728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the bl
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(574 reviews) 574
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product518 of 549reviews
Rating Breakdown 574 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(466)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(13)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product518 of 549reviews
Customer questions and answers:
58 Questions | 215 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Minnetonka, MN

Don't think, just buy it..

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After researching the walk-behinds on the HD website I purchased this "loaded" Honda model. I was a little hesitant considering the cost, but after the first two mowings I have absolutely no regrets. Compared to my 6 year old "competitor" personal pace (which is on the verge of death) my new Honda is in an entirely different class. The first thing I noticed was how quiet the engine runs. I love the engine idle feature, as I no longer have to pull start again and again after bag emptying (great for my sore shoulder). Bags like a vacuum cleaner. Mulches through thick wet grass like a breeze. Just buy it.. You will have no regrets.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Bellingham MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Mower with Just a Couple small Flaws

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the Honda HRX is a great mower, probably the best out there. It's powerful, runs smooth and gives a great cut. The only issues I have with it are:
1. The fuel tank is smaller than my previous Toro Super Recycler that was 17 years old causing me to have to refill after about 3/4 the way done. No big deal, just a little inconvenience twice a week.
2. I find it surprising that with the great mulching capability of grass, it doesn't do the occasional leaf very well. Just chops it into 6-8 pieces. Whereas the old Toro would leave nothing behind.
Now, you're probably wondering why I just didn't buy another Toro Super Recycler. I did and I didn't like their "Personal Pace" system so much so that I returned it.
I would have given the Value rating 5 stars except that I feel the Honda is about $100.00 over-priced to be considered a 5 star value. This doesn't diminish the fact that the Honda is still a great machine and definitely worth buying. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: small gas tank, could recycle leaves better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Powerful, Quiet, Easy-to-use, but needs a larger fuel tank

PostedJune 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live out in the country along a river. Anyone who has lived along a river knows that this means that everything in my yard grows thick and fast. My old 1980's 3.5 hp mower that I'd had before moving here just didn't have the punch to deal with this riverbank supergrass and, being over 20 years old was starting to consume enough oil to make a 2-cycle jealous. Time for a new mower then, one that can handle the vigorous plant life at the new house.
I looked at a lot of mowers, but finally decided on the Honda for two main reasons: The reputation of Honda's engines and the HXA model's use of hydrostatic drive rather than cone clutches or v-belts. Because the hydrostatic drive doesn't rely on intentional slippage (as with a cone clutch) for intermediate speeds, nor does it have slippage when in "neutral" (as with a v-belt drive), it should lessen the need to replace the drive belt.
Setting up the mower was a breeze (lift out of box, raise handle, you're done) and after adding the oil and fuel, the engine started on the first pull. That was when the revelations really started. Granted, my previous mower was more than 20 years old, but the Honda seemed almost silent; you can actually hear the whoosh of the engine's cooling fan when it's just idling. And it's much smoother than my old mower as well.
So, it's quiet and it's smooth, but how does it mow? Incredibly well. Set to mulching, I was able to run though 6" tall grass (obviously at a slower speed) without any trouble and it still gave me a great cut. The blade brake and drive engagement levers do take a little getting used to, but I actually find them quite well set up. Since the blade control is wider than the drive engagement lever, it's easy to release the drive while keeping the blades spinning when you go around corners. The button that you have to push to make the blade engagement work is also a great inclusion because it allows you to engage the drive without engaging the blades. This is extremely nice if your lot has steep hills and you don't want to lug the mower up a hill after you've finished mowing.
The only real issue that I have with this mower is that I can't mow my entire yard on a single tank of gas. I don't know if the tank is that much smaller than on my old mower or if the price of power is that much worse economy, but I'm finding that I have to refuel this mower after an hour or so because the tank runs dry. You'd think that Honda would be fitting larger fuel tanks to their higher-end mowers, but apparently not. Overall this is only a minor annoyance for a truly great machine, but it's still worth noting.
The drive system is fantastic too. With rear wheel drive, you can actually get up hills where front wheel drive will just spin its wheels. When you set the speed to reasonable levels the cut is great. Like most mower transmissions, however, the maximum speed is far too fast to be used when mowing. I'm not sure why companies do that, but it seems to be universal. In any case, set the speed to about half or 5/8 of maximum and it's just about perfect.
Overall this mower is an exceptional machine. I am very happy with my decision and the only thing I'd change would be to give it a larger fuel tank.
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Perfect Mower

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great mower that is very well built. I expect it will last a very long time. It is easy to operate and starts with every first pull - It is a Honda after all. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Tallahassee, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Replaced the 18 year old HRX. Hope this one lasts as long. Much better variable speed control adjusts smoothly on the go as grass thickness varies.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts nicely

PostedMay 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower is a very nice high quality mower. The only problem, and reason I returned product, is the clutch is too difficult to use. If it had a thumb driven clutch with a single bar it would work well. The mower is too awkward to use.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Windermere Fl

Great Item, I needed a full power lawn mower this fits the bill.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, excellent product, wanted the mower without the thumb drive, but had to take the blade stop model to get it. I don't feel that is a necessary option, and didn't want to pay for it. But Extremely happy with the mower and results. This will be my 3rd Honda from Home Depot, so one every 10 years not too shabby.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: a litt;e expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product does a great job

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Model: HRX217HXA
Mower is quieter than my past 3 mowers
Does a wonderful job cutting the yard evenly
Has plenty of power. (Very Good)
Throttle and rear wheel drive (Easy to Use and Works Well)
Handlebars have 3 adjustment heights (Very nice)
Holding the Blade Control and Drive Clutch while mowing (Easier than I predicted it also allows for easy manoeuvring)
Cutting height adjustments (Has several Positions and Easy to Use and Works Well)
Fuel tank cap has a tag line attached so you don't lose it (actually Very Nice Feature)
Only Con:
A nice feature the "Clip Director" ** (How ever the sliding door does Not Seal well when Closed for Mulching, you must Clean it out when done as Clippings Fill the Rear Discharge Guard)
Over all I am very happy with the mower and if it lasts as I'm hoping, it will be worth the extra money paid
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Delafield, WI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes mowing the yard a pleasure

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was amazed how much better this new Honda cut and bagged my grass. It's quiet, easy to operate and makes short work of mowing my yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, great bagging feature
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Landis, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lots of money for a mower but wanted to buy one that would last longer than 5 years. Not disappointed at all (although family thinks I'm crazy for paying that much for a mower) you cannot beat a Honda. Took over the mowing from my son since I bought this cause I really enjoy using it so until I get burned out on it my son will have to wait. Very powerful and quiet. Just takes a short time to get use to the self-propel. The twin blades are a great idea but I don't know if it makes that much a difference than other mowers or maybe it does and I just don't see it. For a big cc motor it uses hardly any gas at all. The only thing that was wrong with it was right out of box one of the handle bar adjustments (plastic grey turn piece) was a little chipped but not broken (didn't call in about it, if it ever breaks found them on the net for $1 and change).
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Hutchinson , ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned a Honda powered push mower for several years and decided to go self propelled. I mulch my yard and there is no grass residue visible. My old mower would leave gras clumps at every turn. Clippings do accumulate in the chute with the clip setting on mulch so it has to be cleaned out periodically . It started on the first pull and is very easy to operate. I picked this model for the hydrostatic drive and blade stop and I am glad I did.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best lawn mower have ever owned

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned lots of lawn movers not until I purchased this Honda mover. It cuts the grass perfect wet or dry it cuts any level of your grass like a hot knife going through butter
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Edison, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mulch setting leaves clumps, awkward to use

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My last two mowers were Toro Personal Pace Recyclers. I thought I was stepping up buying the Honda. The Honda leaves grass clumps even when cutting dry grass that is not that long. The Toro never did that. It's also extremely awkward to handle compared to the Toro. When making a turn the clutch bar is a pain to user and you have to be careful to not disengage the blade. I wish I hadn't purchased this. I'm almost ready to write off the $700 and get a Toro to avoid the grief this mower causes. Next time a Toro for me.
Pros: Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: Difficult to Use, mulches poorly, clutch bar a pain
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Worth the extra $200-300

PostedAugust 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many other homeowners I purchased a 160cc Honda lawn mower at Sam's Wholesale several years ago. Overall I thought it was a good product, always started, self-propelled still works, etc. However, it simply couldn't handle St. Augustine during a wet Houston summer. I'd have to mow half-rows, and often had to mow in a criss-cross pattern to really get a flat mow. I always kept my blades sharp and maintained it, but it struggled and the lawn always looked a bit ragged.
I picked up the GCV190 about 1 month ago after spending 3 hours mowing my lot (20,000 sq. feet, of which maybe 1/3rd is St. Augustine). Set-up was easy, it took me a couple of tries on the bag assembly, but that's mainly because I'm not big on reading assembly instructions. After adding fuel and the oil (provided) it started on the first pull.
As others have noted, the mower is extremely fast at its highest speed. I adjusted the "governor," and soon was mowing. I had it on 100% mulch, and went straight at the thickest part of the lawn (which hadn't been mowed for 10 days). I was amazed that it got about 95% of it cut on the first pass. The frame is incredibly rigid (so rigid in fact you'll have to work on your mowing technique, since you can no longer torque the frame to get around certain things). I then adjusted the mulch setting to be halfway open, and would estimate the bag holds almost twice as much as my prior Honda.
By the end of my mow the battery was charged and I was able to key start it. Personally that feature doesn't matter that much to me, but it works.
It was also very easy to clean. As others have noted there was almost no grass in the undercarriage, even after a full mulch. This was a big issue for me, as it used to take me about 10 minutes to get all the clippings out of the drive assembly on my old Honda.
I was on the fence between this mower and the next model down (steel frame and not the same flexibility with mulching). I'm glad I spent the extra money, I figure this mower should last a good 10 years. More importantly, I no longer dread cutting the grass, and am back to enjoying seeing a well-cut and healthy lawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Idaho Falls Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This mower has all the features I was looking for. My old Honda mower was 29 years old and had worked flawlessly. Due to age and use some parts on the handle assembly broke causing the handle to sit low causing back pain and fatigue when I used it. I gave that mower to my daughter for my grandson to use and purchased this new one. I like that the blade will stop without shutting off the mower so I can empty the bag and not have to restart the machine. The adjustable speed control is wonderful, and the handle height adjustment means I can mow without the back pain, and if my grandson comes over to help it is simple to lower the handle for him as well. The adjustable discharge that allows you to bag part and mulch part of what you cut works great. I am very satisfied with this purchase.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

Staying with what works

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My father gave me his 15 yr. old Honda mower about 8 years ago. It has been the best mower I've ever used. When the time came to replace it, there was no doubt about which brand of mower I was going to get.
This mower starts the first pull, mulches way better than the old Honda (HR-215), and has a larger bag. The hydro-static drive is the same, but it has a much higher top speed.
A couple of thing really stand out:
1. The adjustable handlebar makes this the first time I don't have to stoop (6'5") to mow. Instant relief.
2. The hydro-static drive is the best- period. You set your speed with the orange lever, but slower speeds for going around trees etc. are just a matter of letting out on the "drive clutch lever"- the part that you hold to make it go. This is not an on-off lever, but rather a variable speed control which engages smoothly. You can hold it fully depressed to go to the max speed you've selected with the speed lever, or at any point between that and 0 mph.Smooth as silk.
3. The clip director seems gimmicky, but is actually pretty useful. I usually bag, but this mower make "partial mulching" too easy. Much less grass to haul, and not enough mulch to cause thatch problems. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out on leaves this fall.
4. All of the little things that Honda does so well. The gas tank has a neck in it so that you don't overfill. It truly does start with one pull, and has an automatic choke- my wife now has no excuse to not help mow..... It's quiet.
If it lasts as long as the first one, it will be my last mower, and the price paid will be long forgotten.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower

expensive but *probrably* worth it.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
bought the hydro because the paddle controlled self propelled model hurt my wrists. i can bench, squat and row more than my body weight and that paddle system hurt my wrists. lol! the hydro takes some getting used to. with cruise control you're less involved in mowers movement. you set the speed, squeeze the drive lever and walk behind it. no pushing, accelerating or slowing down unless you change the cruise speed with a seperate control. consequently you must get accustomed to letting go of the propell lever when making sharp turns or stopping. once your adopt this technique and mow for 30 mins or so it becomes second nature. we had a toro personal pace before this honda. it was super easy to use but lacked power, was always a terrible bagger and finally died after 7 years of service. we wanted a to try a honda. when my wife tried this honda the first time she fought the mower for a minute, swore out loud and then finally listened to me. she loves it now. 190cc engine is unstoppable. deck is uncloggable while bagging. good mulching when height is set appropriately. i wish it had an external oil filter and automatic choke for cold starts. other than that i am entirely satisfied. keep your left hand at 9 o'clock with the blade safety and your right hand at 1 o'clock with self propell lever.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Central Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Mower but Pricey

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had it shipped to my office and it arrived in a box upside down. There was some minor damage to the handles that would not allow the blade to engage. I straightened it and got it adjusted to where it worked, rather than return it to a store and wait for another mower to be shipped. I was a little skeptical but added the oil and gas anyway. I pulled the rope and it started on the 1st pull. No kidding. There was about a 5 min learning curve to operating the blade brake and the self propelled controls. My wife loves it and it will complement my 72" Exmark commercial riding mower on our ranch. It appears to be durable enough to handle the rigors of cutting "in the rough" so to speak.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: bag could be larger, gas tank too small
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from UT

Awesome Cut, Cumbersome Controls

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sold my new John Deere walk behind because it was junk - loud, rattled and left rows of uncut grass unless you overlapped about 8 inches - which was ridiculous. Decided to buy the "best" Honda Home Depot had to offer (best meaning most expensive). The mower started first pull and was very quiet as mentioned by several reviewers. Howerver the thing that killed my impression was the controls. There are two handles that mesh together to get everything working - the first is the blade engage handle, then the drive engage handle closes over the top of the blade lever - you hold both to go/mow. The rear wheel drive means every time you want to change directions with the mower you have to release the top (drive) handle while holding the bottom (blade engage) handle with one hand. This quickly becomes extremely irritating. I found myself sometimes forgetting to release the drive before turning (and nearly mowing bushes as the rear wheels continued to drive), or I'd mistakenly release both handles which stopped the blades as well. When you do this you have to press the little yellow button on the bland handle then push the handle forward to engage the blades, then push the drive handle forward to get the rear wheels driving before beginning the next row. Again, when you're mowing several rows and turning frequently this quickly becomes very irritating - way too many steps to simply flip the mower 180 degrees and keep mowing. As I tried to learn a routine and more quickly release/turn/re-engage I even smashed my fingers that were holding the blade engage handle when I re-engaged the drive handle - that was the last straw. I finished my front yard then promptly put the mower back in the box and returned it to Home Depot where I swapped it with the $599 model with the thumb drive lever. The option to disengage the blades isn't all that important to me. I got the "new new" mower home late last night and started it up - again first pull, but one thing I noticed right away is that although it appears to have the same engine, is seems almost twice as loud (likely because the blades aren't on a clutch drive?). Will give it a shot and review it on the appropriate page. Bottom line on this one - great motor, great cut, but the combo blade/drive levers coupled with rear wheel drive make this $699 model too cumbersome and I'd say borderline dangerous if you intend to have someone other than an adult operate it in a yard that requires frequent 90-180 degree turns.
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Blade Stop System Cruise Control Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not So Fast with the 5-Star Ratings

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A nice mower? Yes. However, there are significant design flaws that should leave folks wondering about Honda's engineering design team, and wondering if the ultra high price is really worth it. Design flaw issues:
1. How could Honda EVER put such a small fuel tank on it's top of the line mower? The fuel tank holds a measly quarter of a gallon (.25), which pales in comparison to it's cheaper sister mower, also with a blade brake ((HRR216K9VYA) ), but with a steel deck & that costs over $200 less. That mower has a ONE GALLON TANK. This flaw in the HRX217 is poor design! My son took the mower 5 houses down to cut a neighbors 1/2 acre lawn, and he ran out of fuel after topping it before leaving the house. This NEVER happened with our 10 year old mower.
2. The four independent wheel height adjustment levers (as opposed to a single adjustment mechanism like my 2004 Honda/Craftsman mower had) is poor design in and of itself. However, making this flaw even worse is the fact that the rear wheel adjusters are difficult, if not impossible to operate (I'm a healthy, strong former Soldier, so strength is not an issue). We could not adjust the left rear wheel height unless we lifted the mower into the air and had to reach underneath the mower itself - not good. The levers also feel flimsy along with being so clumsy. This should not happen in a $700 lawn mower.
Otherwise, the other reviews are largely correct, and the mower has some great features. This is not a 5 Star mower though due to the obvious design flaws - the Honda engineering team needs to re-huddle on this one.
Pros: Powerful, Mulches Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Too Heavy, design flaws
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 29 >>