728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox

MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox

The Step2 MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox features polyethylene plastic construction for durability and an all-in-one mailbox design to match many home exteriors. Weather- and vandal resistant, this mailbox and includes mounting hardware and house numbers for a convenient installation. This mailbox has a country-home design to help bring charm to your home. Mounts on standard 4 in. x 4 in. post (not included).
Overall rating:
4.763 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(152 reviews) 152
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product143 of 146reviews
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(125)
4
(24)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product143 of 146reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
Review 1 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Fredericksburg, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is a great value and has durable features.

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mailbox. Did not like the green roof and shutters, so I painted them along with the doors to match my house. I adore it.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Durable, Nice Design
Cons: no color options, no newspaper slot
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Dunstable, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Importnt Point

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is no cover on the back. I thought was missing a part and called. The wooden post shows on the back side. I had to order the piece at $8.65. They used to include it but now it's sold separately. I also painted the green roof (no big deal).
My old one that was wiped out by the snow plow, just went over the post (easy).
Just doesn't make sense, why they did this.
Pros: Durable, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks really great next to our driveway. Lots of complements from our neighbors. Love the feature of the back opening when I pick up the mail, no more stepping out on the road.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great and east to install. good prce good looks. neighbors love it!!!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very attractive

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice mailbox. You need a 4x4 pole to put it on. Our contractor used a piece of pressure-treated lumber and some cement. Seems very sturdy.
Pros: Sturdy, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it! Great buy for the money. Very sturdy and it looks adorable! I highly recommend this item.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it! Great buy for the money. Very sturdy and it looks adorable! I highly recommend this item.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Downers Grove, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

disappointed

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This mailbox is very attractive and was easy to install. There are two sets of instructions so don't be intimidated by the wrong set. I am extremely disappointed in the company's standards regarding the finished product. The post is exposed on the side facing "you" and takes away from the overall "good looks" of the mailbox. I contacted the company and they have NO concern for this issue. I will try to match the color and paint it, but I am disappointed!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not attractive once installed on the one side, poor company (step2) standards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from West Salem, OH 44287, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the Mailmaster Villager mailbox

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this after the one at the house we purchased leaked water on the mail. This one looks great and the way it is designed as a one piece box it should not leak like the brand it replaced. Overall really please with the construction, design and ease of use of the mail box. Would recommend this one to frends.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Strongsville, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
heavy duty, looks good, wife likes it so I got points for it --- only thing we don't like is the back cover that covers the 4" X 4" post is dark green like the roof, it should be the beige color that the base is to blend in NOT STAND OUT.
The instruction book even shows a matched color cover.
Overall pleased with quality, price and looks.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Duncan,SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Purchase

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The quality and the design of the product was excellent. Easy to install.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox

Love it!

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even painted it to match my house. Was super easy to put together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox

Great product-follow directions in box not manual

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this mailbox and it matches our house! Went in easy and came assembled. Only problem during the install was the manual and box measurements were off for the post length-use the box recommend length of 4ft not 6ft and you will be fine. Seems like it will stand the test of time well in New England, too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from NJ

Looks perfect!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted a mailbox that opened in the front and back and did not look like all the others on the street. I saw this online and ordered it since it did that without looking too cute. Easy to install once the hole was dug. A piece was missing when we opened it, so I emailed the customer service person and within 24 hours I was told they had contacted the manufacturer who was shipping the piece to us. It arrived when they said it would. So we were impressed with the Home Depot service too.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Pittsburgh, PA

Mailmaster Villager Standard Mailbox

PostedSeptember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mailbox. It's the most unique and attractive one on the street. I have had several people ask where I purchased it. Even my mailman made a comment. I must tell you that to install it was a cinch. I had a post that housed my other one and all we had to do was saw part of it off and put the new mailbox on top and bolt it - 15 minutes max. I never thought I would get excited about a mailbox, but I am.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from East Wenatchee WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cute mailbox

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The mailbox was exactly as advertised and there was no need to assemble it as it came complete.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Idaho Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fancy mailbox

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it when you don’t have to assemble. We just put the complete unit on our cemented-in treated post and screwed in 2 large bolts (best with a power driver).
The mailbox looks very nice. I didn’t know there was no back plate to cover the wood post. But now I learned --- that’s another model. And that’s fine. The mailbox is still very sturdy.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Springfield, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted easy to step up

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a replacement for the old one just like it. Since I already had the post up it was install within 5mins. I love this product I had the last one for 10 years, but a tree landed on the old one, so glad I still could get this one, expect this one to last for a very long time.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Philadelphia, PA, USA

Very satisfied!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great, easy to install mailbox. And since my house has a green shingle roof with green shutters it looks great out front! It took me a little over an hour to install, but only because I had to cut a fresh 4x4 and dig it in prior to putting in the mailbox. If you already have your 4x4 in place,this should take you no longer than 30 mins start to finish. It looks great, and the rear access door is a great convenience. Also, since the mailbox is one solid piece it feels very sturdy. There are magnets on top of each door that keep them closed. Both seem to keep the doors closed securely. Just went through an all day downpour here and everything looks great! Definitely the best mailbox on the block!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks better than the old CAN ON A STICK mailbox

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shipped on time ,had it up in 10 minutes , looks like a bird house
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MailMaster Villager Standard Mailbox
from oklahoma
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOVE IT!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pretty neat little addition to my house. I did'nt like the green so I painted it. Looks great! You would'nt think
someone could get excited about a mailbox lol. But I really
like it. Just makes things look different when your driving
up to the house. Really Really like it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: didnt like the color so i painted it no problem
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>