728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Bark Control Collar

Bark Control Collar

The PetSafe Bark Control Collar in a non-harmful, effective way to control and cease a dog's excessive barking. The collar provides a warning beep and mild correction upon first offense and then automatically increases in strength for every offense thereafter.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product13 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Bark Control Collar
Review 1 for Bark Control Collar
from Martinsville, IN

Very effective for Bark Control

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This really works to stop the barking. I really like the collar.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bark Control Collar
from Houston,Texas

Bark Control Collar

PostedOctober 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this collar. It really works. This is an excellent product. My dog was a serious barker, constantly barking all night. Now I can slept, and so can my neighbors. I Felt bad everytime she barked in the middle of the night. When I told my neighbor, I had purchased a bark control collar, He was very happy. Now everyone can sleep. I've also told my friends about this collar.
Thanks it's great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bark Control Collar
from Anderson,Sc

Great Product

PostedJanuary 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used the collar the first night and was able to sleep till the alarm went off. In two nights of use all i needed to do after that was show my dog the collar and he was quite. I have not had to use the collar in a few days. Great price and works as expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bark Control Collar
from Kentwood, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product and worth the money!!!!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are reading the reviews for this product, great! I appreciated people taking time to write them. They helped.
First let me say that our dog barked 3 times the first day. No joke! It's been a few days now and all is well.
Second, the bad review needs a disclaimer: The maltese is a long hair dog. The collar may have been too loose or the probes weren't getting through the long hair. Try clipping away some hair around the neck if you have a long hair dog.
I hope this was helpful and if you do buy this, I hope it works as well for you.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bark Control Collar
from Houghton Lake, Roscommon Township, MI, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a peep out of the dogs!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product! works well on our three dogs, the only thing it doesnt register is the whining we get sometimes. I'm very happy on the price and the quality of the product! Now I can come and go as I please from home and not worry about the dogs barking their heads off! Would highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bark Control Collar
from Loveland, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as descibed

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The collar works great. He quit barking almost completely. The only problem is when he needs to bark he won't playing with another dog,etc
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bark Control Collar
from Aurora, CO

Finally, something that works!

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We decided to get these collars for our four dogs: two Poms, and two German Short Hair Pointers. One would start barking, and then the rest would join in. It was frustrating to us, and I am sure our neighbors didn't appreciate it either. We tried the spray collar, but in the end the dogs didn't mind getting all wet. We tried the sonic sound makers, but they, too, went ignored after a while.
My husband did NOT want to get the collars because he thought that they seemed cruel, but we read up on them and research showed they were not.
We put them on our 4 dogs and all of them, after only a couple attempts at barking, decided to stop. That was all it took and I don't think any of them have EVER tried barking again if their collar is on. We read some reviews where people said that their collar made their dog bark worse, but that wasn't the case for any of our dogs.
We don't keep these on the dogs all of the time, and they definitely know they can bark when they aren't wearing them. But the second they go on, the dogs don't even try.
We were concerned that the collars would be too big for our Poms (since the weight requirement said something like 8 pounds min) and they do look a little strange on our 5 pound dogs, but it's not been a problem. If you think the voltage is too high for your little dog, I believe there are instructions on how to lessen the voltage.
Bottom line: We and our neighbors can now have a peaceful evening without the sound of 4 dogs barking!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bark Control Collar
from Redford, MI

The Dog Responded Well...

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This one relatively inexpensive no bark collar worked better than expected. After only 1 day of use the dogs barking is under control. Even with sending the dog out with out the collar there is a greatly reduced amount of barking.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bark Control Collar
from southfield mi

Highly recommended

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have 2 English Mastiffs and we moved to a new home the dogs were barking like crazy adpating to the new surroundings (wild rabbits, skunks and lots of people walking by walking there pets) every new sound they barked this device shut them up in less then 10 minutes. I know our neighbors are happy! Highy recommened. Easy to set up and install.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bark Control Collar
from St Petersburg, Florida

Best Investment ever!

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These collars were the best thing I ever did for my family of pups. Schnauzers are naturally excitable dogs, and they bark at everything - from visitors to lizards, of which we have a lot. Unfortunately, the akita caught on to their habit and it was never quiet. The FIRST night I put these on them, stone silence! I actually had to go looking for one of them because I couldn't figure out where he had gone, I was so used to him barking all the time! We had a large group of people over the first night, and someone actually said, wait, you have dogs? where are they? And they were in the room right next door! Its amazing the transformation - even walking them has become easier, and they are far better behaved. The beep that comes right before the static has been great as well, because it serves as a warning to the dog, and he stops his poor behavior immediately. Cannot say enough good things about this product!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bark Control Collar
from CA

Bark Collar is fantastic and NOT cruel!!

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well, we have 10 dogs on our land and let me tell you, when one howls or barks, they all howl and bark! After awhile, this gets annoying and frustrating to closer neighbors and our sleeping at night. So, we bought these collars for the over-barkers and in one day, they learned howling and over-barking is no fun any more :-). We truly LOVE and adore our animals and would NEVER be cruel to our babies(dogs); however, annoying animals become frustrating to their owners and then we cannot truly enjoy their wonderful personalities now can we? So, don't think these collars are cruel, I literally let it shock me and it's very uncomfortable not really painful, so to speak. We enjoy our dogs more now and can't wait to see them each day as they are what they are suppose to be "Man's Best Friend", not our worst bark and howl enemies/nightmares. Do take the collar off on occasion or when you leave for a day, just to give them that little bark freedom and then they know when that collar goes back on...it's time for peace. We do keep a couple dogs without collars, cause they are only barkers when intruders are around and that's needed. Take care and God bless. :-)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bark Control Collar
from Maine, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is much cheaper through Home Depot than the regular pet stores for the same product.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the same product at local big box pet store and paid significantly more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bark Control Collar
from Hazlet,NJ.

Bark Control Collar

PostedOctober 20, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked for me. I put the collar on and the barking stops, period. The price could not be beat either.
Thank You Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bark Control Collar

useless

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I found it not very effective for our puppy.
It was also VERY bulky so it really bothered him.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bark Control Collar
from Arizona

Bark Control Collar

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This had no effect whatsoever on my Maltese. Don't waste your money.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bark Control Collar

He Still Barked

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
my daughter's lab mixed still barked just as if the collar was not on.
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.