728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Element soaker hose is the choice of professional landscapers everywhere. Made from recycled materials and utilizing our patented water restrictor which reduces water consumption by 70%, Element Soaker Hose truly is environmentally friendly. With a smaller diameter, higher crush resistance and tensile strength make it easier to manipulate around plants and shrubs, weeping tiny drops of water where they belong: the root zone. Evaporation is the enemy when watering plants or a garden.
Overall rating:
3.362 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
66%of customersrecommend this product37 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(8)
3
(6)
2
(1)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
66%of customersrecommend this product37 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
Review 1 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Blanco, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garden soaker hose

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use these under my mulch in the flower beds for a drip irrigation purpose. They work wonderful but need to be burped when turning them on. Take end cap off and turn water on to release all the air. Turn water off replace cap and then turn back on.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Burst during first use

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three. The first two I layed out burst on the first use. The third one is going back. About three inches in from the connector, the rubber simply gave out and a 1inch gash blew all the water out. I assume there must have been some clogs in the hose itself ---though they functioned for about half an hour before the hose failed. Complete junk, waste of time and money.
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Great new product!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My local Home Depot switched this year to this rubber style soaker hose instead of the old plastic style and I bought it to install in my veggie garden because it is lead free!
I installed it this past weekend and it was very easy to bend around my tomatoes and peppers and when I connected it to the hose, it leaked very well.....evenly throughout my garden.
Looks like it will greatly reduce the water I am using on the garden because it is dripping instead of using a sprinkler! That is important as it is HOT in Texas and water is expensive!
Great addition Home Depot!
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Soaker Hose

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product works very well. Here is another problem. You asked what I thought of the product. I wrote that. Then got informed that I did not review enough. "Your review text is too short". I said that it works. This is one reason I don't like to take these survey's. If I did not take the time to answer your questions, then that would be even shorter.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong
Cons: works well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Farmingdale, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The better soaker hose

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I used the flat type soaker hose which was fine for trying to water long strips of grass or shrubbery but frankly, it was very inefficient. The flat hose with little holes did not water evenly and sometimes would develop a large hole which would defeat its purpose and it would have to be discarded. I bought one of this round type hoses which are kind of a like a sponge; water comes out in droplets and evenly throughout the hose. I have used it very effectively on rows of evergreen shrubs-so effective in my mind that I bought 2 more. I left it on the ground, covered with mulch-I've used it for months with no problem. It's a good buy and I plan to buy more in the spring when I plant additional shrubs.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from houston
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
its a very good product , I have use similar for the last two years and it work grate , less headache with sprinkled the flowers ,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from arlington, texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

SO GOOD I'M GETTING ANOTHER

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'M GETTING ANOTHER ONE> SO STRONG IT WILL LAST FOREVER.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose

Too narrow

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This soaker hose is way too narrow to work as expected. In my experience, it works only up to about half of its length, with the last half being nearly dry. I tried to increase water flow but it still did not work, i.e., the water did not reach the end of the hose, only about the first half of the length. I would recommend either getting a shorter or a wider soaker hose.
Pros: Easy to Install, good price
Cons: too narrow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Nashville, Tennessee

Worthless, Waste of Money

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I agree with a few other reviewers that this soaker hose is not worth the money by any stretch of the imagination. In response to a manufacturer's response to one of the reviews about the need to remove a blue washer when connecting multiple soakers, this doesn't seem to help with the problem, and no where is this mentioned in the advertising, labeling, or instructions for the product. I bought five of these when moving into a new house less than a year ago, and all of them have self-destructed by now. Fall apart with even careful use. Within a few weeks you get holes all over them which make them totally useless, especially if connecting multiple together.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Cornelius NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Soaker Hose

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've purchased other soaker hoses in the past few years that didn't last.... love this one that I purchased at HD.... makes my watering a lot easier and my plants are looking great
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Middleton, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Green House item

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this to use in my greenhouse. I needed a hose that would not send water everywhere and water just what i set it to. This hose fits that need. It sends water about a foot on each side of the hose, which is the area I needed watered. I use it with a auto timer and words fine.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Newbury Park, Thousand Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as expected

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It works as expected to water the roots of fruit trees. Very pleased with it, but it's pretty basic.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Los Angeles County, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GOOD HOSE WITH BAD COUPLING

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The water restrictor disk does not come with a washer in the coupling (which attaches to the garden hose) and leaked badly even under low water pressure. We took an old water nozzle washer and put it over the restrictor disk and reattached the garden hose to it and it miraculously stopped leaking. Don't know why the manufacturer doesn't include an optional washer but it really needs it. After fixing the leak and after getting the water primed through the hose it works fine above ground in our raised vegetable bed. I recommend this hose after fixing the bad coupling because the water restrictor disk seems to do a good job of feeding a steady drip system in a very durable length of hose.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Naperville il
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

.????????????

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't provide a uniform flow
Watering very spotty
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Salt Lake City, UT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a soaker hose

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a soaker hose. It is a hose with holes punched in at widely-spaced intervals. It does not distribute water; rather, it sends it out in jets that land 6 feet away from the hose line. These jets punch through 3 inches of mulch. You cannot keep it with the jets pointing downwards (as recommended for "soaking", although this almost certainly wouldn't work), as it's so stiff that it is hard to get it to stay flat, even with a lot of staples (and even rocks). I've used lots of soakers over the years; this is far and away the worst. Pure junk. If what you really want is distributed point sources, get a drip system.
Cons: totally useless
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Plano, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

should have held out for the larger diameter soaker

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been using soaker hoses for years purchased from HD. This is the second soaker hose I have purchased this year. I returned the first one already, hoping that there was something wrong with that particular hose. These are smaller in diameter than those I have had in the past. The amount of water released from these hoses is way less than the larger diameter hoses and barely reaches the end of the hose even when only two are attached together which has previously worked fine. I am returning this one also. It does not appear that HD is carrying the larger diameter soaker hoses this year.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: does not deliver enough water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Peabody, MA

Water hose

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a good hose if you need to wash a car or hose down the yard. If you want to water the grass you could leave the hose in the grass because it leaks a lot. Do not recommend this product.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By ElementHosesAugust 28, 2014By ElementHosesAugust 28, 2014
We apologize for your bad experience. Unfortunately soaker hoses are not intended to be used to wash cars or hose down the yard like standard garden hoses. They are meant to leak water and be used to water plants or lawns.Element
Review 18 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Moore, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of trash

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Out in the sun, product last about 2 weeks, then large holes start or hose blows apart.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Dunwoody, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It soaks

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hooked it up, turned the water on, and it started soaking. Had two chained together, they are pretty sturday.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3/8 in. dia. x 50 ft. Soaker Water Hose
from Chicago, IL, USA

soaker hose

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the best way to water your garden. The water soaks into the soil rather than spraying the leaves and blooms. Ecologically the wisest choice in watering.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>