728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

17 ft. Snow Roof Rake

This snow roof rake can help prevent structural and water damage to your home that can result from heavy snow left on your home’s roof. It's designed for strength and durability with lightweight aluminum and temperature resistant plastics. The handle enables a very long reach and it's easier and safer to use than climbing up on your roof with a snow shovel.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product20 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Review 1 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Donu
from Willowbrook, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very satisfied with this tool

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were able to remove built-up snow from our patio roof with ease. The rake is just the right size to grab enough snow and pull it off the roof. In very little time we were able to clear the 12'X24' roof of over 18" of snow build-up. The 17' handle come in three pieces allowing as much as you need. We used 2 pieces allowing a 12' reach.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
mariam
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

So - So !

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was nice but it would had been much better if the front rim was more thin and sharp like the front end of a shovel. I noticed it slip off the snow because the front rim was round and when I go to pull the snow down it does not grab it well - It slips right off the snow!!
Forget about it if there is some ice and or the snow hardens no traction at all.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, does not function properly, a waste of your money, only for soft snow
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Linda
from Bear Creek, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Roof Rake

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have two of these....... one in Pa and one in Maine........ they get used hard..... great buy... same one for 4 years now......
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
arcdude
from Detroit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best roof rake out there at any price.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just recently bought a True Temper roof rake and I think it is a great product. But from reading some of the other reviews, I think I might have something different. From other reviews, it sounds like the handle is assembled from 3 pieces that you put together to use it, then take apart to store. Mine has a one piece telescoping handle. It is about 6 feet long when it is retracted, but telescopes out to 16 1/2 feet. Also, the cross section of the pole is elliptical rather than round, which makes it a lot more rigid. Even when fully extended, it does not bend very much at all.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Robert
from Grand Rapids, Mi area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great removing the snow from my garage roof.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to put together and store. I received it before I was told it would be there. Overall great experience and I would order on line again.
Pros: Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
DNader

Good product, easy to assemble.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lightweight rake that doesn't take a lot of muscle to handle. Blade stays in contact with the roof as you pull it but will veer towards the clear side as the load builds. The only improvement to it would be for more rigid pole sections and a 4th section so that I could reach the peak of the roof.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
mikepax
from Ann Arbor MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the bend in pole

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Overpriced as are all roof rakes. But the design on this with the bend makes it great for downward motion on the roof. Very satisfied with the performance of this rake on about 10 inches of snow on the roof today. Just start with the snow by the gutter and gradualy move further up the roof.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
jimmie0601
from Au Gres, MI 48703, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job well

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I Never had to do this task before. We had unusual amount of snow and it needed to be done. Don't know how other rakes on the market may work, but this one was easy to assemble and use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Jimmy
from Longmont, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Light weight, least expensive, and did the job it was designed for. Satisfied with its quality, design, and how it functioned.
Pros: Functionality, simple design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
lsf1948
from VT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

17 FT snow roof rake

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very pleased with the snow rake I bought. Great price and very study.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Daniel
from Caledonia, MI 49316, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works good and is light enough to handle without much strain

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first used the rake when we already had 1.5'-2' of snow on the roof I was surprised how well it worked
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
NewRoofRakeExpert
from Boston Metro West

Life-saver of a tool

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was in desperate need of a roof rake with all the recent snow in MA. In 20 years, I never needed to "roof rake" before, so I was a little worried that this rake was "too cheap". Well, there weren't any others and I was extremely lucky to time a call to the Natick store and lined up for a load coming in one evening last week. They are inexpensive, so I bought two. I figured if worse came to worse, I could use the second as parts for backup. Well, the 2nd is in its original packing because the first one has been awesome and bombproof. I hauled down literally TONS of snow and ice from some very tall rooflines I've got. Easy to assemble. Well designed to be rugged, despite "home assembly". Very simple tool that is surprisingly rugged, easy to use, easy to store...highly recommended. Don't bother with a higher-priced rake system unless you have an unusual situation.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
JM1385
from Berlin, CT

Snow Rake

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found a snow rake at Home Depot yesterday, after much searching, and today it is snowing again in Connecticut.
I just used it and it worked great--worth every penney! If I had had it before the snow iced over the gutter, it would have been much easier and quicker.
It was a bit of work, but actually fun and I am not quite a spring chicken at 64. I do exercise daily, probably look more like Minnie Mouse than Hulk Hogan, but had little problem. Be careful if you are not in pretty good shape because you will work your heart a bit.
As for assembly--If I (who makes a mechanical klutz look like a mechanical genuis) took 7.5 minutes to put it together, you could probably do it in 4 minutes with one socket wrench and a pair of plyers.
If you should see one in the store, buy it while it is available. If you don't need one, buy it for a friend or your kid and give him a gift that will be useful and appreciated.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Radiancegrace
from Maine
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Rugged

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This rake is solid and DOES remove heavy snow. I am in Maine and just raked 13 inches of heavy snow off of my four buildings. The price and quality are superb.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
mike9255

Great product to remove snow

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble and within a short amount of time we were able to remove most of the snow from our rooftop. Really good product for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
ALopes
from Newington, CT

Snow Rake

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Snow Rake is perfect for removing the 2 ft of snow I still had on my roof. There was a little ice coating had to tap the rakes corner until it broke the ice. Great Product
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Rinkbuilder
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for lighter duty removal

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is very easy to assemble and light weight. It does the job well with a more powder like snow but I am skeptical how well it would work if the snow were very heavy or if it partially melted and then refroze. In this situation a heavier metal blade would probably work better. I wouldn't recommend if you live in a lake effect snow region but it's sufficient for Central Ohio snow.
Pros: easy to assemble., light weight.
Cons: may be too light weight for real heavy snow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
mmkatz
from Plainfield, IL

17 Ft Snow Remover

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is wonderful! Who would want to climb up a ladder in the dead of winter? This also prevents snow blockage which can get under your roof and seep into your walls. We actually had that happened and had to call the contractor to repair the drywall!
Winter is here--you should go to Home Depot TODAY!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
campb
from NEW YORK

ROOF RAKE

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
NOT ONLY IS IT GOOD FOR THE ROOF BUT I USED IT TO GET THE SNOW OFF MY ABOVE THE GROUND POOL COVER AND IT WAS GREAT. IT WAS SO MUCH EASIER THAN HAVING TO SHOVEL THE HEAVY SNOW OFF THE COVER SO NOT ONLY IS IT A ROOF RAKE BUT ALSO A POOL RAKE. I HAVE ALREAY RECOMMENDED THIS PRODUCT TO SEVERAL PEOPLE.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 17 ft. Snow Roof Rake
Anonymous

Useful but annoying

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The best part of this rake is that if you have a house that's taller than 17', you can buy two rakes and use the extensions to make one really long roof rake. The bad part is that a 34' roof rake is almost impossible to maneuver and your shoulders will be sore for days,
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>