728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(559 reviews) 559
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product506 of 535reviews
Rating Breakdown 559 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(456)
4
(65)
3
(11)
2
(12)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product506 of 535reviews
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 211 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great after getting used to it

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The key problem for me was that the carburetor tended to flood easily. I have learned to shut off the gas valve and let the engine run for another minute to deplete the gas in the carburetor. Then the lawnmower can be moved, tipped, etc. without risk of flooding the carburetor. It will then start easily next time you use it.
The drive control does take some getting use to. An hour of mowing can make your hands tired. There is a lot of power and speed so I almost have to jog behind it at max speed.
The lawnmower cuts well, has good suction, mulches well, leaves little behind. Bagging over a dry area creates a lot of dust that is directed through the bag to the user; it is best then to wear a filtering breathing mask.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: requires some getting use to
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bedford NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Capable

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This mower chops up grass into the finest mulch I have seen. The only reasons I did not give it 5 stars is , increased gas consumtion and difficulty in manuvering in tight space. The handles when lowered down make a long distance to mower. Overall it does a great job even in high grass when mulching and the cut is even. Also nice speed control.
Pros: Cuts Well, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

1st mow initial impressions.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned a HRX217HYA for less than 1 day. I have about .5 acres of lawn and about 1.5 acres of rough grass with a couple dozen trees (mostly junipers but some pines and some deciduous trees) on my 5 acre lot in central Oregon. Other personal details relevant to this review: I am 6'3" and have pretty large hands. I am a tool nut and love to own the best but I am usually very opposed to paying for the best.
I spent a lot of time comparing the $700 HRX217HYA to the top of the line Toro residential mower 20332 at $360. I couldn't justify spending nearly double on the Honda so I purchased the Toro personal pace mower. The 5 hours I spent doing my spring mow behind the Toro was enough for me to come to hate it and ultimately return it. After 5 additional weeks of unusually high precipitation, major lawn growth and no signs of any decent mower deal on Craigs list I went back to HomeDepot and purchased the Honda HRX217HYA.
Pulling into my driveway with the Honda hanging out of the trunk of my Maxima (the Toro with it's double folding handle fit neatly into the trunk and allowed the trunk to close) I arrived just in time for zone 2 of my sprinklers to finish soaking the 12" high grass and weeds. I figured this was the perfect test for the 190cc Honda engine (The Toro has a 190cc Briggs and Stratton engine).
Pulling the Honda out of the trunk I found it seemed about the same weight as the Toro although the specs say it is 96lbs compared to the Toro 80 lbs.
I am a mechanically inclined person and firmly believe that any product that requires a good read of the manual before operation to be a very poorly designed product. So I filled the engine with the supplied oil , filled the gas tank with last years gas and pulled the start cord. In accordance with Honda's reputation the engine amazingly started on the very first pull. I am still a little mystified about how this was accomplished as I know a fuel systems need priming before the engine will come to life.
My recollection of the Toro mower was the Briggs and Straton engine needed 3 pulls to work the gas through the fuel system before it came to life for the first time... which is what I would expect for a dry engine.
When I was 15 my father finally sold our McClane Reel mower and purchased the then consumer reports number one rated Mower, a Honda. At almost 30 years later the same Honda humm delighted my ears. The Briggs on the Toro had a clanky growl compared to the Honda's whirly humm.
I immediately set to work at knocking down the freshly soaked lawn portion of my yard. On the second lap I noticed the bag to be very heavy and the mower to be very back heavy. So I pulled the bag (This bag is huge in comparison to the Toro!!!) and lugged it over to the grass disposal pile (Man was the bag heavy!). Upon inspecting the first two passes I was not very impressed with the cut!!! I looked at the wheels to find that the front wheels were set 1 notch below top height and the rear wheels were set 1 notch above the lowest height (Stupid me, I should have checked the wheel height in a bit more detail before I started to mow.) After setting the wheels properly in about the middle the cut quality expectedly completely cleared up. The Honda ripped through the soaking grass without flinching. The huge mouth on the bag made emptying it very easy without the heavy wet grass gettting stuck in the bag.
I distinctly remember having a couple problems with the Toro chokeing on the thick lawn which I did not experence at all with the Honda. After the first lap with the Toro I immediately switched it to side discharge mode which aleviated its choking problem. Side discharge is not an option on the Honda and it is defintiely not needed. Side discharge allows the mower to easily move large amounts of clippings out of the way quickly keeping them from clogging the blade causing the engine to stall. The Honda never choked and never stalled.
At 6'3" the ergopnomics of the Toro were just awful. After the first half hour I had to get my back support belt. The handle was way too low and the personal pace speed control system was fighting me the entire lawn! I despise the personal pace speed control system on the Toro. There was no way to fine control the speed of the drive wheels, even after 5 straight hours of mowing I could not find a happy speed control compromise with the system. I would push against the handle and the mower would take off pulling me along with it and jerking my back into an uncomfortable bent over position. Maybe it might work better for a shorter person but for me it was by far the worst feature of the Toro mower.
The Honda on the other hand was a dream to operate. It uses the same blade engagement lever from 30 years ago but they have added a hoop that allows you to keep the blade engaged with your left OR RIGHT hand. A great improvement! The infinite speed control lever is fantastic. Slap the wheel engagement hoop up against the blade hoop and you are off and going at the exact speed you left off at. BUT the best part of all is the speed control hoop isn't just and on/off control but also a proportional speed control on it's own!!!!! YEAH Honda!!!! So, if you hold the speed control hoop at half the distance to the fully engaged position you are moving at half of the speed selected by the speed control lever. This is just fabulous, allowing you to slow the mower down when you hit a thick patch of grass then resume the selected speed when you are through the thick patch. Another beauty of the Honda speed control system is the ability to easily reference your partial speed by opening or closing your hands around the hoop and the handle. Sounds simple but the Toro has no reference bar to loop your fingers over while you change speed with your palms and thumbs. This feature in its own justifies the extravagent price of the Honda for me!!! Another feature of the Honda speed control is how it can be used when you don't want to stand directly behind the mower like when you are next to a tree with low hanging branches. With the Honda you can simple pinch the wheel engagement bar against the handle bar with one hand while you duck under a branch and stand to the side of the mower for a couple feet while the mower goes under the branch. This is next to impossible to accomplish with the Toro. The Toro is difficult enough to regulate the speed when you are directly behind the mower and nearly impossible when you are a couple feet off to the side.
To sum it up, after equal time behind the Toro and the Honda I was crippled for a week with back pain after using the Toro. Using the Honda on the same lawn I was pretty tired but have absolutely no back pain what so ever!
A pretty big feature of my Central Oregon yard is a 20 foot by 60 foot hump in the middle of the rough grass that covers my septic field. The grass and weeds on this hump grow many times faster than the rest of the yard, I suppose due to the constant water and nutrient source from the septic system. The moles also love this soil rich portion of the yard and delight me with several new tunnels every mow. This portion of the yard is always a challenge for any mower even my recently retired John Deere F735 22hp 18 year old ex golf course front deck mower. The weeds will easily get 20 plus inches high before the rest of the lawn needs mowing.
During the initial spring mow the Toro did a very commendable job ripping down these 20" plus weeds with it's 190cc briggs engine that no 160cc mower would be capable of matching. This weed ripping power almost made the Toro a keeper despite all its other flaws. The Honda did an equally supurb job of whacking away this dense jungle but the clippings were far less evident than with the Toro. It is almost amazing at how well the clippings disappeared with the Honda.
The back pain with the Toro was but one of its ergonomic short comings. The noise from the Briggs engine on the Toro was loud enough to require hearing protection or risk atleast temporary hearing issues. The Honda was much quieter and I did not feel a need to use hearing protection. The Toro had a LOT of vibration!!! After pushing it for 5 hours my hands tingled for atleast a few hours. The Honda isn't completely void of vibration but it is MUCH less harsh and I only experenced mild tingling of my hands for 15 to 30 minutes or so. The texture on the molded plastic personal pace control bar left a dusy of a blister between my left thumb and fingers. The smooth metal finish on the Honda control bar left no blister what so ever. I did carelessly pinch my left middle finger between the speed bar and handle bar leaving a small blood blister... but having doe this once I did not do it again. The ergonomics of the Honda far outsine those of the Toro!
One complaint I have with the Honda is the placement of the throttle control. First it is too close to the speed control for the drive system. Second it is too prominant... When I stood to the side and let the mower go under a branch the mower lost all power a few times. This was due to a light brush of the branch against the throttle control reducing the engine speed to idle. I love the Honda controls but if they feel the need to make any changes this would be the place to make them!
I am cheap. At $360 for the Toro I felt ripped off!!! At $700 for the Honda I painfully feel I am atleast getting my moneys worth! My fathers Honda lasted 20 years before a stripped worm gear in the drive system rendered it a ultras heavy push mower with no replacement part available. I will be pleased if I get 20 years of service from my Honda.
+74points
92out of 110found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bellingham MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Mower with Just a Couple small Flaws

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the Honda HRX is a great mower, probably the best out there. It's powerful, runs smooth and gives a great cut. The only issues I have with it are:
1. The fuel tank is smaller than my previous Toro Super Recycler that was 17 years old causing me to have to refill after about 3/4 the way done. No big deal, just a little inconvenience twice a week.
2. I find it surprising that with the great mulching capability of grass, it doesn't do the occasional leaf very well. Just chops it into 6-8 pieces. Whereas the old Toro would leave nothing behind.
Now, you're probably wondering why I just didn't buy another Toro Super Recycler. I did and I didn't like their "Personal Pace" system so much so that I returned it.
I would have given the Value rating 5 stars except that I feel the Honda is about $100.00 over-priced to be considered a 5 star value. This doesn't diminish the fact that the Honda is still a great machine and definitely worth buying. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: small gas tank, could recycle leaves better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Quality Quality Quality

PostedJune 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the most expensive residential mower I have ever used, and its worth every penny. I've used this mower now for 3 seasons, and it starts on the first pull everytime. The twin blade technology is awesome, and it leaves a perfect cut everytime. If you like a manicured yard like I do, then this mower is for you. You wont be disapointed.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from DuBois PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda lawnmower

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Honda. The first was identical and I used it for 16 years. Hoping this one lasts as long.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great lawnmower.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My last Honda lawnmower lasted 12 years. It still started with one pull. This is my third Honda since 1987. I have had very few issues with my last two. What really sold me this time was the 6 year warranty. They cost a little more but if you figure what your total cost over the years it is very low.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from St. Cloud MN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unmatched Quality

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was highly contemplating the $500 model with the blade stop system but I wasn't sold on the smart drive. After much debate I decided to go with the HRX model. The hydrostatic drive is beyond smooth and the motor is reasonably quiet. The mower overall is very tough to beat and in my personal opinion this mower can not be matched by another self-propelled mower on the market today. Overall I'm very satisfied with my purchase and cant think why this mower could get a poor review. Without further comments I would recommend this mower to anyone looking for a well engineered piece of equipment.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from New York, NY, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its true, this mower is awesome.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am the king of 'analysis to paralysis'. I research things, a lot. I read reviews, I watch videos, I do not make quick decisions. I have wanted a Honda HRX for a few years now. I have a 13 year old Snapper Ninja, and I also have an Exmark Metro 36, yes, a landscaper mower with a honking 20 HP motor. Long story short, the 36 is just too big, and without a mulch kit, it makes a mess. Its a quick mess, but I don't need grass blown into all my wife's flower beds. The Snapper was a great mulching mower, but even with a razor sharp blade, I find myself having to overlap strips by a good 6 - 8 inches to re-mow clippings that are clumped. And the Snapper only worked well if I mowed in concentric clockwise circles. If I did the back and forth, it left clumps. Lots of them. I make a point of mowing more frequently than every 7 days so that I do not have to cut off too much of the blade. I figure this helps minimize shock to the lawn, plus makes it easier for the mower. It was still a chore, and I often needed to get my RedMax 7001 backpack blower after mowing to blow off the whole lawn and get the clippings to disappear. Now, enter the Honda HRX. Twin blades. Quiet easy start motor. Blade brake. Cruise control. $700 lighter wallet. Full width cuts of long grass. Wet with the morning dew, and I'm mulching, not bagging. Not a shred of clippings to be seen. but what if I don't overlap? Still good. Alternate direction, just overlap the wheel track. Still good. Absolutely amazing mower. Even at a fast pace, still not a shred of visible clippings. And the overall cut? Excellent. Don't look back, but get yourself an HRX. you will thank yourself after the first feeble pull on the starter rope when the mower comes to life. Save time by mowing full width stripes and not going over the same spot twice to remow clippings.
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good but not "Great"

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like others, I read tons of reviews before buying this Honda lawnmower. Definitely much better than the Craftsman I owned before for starting and durability. I have been using the mower for about 2 months now. The mower starts first pull every time, never any hassle with getting it to run. Everything seems to be durable and it is definitely not cheaply made. THE ONLY 2 NEGATIVES THAT I HAVE FOUND SO FAR ARE: 1.) The height adjustment on the wheels is done by moving the lever into the slots on the frame, but the slots should be designed differently to assure more of a "lock" feature. Twice now I have hit the corner of landscaping, driveway....I am not sure what.... and one wheel has popped to a different mowing height. Unfortunately I don't notice until I make a couple passes and now I have scalped 1/2 of the mowing width. 2.) I can't say the mower has a super amount of power. My old craftsman seemed to do a better job of mulching the grass to a finer particle size. I wish I could rev the motor to a little bit higher level, but I already have it maxed out. Overall I would buy this mower again however. Hope this is helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: wheels pop out of adjustment, particle size of mulching is questionable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Rockland, Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs as advertised...

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Extremely easy to set up. Plastic air filter case broke off a connection at some point mowing around shrubs. Great gas "mileage." The only CON would be its weight. It's heavy. There are times during mowing that one needs to "back up." There is no reverse. So, the machine must be man handled. Apart from that , and the cost, I am pleased.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: Too Heavy, expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Hesperia, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

GCV190 Honda Lawnmower

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
It’s disappointing and concerning when a product like this is delivered with poor quality manufactured parts. Considering the cost and the Honda name I expected the mower to come with the correct quality parts. In this case the catch framework that holds the bag was made incorrectly and didn’t fit the mower. After waiting for 2 weeks for the mower, I ended up waiting another week for the correct parts. Usually I would be accepting of mediocre quality for a less expensive unit however the mower was not cheap and made the decision to buy Honda because of the supposed name.
Other than starting off the purchase on the wrong foot the mower appears to be a decent unit. The engine started on the very first pull after adding oil and gas. It seems to cut well however the longer than normal handle will take time to get comfortable with using. It is definitely heavy as most will realize when they pull it out of the box for the first time. You would think that the new composite type housing would lighten the unit a bit. However despite the weight it cuts well and handles well. Overall and so far I’m still happy with the purchase despite the parts setback.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: parts accuracy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Minnetonka, MN

Don't think, just buy it..

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching the walk-behinds on the HD website I purchased this "loaded" Honda model. I was a little hesitant considering the cost, but after the first two mowings I have absolutely no regrets. Compared to my 6 year old "competitor" personal pace (which is on the verge of death) my new Honda is in an entirely different class. The first thing I noticed was how quiet the engine runs. I love the engine idle feature, as I no longer have to pull start again and again after bag emptying (great for my sore shoulder). Bags like a vacuum cleaner. Mulches through thick wet grass like a breeze. Just buy it.. You will have no regrets.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from South Mississippi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best mower i've ever used

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used this mower 4 times so far and it's a good one. Used Toro, Craftsman, Lawn Boy, Snapper and this is nicest and best by far. A review would be more helpful to others at least one year or later but suspect I will have this mower 20+ years. Wanted rear propelled and this one has many different speeds, which is great. Also I am 6'6" tall and this mower is the most comfortable I've ever used. Not a bit of back ache or pain after using it. Cost was more than initially wanted to pay but wanted high quality and got it in this mower. Recommend it highly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product does a great job

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Model: HRX217HXA
Mower is quieter than my past 3 mowers
Does a wonderful job cutting the yard evenly
Has plenty of power. (Very Good)
Throttle and rear wheel drive (Easy to Use and Works Well)
Handlebars have 3 adjustment heights (Very nice)
Holding the Blade Control and Drive Clutch while mowing (Easier than I predicted it also allows for easy manoeuvring)
Cutting height adjustments (Has several Positions and Easy to Use and Works Well)
Fuel tank cap has a tag line attached so you don't lose it (actually Very Nice Feature)
Only Con:
A nice feature the "Clip Director" ** (How ever the sliding door does Not Seal well when Closed for Mulching, you must Clean it out when done as Clippings Fill the Rear Discharge Guard)
Over all I am very happy with the mower and if it lasts as I'm hoping, it will be worth the extra money paid
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Powerful, Quiet, Easy-to-use, but needs a larger fuel tank

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live out in the country along a river. Anyone who has lived along a river knows that this means that everything in my yard grows thick and fast. My old 1980's 3.5 hp mower that I'd had before moving here just didn't have the punch to deal with this riverbank supergrass and, being over 20 years old was starting to consume enough oil to make a 2-cycle jealous. Time for a new mower then, one that can handle the vigorous plant life at the new house.
I looked at a lot of mowers, but finally decided on the Honda for two main reasons: The reputation of Honda's engines and the HXA model's use of hydrostatic drive rather than cone clutches or v-belts. Because the hydrostatic drive doesn't rely on intentional slippage (as with a cone clutch) for intermediate speeds, nor does it have slippage when in "neutral" (as with a v-belt drive), it should lessen the need to replace the drive belt.
Setting up the mower was a breeze (lift out of box, raise handle, you're done) and after adding the oil and fuel, the engine started on the first pull. That was when the revelations really started. Granted, my previous mower was more than 20 years old, but the Honda seemed almost silent; you can actually hear the whoosh of the engine's cooling fan when it's just idling. And it's much smoother than my old mower as well.
So, it's quiet and it's smooth, but how does it mow? Incredibly well. Set to mulching, I was able to run though 6" tall grass (obviously at a slower speed) without any trouble and it still gave me a great cut. The blade brake and drive engagement levers do take a little getting used to, but I actually find them quite well set up. Since the blade control is wider than the drive engagement lever, it's easy to release the drive while keeping the blades spinning when you go around corners. The button that you have to push to make the blade engagement work is also a great inclusion because it allows you to engage the drive without engaging the blades. This is extremely nice if your lot has steep hills and you don't want to lug the mower up a hill after you've finished mowing.
The only real issue that I have with this mower is that I can't mow my entire yard on a single tank of gas. I don't know if the tank is that much smaller than on my old mower or if the price of power is that much worse economy, but I'm finding that I have to refuel this mower after an hour or so because the tank runs dry. You'd think that Honda would be fitting larger fuel tanks to their higher-end mowers, but apparently not. Overall this is only a minor annoyance for a truly great machine, but it's still worth noting.
The drive system is fantastic too. With rear wheel drive, you can actually get up hills where front wheel drive will just spin its wheels. When you set the speed to reasonable levels the cut is great. Like most mower transmissions, however, the maximum speed is far too fast to be used when mowing. I'm not sure why companies do that, but it seems to be universal. In any case, set the speed to about half or 5/8 of maximum and it's just about perfect.
Overall this mower is an exceptional machine. I am very happy with my decision and the only thing I'd change would be to give it a larger fuel tank.
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most awesome lawn mower ever

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Honda lawn mower I've owned. After my last one I decided to go back to the Honda. I purchase the lawn mower today, super easy set up. My 12 year old son did it in less than 10 minutes. Started on the first pull. I love all the features, especially the "Roto Stop". The lawn mower has a nice large bag, adjustable pace control. Over all this is a great lawn mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Lebanon, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great job mowing

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first new mower. I have been using a Snapper for the past 40+ years and I am now at an age that I need a little help. The self propelled drive on this mower is great. you can shift on the fly and also us it to walk the mower when the blade is not turning. So far it has started on the first pull which always surprises me because my old mower needed about ten pulls. The mulching mode works great. You don't even see any clippings on top of the lawn when your finished. It is more bulky than my old mower but I'll learn to live with it. I used to spend hours mulching leaves in the fall/winter and I am hoping this mower will save me a lot of time then. This mower is high priced and I have been looking at them for a couple of years and finally jumped in. Once the sticker shock is over I will like it even more. Being able to spread the payments out with the Home Depot six month with no interest is helping also.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Delafield, WI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes mowing the yard a pleasure

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was amazed how much better this new Honda cut and bagged my grass. It's quiet, easy to operate and makes short work of mowing my yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, great bagging feature
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lawn mower started right up... no problems. Great Features. The reason I chose this model was because I was spending money every year just repairing my old mower to get it to run. My brother-in-law bought this mower a few years ago and it has never given him a problem. Looking forward to many years of use without the hassle of the old one constantly breaking down.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 28 >>