728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(550 reviews) 550
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product497 of 526reviews
Rating Breakdown 550 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(448)
4
(64)
3
(11)
2
(12)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product497 of 526reviews
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 208 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from South Mississippi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best mower i've ever used

PostedMay 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I've used this mower 4 times so far and it's a good one. Used Toro, Craftsman, Lawn Boy, Snapper and this is nicest and best by far. A review would be more helpful to others at least one year or later but suspect I will have this mower 20+ years. Wanted rear propelled and this one has many different speeds, which is great. Also I am 6'6" tall and this mower is the most comfortable I've ever used. Not a bit of back ache or pain after using it. Cost was more than initially wanted to pay but wanted high quality and got it in this mower. Recommend it highly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The most awesome lawn mower ever

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Honda lawn mower I've owned. After my last one I decided to go back to the Honda. I purchase the lawn mower today, super easy set up. My 12 year old son did it in less than 10 minutes. Started on the first pull. I love all the features, especially the "Roto Stop". The lawn mower has a nice large bag, adjustable pace control. Over all this is a great lawn mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Lebanon, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great job mowing

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my first new mower. I have been using a Snapper for the past 40+ years and I am now at an age that I need a little help. The self propelled drive on this mower is great. you can shift on the fly and also us it to walk the mower when the blade is not turning. So far it has started on the first pull which always surprises me because my old mower needed about ten pulls. The mulching mode works great. You don't even see any clippings on top of the lawn when your finished. It is more bulky than my old mower but I'll learn to live with it. I used to spend hours mulching leaves in the fall/winter and I am hoping this mower will save me a lot of time then. This mower is high priced and I have been looking at them for a couple of years and finally jumped in. Once the sticker shock is over I will like it even more. Being able to spread the payments out with the Home Depot six month with no interest is helping also.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bellingham MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Mower with Just a Couple small Flaws

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the Honda HRX is a great mower, probably the best out there. It's powerful, runs smooth and gives a great cut. The only issues I have with it are:
1. The fuel tank is smaller than my previous Toro Super Recycler that was 17 years old causing me to have to refill after about 3/4 the way done. No big deal, just a little inconvenience twice a week.
2. I find it surprising that with the great mulching capability of grass, it doesn't do the occasional leaf very well. Just chops it into 6-8 pieces. Whereas the old Toro would leave nothing behind.
Now, you're probably wondering why I just didn't buy another Toro Super Recycler. I did and I didn't like their "Personal Pace" system so much so that I returned it.
I would have given the Value rating 5 stars except that I feel the Honda is about $100.00 over-priced to be considered a 5 star value. This doesn't diminish the fact that the Honda is still a great machine and definitely worth buying. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: small gas tank, could recycle leaves better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Money

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lawn mower started right up... no problems. Great Features. The reason I chose this model was because I was spending money every year just repairing my old mower to get it to run. My brother-in-law bought this mower a few years ago and it has never given him a problem. Looking forward to many years of use without the hassle of the old one constantly breaking down.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Outstanding Mower!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This mower replaced the same Honda model that I had owned for 16 years. Great product. Smooth operation, leaves grass with a professional finish. Mulches extremely well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

1st mow initial impressions.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned a HRX217HYA for less than 1 day. I have about .5 acres of lawn and about 1.5 acres of rough grass with a couple dozen trees (mostly junipers but some pines and some deciduous trees) on my 5 acre lot in central Oregon. Other personal details relevant to this review: I am 6'3" and have pretty large hands. I am a tool nut and love to own the best but I am usually very opposed to paying for the best.
I spent a lot of time comparing the $700 HRX217HYA to the top of the line Toro residential mower 20332 at $360. I couldn't justify spending nearly double on the Honda so I purchased the Toro personal pace mower. The 5 hours I spent doing my spring mow behind the Toro was enough for me to come to hate it and ultimately return it. After 5 additional weeks of unusually high precipitation, major lawn growth and no signs of any decent mower deal on Craigs list I went back to HomeDepot and purchased the Honda HRX217HYA.
Pulling into my driveway with the Honda hanging out of the trunk of my Maxima (the Toro with it's double folding handle fit neatly into the trunk and allowed the trunk to close) I arrived just in time for zone 2 of my sprinklers to finish soaking the 12" high grass and weeds. I figured this was the perfect test for the 190cc Honda engine (The Toro has a 190cc Briggs and Stratton engine).
Pulling the Honda out of the trunk I found it seemed about the same weight as the Toro although the specs say it is 96lbs compared to the Toro 80 lbs.
I am a mechanically inclined person and firmly believe that any product that requires a good read of the manual before operation to be a very poorly designed product. So I filled the engine with the supplied oil , filled the gas tank with last years gas and pulled the start cord. In accordance with Honda's reputation the engine amazingly started on the very first pull. I am still a little mystified about how this was accomplished as I know a fuel systems need priming before the engine will come to life.
My recollection of the Toro mower was the Briggs and Straton engine needed 3 pulls to work the gas through the fuel system before it came to life for the first time... which is what I would expect for a dry engine.
When I was 15 my father finally sold our McClane Reel mower and purchased the then consumer reports number one rated Mower, a Honda. At almost 30 years later the same Honda humm delighted my ears. The Briggs on the Toro had a clanky growl compared to the Honda's whirly humm.
I immediately set to work at knocking down the freshly soaked lawn portion of my yard. On the second lap I noticed the bag to be very heavy and the mower to be very back heavy. So I pulled the bag (This bag is huge in comparison to the Toro!!!) and lugged it over to the grass disposal pile (Man was the bag heavy!). Upon inspecting the first two passes I was not very impressed with the cut!!! I looked at the wheels to find that the front wheels were set 1 notch below top height and the rear wheels were set 1 notch above the lowest height (Stupid me, I should have checked the wheel height in a bit more detail before I started to mow.) After setting the wheels properly in about the middle the cut quality expectedly completely cleared up. The Honda ripped through the soaking grass without flinching. The huge mouth on the bag made emptying it very easy without the heavy wet grass gettting stuck in the bag.
I distinctly remember having a couple problems with the Toro chokeing on the thick lawn which I did not experence at all with the Honda. After the first lap with the Toro I immediately switched it to side discharge mode which aleviated its choking problem. Side discharge is not an option on the Honda and it is defintiely not needed. Side discharge allows the mower to easily move large amounts of clippings out of the way quickly keeping them from clogging the blade causing the engine to stall. The Honda never choked and never stalled.
At 6'3" the ergopnomics of the Toro were just awful. After the first half hour I had to get my back support belt. The handle was way too low and the personal pace speed control system was fighting me the entire lawn! I despise the personal pace speed control system on the Toro. There was no way to fine control the speed of the drive wheels, even after 5 straight hours of mowing I could not find a happy speed control compromise with the system. I would push against the handle and the mower would take off pulling me along with it and jerking my back into an uncomfortable bent over position. Maybe it might work better for a shorter person but for me it was by far the worst feature of the Toro mower.
The Honda on the other hand was a dream to operate. It uses the same blade engagement lever from 30 years ago but they have added a hoop that allows you to keep the blade engaged with your left OR RIGHT hand. A great improvement! The infinite speed control lever is fantastic. Slap the wheel engagement hoop up against the blade hoop and you are off and going at the exact speed you left off at. BUT the best part of all is the speed control hoop isn't just and on/off control but also a proportional speed control on it's own!!!!! YEAH Honda!!!! So, if you hold the speed control hoop at half the distance to the fully engaged position you are moving at half of the speed selected by the speed control lever. This is just fabulous, allowing you to slow the mower down when you hit a thick patch of grass then resume the selected speed when you are through the thick patch. Another beauty of the Honda speed control system is the ability to easily reference your partial speed by opening or closing your hands around the hoop and the handle. Sounds simple but the Toro has no reference bar to loop your fingers over while you change speed with your palms and thumbs. This feature in its own justifies the extravagent price of the Honda for me!!! Another feature of the Honda speed control is how it can be used when you don't want to stand directly behind the mower like when you are next to a tree with low hanging branches. With the Honda you can simple pinch the wheel engagement bar against the handle bar with one hand while you duck under a branch and stand to the side of the mower for a couple feet while the mower goes under the branch. This is next to impossible to accomplish with the Toro. The Toro is difficult enough to regulate the speed when you are directly behind the mower and nearly impossible when you are a couple feet off to the side.
To sum it up, after equal time behind the Toro and the Honda I was crippled for a week with back pain after using the Toro. Using the Honda on the same lawn I was pretty tired but have absolutely no back pain what so ever!
A pretty big feature of my Central Oregon yard is a 20 foot by 60 foot hump in the middle of the rough grass that covers my septic field. The grass and weeds on this hump grow many times faster than the rest of the yard, I suppose due to the constant water and nutrient source from the septic system. The moles also love this soil rich portion of the yard and delight me with several new tunnels every mow. This portion of the yard is always a challenge for any mower even my recently retired John Deere F735 22hp 18 year old ex golf course front deck mower. The weeds will easily get 20 plus inches high before the rest of the lawn needs mowing.
During the initial spring mow the Toro did a very commendable job ripping down these 20" plus weeds with it's 190cc briggs engine that no 160cc mower would be capable of matching. This weed ripping power almost made the Toro a keeper despite all its other flaws. The Honda did an equally supurb job of whacking away this dense jungle but the clippings were far less evident than with the Toro. It is almost amazing at how well the clippings disappeared with the Honda.
The back pain with the Toro was but one of its ergonomic short comings. The noise from the Briggs engine on the Toro was loud enough to require hearing protection or risk atleast temporary hearing issues. The Honda was much quieter and I did not feel a need to use hearing protection. The Toro had a LOT of vibration!!! After pushing it for 5 hours my hands tingled for atleast a few hours. The Honda isn't completely void of vibration but it is MUCH less harsh and I only experenced mild tingling of my hands for 15 to 30 minutes or so. The texture on the molded plastic personal pace control bar left a dusy of a blister between my left thumb and fingers. The smooth metal finish on the Honda control bar left no blister what so ever. I did carelessly pinch my left middle finger between the speed bar and handle bar leaving a small blood blister... but having doe this once I did not do it again. The ergonomics of the Honda far outsine those of the Toro!
One complaint I have with the Honda is the placement of the throttle control. First it is too close to the speed control for the drive system. Second it is too prominant... When I stood to the side and let the mower go under a branch the mower lost all power a few times. This was due to a light brush of the branch against the throttle control reducing the engine speed to idle. I love the Honda controls but if they feel the need to make any changes this would be the place to make them!
I am cheap. At $360 for the Toro I felt ripped off!!! At $700 for the Honda I painfully feel I am atleast getting my moneys worth! My fathers Honda lasted 20 years before a stripped worm gear in the drive system rendered it a ultras heavy push mower with no replacement part available. I will be pleased if I get 20 years of service from my Honda.
+74points
92out of 110found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Winston-Salem, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth every penny!

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second of this same model Honda mower I have owned and the improvements made to this model are quite good. The new bagging/mulching system is easy to understand and use. It makes the machine even more versatile and now usable for three seasons. This mower starts on the first pull every time whereas my old Honda always took 3 or 4 pulls.
I thought I would save money and buy another brand of mower but I wasted my money. I went through three mowers in less time than the length of time my old Honda lasted. The other brand advertised excellent quality and value.I obviously did not experience this.
My old Honda lasted 10 years (I cut more than an acre of grass every week during sprig and summer), I hope and believe this one will last as long if not longer.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: owner's manual could be more informative
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent mower

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mower to replace a 20-year-old Toro that finally gave out. I looked at a new Toro, but was unimpressed with the quality compared to my original model. The Honda is powerful, and propels itself through thick, St. Augustine Florida grass easily. The bag is easy to empty, and the chute does not clog like my Toro's used to do in tall grass. The mulching system leaves behind invisible clippings. The only drawback is that it takes some effort to pull backward, so trimming under trees takes some muscle. The store didn't have the model I wanted, so I had to order it on-line, but it arrived at my door (with free shipping) in less than a week and the only assembly required was to unfold the handle, put the bagger together, and add gas and oil. This is not the cheapest mower out there, but the quality and performance are reflected in the price. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: heavy to pull backward
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from East Aurora, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good lawnmower but not perfect and not cheap.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My biggest complaint is that the discharge hood in the back leaves a narrow slot for grass to exit which clogs up grass back through the mower (requiring you to stop the mower and clean out). Power is good but not great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: dishcharge too narrow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from North platte nebraska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Mows great and bags well

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It run quiet and is good on gas. Bags grass good and easy to change to mulching with one flip of the lever.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from New York, NY, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its true, this mower is awesome.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am the king of 'analysis to paralysis'. I research things, a lot. I read reviews, I watch videos, I do not make quick decisions. I have wanted a Honda HRX for a few years now. I have a 13 year old Snapper Ninja, and I also have an Exmark Metro 36, yes, a landscaper mower with a honking 20 HP motor. Long story short, the 36 is just too big, and without a mulch kit, it makes a mess. Its a quick mess, but I don't need grass blown into all my wife's flower beds. The Snapper was a great mulching mower, but even with a razor sharp blade, I find myself having to overlap strips by a good 6 - 8 inches to re-mow clippings that are clumped. And the Snapper only worked well if I mowed in concentric clockwise circles. If I did the back and forth, it left clumps. Lots of them. I make a point of mowing more frequently than every 7 days so that I do not have to cut off too much of the blade. I figure this helps minimize shock to the lawn, plus makes it easier for the mower. It was still a chore, and I often needed to get my RedMax 7001 backpack blower after mowing to blow off the whole lawn and get the clippings to disappear. Now, enter the Honda HRX. Twin blades. Quiet easy start motor. Blade brake. Cruise control. $700 lighter wallet. Full width cuts of long grass. Wet with the morning dew, and I'm mulching, not bagging. Not a shred of clippings to be seen. but what if I don't overlap? Still good. Alternate direction, just overlap the wheel track. Still good. Absolutely amazing mower. Even at a fast pace, still not a shred of visible clippings. And the overall cut? Excellent. Don't look back, but get yourself an HRX. you will thank yourself after the first feeble pull on the starter rope when the mower comes to life. Save time by mowing full width stripes and not going over the same spot twice to remow clippings.
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Southern Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We like this mower because it is easy to mulch leaves and grass and then to empty the grass bag. We use this to make compost for our garden.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from NY

Toro alternative

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have an 8 year old 22 inch craftsman that still starts on the first or second pull. Cuts and bags well, doesn't mulch well. I expanded my yard and wanted a bigger mower. Tried the 30 inch Toro Timemaster because the size and features were perfect. Put the oil in, new fuel, started on first pull, engaged the blades and it bogged down and shut off. Never to start again. This was in my driveway, never even made it to the lawn. Returned the Toro and picked up the Honda. Oil, fuel and I was mowing my lawn in minutes. I mulched and you could not tell because it looked like it was bagged. My old craftsman would have bagged a huge garbage can full of clippings. I really wanted the wide cut of the Toro, but there is something wrong with the engine in that model. This Honda is a superior mower and leaves your lawn looking great.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, All In One, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best is never less

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
By far this is the best lawnmower that I've ever had. It is sturdy, has an almost indestructible deck, blade/cutting capability is far superior than anything that I have ever mowed with, and I've had a lot of mowers. From Craftsman, to Cub Cadet, to Toro, to Honda, and this one encompasses something from all of them. The blade stop feature is awesome, and the ability to cut off the gas flow is a much needed feature that should be on all mowers. All in all, it is a superb mower.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Hernando, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Honda - Lives up to its Name

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my second Honda HRX from Home Depot. The former one endured my hard use for 7 years. It still was in fair shape when I gave it to charity likely needing only a tune-up. I expect even more from this one since it looks to have some upgraded features. For me Honda is the only choice in mowers.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: initial cost
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from graham, wa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good investment

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mower is so easy to use that my daughter is now willing and able to mow the yard, and best of all she is taking pride in it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Minnetonka, MN

Don't think, just buy it..

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching the walk-behinds on the HD website I purchased this "loaded" Honda model. I was a little hesitant considering the cost, but after the first two mowings I have absolutely no regrets. Compared to my 6 year old "competitor" personal pace (which is on the verge of death) my new Honda is in an entirely different class. The first thing I noticed was how quiet the engine runs. I love the engine idle feature, as I no longer have to pull start again and again after bag emptying (great for my sore shoulder). Bags like a vacuum cleaner. Mulches through thick wet grass like a breeze. Just buy it.. You will have no regrets.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product does a great job

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Model: HRX217HXA
Mower is quieter than my past 3 mowers
Does a wonderful job cutting the yard evenly
Has plenty of power. (Very Good)
Throttle and rear wheel drive (Easy to Use and Works Well)
Handlebars have 3 adjustment heights (Very nice)
Holding the Blade Control and Drive Clutch while mowing (Easier than I predicted it also allows for easy manoeuvring)
Cutting height adjustments (Has several Positions and Easy to Use and Works Well)
Fuel tank cap has a tag line attached so you don't lose it (actually Very Nice Feature)
Only Con:
A nice feature the "Clip Director" ** (How ever the sliding door does Not Seal well when Closed for Mulching, you must Clean it out when done as Clippings Fill the Rear Discharge Guard)
Over all I am very happy with the mower and if it lasts as I'm hoping, it will be worth the extra money paid
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Staying with what works

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father gave me his 15 yr. old Honda mower about 8 years ago. It has been the best mower I've ever used. When the time came to replace it, there was no doubt about which brand of mower I was going to get.
This mower starts the first pull, mulches way better than the old Honda (HR-215), and has a larger bag. The hydro-static drive is the same, but it has a much higher top speed.
A couple of thing really stand out:
1. The adjustable handlebar makes this the first time I don't have to stoop (6'5") to mow. Instant relief.
2. The hydro-static drive is the best- period. You set your speed with the orange lever, but slower speeds for going around trees etc. are just a matter of letting out on the "drive clutch lever"- the part that you hold to make it go. This is not an on-off lever, but rather a variable speed control which engages smoothly. You can hold it fully depressed to go to the max speed you've selected with the speed lever, or at any point between that and 0 mph.Smooth as silk.
3. The clip director seems gimmicky, but is actually pretty useful. I usually bag, but this mower make "partial mulching" too easy. Much less grass to haul, and not enough mulch to cause thatch problems. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out on leaves this fall.
4. All of the little things that Honda does so well. The gas tank has a neck in it so that you don't overfill. It truly does start with one pull, and has an automatic choke- my wife now has no excuse to not help mow..... It's quiet.
If it lasts as long as the first one, it will be my last mower, and the price paid will be long forgotten.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 28 >>