728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Inferno Propane Torch Kit

The Lincoln Electric Inferno Propane Torch Kit is great for burning brush and weeds, repairing road surfaces, removing paint, melting tar and asphalt in roofing applications and removing snow and ice. Has quick shutoff valve for safety. Comes with a 10 ft. liquefied petroleum (LP) gas hose striker for up to 350 psig.
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product49 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product49 of 68reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
Review 1 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Boise

Scorching Review

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a great torch for as long as it scorched, but it takes only a few months for the valve to quit working. I bought 2 of these, the 2nd one because I needed something NOW and this is the only torch that I could find in the city.
Valve on BOTH torches have stopped opening. They open enough for a small flame, but not nearly enough to scorch weeds and seeds and kill the roots. I played with one of them for half an hour, closing tightly, opening all the way, everything I could think of until I skinned a knuckle.
Then I took the newest one back to Home Depot. It was after the 90 day limit for returns, so I'm just out $50 I guess. The only good thing I can say about that is that it would have cost me that much to buy enough weed spray to do the same job so I guess it wasn't a complete waste of money.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lot of Ice

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this for melting ice patches on sloping driveway. I tied my gas tank onto a hand truck. I used torch for Four hoers & only consumed !/2 tank of gas. Will be useful for other home projects.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Fischer, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great burner

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought the burner to torch weeds on our property. It works great, especially with the extra long hose. But the best thing is that we are big BBQ cookers and use it to start the fire in our big pit.
No more paper and twigs. Over all it's a great item to have around the ranch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Propane Torch

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent quality. Since we use it to burn mesquite bushes off our property and constantly hold the handle to dispense the propane, we may just tape the handle down to the rod so we don't have to constantly squeeze the handle to dispense the propane. Other than that, we love this!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Bonney Lake, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW does this thing work! Burns up all the grass in my gravel quick.

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works best when the grass and weeds are dry.
The larger green weeds take longer to burn, but the grass is gone quick!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Oakland, ME
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Idea

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is really well built torch kit that may work nicely under the right conditions. It does not work very well in my environment. I bought this to melt ice where it accumulates under the eave of my garage doors. It does melt ice, but it takes forever, at least with the amount of ice build up that I have to deal with. I will try it again but the first couple of times did not solve my problem nearly as well or as quickly as my long handled ice scrapper.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Mesa, Arizona
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great as long as you mind the instructions.

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It looks like most of the low reviews are due to users not minding the instructions and running into issues with the flow restruction saftey valve in the connect. I have had no such issue and have successfully used this torch to incinerate a large patch of dead grass and live weeds. It does not require much fuel so only crack the propane tank valve (1/4 turn if even that much) and then adjust the flow to your desired rate via the valve on the torch handle.
The torch isn't is not very ergonomic and does get tiring to use after some time so if you have large jobs to do you may want to look to a different brand with a more comfortable handle but if you only plan on using it to kill off a few new weeds every week then it more then sufficient.
As for the function of the torch itself, it works great. You can get a low orange flame or a decently large and very hot blue jet out of it. When you have this thing turned up it is loud as well. This is not a negative for me but it definitely caught me off gaurd when I fired it up the first time.
Overall it feels like a quality piece of equipment and does not feel like it was cheaply made. I cannot speak for its de-icing properties but its burning capabilities work great and can torch even large living weeds in a few seconds. It loses a star for its ergonomic aspect and the lack of a pilot light but that is the only complaint I have.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: not comfortable/ergonomic, no pilot light
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from NE USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inferno Propane Torch Kit

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awesome torch, Marketed by Lincoln and made by Harris, One of the best torch makers around
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Michigan, USA

Works well with some modifcication

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this model over other brands, because it was fifty bucks and I thought it included a "squeeze valve," a lever to control the gas flow. The lever on this one is only a deadman switch, you need to hold it down all the time, or else the torch goes out completely. I took it the lever apart to see if I could modify it with a small hole or something to create a pilot, but that looked tricky, so I just removed the lever assembly it and replaced it with a 1/4" NPT coupler. You could save yourself the work and achieve the same thing by taping the lever down.
All-in-all I'm satisfied. I've had no problems with the torch shutting itself off due to excess gas flow triggering the safety stop built into the tank connector. You shouldn't need to open the valve on the torch more than 1/4 turn.
Torch assembled in Mexico.
Pros: lower cost than weed dragon
Cons: Difficult to Use, deadman lever annoying
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Denver, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Crews seem to like it

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We changed out the nozzle as we do all our torch kits, but the crews like the length of the torch and it works well
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from MA

Not for Snow or Ice Melting

PostedMarch 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After a long, brutal New England winter I have 12 foot high snow banks on either side of my driveway, and my driveway and concrete stairs are covered in thick ice. I have been using salt and an ice chopper all winter and the stairs are breaking down. I can't use too much salt because I have a stream, a pond, and flower beds nearby. I bought this torch with realistic expectations. It is marketed primarily as a weed burner or roofing tool, but it says right on the package that it can be used for melting snow and ice. I figured this would be less harmful to my stairs and would help melt away the ice before I spread more salt to keep it from reforming. Nope. I stood in one spot for about 30 minutes trying to melt one tiny patch of ice on the stairs. This thing is practically useless for melting ice and snow. If you have weeds to burn, maybe it will work. If you have snow or ice to melt, don't waste your money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: doesn't work as advertised, uses a lot of propane
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

great

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good for weed burning and starting fires. Works as it should,hook to a 5 gal bottle and went to work, the bottle does get heavy after awhile.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Fire time

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very nice and easy to use. Easy hookup and portability.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from North Idaho
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THIS GOT THE JOB DONE!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installing this to the propane bottle was very simple. The hose and shaft are very durable. I have used this multiple times since I purchased it and it is held up extremely well. The only disadvantage to it is the dial needs to be set just right to ignite the torch, so you have to go by sound to know the level of propane. But anyone who has ever used one of these knows that's a minor issue.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, durable in all weater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit

Very hard to light

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beyond me why anyone likes this product. The thing shoots so much propane out it seems to blow out the spark from the flint lighter, thinking I maybe had a bad flint lighter I went to the Depot and spent $8 on a new one but that was not the problem. By the time the thing lights you are standing in a cloud of propane, which could be very dangerous. Once I did get it lit it shut off on me for no reason. When it was briefly working I could melt off a small are of ice buildup but it was not worth the trouble. Returning it today.
Cons: very very hard to light
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from lake george ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT IMPRESSED

PostedFebruary 22, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to kill weeds then this might be the thing for you, but ice and snow is a whole different matter. Was extremely disappointed with the performance. Extremely easy to operate made well good price just lousy at melting just snow not to mention ice.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: Too Slow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

simple tool that works, with slight modification

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool really cranks out the heat. We used it to light some brush piles, in the rain, and it had them going very quickly. The down side of this tool is that it doesn't have a pilot light. If you let go of the trigger valve, the flame goes right out. I would like to see an adjustable needle valve inserted between the flow valve,and the trigger valve to bypass the trigger valve. There is a quick and dirty work around to this. I removed the trigger valve plunger, and used a very sharp chisel to drive a very small groove across the valve seat. This allows a small amount of gas to bypass the trigger valve, even when it is closed. This acts as a pilot light to keep the flame going when the trigger is released. Start with a small groove, and increase size as needed to keep the pilot light lit. The flow control valve still turns off all gas flow when needed. This modification significantly improved the usability of this tool.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: no pilot light
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Hummelstown, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light it up!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was fairly simple to put together. Starting can be a little tricky, but once it gets started is very good. I used this on some weeds in an area covered by river bottom stones. After 4+ weeks the weeds have not returned. I also used it on the weeds sprouting up between the pavers in our patio and as above, they have not returned.
I'd have to say, give this tool a lot of respect. I actually saw a video onYouTube recently where someone was using it like a flame thrower to melt snow. The instructions say you can use it for that purpose, but I don't believe they mean opening the valve all the way.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: tricky to start
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from Harrisonburg, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Purchased to help dry parts of house founation wall when redoing drain and waterproofing membrane. Fairly easy to use and worked well for me. A couple of things, the torch adjusting valve is more sensitive than I would prefer, I barely cracked the valve for a good flame. Also, mine was assembled with the safety lever opposite to the tourch adjusting valve thus my wrist/arm had a tendency to bump the valve, noticably reducing or sometimes increasing flame output. I will try to reassemble the safety so that it is approximately 90 degrees to the left of the control valve.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inferno Propane Torch Kit
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Scary-good!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted to review this because I read a lot of bad reviews about how poor the flame was. When I first started it, the flame was very low...almost like holding a lighter, but if you let it sit for a couple minutes to purge the air out of the hose, it blasts fire like a rocket. It works so well it was a little scary! It does this with each use, open the valve on the gas cylinder, and wait for the line to purge. I pull the trigger on the torch itself a few times until you hear the blast of propane, and not just a hiss of the gas pressure dropping. Once it goes, I burned through 200 feet a grass in 15 minutes instead of the days it would have taken with the trimmer and a rake.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: should tell about the need to purge the hose
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>