728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

This LESCO fertilizer weed control product controls over 100 broadleaf weeds including dandelions, buckthorn and more. It has an environmentally friendly analysis. Since it contains zero phosphorous.
Overall rating:
3.333 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
65%of customersrecommend this product13 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.3 out of 5
5
(10)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
65%of customersrecommend this product13 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
Review 1 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Practically error free

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A neighbor 10 years ago was a salesman for Lesco and used to give me free product. He explained the difference with Lesco and other brands. This is the same exact product professionals use, including golf courses. I have since moved and lost my free supply. I tried cheaper brands, never got the same results. The cheaper brands are more likely to burn and do not have the time release benefits of Lesco. I've never burned my lawn with Lesco and the time release formula keeps the lawn green for 2-3 months easily. I have two acres and while my neighbors pay almost $200 a month to get their lawn treated, I ferilize three times a year myself and save probably close to $600 and my lawn actually looks better. Its a great product.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

Simply the BEST

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this product for over 15 years. My neighbor had a lawn service guy give him a quote for his lawn. My neighbor asked the lawn service guy what he thought of my lawn and pointed to my property. The lawn service guy said " We would use that lawn in our brochure!"
Lesco is the best. I use all their products.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Maumelle, Arkansas

Awesome!

PostedJune 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the BEST weed and feed product I have ever used. We had LOTS of weeds in our bermuda grass due to neighbor's weed infested yards and the March winds blowing the seeds into our yard.
I put this on after a rain (grass was wet) so the granules could stick to the weeds. I waited almost a week to mow. It rained a couple of days after I applied the product and the grass got a good drenching.
This was about 3 weeks ago, I've mowed 3 times since application. My lawn is DEEP beautiful GREEN and TOTALLY WEED FREE!
I'll use this product as long as it's sold and available to me. It is INCREDIBLE!
+76points
89out of 102found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Scotts who???

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would only use Scotts products until I found that all of the pros used Lesco. I converted, and can't even tell you how happy I did. Scotts was just a rip off that charged you twice as much just because of their fancy bags. My grass has never looked better since I started using Lesco, and the slow release is much better than any of the others. I think the reason why so many on here are having trouble with this product, is that they are not applying it correctly. You have to make sure that your grass is a bit higher, and damp before you spread this. the Lesco pre emergent has to stick to the leaves of the weeds so they can take it in, if not, you midas well just throw some started fertilizer down instead. You should also do it in the morning so the grass is damp, and the sun is not to hot. If its to hot and/or dry out, you could burn the grass. Listen, Lesco is the best fertilizer on the market, so if you are having problems with dead grass, its you, not the product. The only reason I gave this a four star instead of a five is because of price. Even though it is much cheaper than Scotts, you can purchase the same stuff for much cheaper at other places.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Dover Plains, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only brand I use

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like most I used to be sucked in by the advertising, product placement and decorative bags of Scott's.
A friend who is a professional turned me onto Lesco, it is now the only brand I use for fertilizer and seed. My lawn is fantastic, zero weeds, and everyone who sees it compliments it and insists upon walking barefoot in the grass.
I will never use anything else again.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

It works

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you put too much on its gonna grow like crazy . You cannot put this product down with rain the next day you have to wait until it's clear for 3 days minimum this does not work for all weeds ( consult a proffesional) . This product does work as long as you know how to apply it is rocket science not all spreaders us the same number or letter they are never the same that's why its not working for you . This product works .
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from SW, Atlanta, GA 30349, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent maintenance fertilizer

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After much due research on dual purpose weed and feed products, Lesco ranks high with me as a consumer product!
Spring in Georgia jumps early but can be tricky for bermuda grass so the weeds can get a head start if you're not careful. 2 weeks in, after aeration and some decent rainfall, my neighbors are admiring and wondering how I did it! Wish I have taken before/after photos.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Garbage

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Put down 150lbs of this stuff in my yard this spring about a month after putting down Lesco pre-emergent as I was trying to get away from True Green Chemlawn service due to the expense. What a mistake! A lawn that had little weed infestation is now covered in them. My neighbor went with Scott's Turf Builder with weed control and his yard looks awesome. Shoulda spent a few more bucks and went with Scott's.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bye Stickers

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is the best we have found for fighting weeds and stickers in our yard here in Central West Texas.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

Great Product!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put this down about a week ago and immediately noticed it did a number on those pesky dandelions. I'm noticing more grass and less weeds everyday. This product is recommended to anyone who cares about their lawn. After great results with other Lesco fertilizers I will not use anything else.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Westchester ny
Age Range:25 to 34

Great products -

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was turned on by a arborist to lesco products after a long usage of scotts. hands down the best i ever used in years - my dad is 68 always used scotts - I started using this on his lawn he loves it he says its too bad he could not find or eve knew about this company back then.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed as stated

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A co-worker recommended this product so I thought I would try it. I didn't see much at first, but after three weeks, my yard looks great... The first rain really set the grass to growing and its weed free. I may buy additional bags and complete the rest of my 1 acre lot.
Pros: Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Metro Detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a newly established (3 year old) lawn planted from seed (highly rated tall turf fescue with KBG) in sandy soil in SE michigan. I Had great results last year (2nd year) with a combo of Scott's and organic matter. I had neighbors comment on how full, thick, and green the lawn looked, and how they could not believe it was a seeded lawn. Over the winter I read about lesco on several of the lawn care forums online and the HD website reviews seemed to confirm peoples good results. I applied the standard lesco 24-0-11 this spring at the recommend rate noticed a nice green up followed by several weeks of extremely fast growth. I suspect this stuff is not as "slow release" as they claim. I have had similar results using cheap store brand frerts in the past. 6 weeks later I applied the weed n feed at the recommended rate (admittedly the same day it rained, which is not optimal for the weed killer). 4 weeks later I snapped the attached pictures. Needless to say, I won't be using lesco any more.
Cons: does not kill weeds, not slow release
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-15points
4out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Miami, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far is Not Working

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Home Depot Agent recommended this product to me. He said it was the most expensive, but for sure it would remove the bad grass from my lawn. Well, it is already 3 weeks after the first application and there is no progress whatsoever. I re-read the bag instructions today and it says 4.6lb/1000sqft. Well I applied twice that amount 3 weeks ago and no results. Today I reapplied the product to the same area at a rate of 5 times more than the instructions recommend. Lets see what results I see a month from now. By now I know the product does not work as advertise since my 1st application was at twice the recommended rate and after 3 weeks there are no results. If this 2nd application does not work, the half empty bag will become a return. This is a joke, like 10 years ago I used to buy these products at HD and they would work. For the last few year I have noticed that lawn products I buy at HD are a hit or miss (mostly a miss).
Cons: does not work as advertised
-33points
0out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9

Lesco's GREAT

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
HANDS DOWN -BEST IVE EVER TRIED. Great weed control.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Sheboygan,WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor results!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied this product over a week and a half ago in hopes of killing off existing weeds and preparing for fall. The existing weeds are still there and several new weeds have sprouted. It has rained a couple times, so it should have had plenty of time to take affect. Very disappointing.....worthless. I should have used Weed-b-gon....or some generic product. This is not what i expect from a professional product.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Delaware, USA

Lesco weed and feed is great

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's my first time use this. I used it on my lawn about three weeks ago and now I see a big difference. The lawn turns green and lush and most the dandelions are dead. It does works slowly as other review said but the result is good. Hope it would last longer.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from Dallas, TX

Big Waste of Money!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product due to higher than average rating. Followed direction and after 2 weeks, nothing changed. Lawn still full of broadleaf weeds and dandelions. What a complete waste of money and time.
Will go back to Spectracide ready to spray applicant. It does a decent job but 100% better compared to Lesco.
Cons: Not Durable
-26points
0out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work as advertised

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I purchased 3 bags of this product to and covered appx 38,000 sq ft of lawn. I followed the directions precisely. Two weeks after application not a single weed had died, in fact, it appears the product has only enhanced the weed growth rate. There is still no weed control after 3 weeks.
Cons: not effective
-17points
6out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 lb. Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer 18-0-9
from irving, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT effective

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 full bags, two applications, weeds are still there. actually more now then before.. plus now I have a letter from the HOA asking me to take care of the weeds. Worst weed and feed product I ever used. SAVE your money for something better!
Cons: Not Durable
-20points
0out of 20found this review helpful.
1 2 >>