728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer

Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer

This Lesco fertilizer weed control product controls over 100 broadleaf weeds including dandelions, buckthorn and more. It has an environmentally friendly analysis since it contains zero phosphorous.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product10 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
Review 1 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Metro Detroit
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a newly established (3 year old) lawn planted from seed (highly rated tall turf fescue with KBG) in sandy soil in SE michigan. I Had great results last year (2nd year) with a combo of Scott's and organic matter. I had neighbors comment on how full, thick, and green the lawn looked, and how they could not believe it was a seeded lawn. Over the winter I read about lesco on several of the lawn care forums online and the HD website reviews seemed to confirm peoples good results. I applied the standard lesco 24-0-11 this spring at the recommend rate noticed a nice green up followed by several weeks of extremely fast growth. I suspect this stuff is not as "slow release" as they claim. I have had similar results using cheap store brand frerts in the past. 6 weeks later I applied the weed n feed at the recommended rate (admittedly the same day it rained, which is not optimal for the weed killer). 4 weeks later I snapped the attached pictures. Needless to say, I won't be using lesco any more.
Cons: does not kill weeds, not slow release
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Practically error free

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A neighbor 10 years ago was a salesman for Lesco and used to give me free product. He explained the difference with Lesco and other brands. This is the same exact product professionals use, including golf courses. I have since moved and lost my free supply. I tried cheaper brands, never got the same results. The cheaper brands are more likely to burn and do not have the time release benefits of Lesco. I've never burned my lawn with Lesco and the time release formula keeps the lawn green for 2-3 months easily. I have two acres and while my neighbors pay almost $200 a month to get their lawn treated, I ferilize three times a year myself and save probably close to $600 and my lawn actually looks better. Its a great product.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Westchester ny
Age Range:25 to 34

Great products -

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was turned on by a arborist to lesco products after a long usage of scotts. hands down the best i ever used in years - my dad is 68 always used scotts - I started using this on his lawn he loves it he says its too bad he could not find or eve knew about this company back then.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer

Great Product!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put this down about a week ago and immediately noticed it did a number on those pesky dandelions. I'm noticing more grass and less weeds everyday. This product is recommended to anyone who cares about their lawn. After great results with other Lesco fertilizers I will not use anything else.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Dover Plains, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The only brand I use

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most I used to be sucked in by the advertising, product placement and decorative bags of Scott's.
A friend who is a professional turned me onto Lesco, it is now the only brand I use for fertilizer and seed. My lawn is fantastic, zero weeds, and everyone who sees it compliments it and insists upon walking barefoot in the grass.
I will never use anything else again.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Maumelle, Arkansas

Awesome!

PostedJune 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the BEST weed and feed product I have ever used. We had LOTS of weeds in our bermuda grass due to neighbor's weed infested yards and the March winds blowing the seeds into our yard.
I put this on after a rain (grass was wet) so the granules could stick to the weeds. I waited almost a week to mow. It rained a couple of days after I applied the product and the grass got a good drenching.
This was about 3 weeks ago, I've mowed 3 times since application. My lawn is DEEP beautiful GREEN and TOTALLY WEED FREE!
I'll use this product as long as it's sold and available to me. It is INCREDIBLE!
+71points
84out of 97found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bye Stickers

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is the best we have found for fighting weeds and stickers in our yard here in Central West Texas.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from SW, Atlanta, GA 30349, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent maintenance fertilizer

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After much due research on dual purpose weed and feed products, Lesco ranks high with me as a consumer product!
Spring in Georgia jumps early but can be tricky for bermuda grass so the weeds can get a head start if you're not careful. 2 weeks in, after aeration and some decent rainfall, my neighbors are admiring and wondering how I did it! Wish I have taken before/after photos.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performed as stated

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A co-worker recommended this product so I thought I would try it. I didn't see much at first, but after three weeks, my yard looks great... The first rain really set the grass to growing and its weed free. I may buy additional bags and complete the rest of my 1 acre lot.
Pros: Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Delaware, USA

Lesco weed and feed is great

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's my first time use this. I used it on my lawn about three weeks ago and now I see a big difference. The lawn turns green and lush and most the dandelions are dead. It does works slowly as other review said but the result is good. Hope it would last longer.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from Dallas, TX

Big Waste of Money!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product due to higher than average rating. Followed direction and after 2 weeks, nothing changed. Lawn still full of broadleaf weeds and dandelions. What a complete waste of money and time.
Will go back to Spectracide ready to spray applicant. It does a decent job but 100% better compared to Lesco.
Cons: Not Durable
-20points
0out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer

Lesco's GREAT

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HANDS DOWN -BEST IVE EVER TRIED. Great weed control.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from irving, tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT effective

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 2 full bags, two applications, weeds are still there. actually more now then before.. plus now I have a letter from the HOA asking me to take care of the weeds. Worst weed and feed product I ever used. SAVE your money for something better!
Cons: Not Durable
-15points
0out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work as advertised

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 bags of this product to and covered appx 38,000 sq ft of lawn. I followed the directions precisely. Two weeks after application not a single weed had died, in fact, it appears the product has only enhanced the weed growth rate. There is still no weed control after 3 weeks.
Cons: not effective
-14points
6out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Weed and Feed Professional Fertilizer
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor product

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This weed and feed did not kill the weeds on my lawn.I followed the instructions to the letter as well. I will not buy this again!
-16points
5out of 26found this review helpful.