728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(581 reviews) 581
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product525 of 556reviews
Rating Breakdown 581 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(473)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product525 of 556reviews
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 219 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Worth Every Penny

PostedMay 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After paying someone to mow my lawn for years, I realized I was paying someone to do a half,you know what, job and my lawn suffered for it. I've been looking for a mower and comparing just about every self propelled model out there. Of course the Honda caught my eye first because of the name and features, but I figured no way was I going to spend that much on a mower. It didn't take long before I was again contemplating the Honda. No other mower out there was receiving a 95% approval rating so I decided to pull the trigger on one. Picked it up today and used it today. All I can say is everyone was right. The features were great, easy to use, easy to assemble and I haven\'t enjoyed mowing a lawn like I did today in years. Do yourself a favor, stop worrying about how expensive it is and pick one up. You won't regret it!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Mulches Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Platte City Mo.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

One of the best push mowers you can buy.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my 2nd Honda mower...(same model). The last one lasted 10 years & is still running but it does have a few issues so I just opted to purchase a new one. From what I can tell, they have made a few upgrades that will help.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Edison, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HRX217 HYA

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good mower overall, replaced a 20 year old Honda HR214. Feels a little less well built than the 214, seems to have a little more chassis flex when turning/pivoting, this is probably due to Nexite deck vs old metal deck. Clip director works well but even when fully closed for mulching some grass makes it way into bagging chamber (with bag removed). Cutting blades are very sharp and cut very finely in mulch mode, almost no visible clippings left behind. Easy 1 pull start up just like the HR214 (except this model incorporates auto choke, so 1 less adjustment). I ordered the unit from HD online but the unit arrived with a damaged/bent push bar so I had to go to a store about 12 miles away to switch the unit out for a new one. Unit came with a small bottle of Honda 10w30 oil and the owners manual recommends changing the oil after the first 5 hours of use. I opted for using Mobil 1 10w30 for both the initial fill and drain/fill after about 4 hours of use (runs smooth and don't need to worry about leaving it in the motor for extended periods of time) next drain @ 50 hrs of use. I also added Sta-bil fuel stabilizer to the Sunoco Ultra gas that I use for the Honda mower and snow thrower. Just for fun I also sprayed the underside of the deck and the blades with Pam and let it dry before first use, found that the grass does not stick to the inside of the deck or blades (keeping them sharper and deck cleaner). Pleased overall, just wish it felt as solid as my old HR214, again this could just be a matter of getting use to the new deck material.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: lets see how long it lasts
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

EVERYTHING AND MORE YOU NEED

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a Snapper with bagging system and side discharge that was 30 years old and the drive broke. I was pushing it for the last 2 years and my lower back just couldn't take it anymore. Everything about the Honda makes me smile. :)
-3 levels adjustable handle bar, I'm tall, what a back saver!
-bagging and mulching lever that lets you bag all or some to get the best cut and look
-easy pull start
-speed control, slow or fast and it does go FAST!
-easy bagging system
-great mulcher
-great wheel height control
-blade disengage without mower engine stop
-I can do my whole property on one tank of gas
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tremendous machine

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tremendous machine. I opened the box and removed mower with no problems. Attached bag which can be a little tricky at first but not bad. Added oil which is included and gas. Adjusted the wheel height to my liking which was very easy. Then I turned on fuel knob and one pull and it started up. Very easy just one pull. First cut I mulched then on second cut I bagged. During bagging some fine particles do blow out sides on initial startup but stop after I started moving. Cleaned up easy and a real pleasure to cut lawn of about .60 acre. A little learning curve if you have not used self propelled mower before with rear wheel drive. I can go in a hurry if I need to or if I want to take my time I can back down speed for a more relaxed cut. Overall a tremendous machine. I'm so glad I finally purchased.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store
Cons: price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Caguas. Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so good of a purchase after all.

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well I bought this machine and utilized the mulch feature which works great but I have utilized the bagging feature on it twice and the grass has been a bit dry and it starts kicking back dirt and debris because the bagging feature has a wide opening. I called Honda USA for a fix or advise and was told to wet the bag before it's use. I could understand doing this on a $200 dollar machine but not on a $640 dollar machine. I regret buying it, I used to have a Husqvarna which cost half and never threw dirt or grass back towards the operator. With this response I will be wary of buying Honda products in the future.
Pros: Mulches Well
Cons: bagging is terrible, too expensive for what it offers, customer service ????
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this mower!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great mower, worth it's price. Very easy to push and to start. Mulcher works great! Would purchase again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not So Fast with the 5-Star Ratings

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A nice mower? Yes. However, there are significant design flaws that should leave folks wondering about Honda's engineering design team, and wondering if the ultra high price is really worth it. Design flaw issues:
1. How could Honda EVER put such a small fuel tank on it's top of the line mower? The fuel tank holds a measly quarter of a gallon (.25), which pales in comparison to it's cheaper sister mower, also with a blade brake ((HRR216K9VYA) ), but with a steel deck & that costs over $200 less. That mower has a ONE GALLON TANK. This flaw in the HRX217 is poor design! My son took the mower 5 houses down to cut a neighbors 1/2 acre lawn, and he ran out of fuel after topping it before leaving the house. This NEVER happened with our 10 year old mower.
2. The four independent wheel height adjustment levers (as opposed to a single adjustment mechanism like my 2004 Honda/Craftsman mower had) is poor design in and of itself. However, making this flaw even worse is the fact that the rear wheel adjusters are difficult, if not impossible to operate (I'm a healthy, strong former Soldier, so strength is not an issue). We could not adjust the left rear wheel height unless we lifted the mower into the air and had to reach underneath the mower itself - not good. The levers also feel flimsy along with being so clumsy. This should not happen in a $700 lawn mower.
Otherwise, the other reviews are largely correct, and the mower has some great features. This is not a 5 Star mower though due to the obvious design flaws - the Honda engineering team needs to re-huddle on this one.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, design flaws
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Jackson MS
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

did not work

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything worked great except that the clutch would not engage the cutting blades. The hook on the clutch handle did not reach the required connection interface. The return experience at Home Depot was excellent. Bought a replacement Honda mower without a clutch engaging the blades.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Colorado Springs

Great mower.

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent quality. Honda always expensive but so is a Mercedes. Home Depot on line ordering and price the best I could find and got to my local store quickly.
I like that this mower runs when you stop the blades so I don't have to restart it every time I need to walk away or move an obstruction. Started first pull after gassing it up and putting the oil in. A Mercedes.
Pros: Great Engine
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality product

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
really a quality product. Cuts, mulches and bags great and is easily adjusted. Power and speed are also great. Only draw back is learning to adjust the cruise speed with the hand clutch...takes some practice to get it right and not instantly intuitive or easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: speed control difficult to use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda Mowing Wonder

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have bought this machine years ago.
I have been using a commercial grade Toro mower to cut my 10,000' of grass. I always mulch to cut down on time and to provide natural fertilizing. I would try to let the grass dry for a few days before cutting to reduce clumping. I would also tilt the mower backward to avoid stalling and then make a second pass normally to fully mulch the clippings. Needless to say after one cutting the bottom of the mower would have grass clumped to the underside requiring a thorough de-grassing.
Today the Honda arrived.
Due to the delivery time the grass had grown to about 8-10". The Honda cut right thru with no stalling(the 190 cc's definitely delivers the needed oomph). I set the mower to its highest height. There was a little bit of clumping left over but a second pass made those disappear. The underside of the mower has no clumps sticking--amazing.
My technique was to do the first pass at 1/3 speed(for the thick and tall sections) and then if needed the second pass at full speed. Next time the grass will not be jungle height so I imagine 3/4 speed will do fine. I also attached the bag thinking I would have to bag the tall areas but I did not even use the bag--amazing.
I like the fact you can start the engine without depressing any handles. The speed can be controlled by the speed level so again no need to release the clutch lever when executing a turn around.
All in all a Mercedes mower. It is light and maneuverable. Way lighter than the Honda mower I tried years ago and returned due to its excessive weight.
You get what you pay for and in this case more so.
Hope this helps make up your mind.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from McKinney, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid, Powerful Mower

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my new Honda. Easy to setup, goes through thick grass without a problem. Everything about it is quality.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Waldorf, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Second Best

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I call it second best because I have the 216 commercial mower, I purchased the 217 so that I would not have to use the commercial mower so much, I made an excellent choice. It cuts just as good as the 216 and the mulch setting is nice, very. My only complaint is the durability of the wheels, I have only had it for several months and I have replaced the rear wheels already and @ $17.00 a wheel is a bit to much. HLF Services, Waldorf Md
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from lexington,ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good lawn mower

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My only complaint is that it's a bit heavy and a bit difficult to pull backwards.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts nicely

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower is a very nice high quality mower. The only problem, and reason I returned product, is the clutch is too difficult to use. If it had a thumb driven clutch with a single bar it would work well. The mower is too awkward to use.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I enjoy Mowing the lawn again

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mulches great at any speed. Many adjustments to meet the needs of different users and needs. Starts on the first half heart pull every time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Son has a new mower!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had it shipped to my house with my 14 year olds name on it! Get the hint!! I love the safety feature that shuts the blade off when you walk away from the mower and leaves the motor running. It is a little tricky to get use to the speeds of the self propelled feature, but will get over fast enough. Grass cutting has never been better. I use to bag everything, now just mulch it up and gone!! No top mounted washer, so must turn on its side to wash. Motor does not bog down in high grass as long as you go slow and give it time.
A bit on the expensive side for a small self propelled mower, but I guess you get what you pay for!!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: very fast in full self propelled position.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very pleased

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have a very similar model that has performed well for years. We wanted a second mower so both of us could mow simultaneously and get the yard done more efficiently. I immediately determined that I wanted the same mower, so we purchased this model. Like the older one it starts first pull, and is even easier to start (than the older one) since it now has an automatic choke. Although not cheap, we felt the mower was a good value since we have an older one (7-8 years old) that is still "going strong".
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Arrived in good condition, easy to assemble; one pull start!

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My previous Honda mower is 22 years old and still running. I gave it to my daughter and her husband and they commented that it still looks and runs like new. I chose Honda again because it is reliably easy to start and runs like a champ! I bought a new mower because my previous one was not equipped with a mulching blade. This new model gives me all of the options of bagging, partially bagging, or mulching. Also gives me more speed adjustments than my previous model. Fabulous. I also have a Honda snow blower and have had an equally positive experience. I would never consider another brand for either mowing or snow blowing. Love these Honda products.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 30 >>