728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Easy Gardener Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack) are designed to keep landscape fabrics in place to help protect your garden. These reusable U-shaped staples are made from 11-gauge steel wire for durability.
Overall rating:
4.085 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(176 reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product149 of 169reviews
Rating Breakdown 176 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(87)
4
(46)
3
(25)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product149 of 169reviews
Customer reviews for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
Review 1 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Pretty sturdy!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I just recently re-did an area outside my house that was a mess! My plan was to kill the weeds, lay down the fabric using these staples, and cover with a thick layer of mulch. For the most part, I was able to use the staples with no problem, gently tapping them down into the ground using a hammer. There were some tricky spots where I ran into gravel or rocks under the ground (did I mention that I live in Stone County?) and the staples would buckle & twist. So, if you're using this to secure fabric that's going to be on top of gravel or rocks...you'll need a tougher way to secure the fabric. But if the staple will be driven into soil or soft ground--then it's smooth sailing for you! Make sure to wear gloves, and use a mallet or hammer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Eagan, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid performer

PostedAugust 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The staples flow through the landscape fabric and into the ground almost effortlessly, but they hold like a rock. This product performs like you would want all products to perform. Didn't even need to read the instructions.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Buffalo, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flimsy

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these because they were labeled commercial grade. The entire box was cardboard, so I could not see the product. When I opened them, they were definitely not as heavy as commercial grade staples I have purchased in the past. I returned them, as they bent when I tried to pound them into my heavy, somewhat gravelly soil. I would not recommend them unless used in soft, fine grained soil.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A fine product

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These staples work fine for what I needed them for (holding down a stiff soaker hose), but it would have been easier if they were longer, particularly in areas where the dirt was soft they didn't want to hold so well. The package says they're reusable, and I don't doubt that they are, but given their exposure to water they were all covered in rust within days. I'll see if they're really reusable once I pull them up for the winter (I live in Wisconsin.) I like that there were 75 in the box. I wasn't sure if I'd use that many, but I was glad to have them because some areas of my soaker hose took 4-5 of these to keep it in place.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
Cons: rust easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty good

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They're cheap but you get a lot of them. I'm sure they are great for fabric but I'm also using them to hold down 1/2" drip lines. Hopefully they'll last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Steel Fabric Pins

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Does a good job of securing rubber edging to ground. Must use a good mallet to secure pins in the ground.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Sod staples

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The staples were sturdy but not very long. I would have liked them better if they would have been just a little longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Sandy, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work fine

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Staples work fine, they just seem a little expensive for how few you get in a box.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from White Lake, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolute garbage!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought these today at my local store. These things are a joke. The ends are crushed and bent and not even sharp at all. You have to slam them into the fabric to get them to go in. I ran out of the ones I ordered online and these cost twice as much for 1/10th the quality.
Pros: none
Cons: bent and not sharp at all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Not sturdy enough

PostedAugust 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These bend under stress from hard ground. only will work in loose top soil.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Newcastle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor quality

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used (attempted) these to hold down some weed guard in what I would call average dirt and well over half of them bent in the first inch. I am going to take back because they are bad. To bad it was the only option they had in stock.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Cass Lake, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
easy to use. This was the fourth time I had purchased this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Lake Orion, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

They do the job

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
These staples do what they are designed to do -- hold fabric in place. I am using them in my garden to hold down weed block fabric. I pulled one up the other day to put down another row of fabric, and after just a few weeks in the ground it was rusted pretty heavily. This observation is provided just as a note about their potential durability, but for now they are working just fine.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Work well

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used these for several years to hold down landscape fabric for the first couple of years in new flower and vegetable beds When I remove them as the landscape fabric deteriorates, these staples are still in good enough shape to reuse them in new beds. Worth the money IMO.
Pros: Easy to Install, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Lousy steel

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Every 4th pin fails when pounded into ground. Weak steel. The boxes of pins are not cheap. And my project needed 10 boxes. Threw away the collapsed pins- not going to buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Baltimore, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what it says it is.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great for holding down landscape fabric prior to adding mulch. The staples have a little difficulty if they hit pebbles or compact soil, but using a hammer to tap them down helps.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Lindon, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Do the Job...for a long time !!

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is far superior to cheap imitations that rust away, and become brittle.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)

Very nice

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This item was very convenient when installing mesh in my garden
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from salem,ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good heavy duty staples, heavy landscape fabric stays put

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
heavy landscape fabric stays put. Used mallet to pound down rather than push into ground.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Steel Fabric and Sod Staples (75-Pack)
from Albuquerque
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inferior quality / Overpriced

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst product I have ever been in a position to use. Poor planning on my part put me in a position to have to use them when i ran out of the far superior spikes i got from the internet. Not only are these substandard in quality the exorbitant price charged left me feeling fiscally abused. 75 pins for 13.00 when i got 1000 for 60.00 off the internet; which were far superior. Due yourself a favor..plan accordingly and avoid this awful product!!!
Cons: Not Durable, overpriced
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>