728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Element soaker hose is the choice of professional landscapers everywhere. Made from recycled materials and utilizing our patented water restrictor which reduces water consumption by 70%, Element Soaker Hose truly is environmentally friendly. With a smaller diameter, higher crush resistance and tensile strength make it easier to manipulate around plants and shrubs, weeping tiny drops of water where they belong: the root zone. Evaporation is the enemy when watering plants or a garden.
Overall rating:
3.275 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product41 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(10)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(21)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product41 of 66reviews
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
Review 1 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Great new product!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My local Home Depot switched this year to this rubber style soaker hose instead of the old plastic style and I bought it to install in my veggie garden because it is lead free!
I installed it this past weekend and it was very easy to bend around my tomatoes and peppers and when I connected it to the hose, it leaked very well.....evenly throughout my garden.
Looks like it will greatly reduce the water I am using on the garden because it is dripping instead of using a sprinkler! That is important as it is HOT in Texas and water is expensive!
Great addition Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Blanco, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garden soaker hose

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use these under my mulch in the flower beds for a drip irrigation purpose. They work wonderful but need to be burped when turning them on. Take end cap off and turn water on to release all the air. Turn water off replace cap and then turn back on.
Pros: Easy to Install
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Griffin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor performer

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waters fine about 15 feet from the faucet. However, no water flow past that point. Removed the end cap and turned the water on full force--no water. The before mentioned problems were encountered with the 50 foot version.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Los Angeles County, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD HOSE WITH BAD COUPLING

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The water restrictor disk does not come with a washer in the coupling (which attaches to the garden hose) and leaked badly even under low water pressure. We took an old water nozzle washer and put it over the restrictor disk and reattached the garden hose to it and it miraculously stopped leaking. Don't know why the manufacturer doesn't include an optional washer but it really needs it. After fixing the leak and after getting the water primed through the hose it works fine above ground in our raised vegetable bed. I recommend this hose after fixing the bad coupling because the water restrictor disk seems to do a good job of feeding a steady drip system in a very durable length of hose.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Bought 4, only 1 worked

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three of the hoses would not pass water the entire length. I'm going elsewhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Nashville, Tennessee

Worthless, Waste of Money

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with a few other reviewers that this soaker hose is not worth the money by any stretch of the imagination. In response to a manufacturer's response to one of the reviews about the need to remove a blue washer when connecting multiple soakers, this doesn't seem to help with the problem, and no where is this mentioned in the advertising, labeling, or instructions for the product. I bought five of these when moving into a new house less than a year ago, and all of them have self-destructed by now. Fall apart with even careful use. Within a few weeks you get holes all over them which make them totally useless, especially if connecting multiple together.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from North Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garden Soaker hose

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Soaker hose works great in our garden. We put them under the garden mulch to give them protection from the sun so they will not disintegrate over the hot summer months.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Waste of money if using more than 1

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While these hoses are great as a standalone 50ft hose, hooking up more than one together is totally useless. The end fittings leak insane amounts of water and defeat the purpose of the hose. All pressure built up in the hose is lost the the connection rendering the first 50 feet great and the next 50ft terrible. Good hose but bad fittings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/2 " soaker hose

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Water did not soak from the hose evenly throughout the entire length of the hose. Soaking water amount was most liberal closer to the hose attachment.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't match performance of previous 3/4" model
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Placerville, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Already returned one hose

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I purchased this hose and loved it! It was the best hose I ever used. It was easy to use and did not kink. It was also very lightweight. BUT, it sprung a leak within 2 weeks of purchase. So I returned the faulty hose, and received a replacement of the same kind of hose. Hopefully this one will last more than 2 weeks!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Irving, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

diameter isn't large enough in that if you connect 2 of these hoses together, there isn't enough pressure left at the end

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
diameter of three eights inch wasn't large enough.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Burst during first use

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three. The first two I layed out burst on the first use. The third one is going back. About three inches in from the connector, the rubber simply gave out and a 1inch gash blew all the water out. I assume there must have been some clogs in the hose itself ---though they functioned for about half an hour before the hose failed. Complete junk, waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Works as advertised...time will tell.

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Just bought 2 of these, one each for different beds. No problems so far. If you read the directions, two VERY IMPORTANT pieces of information can be gleaned: 1) if you're combining two hoses, you have to remove the blue pressure regulator from the second hose, otherwise almost no water will get past the first 50 feet. 2) even though there is a water pressure regulator installed, folks with high water pressure probably shouldn't turn their faucet on full blast. This may cause the hose to split. Every neighborhood has different pressure.
I'm hoping to get a few Minnesota years out of these hoses, and bring them inside for the winter. I intend to hold the manufacturer to their 7 year warranty (read the instructions on what you need to keep in order to claim).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

works like it should

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The hose works like it should. It's a little stiff making it hard to keep it right up next to The foundation. But you could easily stake it down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

soaker

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works good for watering long narrow rows of plants
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: puts out more water at beginning of hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Soaks the front of the hose way better than the middle or end of it.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Soaks the front of the hose way better than the middle or end of it. Maybe I need to poke some holes in it where I need more water..would just rather return it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Riverside, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm TOTALLY happy with this hose!

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to counter some of the very negative reviews about this specialty hose. I'm enjoying the gentle watering this hose provides and haven't had any issues.
I agree with the review that it does need a washer in the coupling.
My water source is at the top corner of the front yard, so I position the soaker hose (on alternate watering times) to water the landscaping border along one the side of the yard, and later, it waters the beds that are across the front of the house. The hose is extremely light, long enough to reach the full length of the border beds and really does a good job of gentle watering.
The "gentle watering" I'm talking about requires that you turn on the water source, wait until the hose fills up from the bottom end, and when you see beads of water coming out at the top of the hose (at the spigot/source), you gently turn it back some more. You can see the water bead action as you change the force of the water. It's designed to only water one gallon per HOUR, at the base of your bushes/plants, so watering in this fashion is going to take time. If you adjust the water to a gentle pressure, you'll reduce bursting, if not eliminate it altogether.
I've had mine for three months now and use it at least 3X a week, with absolutely no issues. In my opinion, it has definitely been a problem solver for me for watering the borders of my lawn.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a soaker hose

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a soaker hose. It is a hose with holes punched in at widely-spaced intervals. It does not distribute water; rather, it sends it out in jets that land 6 feet away from the hose line. These jets punch through 3 inches of mulch. You cannot keep it with the jets pointing downwards (as recommended for "soaking", although this almost certainly wouldn't work), as it's so stiff that it is hard to get it to stay flat, even with a lot of staples (and even rocks). I've used lots of soakers over the years; this is far and away the worst. Pure junk. If what you really want is distributed point sources, get a drip system.
Cons: totally useless
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Soaker Hose

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Product works very well. Here is another problem. You asked what I thought of the product. I wrote that. Then got informed that I did not review enough. "Your review text is too short". I said that it works. This is one reason I don't like to take these survey's. If I did not take the time to answer your questions, then that would be even shorter.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Cons: works well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Soaken the Planters

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The soaker hose works. It's perfect for the project we used it on. Actually we used the hose on 4 of these rolling planters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>