728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Torches & Tanks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Inferno Propane Torch Kit

The Lincoln Electric Inferno Propane Torch Kit is great for burning brush and weeds, repairing road surfaces, removing paint, melting tar and asphalt in roofing applications and removing snow and ice. Has quick shutoff valve for safety. Comes with a 10 ft. liquefied petroleum (LP) gas hose striker for up to 350 psig.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product53 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product53 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 65 Answers
Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Review 1 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Delano, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible Instructions for a beginner.

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The instructions are poor at best and finding a how to video on the company website doesn't offer one. There is no mention of function of the safety valve and its role in starting the torch. Pictures would possibly help to make it clear you have to depress the lever (the safety valve?) and then light it. The product at full open sounds like a jet engine. I don't think this is the kind of product you should have to trial and error as there is NO room for error at 500K BTU.
I am looking forward to killing weeds, but frustrated that a more comprehensive introduction to parts isn't included.
I mainly lowered the value due to the horrible lack of service provided at the Plymouth Home Depot.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use, lack of clear instruction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so hot! (pun)

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the torch and a 20lbs propane tank. Assembled easily. The sparker wouldn't work so I used a fireplace lighter which worked fine. I couldn't get the propane to light unless I had the lever held down, which resulted in a firestorm, but it burned through the propane in 15 minutes. None of the adjustments I made would keep it going otherwise. I'll try again, but not too amazed with performance.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lot of Ice

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for melting ice patches on sloping driveway. I tied my gas tank onto a hand truck. I used torch for Four hoers & only consumed !/2 tank of gas. Will be useful for other home projects.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Michigan, USA

Works well with some modifcication

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this model over other brands, because it was fifty bucks and I thought it included a "squeeze valve," a lever to control the gas flow. The lever on this one is only a deadman switch, you need to hold it down all the time, or else the torch goes out completely. I took it the lever apart to see if I could modify it with a small hole or something to create a pilot, but that looked tricky, so I just removed the lever assembly it and replaced it with a 1/4" NPT coupler. You could save yourself the work and achieve the same thing by taping the lever down.
All-in-all I'm satisfied. I've had no problems with the torch shutting itself off due to excess gas flow triggering the safety stop built into the tank connector. You shouldn't need to open the valve on the torch more than 1/4 turn.
Torch assembled in Mexico.
Pros: lower cost than weed dragon
Cons: Difficult to Use, deadman lever annoying
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Denver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Product is Fantastic!

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to remove weeds in my rock garden and it worked great. I tried boiling water, rock salt all of the other approved methods which didn't work at all. I used the inferno propane torch and two days later the weeds disolved to nothing. You can google search to watch a video on how this performs, there is zero set up, just attach to a propane tank and you are ready to go. I was thrilled with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Boise

Scorching Review

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great torch for as long as it scorched, but it takes only a few months for the valve to quit working. I bought 2 of these, the 2nd one because I needed something NOW and this is the only torch that I could find in the city.
Valve on BOTH torches have stopped opening. They open enough for a small flame, but not nearly enough to scorch weeds and seeds and kill the roots. I played with one of them for half an hour, closing tightly, opening all the way, everything I could think of until I skinned a knuckle.
Then I took the newest one back to Home Depot. It was after the 90 day limit for returns, so I'm just out $50 I guess. The only good thing I can say about that is that it would have cost me that much to buy enough weed spray to do the same job so I guess it wasn't a complete waste of money.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great device

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked surprisingly well. Don't be surprised when the paint surface burns off.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: don't be surprised the paint burns off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Try not to burn yourself

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this once and got real tired of having to use a torch lighter every few seconds to relight this thing. Took it back and bought one with a built in lighter which is WAY better than this hand-burner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Centralia, WA.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs a pilot light.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Everything works good and it did everything we wanted to do, but the drawback is the fact that it has no pilot light, so every time you let go of the trigger, to move the bottle or to go to a different location you have to relight the torch. It's not a big deal as it came with a lighter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple tool that works, with slight modification

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool really cranks out the heat. We used it to light some brush piles, in the rain, and it had them going very quickly. The down side of this tool is that it doesn't have a pilot light. If you let go of the trigger valve, the flame goes right out. I would like to see an adjustable needle valve inserted between the flow valve,and the trigger valve to bypass the trigger valve. There is a quick and dirty work around to this. I removed the trigger valve plunger, and used a very sharp chisel to drive a very small groove across the valve seat. This allows a small amount of gas to bypass the trigger valve, even when it is closed. This acts as a pilot light to keep the flame going when the trigger is released. Start with a small groove, and increase size as needed to keep the pilot light lit. The flow control valve still turns off all gas flow when needed. This modification significantly improved the usability of this tool.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: no pilot light
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gets the job done; but finicky lighting and staying lit

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The Inferno Propane Torch Kit is basically what the name says—it produces a concentrated HIGH-heat flame. When lit.
I bought the torch as I needed to do some emergency flat-roof repair using a torch-down membrane. The torch worked well when lit. It produced a continuous, controllable flame. The body of the torch is pretty solid, and the fittings (brass) will last for the life of the unit.
The downside is getting it lit. Follow the instructions carefully—there is a pressure activated shut-off valve in the hose connection to the propane tank. It was finicky getting the pressure from the tank (I had a full filled one for this job) to not kick off the hose’s internal safety valve. After a few tries, it lit.
Forget using the sparker included—grab a small propane torch to spark this up. Once running, it worked well. However, it does not have a pilot light, as some roofing torches have. So, you need to re-light it each time. Also, there are no little feet to set the torch down on a flat surface while working the roof membrane you just heated.
So it gets four stars—mainly for the finicky lighting and for not having a pilot light. If you need this for burning under-brush or continuously melting snow, it will do the job nicely. For roofing, if you are doing anything more than minor patching, get the model made for roofing.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Mesa, Arizona
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great as long as you mind the instructions.

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It looks like most of the low reviews are due to users not minding the instructions and running into issues with the flow restruction saftey valve in the connect. I have had no such issue and have successfully used this torch to incinerate a large patch of dead grass and live weeds. It does not require much fuel so only crack the propane tank valve (1/4 turn if even that much) and then adjust the flow to your desired rate via the valve on the torch handle.
The torch isn't is not very ergonomic and does get tiring to use after some time so if you have large jobs to do you may want to look to a different brand with a more comfortable handle but if you only plan on using it to kill off a few new weeds every week then it more then sufficient.
As for the function of the torch itself, it works great. You can get a low orange flame or a decently large and very hot blue jet out of it. When you have this thing turned up it is loud as well. This is not a negative for me but it definitely caught me off gaurd when I fired it up the first time.
Overall it feels like a quality piece of equipment and does not feel like it was cheaply made. I cannot speak for its de-icing properties but its burning capabilities work great and can torch even large living weeds in a few seconds. It loses a star for its ergonomic aspect and the lack of a pilot light but that is the only complaint I have.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: not comfortable/ergonomic, no pilot light
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Scary-good!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to review this because I read a lot of bad reviews about how poor the flame was. When I first started it, the flame was very low...almost like holding a lighter, but if you let it sit for a couple minutes to purge the air out of the hose, it blasts fire like a rocket. It works so well it was a little scary! It does this with each use, open the valve on the gas cylinder, and wait for the line to purge. I pull the trigger on the torch itself a few times until you hear the blast of propane, and not just a hiss of the gas pressure dropping. Once it goes, I burned through 200 feet a grass in 15 minutes instead of the days it would have taken with the trimmer and a rake.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: should tell about the need to purge the hose
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Fischer, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great burner

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the burner to torch weeds on our property. It works great, especially with the extra long hose. But the best thing is that we are big BBQ cookers and use it to start the fire in our big pit.
No more paper and twigs. Over all it's a great item to have around the ranch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Colonial Heights, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am happy with the purchase

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got home, open package and ready to use. The regulator on it is a flow regulator, not a pressure, so when your ready to start, squeeze trigger and hold, wait one second and then lite it. when you release the trigger, the hose fills up with tank pressure. If you lite it before waiting, you will be suprised how powerful you can get it. lol I used it for some redneck weed wacking on the street. works great for me. cant wait to try it when it snows.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Hummelstown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light it up!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was fairly simple to put together. Starting can be a little tricky, but once it gets started is very good. I used this on some weeds in an area covered by river bottom stones. After 4+ weeks the weeds have not returned. I also used it on the weeds sprouting up between the pavers in our patio and as above, they have not returned.
I'd have to say, give this tool a lot of respect. I actually saw a video onYouTube recently where someone was using it like a flame thrower to melt snow. The instructions say you can use it for that purpose, but I don't believe they mean opening the valve all the way.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: tricky to start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Torch

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality. Since we use it to burn mesquite bushes off our property and constantly hold the handle to dispense the propane, we may just tape the handle down to the rod so we don't have to constantly squeeze the handle to dispense the propane. Other than that, we love this!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from hayward ca
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used it to torch the weeds around my house because I wanted to start a garden and didn't chemicals all over my yard .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Bonney Lake, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW does this thing work! Burns up all the grass in my gravel quick.

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works best when the grass and weeds are dry.
The larger green weeds take longer to burn, but the grass is gone quick!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Oakland, ME
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is really well built torch kit that may work nicely under the right conditions. It does not work very well in my environment. I bought this to melt ice where it accumulates under the eave of my garage doors. It does melt ice, but it takes forever, at least with the amount of ice build up that I have to deal with. I will try it again but the first couple of times did not solve my problem nearly as well or as quickly as my long handled ice scrapper.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>