728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

This snow roof rake can help prevent structural and water damage to your home that can result from heavy snow left on your home’s roof. It's designed for strength and durability with lightweight aluminum and temperature resistant plastics. The handle enables a very long reach and it's easier and safer to use than climbing up on your roof with a snow shovel.
Overall rating:
4.259 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Review 1 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Durango, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snow rake works fine

PostedJanuary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This snow rake is very easy to put together, 3 bolts and one nut and bolt. Assembly is easy if you loosely put in all the bolts and align everything first before tightening them. Check tightness once every season before you use the rake again. This rake is light and works well when used correctly massaging snow down the roof line. The plastic head is better than metal as metal can cut into many shingles if used incorrectly. The plastic head will break through a light crust allowing you to move tough snow off of the roof.
I am happy with the performance of this product, works as advertised.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

Good design

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although the assembly directions could be much better, it's not terribly difficult to figure out.
The design of the main handle is excellent, easy to hold, control and to extend or retract.
The blade is adequate for all but the most hard packed snow. Rubber grommets are well placed to minimize the stress on the blade. A few extra parts were supplied to repair the locking mechanism should it fail. In two seasons of moderate to heavy use, there have been no problems.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

assembly difficult

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We've had a lot of snow in Maine. First time I've ever needed to clear snow from the roof. The quality of the rake seems good, the price was about average that I found shopping around. The assembly instructions are useless. There's a drawing of the rake with 6 small, numbered drawings pointing to each assembly point. I finally gave up on that and just used common sense to assemble the head. There are NO directions on how to get the handle assembled and to make the telescoping feature work. I lost the rake head on the roof twice before giving up.
Cons: assembly difficult, lousy 'instructions'
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Willowbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very satisfied with this tool

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were able to remove built-up snow from our patio roof with ease. The rake is just the right size to grab enough snow and pull it off the roof. In very little time we were able to clear the 12'X24' roof of over 18" of snow build-up. The 17' handle come in three pieces allowing as much as you need. We used 2 pieces allowing a 12' reach.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Beverly, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would not recommend this

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rake was very difficult to put together. I am a homeowner with carpentry, plumbing and electrical experience and this was difficult. The parts did not fit together properly and the instructions were not very clear. Now that I have finally gotten it together it seems like it will work. I have not had a chance to use it yet.
Pros: it will scrap snow off the roof
Cons: very difficult to assemble
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from buffalo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than climbing on roof

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
BEATS climbing on roof, does good job getting snow off. Pretty good quality.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Boston Metro West

Life-saver of a tool

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was in desperate need of a roof rake with all the recent snow in MA. In 20 years, I never needed to "roof rake" before, so I was a little worried that this rake was "too cheap". Well, there weren't any others and I was extremely lucky to time a call to the Natick store and lined up for a load coming in one evening last week. They are inexpensive, so I bought two. I figured if worse came to worse, I could use the second as parts for backup. Well, the 2nd is in its original packing because the first one has been awesome and bombproof. I hauled down literally TONS of snow and ice from some very tall rooflines I've got. Easy to assemble. Well designed to be rugged, despite "home assembly". Very simple tool that is surprisingly rugged, easy to use, easy to store...highly recommended. Don't bother with a higher-priced rake system unless you have an unusual situation.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Ann Arbor MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the bend in pole

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Overpriced as are all roof rakes. But the design on this with the bend makes it great for downward motion on the roof. Very satisfied with the performance of this rake on about 10 inches of snow on the roof today. Just start with the snow by the gutter and gradualy move further up the roof.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from New jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Snow rake

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The packaging was great but the overall product is so cheaply made. It was difficult to assemble and overall very flimsy. Don't know how it will stand up to the snow but so far not good!
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So - So !

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was nice but it would had been much better if the front rim was more thin and sharp like the front end of a shovel. I noticed it slip off the snow because the front rim was round and when I go to pull the snow down it does not grab it well - It slips right off the snow!!
Forget about it if there is some ice and or the snow hardens no traction at all.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, does not function properly, a waste of your money, only for soft snow
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Bear Creek, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Roof Rake

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have two of these....... one in Pa and one in Maine........ they get used hard..... great buy... same one for 4 years now......
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Detroit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best roof rake out there at any price.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just recently bought a True Temper roof rake and I think it is a great product. But from reading some of the other reviews, I think I might have something different. From other reviews, it sounds like the handle is assembled from 3 pieces that you put together to use it, then take apart to store. Mine has a one piece telescoping handle. It is about 6 feet long when it is retracted, but telescopes out to 16 1/2 feet. Also, the cross section of the pole is elliptical rather than round, which makes it a lot more rigid. Even when fully extended, it does not bend very much at all.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Au Gres, MI 48703, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I Never had to do this task before. We had unusual amount of snow and it needed to be done. Don't know how other rakes on the market may work, but this one was easy to assemble and use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Berlin, CT

Snow Rake

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found a snow rake at Home Depot yesterday, after much searching, and today it is snowing again in Connecticut.
I just used it and it worked great--worth every penney! If I had had it before the snow iced over the gutter, it would have been much easier and quicker.
It was a bit of work, but actually fun and I am not quite a spring chicken at 64. I do exercise daily, probably look more like Minnie Mouse than Hulk Hogan, but had little problem. Be careful if you are not in pretty good shape because you will work your heart a bit.
As for assembly--If I (who makes a mechanical klutz look like a mechanical genuis) took 7.5 minutes to put it together, you could probably do it in 4 minutes with one socket wrench and a pair of plyers.
If you should see one in the store, buy it while it is available. If you don't need one, buy it for a friend or your kid and give him a gift that will be useful and appreciated.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

Good product, easy to assemble.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lightweight rake that doesn't take a lot of muscle to handle. Blade stays in contact with the roof as you pull it but will veer towards the clear side as the load builds. The only improvement to it would be for more rigid pole sections and a 4th section so that I could reach the peak of the roof.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Newington, CT

Snow Rake

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Snow Rake is perfect for removing the 2 ft of snow I still had on my roof. There was a little ice coating had to tap the rakes corner until it broke the ice. Great Product
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Maine
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rugged

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This rake is solid and DOES remove heavy snow. I am in Maine and just raked 13 inches of heavy snow off of my four buildings. The price and quality are superb.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

Great product to remove snow

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and within a short amount of time we were able to remove most of the snow from our rooftop. Really good product for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Light weight, least expensive, and did the job it was designed for. Satisfied with its quality, design, and how it functioned.
Pros: Functionality, simple design.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

17 FT snow roof rake

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
very pleased with the snow rake I bought. Great price and very study.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>