728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

The Honda 21 in. GCV190 Gas Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Mower features hydrostatic cruise control that provides gradual speed adjustment to match your mowing conditions. The Blade Stop System (Roto-Stop) is a safety feature that stops the blades without stopping the engine. So you can safely step away without having to restart the motor.
Overall rating:
4.663 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(611 reviews) 611
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product551 of 586reviews
Rating Breakdown 611 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(497)
4
(70)
3
(12)
2
(16)
1
(16)
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product551 of 586reviews
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 234 Answers
Customer reviews for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Review 81 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Connecticut
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely outstanding!

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really anguished over purchasing this mower because of the price. I bet that same state of mind attacks those people contemplating the purchase of a Rolls Royce.
Get over it, it's only money, and in the case of this fine mowing tool the cost is very reasonable.
When I do the math I assume this mower will cost me about $3 for each time I mow the lawn - not too bad of an investment....
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 82 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Waldorf, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Second Best

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I call it second best because I have the 216 commercial mower, I purchased the 217 so that I would not have to use the commercial mower so much, I made an excellent choice. It cuts just as good as the 216 and the mulch setting is nice, very. My only complaint is the durability of the wheels, I have only had it for several months and I have replaced the rear wheels already and @ $17.00 a wheel is a bit to much. HLF Services, Waldorf Md
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 83 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

Staying with what works

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My father gave me his 15 yr. old Honda mower about 8 years ago. It has been the best mower I've ever used. When the time came to replace it, there was no doubt about which brand of mower I was going to get.
This mower starts the first pull, mulches way better than the old Honda (HR-215), and has a larger bag. The hydro-static drive is the same, but it has a much higher top speed.
A couple of thing really stand out:
1. The adjustable handlebar makes this the first time I don't have to stoop (6'5") to mow. Instant relief.
2. The hydro-static drive is the best- period. You set your speed with the orange lever, but slower speeds for going around trees etc. are just a matter of letting out on the "drive clutch lever"- the part that you hold to make it go. This is not an on-off lever, but rather a variable speed control which engages smoothly. You can hold it fully depressed to go to the max speed you've selected with the speed lever, or at any point between that and 0 mph.Smooth as silk.
3. The clip director seems gimmicky, but is actually pretty useful. I usually bag, but this mower make "partial mulching" too easy. Much less grass to haul, and not enough mulch to cause thatch problems. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out on leaves this fall.
4. All of the little things that Honda does so well. The gas tank has a neck in it so that you don't overfill. It truly does start with one pull, and has an automatic choke- my wife now has no excuse to not help mow..... It's quiet.
If it lasts as long as the first one, it will be my last mower, and the price paid will be long forgotten.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 84 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Arrived in good condition, easy to assemble; one pull start!

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous Honda mower is 22 years old and still running. I gave it to my daughter and her husband and they commented that it still looks and runs like new. I chose Honda again because it is reliably easy to start and runs like a champ! I bought a new mower because my previous one was not equipped with a mulching blade. This new model gives me all of the options of bagging, partially bagging, or mulching. Also gives me more speed adjustments than my previous model. Fabulous. I also have a Honda snow blower and have had an equally positive experience. I would never consider another brand for either mowing or snow blowing. Love these Honda products.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 85 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from WESTERN SUBURB OF CHICAGO, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

HRX217HYA MOWER

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I FIRST PURCHASED AN HRR216VYA ~ $499 TO REPLACE MY 32 YEAR OLD HONDA. RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX, IT HAD A KNOCK @ IDLE. SINCE I ALSO HAD 2ND THOUGHTS ABOUT THE STEEL DECK RUSTING THROUGH, I RETURNED IT. I THEN ORDERED THE HRX217HYA ONLINE ON 10/3/14. IT WAS HARD TO SPEND AN EXTRA $200 BUT I HAVE NO REGRETS NOW.
IT ARRIVED IN 2 BUSINESS DAYS. THE BOX WAS STANDING UPRIGHT IN THE U P S TRUCK CAUSING OIL TO LEAK OUT THROUGH THE AIR FILTER. REPLACED WITH NEW AND ADDED GAS & OIL. IT STARTED ON THE 2ND PULL. IT HAD THE SAME KNOCK @ IDLE AS THE HRR216. I TOOK IT TO A LOCAL HONDA SERVICE DEPT. FOR THIER OPINION. I WAS INFORMED "THEY ALL SOUND LIKE THIS".
I HAVE USED IT 12 TIMES MOWING (BAG & MULCH) & COLLECTING LEAVES BEFORE THE SEASON CAME TO AN END. IT DID A PERFECT JOB AT EACH OF THESE TASKS, BETTER THAN ANY PREVIOUS MOWER I'VE OWNED. YOU CAN'T BEAT THE VERSAMOW SYSTEM FOR ITS SIMPLICITY.I ENCOUNTERED 2 PROBLEMS THOUGH. 1) THE GRASS BAG OPENING IS LARGER THAN A 30 GALLON YARD WASTE BAG, MAKING A SIMPLE JOB DIFFICULT. 2) A LOT OF DUST PASSED THROUGH THE GRASS BAG AND INTO MY FACE. I MAY PURCHASE THE OPTIONAL "LOW DUST GRASS BAG KIT" FROM HONDA TO PREVENT THIS.
I FOUND MOWER TO BE NO HEAVIER THAN MY 33 YEAR OLD HONDA WITH A CAST DECK, BUT IT WAS HEAVIER THAN THE HRR216 WITH A STEEL DECK.
I LIKED THE ABILITY TO STOP BLADES WITH THE MOTOR STILL RUNNING. I LOVED THE HYDROSTATIC CRUISE CONTROL. IT HAS TO BE THE MOST RELIABLE SELF PROPELLED SYSTEM AVAILABLE. I HAD NO TROUBLE WITH THE HAND CONTROLS. THE OLD HONDA HAD THE SAME SETUP.
THE AUTO. CHOKE FEATURE IS A REAL CONVENIANCE, AS IS THE 3 POSITION ADJUSTABLE HANDLE. THIS IS THE FIRST MOWER I'VE EVER USED COMFORTABLY (6'4" TALL). TWIN CUTTING BLADES DO A GREAT JOB CUTTING GRASS INTO SMALL PIECES FOR BETTER MULCH & PACKING MORE INTO GRASS BAG. I WAS SURPRISED HOW MUCH MORE THE 9" WHEELS SMOOTHED OUT MY NOT SO SMOOTH LAWN OVER THE MORE COMMON 8" WHEELS.
I USE FUEL STABILIZER MIXED INTO MY GAS CAN & EMPTY THE CARB WITH THE FUEL SHUT OFF VALVE AFTER EACH USE. I ALSO CHANGED TO A FULL SYNTHETIC OIL AFTER 5 HOURS OF USE, AS STATED IT THE OWNERS MANUAL.
ALL THINGS SAID, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS MOWER TO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO OWN THE BEST OF THE BEST.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: grass bag too big for 30 gal. paper bag, dust blows through grass bag into face
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 86 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Bedford, TX

Great Mower

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I finally decided to replace my 15-year old Honda mower, which was still running great, with this model. The cost of the top-of-the-line Honda mower really hasn't changed much in 15 years, which is great but hard to believe. I've only used this one a few times, but I can tell it's a quality Honda product and I love the variable speed hydrostatic cruise control. My old one had the blade clutch, so I had to have that feature on the new one, too. I can't imagine having to re-start it every time you walk away from it. I chose not to get the electric start, because of the need to store the mower for the winter and keep the battery charged. Overall, I'm very pleased with the mower.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 87 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This lawnmower sucks- IN A GOOD WAY!!!

PostedMay 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The HRX217HYA is a great lawnmower and does it suck! This thing is as good as my Craftsman lawn vacuum when doing some leaves. I don’t know how well it will do with acorns, but it sucks and shreds leaves finer than the lawn vac. Come fall will be the real test with 4 oak trees and all the acorns and a coating of leaves. Did I mention that it cuts grass into fine pieces, so fine that you don’t even see a trail of cuttings behind you when mulching. Granted I’m not cutting any grass that’s overgrown just the usual weekly cut. The Hydro transmission operates very smoothly. The speeds are a crawl up to a very brisk walk. Using the blade brake and drive controls are so easy. Push the yellow button on the blade bar engaging the blade, and then push the drive bar and your off cutting. It becomes second nature in a few minutes. When engaging the blade brake the engine does bogs down a bit but catches right up in a second. If you’re the bagging type it will FILL THE BAG and I mean FILL. I was cutting and not paying attention to the bag since it seems larger than my old mower. Half hour later, I was taking my time with the new toy, I go to take off the bag and it is packed to the brim. That was on the bagging setting. Since it’s a new toy I figured I’ll wash under the Nexite deck. The grime comes right off, but of course it’s new and time will tell if it continues. But since it won’t rust I’ll hose it off every time. One really nice feature is the handle has three height settings and is collapsible. This is the Cadillac of mowers. It starts on the first pull and it’s an east pull. You can move up to the HZA and that has the electric start, but I really don’t think you’ll need it. The engine is quiet compared to my old mower and it only gets a little loud when you engage the blades. I’m extremely happy with the new purchase.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 88 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Honda Mowing Wonder

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I should have bought this machine years ago.
I have been using a commercial grade Toro mower to cut my 10,000' of grass. I always mulch to cut down on time and to provide natural fertilizing. I would try to let the grass dry for a few days before cutting to reduce clumping. I would also tilt the mower backward to avoid stalling and then make a second pass normally to fully mulch the clippings. Needless to say after one cutting the bottom of the mower would have grass clumped to the underside requiring a thorough de-grassing.
Today the Honda arrived.
Due to the delivery time the grass had grown to about 8-10". The Honda cut right thru with no stalling(the 190 cc's definitely delivers the needed oomph). I set the mower to its highest height. There was a little bit of clumping left over but a second pass made those disappear. The underside of the mower has no clumps sticking--amazing.
My technique was to do the first pass at 1/3 speed(for the thick and tall sections) and then if needed the second pass at full speed. Next time the grass will not be jungle height so I imagine 3/4 speed will do fine. I also attached the bag thinking I would have to bag the tall areas but I did not even use the bag--amazing.
I like the fact you can start the engine without depressing any handles. The speed can be controlled by the speed level so again no need to release the clutch lever when executing a turn around.
All in all a Mercedes mower. It is light and maneuverable. Way lighter than the Honda mower I tried years ago and returned due to its excessive weight.
You get what you pay for and in this case more so.
Hope this helps make up your mind.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 89 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

17 year old Honda mower

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased my one and only Honda Harmony 215 self-propelled lawn mower in 1995. Since then this mower has mowed at least an acre of grass once a week every season since 1995. I have replaced the blades countless times, the rear wheels twice and the engine oil once a season. That’s it…….. This mower has never been in the shop for any reason in 17 years. The mower has started on the first or second pull every single time. I credit the gas shut off valve with this. I always turned the fuel off and allowed the mower to run out of gas before storing. Without question the best mower I have every owned! I wish I had a dollar for every hour this mower has run in the Texas heat and dust. I am sad to report that last week while mowing the back yard of our new residence I found an old railroad spike our Lab dug up and the mower sent the spike through the deck of the mower. I guess it’s time to replace the old girl with a NEW Honda HRX. The only mower I will every buy.. Thanks Honda and Home Depot!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 90 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Chicago IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

used to be a Honda Fan

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Carb jets kept on getting clogged, so they told me. They blamed it on bad gas, Had tried 3 different gas stations and filtered the gas as it came out of the gas can. After the 3rd time Home Depot (to their credit) gave me my money back. I paid a lot for a Honda expecting it to last 15 years. I think those days are over.
Pros: Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 91 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The mower has met my expectations and has been easy to learn how to use.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased because I was looking for a mower that could both mulch and bag. Need bagging feature for fall due to the amount of oak leaves that do not break down easily. Can mow the leaves up without needing to rack the lawn first which has made the job easier. The mower also does a excellent job of mulching grass clipping so the lawn looks clean after cutting. The rear discharge of the mulch can make mowing a bit dusty after a dry spell which may be bothersome to the operator.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 92 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Mobile, AL

Excellent Mower

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My previous mower was a 17 year-old Snapper. It was a joy, but finally gave up. RIP old friend...
I have to admit, considering something other than a Snapper created a large amount of anxiety for me, however, my wife persuaded me to expand my horizons; good call!
The Honda mower came out of the box easily. The handlebars flip/lock into place with little effort. The mower-deck height adjustment took all of about 30 seconds, although you'll probably have to play with that to get it to your liking. I checked the blade, added oil, installed the bag, opened the fuel cutoff valve, and fired her up! A very successful beginning.
After 17 years using the same mower, I anticipated that the controls would be awkward for a while, but after five minutes of use, it felt like I'd been using it all summer.
The engine starts easily and runs smoothly; has a nice note to it.
I didn't really think it was much of a big deal, but I do like that the engine continues to run when you let go of the controls, only stopping the blade. It reduces the time it takes to empty the bag. Also, I thought it was just marketing, but the clippings are actually smaller on this mower than the previous Snapper, and it does take longer to fill it up the bag; nice.
I'll finish this review, hopefully, 17 years from now.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 93 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mulching

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
So far, the mower is running great and working great (only used 3 times so far). Love the cruise control and mulching. But, for the money, there is room for improvement. Lets face it, this is a very expensive mower. It should have 1 touch height adjustment. Also, I'm the kind of guy who likes to keep my stuff clean. So after every mow, I wash it. When it is tilted up on either side (not tilted over), you get gas run out. Again, for a mower of this caliber, gas should not run out, if its tilted 50-60 degrees (when I hose out underneath it).
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well
Cons: price, leaks gas, independant wheel height adjustment
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 94 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower

so glad

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am SO glad I didn't let the handful of negative reviews I have read persuade me to buy a different lawn mower. I make a good living but it was not easy for me to spend $750 on a lawn mower so I was really looking at all of the options and all of the reviews I could find.
Here's the thing... if you want to mindlessly walk behind your mower and let it do most of the work while you daydream or listen to your ipod, then this mower will work for you but there are cheaper alternatives. If you want a mower that gives you the power to mow as fast or slow or carefully as you want and you have a moderate amount of coordination and upper body strength, then this mower might be for you.
Some people complained about the weight. It is heavy but the speed control and clutch will allow you to make the mower do most of the heavy lifting.
Some people complain about bounce. If you have the throttle cranked up and you engage the clutch before you are ready to keep up, the front will come off the ground. You have to remember to throttle down if you are working in tight spaces or just starting off and then throttle up when you are on those long passes... this thing will move quickly.
Some people complain about fuel consumption. After you start the lawn mower, there is no need to leave the choke wide open. Set the choke at a moderate level and save yourself some gas and some unnecessary noise.
If you are a gadget person and you have a reasonable amount of strength and coordination, you should get this mower just for the fun factor.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 95 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

3 years and going strong

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this mower three years ago when my Husqvarna decided to start acting up. This mower couldn't be easier to start, even without the electric start. The clippings are so fine that unless the grass is obscenely high, there is little to clean up on the driveway! Adjusting the height with one lever is what I was hoping to find when I bought a new mower, but these individual are easy enough to make me forget that I wanted a single lever! Love is a strong word for a piece of machinery, but I love this mower!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Mulches Well, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 96 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well worth the money!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
=======[Backstory}==========
I looked into a few different models and red some reviews for a Husqvarna AWD model on @mazon and found that while AWD is great and a Honda engine is great - when it comes time for service or warranty there can easily be a lot of finger pointing.
When you're looking at an AWD system, you also have the add complexity of gearing concerns and many more moving parts - more complexity of course means more risk of failure. That then brings you back to rear wheel drive and a singular warranty.
I'm looking out the window at about 1/10th an acre of which about half is a moderate grade - so while you could get a cheap rider for a little more than this - it's probably junk and can't handle any real type of hill.
======[This mower]=========
This thing is great, if you've only ever had cheap mowers, you may not realize what you're missing - the features on here seem so obvious once you have them, you wonder why all mowers don't. I'll go feature by feature.
1. Auto choke or something like that, starts first time every time.
2. Cruise control... you can go plenty fast or ultra slow with this, this is really good for if your grass is really high, you can slow down (so you don't stall out) and if grass is really low, you can speed through it.
3. Blade handle. Starting this up does not engage the blade, you push the button and depress the handle. This is a good concept, except occasionally engaging the blade will cause a stall out - it says to engage it fast, but it may have a sweet spot.
4. I have not yet bagged with this, but the bag/mulch ratio setting is cool.
5. MOST IMPORTANT: When you're at that bottom of the hill and you're sweating from the sun and the walking and you depress that handle with the cruise at the highest speed.... THIS THING GOES. It won't fly like a flat surface, but it literally takes no pushing at all - probably goes about 80% full speed. This isn't as relaxing as a rider (if you had one good for steep grades), but still low effort. Yeah, it's not AWD, but you don't need it. In thick grass and even wet grass, these wheels still dig in pretty good, minimal slipping - especially considering the size of the wheels (8 inches.)
6. Body - The plastic seems plenty rugged and it's nice and light weight. If you ever have to transport this you'll be happy. I have seen no flex or indication of weakness.
7. Loudness - if your wife comes outside to tell you that dinner is ready, if you release all handles (which will not turn off the engine) and lower the throttle to turtle - you can actually hear your wife. (Downside for some of you I'm sure.)
8. Height adjustment: This is done on all four wheels separately, and I don't think this was an oversight. To make a device reliable sometimes is to make it less complex. (All wheels with one lever is again more moving parts to fail) Each wheel is clearly readable with height in inches.
9. Mulching - works great, ZERO CLUMPS
10. POWER: The drivetrain is great, couldn't ask for anything more, if you have it on full speed and aren't ready is could get away from you (then stop as you'd lose hold on handle). Cutting is very effective, however I was able to stall this out using the 3" setting on about 6" of thick grass - no mower can work miracles - in fairness it still did MUCH better than I'd imagine my father-in-laws $100 Husqvarna would have done.
Overall: The quality on this is exactly what you would expect from the price. It doesn't have novelties like AWD or super-easy height adjustment, but I think this is all intentional to create a reliable and long lasting machine. The deck is polymer, again, because the Honda engine may last forever, but that's no good if your deck rusts out.
Using this mower is just a pleasure. It's more "work" than a rider, but against a sub $1,000 rider, this is clearly the better long term investment - I'm hoping this will last me 10 years.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Great Engine
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 97 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My Son has a new mower!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Had it shipped to my house with my 14 year olds name on it! Get the hint!! I love the safety feature that shuts the blade off when you walk away from the mower and leaves the motor running. It is a little tricky to get use to the speeds of the self propelled feature, but will get over fast enough. Grass cutting has never been better. I use to bag everything, now just mulch it up and gone!! No top mounted washer, so must turn on its side to wash. Motor does not bog down in high grass as long as you go slow and give it time.
A bit on the expensive side for a small self propelled mower, but I guess you get what you pay for!!
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
Cons: very fast in full self propelled position.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 98 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Ithaca, NY

Fun to use

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have only had my mower a week, but I find it fairly easy to use and it does a good job. Easy to start, but needs to run a bit before engaging blades or it stalls. I read the manual twice before starting it, and it didn't take long to get comfortable with the controls. I hold the blade-engaging handle down with my left hand, on the left side, and use my right to hold the self-propelling handle. That way, I can stop the wheels to make sharp turns without disengaging the blades. The wide wheels do flatten the grass, so I end up with a few small unmowed spots, not very noticeable. I have only been mulching, which it does very well.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 99 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Phoenix, Az.

Exactly as advertised!

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After readinig all the reviews of this mower before I made the purchase, I've got to say that all the positive remarks about the mower are correct. I don't want to just repeat all the same stuff that everyone has said previously. Instead, I'd like to comment on the few negative reviews and some other observations.
I've noticed that there have been some problems with the wheels in past reviews. The wheels on my mower look and work as they should. There is no indication of any quality problems. The next issue is that the motion controllers snag over-hanging plants or fences, etc. This is true. Last week, it happaned to me. I have some fencing to keep the dogs out of a section of privit bushes and the controllers caught the fence that was not completely vertical. Also some of the privit has grown over the fence and it caught. Bottom line is that I need to correct the fencing. The controllers do stick up more than some other mowers but every mower has some deficientcies. After using the mower for several weeks, this was the first time it caught. Perhaps if the controllers were on the right side that might correct the problem... or if I mowed in reverse.
I've noticed that the arms that the controler levers are on were much longer than my old mower. I thought that might be a problem but it actually gives more leverage in tilting up the front end of the mower. I've also noticed that the mower pushes manually much easier than my old mower. I attribute that to great bearings on the wheels.
One last thing I'll mention; I live in Phoenix, AZ. and I have Tiffgreen grass. That is a thick growing type that should be mowed with a front throw reel mower. I can cut though the grass with no problem in the mulch mode! It will slow or lug a bit so I over-lap and don't cut the full width in the thickest sections. It is far more powerful than my old 5.5 hp mower. A great improvement. It does cut beautifully.
I definately would recommend this mower to anyone. I did take some comments from my wife and family for spending so much but it was worth it.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 100 for GCV190 21 in. Variable Speed Self-Propelled Walk-Behind Gas Mower
from Western Massachusetts

Much MORE than described!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Honda needs to re-write their marketing brochure for this mower. It is simply excellent and then some. Not only does the engine run like a top but the hydrostatic transmission works flawlessly. I mow on hills and when you set the speed control for a given speed, it holds that speed on the flat and going uphill. (I could not say that of my "Personal Pace" Toro.) Speed changes are easy and are done "on the fly". But the unspoken feature I like best is the infinately variable mulch control. Simply leave the bag in place and slide the big mulch knob left or right to select any percentage from 100% bag to 100% mulch. I have mine set at about 75% mulch and it cuts my Bluegrass lawn perfectly, provides mulch, doesn't leave any clippings on the lawn and has cut my bagging disposal in half. If you have a beautfiul lawn and want the very best self propelled lawn mower money can buy... this is it.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
<< 1  ... 3 4 5 6 7  ... 31 >>