728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak

42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak

The Chimney Free 20 in. Electric Fireplace is constructed from solid wood and real wood veneers for durability and heats rooms up to 400 sq. ft. to offer soothing warmth. This convenient electric fireplace features an adjustable thermostat for convenience and includes a remote control to control the fireplace from the comfort of your couch.
Overall rating:
4.723 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(94 reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product87 of 94reviews
Rating Breakdown 94 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(82)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(2)
93%of customersrecommend this product87 of 94reviews
Customer reviews for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
Review 1 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Cortland, NY

Relaxing Fireplace Just Waiting for Santa....

PostedSeptember 25, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The fireplace has a very realistic "flame" and an artistic mantel that will fit with any decor. The sculpting is a nice touch. The heat is instant, no waiting to warm up, and the remote comes is convenient when your warm and toasty. I have found now that autumn is upon us, that this unit takes the chill out of a cool, damp night very quickly. The size is just right for a mid-size room and can be used in a corner or flush against the wall. The only complaint, if I had to have one, is the remote does not completely "power down" the unit; you have to open the control panel to do that. Otherwise, it's a beautiful addition to my new home; I can't wait until Christmas so we can hang our stockings.
To personalize my fireplace I added a piece of stained, sculpted wood w/decals above the firebox, decorative iron would work well too! It's going to be a great accent all year round!!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Pittsfield, MA

Highly recommended

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like everything about this fireplace, its size, design, realistic fire. But I especially like that it is oak. It fits perfectly against the wall and it the perfect size for my small house's limited space. I bought it to take the chill off and to hopefully, therefore, reduce my gas heat comsumption. So far so good. It was extremely easy to assemble and all of the pieces fit exactly as they should have. The hardest part was getting it out of the box! It is exactly what I was looking for.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Bucklin, Kansas

Great and Awesome Fireplace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off, I ordered this online and received it with free shipping in a week! Superfast.
Putting it together was a cinch, I had a teenager and a child here and we put it together in no time.
What a thrill to turn it on and see the flames!!!!!!!!!!!!! They look so real.
The heat is great with ease to turn up or down.
The remote makes it so easy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We love it and would recommend it to anyone.
I thought it wouldn't be tall enough and I would have to make it higher, but it is just right for pictures and a small lamp on it.
I live in a small house and it keeps us nice and toasty and the feel of a real firplace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
*********ABSOLUTELY AWESOME**********************
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Cottonwood, AZ

Problems

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fireplace came quickly, and just in time for our cold weather here in AZ. We set it up quickly on Friday. We were not impressed with the amount of heat it produced, but it helped during our cold temps. But by Tuesday, nothing worked. Then you read the warranty, if you can call it that. I called the # and was told it was likely the circuit board and they'd make sure it went out that day. 2+ weeks later, they are on backorder and it will be shipped next week. Nice to see that they have dropped the price quite considerably except they don't have them. Don't bother looking for them in your local store, find something else. It'll be in the 70s here before it gets here. I bought this based on the reviews of others, but after I ordered it I found the other review of the person who had problems like mine. :(
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from New jersey

Charmglow Oak Electric Fireplace

PostedJanuary 26, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this product online without ever observing it in the store, upon receipt it exceeded my expectations. Very nice quality wood cabinet, realistic looking flame, and powerful heater which warms my large master bedroom w/ vaulted ceilings with no problem. Remote control also works well; overall appears to be a well manufactured item by Charmglow. Shipping time was also faster than anticipated. I would strongly recommend this fireplace to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Uxbridge, Ma

Looks and works great

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found it easy to assemble - I'm 64. Looks great in the celler den (man cave) takes the chill off during football games and poker games, and most important the wife likes it: actualy it was her idea.
Tip: The shipping carton weighs 102 lb. Open it up and inside are five easy to move cartons.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak

charmglow fireplace

PostedFebruary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a wonderful fireplace!! Very easy to assemble and beautiful to look at. I am very happy with this purchase as there were no local stores selling a reasonably priced electric fireplace. I saw this online and read the reviews and was convinced that I should purchase this and I am glad I did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from St. Louis, Mo.

Awesome

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeps our15x18 Family room warm. Easy assembly. Sturdy product, looks great, it is real wood - no particle wood.Recieved many compliments over the Christmas Holiday about it from friends and family.
GREAT PRODUCT!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Rutherfordton, North Carolina

Beautiful Fireplace

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got our fireplace two weeks ago for our bedroom. It is a good quality piece of furniture. We were more than pleased at the look of the fireplace before we even plugged it in,.
My husband put it together in twenty minutes. ( He put my daughter's together right before ours!)
He just carried it to the bedroom, put it on the chosen wall, and plugged it in, Unbelievable.
The flame is very realistic; the heat is sufficient for our 18 x 22 foot bedroom- which is on the north end of the house which makes it colder than the rest of the rooms.
The remote control is perfect; no getting out of bed to operate the fireplace.
You can adjust the flame from high to low; you can enjoy the flame without any heat, or the heater without any flame.
This has been the best purchase we have made in a while. It arrived much more quickly than quoted, and arrived in perfect shape. No missing parts, etc.
I have recommended this fireplace to family and friends. My daughter bought one and is enjoying it in her huge bedroom! It is so pretty and realistic that her two and a half year old son Tanner had a "camp-out" in his tent in front of the fire last weekend!
What else can I say! :-).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Florida

Amazing

PostedFebruary 3, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to assemble, looks like actual flames, provides the ambience to a room to make it cozy and inviting. Love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Harrisburg, PA

Happy Fireplace Owner

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this fireplace after searching and searching for the "perfect" fireplace. I originally wanted one with the media storage, but we wanted to keep it economical since it is going into a small living room that we use less frequently than our larger lower-level living room/wreck room.
Assembly was relatively easy for me to do. I used a wireless drill (Dewalt) to tighten up all screws with the drag set to about 7, since I didn't want to overtighten and strip out screws. It took me roughly 45 minutes to put together; I actually spent more time unpacking the entire thing from the multiple boxes inside the main box.
It fits pefectly in our 12.5' x 14' family room. The fire is fairly "realistic" looking, but that was the least of my concerns honestly. We just wanted something that looked nice that would give us supplemental heat rather than the baseboard heater that is under our window and cannot use due to curtains.
The oak color and grain matches our other oak tables in the room, and we are very happy with it! Controls are easy.
The only drawback is the lack of a cover plate to keep my two toddlers' fingers off of the manual controls on the unit. The remote is a nice feature as well, as we tricked our daughter into believing that it can only be operated by the remote. Our 1-year-old son on the other hand....
I definitely would recommend this to anyone. Good price and decent look = happy owners!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Augusta, GA

Electric fireplace

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this electric fireplace is really pretty, it does not put out the heat we were hoping for. I love to look at it. The cabinet is beautiful and the log and flame effect is simply gorgeous. The problem is that we have to practically sit on top of it to feel any heat. It is very well made and the remote control feature is truly handy to have. I also like the fact that it has a wide range of settings; many temperature levels and flame heights. If you are looking for a really pretty addition to your home that provides a little bit of heat, then this product is for you. If heating your space is your main goal, then this probably isn't your best choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Southern California

Beautiful Fireplace

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
APPEARANCE:
Fireplace truly looks like a fine piece of furniture - much nicer than in the photo on the Web. Also much nicer than the sample in the store. Finish is a dark, rich oak (not the light oak in the picture) with a beautiful oak grain. Looks like a high-end, quality piece.
FLAME:
The flame looks quite real; creates the ambience of a real glowing fire. The flame also has four different levels. (Not included in the product description, so it was a pleasant surpirse.) The flame level can be adjusted from either the unit itself or from the remote.
REMOTE:
Remote is small, very light-weight, and comes with a battery. Remote has 3 buttons - Power (turn unit on/off), Flame (turn flame on/off; adjust flame), and Heater (turn heater on/off).
Like most remote-operated appliiances, the unit can only be completely turned off from the unit itself. In order for the Power button to work on the remote, you first have to flip the power switch on the unit.
UNIT CONTOLS:
Easily accessed from a "hidden compartment" on the front of the heater. Four contols - Power switch (on/off), Flame (on/off, adjust flame), Heater (on/off), Temperature (knob for adjusting temp from high to low)
HEATER:
Heater works fine; heats the room as advertized. But as a couple of other reviewers have noted, the heater is also rather noisy. The heater fan has a loud whirring sound and the heating unit itself has a rather annoying hum. But living in Southern California, the heater will rarely if ever get used. Purchased it for appearance only; not for heat.
DELIVERY:
Delivery was much quicker than expected. Received the unit less than 2 weeks after ordering. Someone had to be home to accept delivery. (Weekdays only and only during the day.) No one was home when they initially tried to deliver, so they left voice mail. It just took a quick phone call to arrange an alternate delivery date later in the week.
ASSEMBLY:
Very easy to assemble. Less than an hour after the delivery truck arrived, I had it assembled and running. The directions say that some parts of the assembly process are easier with two people, but I easily assembled it myself.
Instructions were clear, and assenbly just involved screwing the various pieces together - total of 23 large screws and four smaller wood screws to help hold the firebox in place. The only tool needed was a Philips head screwdriver.
HOLIDAY NOTE:
The included directions say that Christmas stockings and other decorations should not be hung in the area of the heater/fireplace unit.
OVERALL:
Highly recommend this fireplace if you're just looking for ambience. If you will be using the heater frequently, you might want to consider the noise factor.
It is absolutely perfect for my needs, hence the 5 stars.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Etters, Pa.

Beautiful Fireplace

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked for and ordered this fireplace because the electric rate caps are coming off.I have base board heaters in the main level of my home which is very expensive to use. I have a wood burning stove in the family room in the basement but I don't always get to use it. I love the quality of the fire place it is so realistic and beautiful and heats up the room quickly! I also have a small living room so it's size is perfect. I won't know until next month how it will affect my electric bill but I do know it can't be as expensive as the base board heat. It was also very easy to put together. To end with I love it and am extremely happy with the whole experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Massachusetts

This product gives you a WARM feeling

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I checked around at several locations for a good reasonablely priced electric fireplace. I wanted to be able to heat the living room without turning on the furnace for the whole house.
This fireplace that we biught at Home Depot was a good price, assembled quickly, looks like a fine piece of furiture. The real test was to see what it would do with a room that was 12x20. The starting temp was 66 and the thermostat was turn just till it started. It ran very quitely and turned off when the room reached 67 and maintained it with power on periods of 2-3 minutes every 10 minutes or so.
It is a good looking fireplace with its flames running and I'm pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Central California

Im Surprised

PostedJanuary 5, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a little surprised at the high ratings from other users. The unit is nice looking, but doesn't put out the heat I expected from a $300+ heater. Home Depot also puts this unit on sale once a year for $199 in the stores. Anyway, mine just stopped working (electrical problem of some sort) after one week. The only reason I didn't get another one when I took it back is that I was disappointed with the heat output for the price. Just my opinion, but I would only recommend this unit for a small apartment or room. As far as looks goes, like I said it looks nice, but also looks inexpensive. Not for those who insist on quality when decorating contemporary. Hopes this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Ohio, near Cedar Point

Nice addition to Florida room

PostedNovember 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased this fireplace for our Florida room to keep it warm in the winter. We live in northern Ohio and it gets quite cold when the winter winds blow. This fireplace was very easy to assemble with only a phillips head screwdriver needed and another person to help at a few stages of construction. The hardest part of assembling the fireplace was unpacking it from the box. The day after the purchase the temperature was in the 30's and windy, and the fireplace did an excellent job of warming up the room. It is nice looking, and sturdy, and does not have the cheap look of pressed wood furniture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Tampa, FL

What a comfy, cozy atmosphere this fireplace makes

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First I would like to say that the fireplace we purchased was packaged well, easy to assemble, and was purchased at a wonderful sale price from Home Depot! It has provided hours of cozy, comfy and "warm" atmosphere in our home. It also provides excellent heat source without having to use the main central heat in our home for nights that are just a little chilly. The materials that the product is made out of appear to be very sturdy and they have a very custom look with the trim and style of the item. We are totally happy with our fireplace and would highly recommend it to other consumers!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Clinton Township, Michigan (Detroit area)

I LOVE MY OAK FIREPLACE

PostedJanuary 21, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband bought me the oak electric fireplace for Christmas 2006. I have always wanted one and it was a special treat this year receiving it and my family home from the Navy too. The fireplace was easy to assemble with clear instructions, from start to finish was under a half hour. The flames have 4 settings and I love the highest one. The heat unit has a temp. setting and with it only at medium this beautiful fireplace heats our living room extremely well. I live in Michigan where the winters are very cold and I have not had to turn up the house termastate as the fireplace does a great job. I have had many family and friends remark on the quality and beauty. I would not have any other.. GOD BLESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42 in. Electric Fireplace in Oak
from Colorado

WOW

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say? The quality of this product surpasses others like you wouldn’t believe. So easy to put together and the look is great. I purchased this for my sister and her family. They love it, I love it. I am now thinking of getting me one. So inexpensive to run and it heats the whole basement with ease. The basement is now used more than before. Everyone seems to congregate there without realizing it; the basement is now used to its full potential. You can’t complain about the cost of running it either. 7 cents an hour with heat is not bad at all. Less than a buck a day and we can reduce the thermostat to save even more without the discomfort. You won’t be disappointed if you try it. Its real wood; no particleboard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>