth it. Design flaw issues:
1. How could Honda EVER put such a small fuel tank on it's top of the line mower? The fuel tank holds a measly quarter of a gallon (.25), which pales in comparison to it's cheaper sister mower, also with a blade brake ((HRR216K9VYA) ), but with a steel deck & that costs over $200 less. That mower has a ONE GALLON TANK. This flaw in the HRX217 is poor design! My son took the mower 5 houses down to cut a neighbors 1/2 acre lawn, and he ran out of fuel after topping it before leaving the house. This NEVER happened with our 10 year old mower.
2. The four independent wheel height adjustment levers (as opposed to a single adjustment mechanism like my 2004 Honda/Craftsman mower had) is poor design in and of itself. However, making this flaw even worse is the fact that the rear wheel adjusters are difficult, if not impossible to operate (I'm a healthy, strong former Soldier, so strength is not an issue). We could not adjust the left rear wheel height unless we lifted the mower into the air and had to reach underneath the mower itself - not good. The levers also feel flimsy along with being so clumsy. This should not happen in a $700 lawn mower.
Otherwise, the other reviews are largely correct, and the mower has some great features. This is not a 5 Star mower though due to the obvious design flaws - the Honda engineering team needs to re-huddle on this one.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, design flaws
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Independence, Mo

A quality machine

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Keep in mind when reading this review that I've only used my new Honda mower two times so far, so I'm not entirely used to it just yet.
Everything has it's pros and cons in my opinion, including this product...
I'll start with the pros... Out of the box, the mower is simple to get up and running. Basically, lift and lock the handle, install the bag, oil and gas, and fire it up... oh and of course read over the manual, which I pretty much do on everything I buy.
The mower starts up the first pull or two and runs quieter than other mowers that I've had in the past.
The cruise control works well and is a definite plus to have the 9 pace settings for speed control.
The 9" wheels are nice sized for mobility and easily adjusted for the deck height.
The cut from this mower is phenominal. The twin blades make a ginormous difference and mulched cuttings are very finely cut. In my opinion, this is the single most impressive feature of the machine. I also love the mulch/bag adjustment knob. Great innovation that should have been thought of years ago....another great feature.
The blade brake system (BBS) is nice to have and allows the mower to run idle without having to stop and restart it while dumpling the bag, adjusting the wheels, or temporarily leaving the mower for any reason.
The bag comes off very easily and is compact for simple clipping disposal. Goes back on just as easily.
I generally cut my lawn once a week during growing season, and the mower has no problems bogging down or displaying lack of power for the manner in which I use it and the length of grass I normally cut.
Now for a few of the cons.... This mower is pricey, and although I'm one of the people with the opinion that you get what you pay for, this mower is still new, and has yet to prove it's worth. This is my first Honda mower, so I'm going by some of the great reviews and keeping my fingers crossed that my money was well spent. Some of these cons may seem a little nit picky, but for a top-of-the-line mower, I expect a lot.
I'm sure the engineers at Honda have good reasons for making the mower with real wheel drive system (maybe drive longevity?), but I don't like it. Manuevering tight spaces and even turning constanly requires engaging and disengaging the clutch. You cannot lift the front of the mower and turn a corner with the clutch engaged like you can with front wheel drive mowers.
While mowing upward on hilly terrain, the mower has a tendancy to 'wheelie' so you have to pay attention to keeping the deck on the ground to get an even cut.
The design of the clutch and blade control lever is a bit cumbersome and the ergonomics of controlling the mower while engaging or disengaging either one is a bit awkward. Too much going on at the handle area, and in my opinion this could be made a bit more user friendly. The hydrostatic cruise control lever should be more easily accessible....maybe thumb or finger adjusted rather than to the side which requires removing a hand from the handle to adjust. This is a feature meant to use 'on the fly' while mowing and should not be located off to the side of the handle.
The yellow blade engagement button on the blade control lever seems pretty flimsy, and I don't like the location or design of it either.
The mower is fairly heavy, and when disengaged the mower is a little awkward in getting to tight spaces and maneuvering landscaping. Not the most nimble of mowers in manual control.
It would be nice feature if the handle could be slightly adjusted closer to, or further away from the operator, just as you can adjust the angle of it.
Jury's still out on the plastic deck. I like the design, looks, the fact that it repels clipping and rust, but remains to been seen how it actually holds up to wear and tear over the course of a few years.
Won't recommend this product to a friend just yet, simply because I need to log more mowing time with it to get a real feel of the quality and durability of the mower over a longer period.
I hope this review is helpful for those in the market for a new mower... Good luck!
+37points
48out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Edison, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HRX217 HYA

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good mower overall, replaced a 20 year old Honda HR214. Feels a little less well built than the 214, seems to have a little more chassis flex when turning/pivoting, this is probably due to Nexite deck vs old metal deck. Clip director works well but even when fully closed for mulching some grass makes it way into bagging chamber (with bag removed). Cutting blades are very sharp and cut very finely in mulch mode, almost no visible clippings left behind. Easy 1 pull start up just like the HR214 (except this model incorporates auto choke, so 1 less adjustment). I ordered the unit from HD online but the unit arrived with a damaged/bent push bar so I had to go to a store about 12 miles away to switch the unit out for a new one. Unit came with a small bottle of Honda 10w30 oil and the owners manual recommends changing the oil after the first 5 hours of use. I opted for using Mobil 1 10w30 for both the initial fill and drain/fill after about 4 hours of use (runs smooth and don't need to worry about leaving it in the motor for extended periods of time) next drain @ 50 hrs of use. I also added Sta-bil fuel stabilizer to the Sunoco Ultra gas that I use for the Honda mower and snow thrower. Just for fun I also sprayed the underside of the deck and the blades with Pam and let it dry before first use, found that the grass does not stick to the inside of the deck or blades (keeping them sharper and deck cleaner). Pleased overall, just wish it felt as solid as my old HR214, again this could just be a matter of getting use to the new deck material.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: lets see how long it lasts
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Perfect Mower

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great mower that is very well built. I expect it will last a very long time. It is easy to operate and starts with every first pull - It is a Honda after all. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Tallahassee, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the 18 year old HRX. Hope this one lasts as long. Much better variable speed control adjusts smoothly on the go as grass thickness varies.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 29 >>