728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging

8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging

COL-MET 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging keeps a clean line between grass and plant beds. The green, powder-coated steel resists frost heave and easily bends and shapes to the design you want. It comes with 4 removable stakes that hold the edging in the ground and interlock it to other pieces (sold separately).
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
Review 1 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from Athens, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

short learning curve, and worth the effort

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Use stout pliers to bend the stakes back and forth to remove. I put the edging on the ground, standing on it with one foot while grabbing the stakes with the pliers to remove. I am not an incredibly strong woman, but once I got the hang of it, removing the stakes was fairly easy. Installation went smoothly by first cleaving a small slit with an edger in our clay soil along a garden hose laid out in the pattern I wanted to edge. (I waited for the day after sufficient rainfall to soften our hard red clay). I then pushed the edging in the soil slit, tamped it level with a rubber mallet, and went section by section until completed. TIP: make sure the first piece you start with has the edge furthest from the starting point buried on the ground side. That way, your next piece will have the top edge available to easily line up with the edge further in the ground, making stake installation a snap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging

My experience with this item

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The free steaks are impossible to remove from the edging metal. I have used a hammer and a crow bar and invested almost 2 hours trying to liberate them. I should have just invested in separate steaks. Stan of San Antonio
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from Washington, DC metro area

Easy & (Kinda) Cheap

PostedApril 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is easy to install and looks great! I bought the plastic rolls last year and it was a pain to install. The plastic roll chose the installation style, not me. This stuff was really easy to bend and didn't need to have a trench dug ahead of time. The splice stakes are the best - they really pull the edging down. It was a little annoying to cut - we went with the hack saw method, which took a while to do, but the results were good. This stuff costs the same per foot as the plastic edging and was so much easier to install, and looks so much better. I highly recommend it.
+39points
40out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from Harker Heights, TX, USA

Easy to use and looks sharp!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had the black plastic edging, I have had the scalloped edged bricks and I have had the plastic edging that is made to look like brick. I say "had" because none of them held up. Here in sunny TX the heat bakes the plastic and makes it super brittle. I purchased the metal edging two years ago. It has not faded or shifted at all and looks as good as it did the day I installed it.
I am getting ready to go buy more for a new bed!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging

YouTube video for stake removal.

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Follow the attached to ease removal of built in stakes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from leoti, ks.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable, easy to use, flexible

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
There not cheap by if you have a big area to do, but they seem to be very well made and i'm happy with them. I've had some in the front yard for a few years and just bought some more for the back. I'm not very good at lawn/garden anything, but buying these helped me to look like I kind of know something.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: expensive
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from Mableton, GA

best solution for me

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After looking at all the available edging solutions, I chose this steel product. For me, it was the best overall product and very cost effective. I used approx. 128' of material to enclose the bed around my azaleas and shrubs in front of the house.
It did not require digging a trench or disturbing the beds. It was easy to bend to my liking and drive in the stakes. I have a mildly sloping yard but it did not affect the installation. It is able to handle a good deal of mulch without fear of bending or collapsing. In fact, I accidentally ran over the top of the curved section at the end of the house with the riding mower. No damage at all.
For me, being able to run the string trimmer along the edging to get a nice finished look to my lawn is very nice. It cuts down on trimming time and I am not constantly trying to rake mulch back into the bed. It is not the cheapest solution but price per foot, I feel it is a cost effective product. I will use it again in the fall to build a new, larger bed around some trees in the front lawn.
+44points
55out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. Steel Landscape Edging
from benton ar
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LANDSCAPING

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Attractive and sturdy edging that is easy to use and makes my landscaping look great.
Pros: Great Quality
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.