728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine. So you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(637 reviews) 637
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product576 of 612reviews
Rating Breakdown 637 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(520)
4
(72)
3
(13)
2
(15)
1
(17)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product576 of 612reviews
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 252 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Review 1 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Coram, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Mower is Amazing!

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower was very easy to figure out how to use. I a new home owner and needed a mower that would be easy to use as I have a corner property and was not sure if I'd be able to manage my yard on my own. I figured If I spent money on a good mower, that is super easy to use, I'm less likely to feel defeated by this task of maintaining my own yard. This mower was exactly what I needed. The self propeller allows me to whip through the grass with ease. The only issue i'm having is for some reason i'm not turning properly and I have bruises all on my left thigh. My sister gave it a try and the same thing happened to her. I believe we are running into the cruise control/starter lever. This may have been better placed elsewhere or maybe we're just clumsy. :) Fantastic mower! I'm thrilled with my purchase, it was worth the money.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Lombard, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Couldn't Ask for More!!!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just cut my lawn for the first time with this mower, and it is incredible! It mulched my thick, wet, tall grass with no issue, and nearly did all the work for me with its self-driven system. I'll never go back to anything else! The clippings were completely decimated, with no long clippings or clumps left anywhere. As for the more expensive model with the push button start, it is not necessary in the least. It is not difficult at all to pull start this mower, and if you cannot handle that, you probably shouldn't be mowing your own lawn.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from North Augusta, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower with Great Pedigree

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My first Honda self-propelled, blade-break clutch (BBC) mower lasted 14 years before the transmission went out. My second, a Honda "Masters" with steel deck and BBC, lasted 17 years before its transmission failed. Replacing transmission on each of those mowers would cost 65%, or thereabouts, the cost of a new, similar mower. So, that's why I bought a new one instead of replacing the transmissions. Neither of those mowers were ever in the repair shop until close to the end of their transmissions' lives. So, this new Honda mower, which is a super performer, may outlive me!!! It has the run, feel, and exhaust sound of the former two Hondas I've owned. I like that! It also has a 6-year limited warranty. The extra year was given by Honda when I registered the new one with them.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, it isn't light but it is sturdy & solid., i love the "roto-stop" feature!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from North Bend, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic cut

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am very impressed with the overall performance and quality of this mower. The mulching and cut is excellent. The engine has an automatic choke that works very well. The mower always starts on the first pull even on a cool morning.
I have two small issues with the mower. First, the throttle and the propulsion speed controls are next to each other and I find it is easy to move one when you intend to move the other. Second, when stopping to empty the bag, I often end up with a clump of grass left where I had stopped.
Overall I am happy with the mower and would recommend it to a friend.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+26points
28out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Live Oak Tx. 78233
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like their cars HONDA'S are the BEST

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought my Honda HR- 215 brand new in 1988 & it' still going, I did have to replace some control cables, blades, recoil starter, & i just put a new carb on it & the carb only cost $15 from Amazon. I'm looking at the new Honda's & debating on weather to keep mine ??? I paid closet to $ 1,000 for mine in 1988 I have owned Craftsman mowers & Montgomery Ward mowers, But this HONDA mower is by far the BEST mower i've ever owned.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Port Angeles, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality mower!

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A big step up from our previous 3 speed Honda mower. Every feature is improved, from adjustable handle height (I'm 6' 2") to the more powerful 190 engine - no stalling or slowing down in tall grass. Quality cutting and mulching job. The picture is of only the second cutting this season. As you can see, there are no clumps of un-mulched grass. Very pleased as I mulch everything! Also like the blade stop feature, so I can leave the engine running and roll over something like a mole dirt mound without damaging the blade. Hydrostatic cruise control, I have read, is far superior to the 3 speed, which quit on us after 3 years. This mower has a 5 year warranty with an additional 1 year for a limited time when registering with Honda. Started first pull out of the box, and as long as you follow their guidelines, should deal with the bad gas we have these days. Free shipping to your home, too! Definitely worth the investment!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+27points
31out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Awesome Mower!!!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had a Toro mower that was 52 years old and it was hard to replace it / let it go. Toro does not make a quality mower like they use to. I absolutely LOVE this mower. It was very easy to take out of the box and set up. You have to put the oil in before you start it up. I was a bit taken back by the Nexite deck. I did not expect it to be a hard plastic. This is only a small issue, if it is an issue at all. It mows my yard without an issue. I like the mulching mode. It evaporates the grass clippings in nothing. It is pricy, but I fully expect that this Honda mower will last as long as my old Toro...if not longer. Honda has a great reputation. I checked Consumer Reports ( I have a subscription to C.R.) and it received the highest rating of any powered push mower, 83 out of 100. I also check as many other reviews on this & other mowers and this one came out on top. Weight is not an issue for me. i am a 42 year old male. If you want to disengage the drive to pull it backwards it is very easy to do. I also like the variable speed control. Bottom line....you can't go wrong with this one.
Cons: None ( at this time )
Length of ownership: 1 month
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, easy to start first pull
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+51points
54out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive, but worth it!

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was initially hesitant about spending this much money on a walk behind mower. However I was disappointed with the fact that my previous Craftsman lawnmower only last me 6 years before dying. So this time around I was hoping to make a purchase that will last me a while. In talking with friends and family who own Honda lawnmowers, the advice was unanimous... if you were willing to spend a few extra dollars it was well worth it for a Honda. I was told that many really old Honda lawnmowers have engines that still work perfectly fine, however the bodies get all rusted out. It appears that Honda solved that problem with the Nexite decking that has a lifetime warranty. I was a little skeptical of a "plastic" decking. But after using it for a few months, I definitely think it works well. Lots of great features on this one, my favorite of which is the blade stop. My only gripe about this lawnmower is the bagger. It allows far more dust through and into my face than my previous Craftsman did. Also, the bag opening is nice and large, which is great to make sure that it gets filled up. However I find it a pain trying to empty the bag into one of those compost paper bags. My previous Craftsman fit into the paper bag opening just right. This bagger is too big to fit into the paper bag and makes a mess when trying to empty into it. Not the end of the world, but more of a nuisance than anything and the cons of this lawnmower absolutely outweigh it. Highly recommend it and would make the same purchase again.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
34out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Galloway, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Typical Honda quality and engineering

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had this mower for a couple of weeks, but have used it several times. It starts easily, seems to have plenty of power, and provides a nice even cut. I like the cruise control system, and the blade stop system sure saves a lot of time. This is my second Honda mower with the nexite deck, and it is much better than steel or other metals. It is easy to clean the deck. I noticed the nexite deck already has a couple of scrapes on the sides, so I checked online and ordered the Honda deck guard, which consists of two stainless steel strips that mount on the side of the deck. I would recommend that option, especially if you mow along chain link fences or stone/brick walls. The mower is also a little heavy when you have to pull it backwards. Overall, I am very satisfied with my new Honda and anticipate having it for many years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Cons: Too Heavy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of my favorite toys.

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mower is amazing! I've had it for a few months now and I still look forward to mowing my lawn. Oh, it's only been four days? Better mow again! There isn't a single thing I dislike about it. It's a joy to use. It's made my "chore" into fun! It also cuts amazingly level and mulches like a dream. There are almost no traces of clippings even if the lawn was a little tall. When I first used it it started on the first pull, which seems amazing to me. It comes with a bottle of oil so you don't have to buy any at first. Absolutely recommend.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful, Quick, Quality

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Compared to my previous 16 year old Honda Masters Mower, I feel this mower is just as good. It is quicker, and I thought my old mower was quick. The big is a little cheap and has only then metal for the handle instead of a big plastic piece as the older mower had. The pull string also gets in the way of bringing the bag up through the handle bars.
I like how it seemingly starts at about 3mph and ramps up to 4mph in about 1-2 seconds, so is a slightly more gradual start.
I think the rubber piece hanging in the back of mower alongt he ground, will probably tear up, but I don't think the piece is necessary, I never had such a piece on my old mower.
Great value/price. I would pay 1000 for this mower, easily, and got it for way less than 700 shipped with coupons etc.
It has not been bogged down sounding when in thicker grass that was even a little wet.
Starts first pull even right out of the box. Old mower did too after 16 years (it needed a clutch).
One bad thing is the back wheels do not have labeles next to the height adjustments like the front wheels so it is hard to tell if you have them set to the same as the front.
The handle bars quickly fold down which is nice for storage, no knobs to turn like the older models.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: not labeled height settings on rear
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Delaware
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a great mower with many plusses and only one small minus

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a solid mower, with amazing easy start and speed controls. It cuts well and mulches nicely and the blade stop feature is very handy. The engine is quiet, strong enough to power through tall grass, but, as others have noted, it is not one to use gas sparingly. I use a tank and a half of fuel to mow about an acre. My only dislike is the difficulty of setting height adjustments on the rear wheels- it takes a firm push to move those levers. Fortunately, I don't have to reset them. It was an expensive purchase, but the build quality is high and I expect to save money in the long run. I would purchase this again.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Wichita, KS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So glad I sprung the extra $!

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best mower ever! The only issues I had were solely due to operator error. May sound like I'm a Honda fanboy, but this is far from the truth. In fact, I've been a dyed in wool Lawn Boy fan, but after weeks of research I had to find out for myself because of the overwhelming support for this mower. I wasn't disappointed! Unit started first pull, but after I 'mowed' a square of my lawn, I looked back to see no grass had been cut! If I hadn't been in such a hurry to try out the mower and read the instruction manual, I would have seen that to engage the clutch, the yellow button on top of the blade bar needs to be depressed and the bar needs to be moved forward quickly to avoid stalling the engine and to prolong clutch operation. After kicking myself, the mower mowed effortlessly through thick, wet grass and mulched the trimmings to such a small amount that I was truly amazed! This mower does it all! From easy starts, multiple bagging/mulching options, and quick mow speed this is the Cadillac of mowers! True that this is no lightweight machine, but hey, it's self propelled for a reason! Takes a short time to get used to the operations of the blade clutch bar and the propulsion bar, and how to use them together for smooth control, but you'll get it. I do recommend registering the unit online with Honda, and I believe they offer extra warranty coverage for doing this promptly. The only advice I can offer is 1 - always mow with the engine speed at its highest setting as this unit was engineered with this in mind to cause the proper air vortex in the deck to finely mulch the grass properly, and 2 - fire the unit up, push the yellow button down and engage the blade bar swiftly to engage the rotor to lengthen life of clutch and keep the engine from bogging. The fuel shut off is a great feature for long term storage (over the winter) to keep gas from just sitting in the carb. Its best to shut this valve off and let the unit run out its gas in the line right before said storage. Use good stable fuel, check the oil often, and this mower should last 20 years! Kudos Honda! I'm a believer!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: a little heavy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Menomonee Falls, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Definitely not the cheapest lawnmower you can buy, but probably the best. My parent had basically this model when I lived at home about 10 years ago and now that I bought my own house there was no debate what I would buy. My parents never had an issue with their mower and I plan on that being the same for me.
I love the blade clutch feature so you don't have to stop and restart the engine every time you walk away.
The Honda engine and dual blades will cut through anything, even tall damp grass.
You pay extra for the plastic deck, but I like not having to worry about my mower rusting out...ever.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Cons: price (but worth it)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Peachtree Corners, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing Lawnmower!!!!

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have you ever had to cut your lawn when the grass was wet/damp, and the grass clumps up? Well, not with this baby! This amazing lawnmower with its dual cutting blades and nexite deck cuts wet, damp, and tall grass with ease. And finely mulches the grass, so it does not clump up in one pass. My previous lawnmower was a mulching push mower, that did an adequate job but required two passes, double the cutting time and was tough on my body. It's too bad Honda does not have a riding zero-turn lawnmower, but with the Honda GCV190 with cruise control and variable speed transmission it is very close to perfection. And it starts on the first pull every time. The only feature that will require some getting used to is the fuel cut-off valve. Never had one before so remembering to turn it "off" after use and back "on" again when I'm ready to go again has posed a problem for me. The solution is not to use it, but it has some great advantages for when you should have used it and didn't. This mower is a tad heavier than my previous mower, but is still easy to maneuver. I would highly recommend this lawnmower, and it is definitely worth the extra money especially when it comes to the wear and tear on your body.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Durham, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Suitable for Commercial Use

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Been using this HRX mower commercially for a few years. It provides a fast clean mow and it's easy to adjust your blade to ground speed ratio for a clean mow every time even on the tallest turfs. Rear drive (or all wheel drive) is way better than front drive and this hydrostatic transmission is a rugged terrific engineering marvel.
I've seen some bad reviews in other places and they stem mostly from users not reading the manual (For instance not being able to roll backwards when a simple cable adjustment is in order). Unfortunately these reviews carry equal weight. This really is a great mower. The plastic deck is almost like Teflon (It may be a ETFE Fluoroplastic) and washes easily. Since I certify that I always begin my mows with a clean mower (your mowing company is the #1 vector for weeds! ) this feature alone saves me hours over mowers that are a pain to wash. I don't know of any mower large or small that cleans up this easily. Don't mow large branches, rocks or metal as they can crack the deck (For safety you should always look an area over before you mow with any mower anyway - Foreign objects can become dangerous projectiles.).
This mower is also easy to service with only a few tools. The seals in the hydrostatic tranny may begin to leak after a term of service. The tranny can be topped off (see Youtube) but it's best to replace the seals. These and other parts are readily available.
I do have a minor complaint and that is the catcher rest spots s/b protected and deeper so they hold the catcher better. The grooves tend to accumulate clippings and need to be cleared often for the catcher to be seated properly.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, cleans easily, easily servicable, well written user guide
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Orange County, California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Treat yourself to the best residential mower available

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once you mow your lawn with this mower, you won't want to use any other mower, plain and simple. I now have two of these Honda mowers, one at home and one at my mountain cabin. I bought my first HRX-217 over 5 years ago when Honda called it a "xenoy" deck, it still works perfect and starts on the first pull. It's smooth, has plenty of power, and does a magnificent job. The older Honda is the reason I fired my gardener (who infected my lawn with crabgrass with his old commercial mower) and I replaced him with this new Honda so I can take better care of my lawn. After 1 month of mowing with my new Honda, my lawn looks amazing now... Don't let the off-brands sold at the membership warehouses with their "Honda" engines fool you, you get what you pay for - there IS a difference and this one is the real deal!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
34out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Fishers, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not the Messiah of Mowers!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A mower this expensive deserves some honest criticism. First, let me state that I'm happy with my purchase and I do recommend this mower. It IS an excellent mower and hundreds of other reviewers have rated it highly. For context, I've had this mower for one year now and I'm comparing this experience with my previous mower of 20 years: a Toro Recycler II.
Some (minor) drawbacks to the Honda CGV190:
1. Significant grass clippings get trapped in the Versamow compartment. This isn't a huge problem except that you have to manually scoop them out after each mow or the grass will sit in there and rot and stink up your garage. Annoying detail for such an expensive mower.
2. So many reviewers have commented that the mulched grass clippings virtually disappear into your lawn. I disagree. I don't think this mower is all that much better than other mulching mowers at making the grass clippings disappear. It's not bad, but don't expect invisible clippings. I have a healthy, thick lawn and I can definitely see some clumping from time to time with this mower. It's about the same as my old Toro Recycler.
3. The Nexite deck is great, but you'll still have some grass stick to the inside of the deck, especially if it's damp. Believe me, no deck material will prevent that.
4. This machine is heavy! I can't believe some reviewers marveled at how light it is! What were they pushing before this: a tank?! If you have quite a few turns, stops, backing up, etc. to do in your lawn, you're going to get a workout. The heaviness does cause the machine to slide a bit down a slope if you are cutting laterally across the slope -- making it hard to keep straight lines.
5. The dual bar system for propulsion and blade control takes some getting used to. It's definitely a two-handed operation. It's fine once you get used to it, but you should ask yourself: how important to me is it really to have the blade shut-off option? How often am I really going to be stopping to pick up objects, etc and is it really that much of an inconvenience to buy a less expensive mower where I have to re-start the engine every time? I don't think the Roto-stop feature is such a make-break aspect.
I consider these all minor annoyances, but for a mower this expensive, you should know what some of the slight drawbacks are. Final verdict: I don't think you can go wrong with this mower, but if price is an issue for you, I think you'll be fine with less expensive mulching mowers.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Long-Lasting, starts on first pull every time
Cons: Too Heavy, grass clippings get stuck in compartment
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Chapaqua, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Honda HRX217HYA - Will not start AGAIN

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased my Honda HRX217HYA from Home Depot in Norwalk, CT on May 5, 2013. SN =MAGA 2095259. It worked fine for 5 months. It would not start so I took it to Ossining Mower and got it back on September 10, 2013. The problem was a faulty “Thermovac” switch which they replaced under warranty. It worked fine for the rest of 2013. I placed it into storage following the manual instructions exactly. When the 2014 season began the mower started right up when I added fuel. It ran for the entire 2014 season. I again placed it into storage following instructions exactly. This May, 2015, I mowed the lawn for the first time using this mower. I put in fresh fuel and it started right up and worked fine. The same fuel runs all my other power equipment.
The second time I tried to mow the lawn this season it would not start. I changed everything I could. New plug properly gaped, new air filter and new oil. It still would not start. I used my old back up mower, a 14 year old John Deere which started right up and worked well. After I finished mowing the lawn I went back to try to start my Honda HRX217HYA. It took about 5 pulls, but it eventually started. Before I take it back to Ossining Mower I thought I would try to start it each day until after the Memorial Day holiday was over. The first day, two days ago, it started after one pull. The second day, yesterday it would not start at all. Obviously a mower that does not start consistently is worthless and useless.
I’ll bring it back to Ossining Mower on Tuesday. I am totally disgusted. I am 71 years old and have been mowing my own lawns since 1959. Back then, at my parent’s house, I used a push reel mower.
I would not buy this mower if I had it to do over. It is a “Lemon”. First and foremost a mower must start and run to be of any value to me.
Pros: Cuts Well
Cons: will not start consistently
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from mn
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love It !!!!!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a lot of looking bought the hrx217hya.. love the features.. love the speed. love the small clippings and amount the bag holds..one issue I have is the selector.. the grass accumulates in it and must be cleaned out sometimes before you change from bagging to mulching..this is first Honda and runs great starts great..I mow on a hill and it cuts even..wish it held a little more gas but I do mow 1/4 acre and wish I could mow 1/2 acre without refill. as I must refill before I finish.. i would buy again and my neighbor bought one also after he tried mine.. controls take a little getting used too. but now easy too use. love it!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 32 >>