728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable-Speed Self-Propelled Walk Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine so you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(589 reviews) 589
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product532 of 564reviews
Rating Breakdown 589 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(480)
4
(68)
3
(12)
2
(14)
1
(15)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product532 of 564reviews
Customer questions and answers:
64 Questions | 228 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Ithaca, NY

Fun to use

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had my mower a week, but I find it fairly easy to use and it does a good job. Easy to start, but needs to run a bit before engaging blades or it stalls. I read the manual twice before starting it, and it didn't take long to get comfortable with the controls. I hold the blade-engaging handle down with my left hand, on the left side, and use my right to hold the self-propelling handle. That way, I can stop the wheels to make sharp turns without disengaging the blades. The wide wheels do flatten the grass, so I end up with a few small unmowed spots, not very noticeable. I have only been mulching, which it does very well.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Phoenix, Az.

Exactly as advertised!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After readinig all the reviews of this mower before I made the purchase, I've got to say that all the positive remarks about the mower are correct. I don't want to just repeat all the same stuff that everyone has said previously. Instead, I'd like to comment on the few negative reviews and some other observations.
I've noticed that there have been some problems with the wheels in past reviews. The wheels on my mower look and work as they should. There is no indication of any quality problems. The next issue is that the motion controllers snag over-hanging plants or fences, etc. This is true. Last week, it happaned to me. I have some fencing to keep the dogs out of a section of privit bushes and the controllers caught the fence that was not completely vertical. Also some of the privit has grown over the fence and it caught. Bottom line is that I need to correct the fencing. The controllers do stick up more than some other mowers but every mower has some deficientcies. After using the mower for several weeks, this was the first time it caught. Perhaps if the controllers were on the right side that might correct the problem... or if I mowed in reverse.
I've noticed that the arms that the controler levers are on were much longer than my old mower. I thought that might be a problem but it actually gives more leverage in tilting up the front end of the mower. I've also noticed that the mower pushes manually much easier than my old mower. I attribute that to great bearings on the wheels.
One last thing I'll mention; I live in Phoenix, AZ. and I have Tiffgreen grass. That is a thick growing type that should be mowed with a front throw reel mower. I can cut though the grass with no problem in the mulch mode! It will slow or lug a bit so I over-lap and don't cut the full width in the thickest sections. It is far more powerful than my old 5.5 hp mower. A great improvement. It does cut beautifully.
I definately would recommend this mower to anyone. I did take some comments from my wife and family for spending so much but it was worth it.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

Isn't Personal Pace out of patent protection yet?

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had some old [Redacted] with Personal Pace for 20 years. Died, it did.
I thought, "if I'm going to buy a mower for 20 more years, I might as well get a really good one." Toro's have middling reviews and seemed to have moved toward the cheapest-import business model. The Honda got rave reviews. And here I am.
Sore.
My old mower moved at the pace I did. When I slowed, it slowed; when I pushed, it moved faster. When I lifted the front wheels to turn, it stopped because the drive was there. I'd listen to my podcasts while barely paying attention to mowing.
If the [Redacted] was an automatic transmission, the GVC190 is a manual, with a choke to manage as well. You have two bars and a lever to deal with, and you're playing with them all the time. One bar controls the blade stop, you have to hold that against the handle and you have to hold the button in while you push it to the handle or your blades won't spin. The other bar is the clutch. You constantly letting this out as you turn or it keeps shooting off through the flowers and you're sleeping on the sofa. (This only happens because the drive is in the rear, if it was in the front it would stop whilst you turned). Then you've got the speed control, which you kind of want slower when going through the thorn bushes and faster when you're on free grass thinking about not having eaten breakfast. You have a throttle too, but that just stays on "fast." Of course the clutch bar can be used to slow the wheels, I hope it doesn't wear out quick, and thus you're using one hand holding the blade bar against the handle and using the other to adjust the clutch bar depending on speed and turns. Occasionally you're switching hands on the blade bar so that you can adjust the throttle too.
The result being pinched fingers, whacked knuckles, and very little knowledge of what the podcast was about.
On the good side, the mower is solidly built, mulches nicely, comes with a pretty bag, and starts well. It was easy to assemble and well packed. Build quality is far beyond that of my old mower, and I expect to have pinched fingers for many years to come.
But I'd go back to the [Redacted] with personal pace in a heartbeat.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Cons: Difficult to Use, sadistic
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Western Massachusetts

Much MORE than described!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Honda needs to re-write their marketing brochure for this mower. It is simply excellent and then some. Not only does the engine run like a top but the hydrostatic transmission works flawlessly. I mow on hills and when you set the speed control for a given speed, it holds that speed on the flat and going uphill. (I could not say that of my "Personal Pace" Toro.) Speed changes are easy and are done "on the fly". But the unspoken feature I like best is the infinately variable mulch control. Simply leave the bag in place and slide the big mulch knob left or right to select any percentage from 100% bag to 100% mulch. I have mine set at about 75% mulch and it cuts my Bluegrass lawn perfectly, provides mulch, doesn't leave any clippings on the lawn and has cut my bagging disposal in half. If you have a beautfiul lawn and want the very best self propelled lawn mower money can buy... this is it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Forney Tx

People that say Expensive mowers are over rated Never used this mower

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a Troy Built upper end mower for 3 months.. Worked good till my grass got green and thick.. This made me a little upset so I set out looking for a better mower.. After all I spend a lot to get my grass thick and green.. So I looked at these for 2 weeks.. I even called out of state mower places to see what the recommend.. All pointed to this mower or a commercial Toro ($1250.00).. So I ended up making the wife mad and bought this one over the $599 unit do to the ease of use.. My neighbor has the $599 model and I checked it out very nice as well.. After using it this saturday I Took me 45 minutes to mow after ( normal time was an hour and a half ) and the mower did not bog down or leave anything uncut like the Troy built left strips.. I did a half bag half mulch.. All my wife could say is WOW when I was done.. LOL she isn't mad anymore other than said I should have bought this one first and not wasted the money on the Troy Built...Way to go Honda.. This baby is great cranks first time.. And you will have to run to keep up with full throttle...
Pros::: fast cutting, smooth, awesome product
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

Cruising Mower, Great!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have a Toro Personal Pace Lawn Mower 22" cut. It is cutting the grass OK, but I have to push it always. Very hard, and exhausting under this Florida's Hot Sun. Honda has 21" cut but cutting time is a lot shorter, almost 1/2. And a lot easier to move around the mower. I set the fastest cruise setting, then I jog with mower! Fantastic!. I used it once for about 45 min. When mow without the bag, it discharges from the back instead of side. I am getting a lot less dust on my face on windy day. So far the best mower I have ever owned!
I would give 5 stars, if the price is $100.00 lower!.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Northern Indiana

Not happy with 10 month old unit

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was originally pleased with my unit. Ordered it online and received it with no problems. Although the box was damaged, the unit was fine. (They shouldn't ship it in the box that came from Honda, it isn't strong enough for shipping via carrier.) Easy to put together and started right up. I bought this August 2010. NO Problems. However, this season May was a different story. First 2 times, no problem. 3rd time would not start. Took in for service and was told it isn't a warranty item. The fuel I used caused the valve to stick. Although the Honda Tech said he never saw this before and the Carb was clean. He said it was a combustion issue not a fuel issue. Honda said otherwise. I am picking it up today and I will see how long this works....I am nervous and in hindsight, if I knew this would happen or this is how they handle a new lawnmower, I would have bought something else. I ran the engine dry over the winter. I am maintence savy and question their diganoses. Anyway, after spending $700 on a "good" lawn mower I have to spend another $120 for this "stuck" valve. My other Honda started up and is running like a champ at my business. Didn't do anything different. Until Honda is able to build a lawnmower for the fuel used today, I would buy a cheaper lawn mower and stay away.
+20points
36out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

I bought mine in 2007

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My equivalent model has run perfectly for five years, i just brought it to a service shop to have it tuned up.
The worse it needed was a new rear wheel. I have bought Honda self propelled mowers consistently. I'd have my first mower if it wasn't stolen. I highly recommend this model over the model just a little bit less expensive. I like this control system better.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from VAN BUREN AR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WORKED GREAT AFTER IT WAS REPAIRED

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The mower blade would not engage after my husband assembed the mower. Although he has many years of experience with lawn equipment we still thought that the problem may have been in assembly. He took the mower to the authorized repair shop and had to leave it for several days before it was fixed.The service man said that it was not anything my husband had done wrong in assembling, it was a malfunction in the safety controls. He said it was a factory problem or maybe something that happened in shipping. The mower is working fine now and my husband is very happy with the way it performs but it will be several years before we will know if the quality is in line with the cost.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

Excellent Lawn Mower

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So ... my prior lawn mower gave up the ghost after 10 years. I decided to drop the change on this guy. To be honest, this would be the largest con, is its price and one of the reasons for a 4 star.
Considering I just purchased this mower, I can only give first impressions, so keep that in mind.
Started first pull.
For the first 10 minutes or so there was a slight burning smell. This is normal for small engines as the engines usually have some sort of coating and/or break in oil placed in them and this needs to be burned off.
Purrs like a kitten. It sounds soooo smooth!
The rear wheel drive initally scared me. My prior mower was front wheel drive. That lastest for a whole 3 minutes though and a few turns. Not a big deal at all.
My prior mower was single speed. I was surprised at how useful the variable speed was. For the thicker grass you can slow it down. For those sections of the lawn where the grass does not grow as thick, you can crank it up. The high speed is really fast, be prepared to jog :)
When cutting and coming to the sidewalk, I noticed A LOT of grass coming out the bottom. I will note however that the grass coming out was cut very very small. I thought maybe the bag was not sitting right. To my surprise, the bad was full! My prior mower would have choked up completely on a full bag. I could not tell in the least here with this mower. There were no changes in sound or behavior. It is definitely a testimony to the engine and the blades.
I noticed it sits higher than my prior mower; hence, for those lower bushes, I can't get under those now. I will need to use my weed eater a little bit more.
It is definitely heavier than my prior mower. If you have a lot of corners or tight spots that needs a lot of lifting and manuvering, it may take a bit more effort. This is the other reason for the 4 stars, is its weight.
The plastic deck feels really strong. I have seen videos of this deck getting run over by a car. I am not concerned with the deck in the least degree.
I find the bag very pourous and hence a lot more dust passes through. Perhaps the bag just needs some time to get plugged up a little with more use ;)
The wheels on this are awesome. Turning the self drive off, the mower keeps moving at its current speed for a little. Those extra bearings seem to help here.
When I purchased the mower, the first thing a home depot individual told me was "great mower". The next thing he said was "Make sure you change the oil at the 5 hour use mark. If you do that, it will last forever." This is recommended in the manual and makes sense. You want to drain all of that break in oil and any metal bits from normal engine break in.
Great mower!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Owego, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well built

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works as promised. As a woman using this mower, I do find it a bit heavy. I need to go around many bushes and it takes a while to get used to letting the clutch go when necessary. That said, it really goes quickly on the slopes and straight .areas. I was able to cut 30 minutes from my 1 1/2 hour mow time. Cuts beautifully.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Atlanta,Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent machine!

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Started on the first pull. I can't believe how well my lawn looks now. Never realized the mower can make a difference! Also I finish in about 1 hour compared to when it used to take me about 2.5 hours to finish. This is the Lexus of lawn mowers. The blade stop is also very useful. Although expensive it is worth the money. Hope it lasts!.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Chelsea, AL

A Great Machine For Your Lawn

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I rely on reviews a lot. I spent weeks reading the reviews found here. There are some very helpful reviews that made the decision to purchase this mower easier.
Although cutting grass can at times feel like a real chore (hot and humid Alabama summers), I have always enjoyed cutting grass with a walk behind. When it came time to purchase a new walk behind, I decided to go top of the line. This mower did not disappoint.
The Great:
The engine starts with half a pull of the starter rope. Super easy. Idles beautifully and pretty quietly.
Love the blade stop system. I never thought I would enjoy this feature so much. I can cut front and back yards with only one pull of the rope. Feature comes in handy when emptying bag, moving objects, pushing over a curb, or when someone comes outside and needs to talk. Once the blade is stopped, the mower is much quieter.
Speed control is great. Plenty of incremental speed settings. You can use super slow in tight spaces, and faster in open stretches.
Blades give a nice smooth cut. I am one who bags my clippings. But I have cut in full mulch mode just to test it, and the clippings are so small they disappear into the lawn.
The good:
Grass bag is very easy to remove and put back into place. As other reviewers have noted, a few clippings seem to escape down near the bottom. The fabric could fit tighter to the metal frame in spots.
Mower has a very sturdy feel to it. It is not, however, a lightweight mower. It is not a small mower.
A few more features I like:
I like the large gas cap. I like how accessible the air filter is. I like the color scheme. Charcoal grey deck with crimson above.
Only "complaints":
After using only one time the black paint wore off in small spots where the self propelled control lever and blade engage level touch the handle bar. There is no way to avoid this. They have to touch when you use them and have them together under your hands. I just accepted that it was gong to make several "spots" like this. Maybe I will buy some Honda touch up paint and use it at the end of each season.
On concrete surfaces it is hard to pull the mower backwards when it the engine is not running. I usually lift the back wheels off the ground, making pulling it backwards easy. Not sure if they are binding or the protective rubber flap that hangs down is catching on the ground. I do not have this problem when it is running, and in the grass.
Summary: You get what you pay for here. Quality mower with a lot of great features. I am certainly no expert, but have been using walk behind mowers for over 20 years. I considered getting a riding mower, but new I could really get by without one. Also, as I mentioned earlier, I enjoy the experience of maintaining a lawn with a walk behind. With the Honda HRX 217 HYA I can take my time and know that I am giving my lawn a quality cut.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Cheyenne WY

Nice machine

PostedJuly 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never used such a good grass cutting machine in my life. This is the very first new mower ever. This also beats my 20 year old handmedown half broken lawn boy hands down. My old mowers were 'get me by' old push mowers that I now realize were more of a wrestling match to use than they were worth!
This machine is nothing short of amazing. Right out of the box, I put the oil in it, fueled it, and it started on the very first pull. I have never encountered ANY lawn mower that did that. The hydrostatic drive is smooth and consistent, it will do a burn out if you set it on the faster speeds. The mower will mulch with next to no evidence of it being mulched, through thick grass, even at half engine throttle. The bagging feature is solid and quite easy to use and doesn't get you all grass stained emptying and putting the bag back on the mower. The controls are very easy to pick up on, intuitive, if you will. One thing you will find out is to take it easy putting the clutch in to drive the blades, slow and easy, just like a manual tranny car or motorcycle. Many people say its heavy, however that is all an interpretation and personal control issue. I found it very easy to maneuver using the drive engage lever judiciously at the right places. I love the way I don't have to restart the motor every time I walk away from the machine. This is a true mowing machine that does most of the work for you.
I definitely recommend this machine.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Absolutely love this mower for 5+ years now.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son had a mowing business in high school and I did not think the variable speed control or the Nexite deck would be worth the extra money. I was totally wrong. Son is out of college and I am still using this mower on my thick Zoysia lawn. Still starts on first or second pull and I can walk up the hill at any speed I want. The mower has the power to go up a hill with no problem. Never have had mechanical problems. I mow the lawn at church and I have finally talked them into dumping the 3 year old Toro that you can hardly push up a hill and getting one of these HONDAs. I am 57 years old and this mower is perfect for me and my 22 year old son. My wife doesn't even mind mowing with this one. It is absolutely worth every penny we paid for it. No regrets.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

Good overall quality but harder to operate

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
The Honda mower starts easily and the overall quality of construction seems good at this time. It seems to do a good job of mulching grass clippings. However, this mower is harder to operate than any I've had (It's very complicated with numerous levers and controls) and the vacuum doesn't seem to be as strong as my previous two mowers. It's also very heavy and quite expensive compared to previous mowers.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mower works great, I have only used it for mulching so far and it cuts the grass very fine leaving no clumps

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only thing I find fault with is the weight, mainly when trying to turn around in tight areas. My hands get tired squezzing the blade control bar and the speed control handle.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from Shingle Springs, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent mower.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great. Cuts very dense lawn and mulches well. Easy to start. Use less gas than my old John Deere mower.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System

Wish I had bought this earlier!

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before buying this. The final decision was influenced by another review about the method of changing speeds: changing speed is nothing more than holding the handle/clutch and choosing faster or slower. I have had wrist problems but this is easy on the wrists. The speeds run from slow to "Whoa, Nellie!" I have to admit that it should have a reverse; the machine is a bit heavy to pull back. But I was able to mow a particular area I have always hated because of the hillly part. This product may be a bit pricey for a non-riding lawn mower but will pay for itself before the growing season is done; $40 or more just for the front yard! I also have to add that I'm a slight built lady about to reach 60 and this is the perfect machine for me. (I especially like that the handle has three height positions. While my son may be over 6 feet I'm much shorter so changing the position of the handle is absolutely necessary.)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Nexite Deck Cruise Control Gas Mower with Blade Stop System
from capon bridge, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well made mower and easy to operate

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Have used mower 6 times and always starts on 1st pull. Seems to have good power to pull up moderate to steeper inclines that are in my 1 acre of lawn. Has varible hydrostatic cruise control that seems a little too hard to adjust.It is either too slow or too fast, can't seem to get that 3 + mph "sweet spot" that my old cub cadet gave me. It also seems to have problem with collection/ discharge of clippings if you're cutting more than a couple inches off the grass and it is damp. If you keep a well manacured lawn and mow often, this will be a great mower for you!! If you let it get a little long and don't bag, this mower will leave clumps and get clogged in the discharge chute.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Self-Propelled
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 30 >>