728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine. So you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.669 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(637 reviews) 637
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product576 of 612reviews
Rating Breakdown 637 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(520)
4
(72)
3
(13)
2
(15)
1
(17)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product576 of 612reviews
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 252 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from New York, NY, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Its true, this mower is awesome.

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am the king of 'analysis to paralysis'. I research things, a lot. I read reviews, I watch videos, I do not make quick decisions. I have wanted a Honda HRX for a few years now. I have a 13 year old Snapper Ninja, and I also have an Exmark Metro 36, yes, a landscaper mower with a honking 20 HP motor. Long story short, the 36 is just too big, and without a mulch kit, it makes a mess. Its a quick mess, but I don't need grass blown into all my wife's flower beds. The Snapper was a great mulching mower, but even with a razor sharp blade, I find myself having to overlap strips by a good 6 - 8 inches to re-mow clippings that are clumped. And the Snapper only worked well if I mowed in concentric clockwise circles. If I did the back and forth, it left clumps. Lots of them. I make a point of mowing more frequently than every 7 days so that I do not have to cut off too much of the blade. I figure this helps minimize shock to the lawn, plus makes it easier for the mower. It was still a chore, and I often needed to get my RedMax 7001 backpack blower after mowing to blow off the whole lawn and get the clippings to disappear. Now, enter the Honda HRX. Twin blades. Quiet easy start motor. Blade brake. Cruise control. $700 lighter wallet. Full width cuts of long grass. Wet with the morning dew, and I'm mulching, not bagging. Not a shred of clippings to be seen. but what if I don't overlap? Still good. Alternate direction, just overlap the wheel track. Still good. Absolutely amazing mower. Even at a fast pace, still not a shred of visible clippings. And the overall cut? Excellent. Don't look back, but get yourself an HRX. you will thank yourself after the first feeble pull on the starter rope when the mower comes to life. Save time by mowing full width stripes and not going over the same spot twice to remow clippings.
+28points
33out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

Honda user since 1961

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
55th year of using Honda products! Started in 1961 with a 50 cc Cub, a 300 watt generator in 1963 (still have it!), and now a Gold Wing and three Honda mowers, two pressure washers!
Honda engines rock!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Wesley Chapel, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product does a great job

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Model: HRX217HXA
Mower is quieter than my past 3 mowers
Does a wonderful job cutting the yard evenly
Has plenty of power. (Very Good)
Throttle and rear wheel drive (Easy to Use and Works Well)
Handlebars have 3 adjustment heights (Very nice)
Holding the Blade Control and Drive Clutch while mowing (Easier than I predicted it also allows for easy manoeuvring)
Cutting height adjustments (Has several Positions and Easy to Use and Works Well)
Fuel tank cap has a tag line attached so you don't lose it (actually Very Nice Feature)
Only Con:
A nice feature the "Clip Director" ** (How ever the sliding door does Not Seal well when Closed for Mulching, you must Clean it out when done as Clippings Fill the Rear Discharge Guard)
Over all I am very happy with the mower and if it lasts as I'm hoping, it will be worth the extra money paid
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Lawrenceville, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Live on 1/3 acre lot. More than enough power to keep lawn looking good. Husband loves using it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

expensive but *probrably* worth it.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
bought the hydro because the paddle controlled self propelled model hurt my wrists. i can bench, squat and row more than my body weight and that paddle system hurt my wrists. lol! the hydro takes some getting used to. with cruise control you're less involved in mowers movement. you set the speed, squeeze the drive lever and walk behind it. no pushing, accelerating or slowing down unless you change the cruise speed with a seperate control. consequently you must get accustomed to letting go of the propell lever when making sharp turns or stopping. once your adopt this technique and mow for 30 mins or so it becomes second nature. we had a toro personal pace before this honda. it was super easy to use but lacked power, was always a terrible bagger and finally died after 7 years of service. we wanted a to try a honda. when my wife tried this honda the first time she fought the mower for a minute, swore out loud and then finally listened to me. she loves it now. 190cc engine is unstoppable. deck is uncloggable while bagging. good mulching when height is set appropriately. i wish it had an external oil filter and automatic choke for cold starts. other than that i am entirely satisfied. keep your left hand at 9 o'clock with the blade safety and your right hand at 1 o'clock with self propell lever.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Cherry Valley, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good unit, except that it's a 3-hand drive

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mower appears to live up to the Honda name; solid construction, smooth engine, low vibration, moderate noise. However, after a couple months and using it to mow ~6 times now- I find it to be a 3-hand drive, meaning I continually wish for that third hand to ease the process. The left hand is committed to the blade-engagement & hold, provides a comfortable grip and angle, and the lever overlap config is a clever set-up. This leaves the right hand for engaging the drive (top-center) & controlling speed, but the speed-set-lever is on the opposite side of the handlebar. There is always a need to be shifting hands to slip/engage clutch (virtually every turn or obstacle), adjust speed (opposite side from 'clutch hand') upward for straight runs, downward for approaching obstacles, etc. This means either over-hand reaching, or switching hands to permit left hand speed adjustment. This model requires a very interactive control process- it requires an excess of dexterity and mental effort for mowing ( a safety concern?). The good news- if (or when) you get flustered and just let go of everything, mower and blades come to a quick stop.
One more point- you never get to utilize the right-hand grip-angle (unless pushing manually), since you must hold the clutch bar somewhere along the top-center. They should have devised the clutch bar to allow utilizing the right side grip for improved ergonomics.
That said- quality & construction appears solid, just as everyone else reports. Things I don't see others mentioning- Handle is solid, one piece construction, anchored solidly to base, and folds over easily with a single hinge point that's easy to release (1/4 turn). The long base and handle reach is excellent (since I'm 6'3"), and there's good adjustment range for angle/height. Wheels have bearings, made with a quality polymer, with versatile tread pattern to provide reasonable traction in dewy conditions, and runs smooth on harder soils and surfaces. The Nexite deck is rigid and quiet, and appears durable (...but I still want to talk to someone 8-12 years into it...).
I don't recommend this unit simply due to the complexity of the controls, driving a mower should not be this much work. The grip-angles appealed strongly to me, but I never get to use the right side, so the benefit is not realized. Doing it over, I'd strongly consider a model with the thumb-paddles and less ergo handle angles (... but then risk the thumb strain or cramps).
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Naples,Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My 3rd Honda mower from Home Depot.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love this Honda mower. It is my 3rd I have purchased from Home Depot. My first lasted 16 years. My second lasted about 8 years. I went looking for something different. I looked at a lot of different makes and models but could not find one that did what this model does with blade stop aand how well it bags the grass. So I bought another one and love it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Delafield, WI
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes mowing the yard a pleasure

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was amazed how much better this new Honda cut and bagged my grass. It's quiet, easy to operate and makes short work of mowing my yard.
Pros: Cuts Well, Powerful, Self-Propelled, Light Weight, great bagging feature
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Independence, Mo

A quality machine

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Keep in mind when reading this review that I've only used my new Honda mower two times so far, so I'm not entirely used to it just yet.
Everything has it's pros and cons in my opinion, including this product...
I'll start with the pros... Out of the box, the mower is simple to get up and running. Basically, lift and lock the handle, install the bag, oil and gas, and fire it up... oh and of course read over the manual, which I pretty much do on everything I buy.
The mower starts up the first pull or two and runs quieter than other mowers that I've had in the past.
The cruise control works well and is a definite plus to have the 9 pace settings for speed control.
The 9" wheels are nice sized for mobility and easily adjusted for the deck height.
The cut from this mower is phenominal. The twin blades make a ginormous difference and mulched cuttings are very finely cut. In my opinion, this is the single most impressive feature of the machine. I also love the mulch/bag adjustment knob. Great innovation that should have been thought of years ago....another great feature.
The blade brake system (BBS) is nice to have and allows the mower to run idle without having to stop and restart it while dumpling the bag, adjusting the wheels, or temporarily leaving the mower for any reason.
The bag comes off very easily and is compact for simple clipping disposal. Goes back on just as easily.
I generally cut my lawn once a week during growing season, and the mower has no problems bogging down or displaying lack of power for the manner in which I use it and the length of grass I normally cut.
Now for a few of the cons.... This mower is pricey, and although I'm one of the people with the opinion that you get what you pay for, this mower is still new, and has yet to prove it's worth. This is my first Honda mower, so I'm going by some of the great reviews and keeping my fingers crossed that my money was well spent. Some of these cons may seem a little nit picky, but for a top-of-the-line mower, I expect a lot.
I'm sure the engineers at Honda have good reasons for making the mower with real wheel drive system (maybe drive longevity?), but I don't like it. Manuevering tight spaces and even turning constanly requires engaging and disengaging the clutch. You cannot lift the front of the mower and turn a corner with the clutch engaged like you can with front wheel drive mowers.
While mowing upward on hilly terrain, the mower has a tendancy to 'wheelie' so you have to pay attention to keeping the deck on the ground to get an even cut.
The design of the clutch and blade control lever is a bit cumbersome and the ergonomics of controlling the mower while engaging or disengaging either one is a bit awkward. Too much going on at the handle area, and in my opinion this could be made a bit more user friendly. The hydrostatic cruise control lever should be more easily accessible....maybe thumb or finger adjusted rather than to the side which requires removing a hand from the handle to adjust. This is a feature meant to use 'on the fly' while mowing and should not be located off to the side of the handle.
The yellow blade engagement button on the blade control lever seems pretty flimsy, and I don't like the location or design of it either.
The mower is fairly heavy, and when disengaged the mower is a little awkward in getting to tight spaces and maneuvering landscaping. Not the most nimble of mowers in manual control.
It would be nice feature if the handle could be slightly adjusted closer to, or further away from the operator, just as you can adjust the angle of it.
Jury's still out on the plastic deck. I like the design, looks, the fact that it repels clipping and rust, but remains to been seen how it actually holds up to wear and tear over the course of a few years.
Won't recommend this product to a friend just yet, simply because I need to log more mowing time with it to get a real feel of the quality and durability of the mower over a longer period.
I hope this review is helpful for those in the market for a new mower... Good luck!
+38points
49out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from South Brunswick,New Jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better instructions needed

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Show me how to close the door for mulching!!!!! Need to review instructions and make it clearer.
Cons: Difficult to Use, No Instructions
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Spring, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Lawn Mower

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I enjoy cutting the lawn with this mower more than ever. Lots of power, easy to use and very quiet.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from UT

Awesome Cut, Cumbersome Controls

PostedJune 25, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sold my new John Deere walk behind because it was junk - loud, rattled and left rows of uncut grass unless you overlapped about 8 inches - which was ridiculous. Decided to buy the "best" Honda Home Depot had to offer (best meaning most expensive). The mower started first pull and was very quiet as mentioned by several reviewers. Howerver the thing that killed my impression was the controls. There are two handles that mesh together to get everything working - the first is the blade engage handle, then the drive engage handle closes over the top of the blade lever - you hold both to go/mow. The rear wheel drive means every time you want to change directions with the mower you have to release the top (drive) handle while holding the bottom (blade engage) handle with one hand. This quickly becomes extremely irritating. I found myself sometimes forgetting to release the drive before turning (and nearly mowing bushes as the rear wheels continued to drive), or I'd mistakenly release both handles which stopped the blades as well. When you do this you have to press the little yellow button on the bland handle then push the handle forward to engage the blades, then push the drive handle forward to get the rear wheels driving before beginning the next row. Again, when you're mowing several rows and turning frequently this quickly becomes very irritating - way too many steps to simply flip the mower 180 degrees and keep mowing. As I tried to learn a routine and more quickly release/turn/re-engage I even smashed my fingers that were holding the blade engage handle when I re-engaged the drive handle - that was the last straw. I finished my front yard then promptly put the mower back in the box and returned it to Home Depot where I swapped it with the $599 model with the thumb drive lever. The option to disengage the blades isn't all that important to me. I got the "new new" mower home late last night and started it up - again first pull, but one thing I noticed right away is that although it appears to have the same engine, is seems almost twice as loud (likely because the blades aren't on a clutch drive?). Will give it a shot and review it on the appropriate page. Bottom line on this one - great motor, great cut, but the combo blade/drive levers coupled with rear wheel drive make this $699 model too cumbersome and I'd say borderline dangerous if you intend to have someone other than an adult operate it in a yard that requires frequent 90-180 degree turns.
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

EVERYTHING AND MORE YOU NEED

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a Snapper with bagging system and side discharge that was 30 years old and the drive broke. I was pushing it for the last 2 years and my lower back just couldn't take it anymore. Everything about the Honda makes me smile. :)
-3 levels adjustable handle bar, I'm tall, what a back saver!
-bagging and mulching lever that lets you bag all or some to get the best cut and look
-easy pull start
-speed control, slow or fast and it does go FAST!
-easy bagging system
-great mulcher
-great wheel height control
-blade disengage without mower engine stop
-I can do my whole property on one tank of gas
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Gainesville, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Honda Gas Mower

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The first time I used the lawnmower the clutch did not operate properly (the handle did not return from drive position). I had to take it to the Honda Dealer "Ag Pro" which is a good distance from my home. The lawnmower was ready after 5 days and they informed me the clutch had not been installed correctly. The air filter was also saturated with oil, which they replaced.
I wanted to purchased only a Honda lawnmower and this problem rather discouraged me when using my new lawnmower for the first time. Hopefully, this was a isolated problem and I will get many good years of usage from this product!
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: not factory assembled correctly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Edison, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HRX217 HYA

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good mower overall, replaced a 20 year old Honda HR214. Feels a little less well built than the 214, seems to have a little more chassis flex when turning/pivoting, this is probably due to Nexite deck vs old metal deck. Clip director works well but even when fully closed for mulching some grass makes it way into bagging chamber (with bag removed). Cutting blades are very sharp and cut very finely in mulch mode, almost no visible clippings left behind. Easy 1 pull start up just like the HR214 (except this model incorporates auto choke, so 1 less adjustment). I ordered the unit from HD online but the unit arrived with a damaged/bent push bar so I had to go to a store about 12 miles away to switch the unit out for a new one. Unit came with a small bottle of Honda 10w30 oil and the owners manual recommends changing the oil after the first 5 hours of use. I opted for using Mobil 1 10w30 for both the initial fill and drain/fill after about 4 hours of use (runs smooth and don't need to worry about leaving it in the motor for extended periods of time) next drain @ 50 hrs of use. I also added Sta-bil fuel stabilizer to the Sunoco Ultra gas that I use for the Honda mower and snow thrower. Just for fun I also sprayed the underside of the deck and the blades with Pam and let it dry before first use, found that the grass does not stick to the inside of the deck or blades (keeping them sharper and deck cleaner). Pleased overall, just wish it felt as solid as my old HR214, again this could just be a matter of getting use to the new deck material.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
Cons: lets see how long it lasts
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Bellingham MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Mower with Just a Couple small Flaws

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall the Honda HRX is a great mower, probably the best out there. It's powerful, runs smooth and gives a great cut. The only issues I have with it are:
1. The fuel tank is smaller than my previous Toro Super Recycler that was 17 years old causing me to have to refill after about 3/4 the way done. No big deal, just a little inconvenience twice a week.
2. I find it surprising that with the great mulching capability of grass, it doesn't do the occasional leaf very well. Just chops it into 6-8 pieces. Whereas the old Toro would leave nothing behind.
Now, you're probably wondering why I just didn't buy another Toro Super Recycler. I did and I didn't like their "Personal Pace" system so much so that I returned it.
I would have given the Value rating 5 stars except that I feel the Honda is about $100.00 over-priced to be considered a 5 star value. This doesn't diminish the fact that the Honda is still a great machine and definitely worth buying. Highly recommended.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled
Cons: small gas tank, could recycle leaves better
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a good purchase

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
good quality, easy and effective to use. the only thing is that is very expensive
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

Honda is, who we thought they were

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Lots of power. Starts first pull with ease, if you're in the condition to mow your own yard you'll not need the electric start (unless you have a special need). Hydrostatic transmission will take some getting used to, but easy to use once you figure it out (placement of your hands is the key). Mulches terrifically and yard is looking better and better after every mow, don't know why you'd even need to bag clippings to be honest. The clipping are more fine cut than other mowers I've used, they never sit at the top of the yard when mulching. Mower will propel at a brisk pace and will cut very nicely even moving quickly. The highering and lowering of the deck is a little odd, and not my favorite design, but this isn't needed often for me. Blade stop is very neat and can come in very handy moving debris, opening a gate, changing a setting, etc.... Mower is heavy and would need assistance when loading for transport, but the weight gives a nice firm feel when cutting a straight line. Overall I would definitely recommend this mower is it's within budget, I highly doubt anyone would regret it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

Fast, no foul emissions and quiet - cons - expensive

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Everything you need comes in the box. The mower operates quietly and doesnt wake up my 5-month old in the house. Cannot run at full forward speed with the mowing height set to very low and with about 6 inches of grass. Have to lower the speed. Since I am new to mowing, I incorrectly set the height to a very low height. Once I increased the mowing height so that I leave about 3 to 4 inches of grass, I was able to walk behind it at full speed.
I cannot detect any exhaust smell either which is a big plus for me. It also mulches very well - I do not bag clippings. Overall very pleased with the mower and the quality of the components. I hope it lasts a long time.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Milwaukie, Or
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Possible Engine Problems

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I purchased the mower on the number of positive ratings here. The mower was without issue, other than an engine knocking noise at idle. The mower cut the grass properly. I decided to take the mower to the Honda Service center. Their conclusion was that something was abnormal internal to the engine. They suggested that I return the mower to Home Depot under the 30 day return policy. I returned the mower to Home Depot and exchanged the mower with another new mower. The second mower shown the same engine knocking noise on idle, It was never used on a lawn.
This is the first time that I have heard engine knocking on a Honda engine. All the other honda engines I have never shown this issue. As much as this mower costs, it should not be making these noises on idle.Have any other users noted this knocking problem on idle? Is this knocking normal for this engine? I hope a Honda Rep is reading this forum and will respond.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Mulches Well
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 32 >>