728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.665 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(528 reviews) 528
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product476 of 504reviews
Rating Breakdown 528 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(428)
4
(63)
3
(11)
2
(12)
1
(14)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product476 of 504reviews
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 201 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Southeastern PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Honda

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got the HRX217HYA and used it today. Have 2 Honda mowers prior to this one. A 1995 HR216SX and a 2005 HRR216VKA. They are both still running. Gave the HRR to my daughter. The HRX feels like a Honda, and operates like a Honda.... Because it it a Honda. It just works. If you've owned one before, you know what I mean. The HRX is really special with the versa mow feature. And, the cut is excellent. When I decided to get a new mower, I didn't hesitate to go for the HRX. Couldn't be more pleased with the choice. These mowers may cost a bit more than some others, but, you really get what you pay for.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The best mower lots of money can buy.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I WILL MAKE IT EASY.
This is the best lawnmower that I have ever owned and I have owned many over the years.
It is the most expensive lawnmower that I have ever bought, and I only spent the money because of the size of lawn that I have. Too small for a rider but too big for a cheap mower.
Unless you have a very large lawn I wouldn't waste your money on this mower, and get a less expensive unit that will do fine on a small to medium lawn.
Because I do feel it is over priced I can only give it 4/5 stars.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Rochester, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product meet my expectations for features, quality, ease of use & value

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been looking for a quality push mower for sometime & narrowed it to Honda Power Equipment. The easy of purchase & the ability to have it shipped to my local Home Depot made it an easy choice to purchase. Getting it home & unpacking it was very easy. I have only used this product twice, but am very impressed with the ease of starting to operating. So far it is the best mower I have owned.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Slc utah
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

By far the best mower around

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Honda HRX217 is by far the best mower I have ever owned. I bought my first one back in 2004 and the only problem I ever had with it was the self propelled cable broke. $10 later and an hour of labor it was working like new again. 10 years of great mowing experience. I just sold it for $400 and will be running down to home depot today to buy a brand new one.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bridgewater nj
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Mower

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great mower period. I have it about a month now, got it just as the spring rain combined with the warm weather to get the grass growing like a weed. I would normally have to cut it twice a week but this mower easily handles it at once a week ...,doesn't matter if it's tall grass or wet grass and I have not even had to use the bag it mulches that well....I am very happy with this machine.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mower I've ever owned

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been buying lawn mowers for more than 50 years now. This Honda is the easiest starting that I've ever owned. Handling it has been easier than with my previous mower, a top of the line Toro. As far as quality of cut goes, I notice no difference from the Toro. Its expensive, but so have all of my previous purchases been.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bellingham MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Mower with Just a Couple small Flaws

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the Honda HRX is a great mower, probably the best out there. It's powerful, runs smooth and gives a great cut. The only issues I have with it are:
1. The fuel tank is smaller than my previous Toro Super Recycler that was 17 years old causing me to have to refill after about 3/4 the way done. No big deal, just a little inconvenience twice a week.
2. I find it surprising that with the great mulching capability of grass, it doesn't do the occasional leaf very well. Just chops it into 6-8 pieces. Whereas the old Toro would leave nothing behind.
Now, you're probably wondering why I just didn't buy another Toro Super Recycler. I did and I didn't like their "Personal Pace" system so much so that I returned it.
I would have given the Value rating 5 stars except that I feel the Honda is about $100.00 over-priced to be considered a 5 star value. This doesn't diminish the fact that the Honda is still a great machine and definitely worth buying. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: small gas tank, could recycle leaves better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from West Chester, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Mower EVER!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this as a replacement for an old push mower that worked well, but was getting tired (gave it away to a new homeowner) and WOW... I didn't know how good it could be... Starts on the first pull, bagging, mulching and self propelled are all great features, but the dual blades make for the most amazing cut I have ever seen. I finally have the yard that I always coveted. Highly recommend if you want a "big-boy" mower...
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bellefonte, PA 16823, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a great mower!

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've mowed my lawn 6 times so far since purchasing this mower & I have no complaints at all with it. It does a great job!
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

I had an older Honda mower in the Harmony series and just upgraded to this model. The mower is fantastic and worth the cost.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an older Honda mower in the Harmony series and just upgraded to this model. The mower is fantastic and worth the cost. The features and performance have proved exceptional. Only regret is that I did not upgrade sooner.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Duluth, GA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, cuts well and is is easy to care for. I would have liked a water hose connection to be able to easily clean

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product, cuts well and is is easy to care for. I would have liked a water hose connection to be able to easily clean under the hood. Being said, I like this machine and should get great service from the product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built to last!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd Honda mower bought from Home Depot. My original still runs great after 11 years, but the deck was showing its age. I upgraded for that reason only. I love my new mower especially the blade stop. Its nice to quickly empty the bag without having to restart. The speed control is helpful in my front yard where I have to maneuver around trees. I love this mower!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Dayton Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I couldn't be happier with this mower.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit hesitant to spend this much on a mower but all the reviews on the HD website and others pushed me to make the purchase.
After removing the mower from the box it was a snap to assemble. One exception was the right rear wheel height adjuster. It can be adjusted but with with the aid of Iron Man. The other three work just fine. The Honda started the first pull after adding the oil and gas.
I like the blade clutch feature, but it takes a little getting used to. Once you find that rhythm to keep one hand on the clutch and operating the drive with the other its a snap.
Normally I would use the side discharge on my previous mowers. I opted to start straight away with the mulch setting on this mower. The grass was tall enough that on my previous mowers the mulch setting would have presented a challenge. The old mowers would bog down and leaves clumps of grass clippings all over the yard. The Honda did no such thing. The RPMs didn't even seem to slow down at all in the taller grass and as far as the clippings they were dispersed rather well through out the yard.
PROS: Features I like that I've not had on a mower in many decades is a fuel shut off. You would think this would be a standard feature on all mowers. Another feature that is the cats meow is the drive speed setting lever. Simply set the speed you want to walk to, and pull the drive handle. Its that easy, The speed range covers the slow dawdler through us brisk paced mower operators.
CONS: In all honesty, there is one item I would change is the small wheels on the back of the mower. I must say that I became very used to the big wheeled mower and they seem ride a bit smoother in rough yards. I'm also not 100% sold on rear drive mowers as with a front drive model I could lift the front end of the mower to reverse directions without releasing the drive handle.
Recommended... :-)
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

To heavy and difficult to engage blade and operate self propel feature at the same time.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To heavy and difficult to engage blade and operate self propel feature at the same time.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Pittsburgh, PA

Excellent mower, with just a few minor quirks

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This mower has been a pleasure to use. With the powerful motor and the dual blades it tears right through anything, even several inches of wet grass, without skipping a beat! I am very glad I treated myself to this mower.
The mower chops up the grass so finely and blows it into the bag just right, so you can truly get a full bag before you have to stop to empty it. This feature alone has saved me a lot of time, as I only have to empty the bag four times for my whole yard (comared to about 20 times with the old mower). I haven't yet mulched because the grass has been growing far too quickly with all the rain, but it seems like it'll do a great job.
There are a few very minor things that I wish were better, for example the handbars for the blade stop and self propel have just a little bit too much spring in them, so my hands are a little tired from holding them both by the time I'm done mowing. Maybe they will loosen up with time. Also, I wish the wheel adjustment could be done all at once rather than wheel by wheel. Again, these are very minor things that don't really affect the performance of the mower.
I definitely recommend this mower if you can afford it. It is without a doubt far better than the average 300 dollar range mower.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

1st mow initial impressions.

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned a HRX217HYA for less than 1 day. I have about .5 acres of lawn and about 1.5 acres of rough grass with a couple dozen trees (mostly junipers but some pines and some deciduous trees) on my 5 acre lot in central Oregon. Other personal details relevant to this review: I am 6'3" and have pretty large hands. I am a tool nut and love to own the best but I am usually very opposed to paying for the best.
I spent a lot of time comparing the $700 HRX217HYA to the top of the line Toro residential mower 20332 at $360. I couldn't justify spending nearly double on the Honda so I purchased the Toro personal pace mower. The 5 hours I spent doing my spring mow behind the Toro was enough for me to come to hate it and ultimately return it. After 5 additional weeks of unusually high precipitation, major lawn growth and no signs of any decent mower deal on Craigs list I went back to HomeDepot and purchased the Honda HRX217HYA.
Pulling into my driveway with the Honda hanging out of the trunk of my Maxima (the Toro with it's double folding handle fit neatly into the trunk and allowed the trunk to close) I arrived just in time for zone 2 of my sprinklers to finish soaking the 12" high grass and weeds. I figured this was the perfect test for the 190cc Honda engine (The Toro has a 190cc Briggs and Stratton engine).
Pulling the Honda out of the trunk I found it seemed about the same weight as the Toro although the specs say it is 96lbs compared to the Toro 80 lbs.
I am a mechanically inclined person and firmly believe that any product that requires a good read of the manual before operation to be a very poorly designed product. So I filled the engine with the supplied oil , filled the gas tank with last years gas and pulled the start cord. In accordance with Honda's reputation the engine amazingly started on the very first pull. I am still a little mystified about how this was accomplished as I know a fuel systems need priming before the engine will come to life.
My recollection of the Toro mower was the Briggs and Straton engine needed 3 pulls to work the gas through the fuel system before it came to life for the first time... which is what I would expect for a dry engine.
When I was 15 my father finally sold our McClane Reel mower and purchased the then consumer reports number one rated Mower, a Honda. At almost 30 years later the same Honda humm delighted my ears. The Briggs on the Toro had a clanky growl compared to the Honda's whirly humm.
I immediately set to work at knocking down the freshly soaked lawn portion of my yard. On the second lap I noticed the bag to be very heavy and the mower to be very back heavy. So I pulled the bag (This bag is huge in comparison to the Toro!!!) and lugged it over to the grass disposal pile (Man was the bag heavy!). Upon inspecting the first two passes I was not very impressed with the cut!!! I looked at the wheels to find that the front wheels were set 1 notch below top height and the rear wheels were set 1 notch above the lowest height (Stupid me, I should have checked the wheel height in a bit more detail before I started to mow.) After setting the wheels properly in about the middle the cut quality expectedly completely cleared up. The Honda ripped through the soaking grass without flinching. The huge mouth on the bag made emptying it very easy without the heavy wet grass gettting stuck in the bag.
I distinctly remember having a couple problems with the Toro chokeing on the thick lawn which I did not experence at all with the Honda. After the first lap with the Toro I immediately switched it to side discharge mode which aleviated its choking problem. Side discharge is not an option on the Honda and it is defintiely not needed. Side discharge allows the mower to easily move large amounts of clippings out of the way quickly keeping them from clogging the blade causing the engine to stall. The Honda never choked and never stalled.
At 6'3" the ergopnomics of the Toro were just awful. After the first half hour I had to get my back support belt. The handle was way too low and the personal pace speed control system was fighting me the entire lawn! I despise the personal pace speed control system on the Toro. There was no way to fine control the speed of the drive wheels, even after 5 straight hours of mowing I could not find a happy speed control compromise with the system. I would push against the handle and the mower would take off pulling me along with it and jerking my back into an uncomfortable bent over position. Maybe it might work better for a shorter person but for me it was by far the worst feature of the Toro mower.
The Honda on the other hand was a dream to operate. It uses the same blade engagement lever from 30 years ago but they have added a hoop that allows you to keep the blade engaged with your left OR RIGHT hand. A great improvement! The infinite speed control lever is fantastic. Slap the wheel engagement hoop up against the blade hoop and you are off and going at the exact speed you left off at. BUT the best part of all is the speed control hoop isn't just and on/off control but also a proportional speed control on it's own!!!!! YEAH Honda!!!! So, if you hold the speed control hoop at half the distance to the fully engaged position you are moving at half of the speed selected by the speed control lever. This is just fabulous, allowing you to slow the mower down when you hit a thick patch of grass then resume the selected speed when you are through the thick patch. Another beauty of the Honda speed control system is the ability to easily reference your partial speed by opening or closing your hands around the hoop and the handle. Sounds simple but the Toro has no reference bar to loop your fingers over while you change speed with your palms and thumbs. This feature in its own justifies the extravagent price of the Honda for me!!! Another feature of the Honda speed control is how it can be used when you don't want to stand directly behind the mower like when you are next to a tree with low hanging branches. With the Honda you can simple pinch the wheel engagement bar against the handle bar with one hand while you duck under a branch and stand to the side of the mower for a couple feet while the mower goes under the branch. This is next to impossible to accomplish with the Toro. The Toro is difficult enough to regulate the speed when you are directly behind the mower and nearly impossible when you are a couple feet off to the side.
To sum it up, after equal time behind the Toro and the Honda I was crippled for a week with back pain after using the Toro. Using the Honda on the same lawn I was pretty tired but have absolutely no back pain what so ever!
A pretty big feature of my Central Oregon yard is a 20 foot by 60 foot hump in the middle of the rough grass that covers my septic field. The grass and weeds on this hump grow many times faster than the rest of the yard, I suppose due to the constant water and nutrient source from the septic system. The moles also love this soil rich portion of the yard and delight me with several new tunnels every mow. This portion of the yard is always a challenge for any mower even my recently retired John Deere F735 22hp 18 year old ex golf course front deck mower. The weeds will easily get 20 plus inches high before the rest of the lawn needs mowing.
During the initial spring mow the Toro did a very commendable job ripping down these 20" plus weeds with it's 190cc briggs engine that no 160cc mower would be capable of matching. This weed ripping power almost made the Toro a keeper despite all its other flaws. The Honda did an equally supurb job of whacking away this dense jungle but the clippings were far less evident than with the Toro. It is almost amazing at how well the clippings disappeared with the Honda.
The back pain with the Toro was but one of its ergonomic short comings. The noise from the Briggs engine on the Toro was loud enough to require hearing protection or risk atleast temporary hearing issues. The Honda was much quieter and I did not feel a need to use hearing protection. The Toro had a LOT of vibration!!! After pushing it for 5 hours my hands tingled for atleast a few hours. The Honda isn't completely void of vibration but it is MUCH less harsh and I only experenced mild tingling of my hands for 15 to 30 minutes or so. The texture on the molded plastic personal pace control bar left a dusy of a blister between my left thumb and fingers. The smooth metal finish on the Honda control bar left no blister what so ever. I did carelessly pinch my left middle finger between the speed bar and handle bar leaving a small blood blister... but having doe this once I did not do it again. The ergonomics of the Honda far outsine those of the Toro!
One complaint I have with the Honda is the placement of the throttle control. First it is too close to the speed control for the drive system. Second it is too prominant... When I stood to the side and let the mower go under a branch the mower lost all power a few times. This was due to a light brush of the branch against the throttle control reducing the engine speed to idle. I love the Honda controls but if they feel the need to make any changes this would be the place to make them!
I am cheap. At $360 for the Toro I felt ripped off!!! At $700 for the Honda I painfully feel I am atleast getting my moneys worth! My fathers Honda lasted 20 years before a stripped worm gear in the drive system rendered it a ultras heavy push mower with no replacement part available. I will be pleased if I get 20 years of service from my Honda.
+74points
92out of 110found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not So Fast with the 5-Star Ratings

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A nice mower? Yes. However, there are significant design flaws that should leave folks wondering about Honda's engineering design team, and wondering if the ultra high price is really worth it. Design flaw issues:
1. How could Honda EVER put such a small fuel tank on it's top of the line mower? The fuel tank holds a measly quarter of a gallon (.25), which pales in comparison to it's cheaper sister mower, also with a blade brake ((HRR216K9VYA) ), but with a steel deck & that costs over $200 less. That mower has a ONE GALLON TANK. This flaw in the HRX217 is poor design! My son took the mower 5 houses down to cut a neighbors 1/2 acre lawn, and he ran out of fuel after topping it before leaving the house. This NEVER happened with our 10 year old mower.
2. The four independent wheel height adjustment levers (as opposed to a single adjustment mechanism like my 2004 Honda/Craftsman mower had) is poor design in and of itself. However, making this flaw even worse is the fact that the rear wheel adjusters are difficult, if not impossible to operate (I'm a healthy, strong former Soldier, so strength is not an issue). We could not adjust the left rear wheel height unless we lifted the mower into the air and had to reach underneath the mower itself - not good. The levers also feel flimsy along with being so clumsy. This should not happen in a $700 lawn mower.
Otherwise, the other reviews are largely correct, and the mower has some great features. This is not a 5 Star mower though due to the obvious design flaws - the Honda engineering team needs to re-huddle on this one.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, design flaws
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Staying with what works

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father gave me his 15 yr. old Honda mower about 8 years ago. It has been the best mower I've ever used. When the time came to replace it, there was no doubt about which brand of mower I was going to get.
This mower starts the first pull, mulches way better than the old Honda (HR-215), and has a larger bag. The hydro-static drive is the same, but it has a much higher top speed.
A couple of thing really stand out:
1. The adjustable handlebar makes this the first time I don't have to stoop (6'5") to mow. Instant relief.
2. The hydro-static drive is the best- period. You set your speed with the orange lever, but slower speeds for going around trees etc. are just a matter of letting out on the "drive clutch lever"- the part that you hold to make it go. This is not an on-off lever, but rather a variable speed control which engages smoothly. You can hold it fully depressed to go to the max speed you've selected with the speed lever, or at any point between that and 0 mph.Smooth as silk.
3. The clip director seems gimmicky, but is actually pretty useful. I usually bag, but this mower make "partial mulching" too easy. Much less grass to haul, and not enough mulch to cause thatch problems. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out on leaves this fall.
4. All of the little things that Honda does so well. The gas tank has a neck in it so that you don't overfill. It truly does start with one pull, and has an automatic choke- my wife now has no excuse to not help mow..... It's quiet.
If it lasts as long as the first one, it will be my last mower, and the price paid will be long forgotten.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Cumming, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best honda mower

PostedMay 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased mine back in April of 2012, when they were offering a extra 1 yr warranty on top of the 5 years that comes standard with the mower. Was able to get 10 percent off by opening a Home Depot credit account. I have been using Honda Mowers for over 15 years. I would never buy another brand.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Madison, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is wonderful

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mower is very easy to use. My teenager is loving it. It cranks easily, operates easily and does a great job cutting.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Durable, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 27 >>