728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Inferno Propane Torch Kit

The Lincoln Electric Inferno Propane Torch Kit is great for burning brush and weeds, repairing road surfaces, removing paint, melting tar and asphalt in roofing applications and removing snow and ice. Has quick shutoff valve for safety. Comes with a 10 ft. liquefied petroleum (LP) gas hose striker for up to 350 psig.
Overall rating:
3.829 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product28 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(7)
Ease of installation 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product28 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Review 1 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Toolguy
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lot of Ice

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for melting ice patches on sloping driveway. I tied my gas tank onto a hand truck. I used torch for Four hoers & only consumed !/2 tank of gas. Will be useful for other home projects.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Lanakila
from Holly Springs, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Flame Thrower!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this to kill weeds in our gravel driveway. I don't really want to use chemicals, so I chose this approach instead. It is perfect for my needs, but a little expensive. It's well-built, so I'm sure that the cost will be justified over the next several years.
I like that you can control the gas flow with the knob on the handle, instead of having to adjust from the knob on the tank. The hose is the perfect balance between long enough to cover some ground, but not so long that it is a trip hazard.
Don't waste your time with the flint striker. Scares the bejeezus out of me to have gas flowing and have to strike it several times! I finally just used a long lighter like you would use for candles or a grill.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: flint striker
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
GardenJohn
from Michigan, USA

Works well with some modifcication

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this model over other brands, because it was fifty bucks and I thought it included a "squeeze valve," a lever to control the gas flow. The lever on this one is only a deadman switch, you need to hold it down all the time, or else the torch goes out completely. I took it the lever apart to see if I could modify it with a small hole or something to create a pilot, but that looked tricky, so I just removed the lever assembly it and replaced it with a 1/4" NPT coupler. You could save yourself the work and achieve the same thing by taping the lever down.
All-in-all I'm satisfied. I've had no problems with the torch shutting itself off due to excess gas flow triggering the safety stop built into the tank connector. You shouldn't need to open the valve on the torch more than 1/4 turn.
Torch assembled in Mexico.
Pros: lower cost than weed dragon
Cons: Difficult to Use, deadman lever annoying
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
bigbare
from Glendale, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product, just follow the instructions VERY closely

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great, no problems so long as you do what the instructions say. So many of us guys think "I know how to use this, I don't need to read any instructions". If you just open the tank valve as you would usually do the safety valve inside the tank fitting will kick in and you will not be able to get more than a small flame, if that. Opening the tank valve very slowly will fix that problem. From there it works flawlessly. It would be nice if the lever valve had a pilot light feature but I understand why it doesn't as it is one of the safety features of this unit. Your hand does get tired holding it down however.
Pros: great product just follow the instructions.
Cons: your hand gets tired holding the lever down.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
chollis1000
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product for good price.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for light duty ice melting. Good Product for good price.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Pete
from Show Low, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Blow Torch

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. I used this blow torch for starting my burn piles, weeds in rocks around the house.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
usmcwidow

Not Great for Melting Ice

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to try & clear an outdoor drain that had become iced over. This thing really didn't work out too well for that. I ended up just lighting a duraflame log over it & letting that burn. Later, I tried to melt some snow off my back patio, but this thing couldn't even really make a dent in the 4" of snow out there. Maybe it'll work better on weeds this summer...
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow, ineffective on ice & snow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
GrassBurner
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Scary-good!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted to review this because I read a lot of bad reviews about how poor the flame was. When I first started it, the flame was very low...almost like holding a lighter, but if you let it sit for a couple minutes to purge the air out of the hose, it blasts fire like a rocket. It works so well it was a little scary! It does this with each use, open the valve on the gas cylinder, and wait for the line to purge. I pull the trigger on the torch itself a few times until you hear the blast of propane, and not just a hiss of the gas pressure dropping. Once it goes, I burned through 200 feet a grass in 15 minutes instead of the days it would have taken with the trimmer and a rake.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: should tell about the need to purge the hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Jarine2004

Hand-held jet engine

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This torch is the complete deal. At anything above minimum pressure it sounds like an F-18 in your hands. Perfect for ground brush or anything that needs to disappear. It shoots a flame about 24 inches.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
JOEV

WORKS WELL FOR THE APPLICATIONS I NEEDED IT FOR AND IT IS OF GOOD QUALITY

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE WITH ONE CAUTION: KEEP THE VALUE TURNED LOW ON THE HANDLE WHEN LIGHTING THE TORCH.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
BillsFriend09
from Bristol,NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works just great!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got this to end constant battle with ice build up in driveway.This thing works perfectly for the job and is built well out of quality thicker gage steel and a good heavy LP gas hose.Intensity is fully adjustable and if you follow the directions...it will not cut out on you as some users report.A GREAT fix for a decent price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, High Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
treeman88
from hayward ca
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it to torch the weeds around my house because I wanted to start a garden and didn't chemicals all over my yard .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
chefchristopher
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

gets the job done; but finicky lighting and staying lit

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Inferno Propane Torch Kit is basically what the name says—it produces a concentrated HIGH-heat flame. When lit.
I bought the torch as I needed to do some emergency flat-roof repair using a torch-down membrane. The torch worked well when lit. It produced a continuous, controllable flame. The body of the torch is pretty solid, and the fittings (brass) will last for the life of the unit.
The downside is getting it lit. Follow the instructions carefully—there is a pressure activated shut-off valve in the hose connection to the propane tank. It was finicky getting the pressure from the tank (I had a full filled one for this job) to not kick off the hose’s internal safety valve. After a few tries, it lit.
Forget using the sparker included—grab a small propane torch to spark this up. Once running, it worked well. However, it does not have a pilot light, as some roofing torches have. So, you need to re-light it each time. Also, there are no little feet to set the torch down on a flat surface while working the roof membrane you just heated.
So it gets four stars—mainly for the finicky lighting and for not having a pilot light. If you need this for burning under-brush or continuously melting snow, it will do the job nicely. For roofing, if you are doing anything more than minor patching, get the model made for roofing.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
bstuller
from Colonial Heights, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am happy with the purchase

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got home, open package and ready to use. The regulator on it is a flow regulator, not a pressure, so when your ready to start, squeeze trigger and hold, wait one second and then lite it. when you release the trigger, the hose fills up with tank pressure. If you lite it before waiting, you will be suprised how powerful you can get it. lol I used it for some redneck weed wacking on the street. works great for me. cant wait to try it when it snows.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
mrfreeze09
from Oklahoma
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth it.

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this weed torch to light my egg type grill. First of all, i got it home and the hose was broke off of the torch. Went back and exchanged it. Then when i got home and hooked it up, it would not put out a big enough flame to light my charcoal. I had to break down the torch to find out why there was not enough propane. After an hour of messing with the torch, I figured out that they have a regulator built into the hose. I had to go to tractor supply and buy a $25 hose to get the torch to work.
Cons: Not Durable
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Jim333
from Wolf Creek, Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

torch

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is well worth he money.
The only thing I think it needs is something to hold the trigger down, your thumb gets tired
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Dude
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all, read the instructions before you attempt to ignite the torch. All you need to do is crack open the valve on the tank which will provide ample fuel to melt or burn anything! Can be intimidating at first...
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: lever can get tired to hold after a while
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Bill

Works great!

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This torch has a tremendous amount of power and the flame is completely adjustable. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
jeffryh
from canada

lighting and connecting to the propane bottle

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The connection to the propane bottle is inside the the outer threads which on some sites appears to be a problem finding and when lighting I found that having the flame in front and then turning the gas on works best.
As far as burning weeds and grass go it will only burn them to the surface and most weeds can endure this type of fire and grow back soon after.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Frank
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Quality product

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This torch is well made with quality parts and should last a long time. No complaints.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>