728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

The Ryobi Trim Router is a cordless unit that, with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base, helps you add the perfect edge for any project. 29,000 RPMs provide fast and efficient trimming. This unit's base can be positioned for right or left-handed operation. The router works with all 18-volt RYOBI ONE+ batteries and chargers (not included).
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product61 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(49)
4
(14)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product61 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Add to your collection of Ryobi cordless now

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent value and performance. The only reason I gave it four stars is because you can no longer get anywhere the secondary base attachment with handles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: no secondary base available any more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Oregon

Tzmnjr

PostedAugust 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent tool. I use it on everything I would a full size router and barely notice that it isn't full sized. It does go through batteries fairly quickly, but gives a pretty consistent power through the life of the battery until it starts to bog down. So make sure you have several lined up if you have a larger project. I will probably break down and get a full size model, but have been very happy with the "full size" power of this trim router.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Shawnee, KS

Handy tool

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my second One+ tool purchase. Bought it to rout recesses for door hinges in a doorframe that previously had sliding doors. Originally tried the project with a Dremel adapter and it was a pain, didn't work well at all, sending me back to Home Depot to get this instead, and it completed the project better and faster. Now just looking for more reasons to use it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

Nice little router

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Handy little router for small tasks. Much easier than pulling out the big one for small items. Mechanics of changing bits is a little awkward since you must remove the base to do so but it's just an annoyance and doesn't affect its performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and manage. Great for small quick jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for DIY er

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The many times I could have used a router for a simple job. Now I have one with no cords. Ryobi Rocks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Portable and Handy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great tool to have without the cord that can do many things especially cutting outlets and lights on drywall.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: straight form in body, shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

Great little trimmer/router

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
strong little trimmer for the price, worked great.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great handheld router/trimmer

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pretty happy with this one for sure. While it is supposed to have an optional base for routing, certain small diameter .25" shaft router bits will fit and work with the handheld trimmer attachment as supplied. It rounds and trims perfectly. Be sure to use a lithium battery to keep the speed up to maximum. The lithium batteries run at max right to within a few seconds as they deplete so you can tell when the battery is going to quit and stop working with it. As with any router, good sharp carbide bits work best. Very nice tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: it should come with the router housing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was very easy to learn how to use, providing great results.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never used a router before. With a little practice I was making plaques with very nice bevels for my wife's crafting. I would recommend keeping an extra battery charging. Once the battery runs down it doesn't perform as well, but for the size and battery operated it is a great craft tool.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didnt last long at all

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Burnt up after very little usage at all. But of course it was after the warranty expired. Had it for a couple of years, but I am jut a DIY'er and a tool like this seldom even gets used, maybe three or four times to cut some holes in drywall, that's it. I have had other of the Ryobi battery-powered tools burn up after light usage, and am not happy with the build quality, except the drill drivers. They have held up fine.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great tool

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent tool for a professional carpenter who doesnt feel like whipping out a 100 foot for 5 min of work. It is very sturdy and durable. Get it while you can these go fast. Ryobi is the only current manufacturer of a cordless router. I am not even a ryobi tool guy so don't think I gave this a good review because of that. This is an excellent buy.
Pros: Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from San Diego, CA

18v trim router "laminate trimmer"

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking at this and the ryobi 18v "speed saw" (rotozip equiv..), and decided on this one.. At first I was confused what they meant, by calling it a "laminate trimmer", so I over-looked it, thinking it was specifically for 1 application, but not so!
(by the way, homedepot's website calls this the trim router, but at the store, and on the packaging, they call it the laminate trimmer)
It's actually physically lighter and shorter than the speed saw, though not as narrow (barely...if you pull the base off, and free-hand with it, it's probably the same).. It also felt way more comfortable in my hand than the speed saw.
I wanted to get something for cutting drywall around window frames and electrical boxes, and I liked that this seemed a bit more useful than just the spiral saw, since it has a (easily removable) really solid base with really fast and easy height adjustment. It's like half way between a dremel and router. And really, it was waaay more comfortable in my hand than the spiral saw.
It's not really a router "replacement", as it definitely doesn't have the full power of a router, but if you take small enough increments while cutting, you can use it as such. And it's SOOOO tiny and light compared to a router. It's great! The manual does suggest you not use a cutting bit with a diameter greater than 1/4 inch, though... In hard wood, you might want to listen to it, but it was fine using a 3/8 inch straight bit, dado'ing 1/8 depth in some 2x4's.
The one "problem" I was looking at was that this trim router comes with a 1/4 inch collet, and all the rotozip bits are 1/8 or 5/32 inch.. Well, it turns out that the rotozip "replacement collet"s fit this router.. Well, there are 2 parts to the replacement kit.. The actually metal grip part (the collet?) And the wrench-down tightening part. The tightening part doesn't fit this, but that doesn't matter, because you can just use the one that the router came with. Just stick the 1/8 inch collet in there instead of the 1/4, and you are good to go! (or 5/32..) It's an exact fit!
It does *not* have an RPM adjustment, though... I'm not sure if the speed saw does, either, though.. I kind of assumed it would have one, so I didn't even think about it until I went to turn it on, and I was like "hmm.. where's the speed setting on this?" If I had known, that wouldn't have changed my decision to buy it, though! It's a great little convenient router/rotary tool!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power of a plug-in

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased one about 5 yrs. ago and still going strong. Even better now with the lithium batteries. I made all the baseboards for my home using it, and while doing so, a professional home builder watched me use it, and was amazed at how it powered through 1/2 in. yellow pine.
Easy to use and guide when using roller bearing tipped bits. Just clamp down the material to be routed, and have at it! Purchased a second unit so that if the first one dies, I'll have a back-up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: none
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

Small package with great results! The only battery operated router I could find for a small job.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive router to do a small job before investing in a regular combo fixed/plunge router. I found the Ryobi and thought I'd give it a try based on the decent reviews. The tool worked great for me to round over edges on some utility doors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to locate on/off switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hobbies that can grow

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a skeptic when it came to using batteries to power a tool that normally required high amps to get the jobs done correctly, but this tool did the trick. The battery life is a little short, so have a few batteries lined up and fully charged. Once you start building little things here and there and notice the finish and the craftsmanship that YOU did yourself the "bug" gets into you in a sense of accomplishment.
I had routed out my college onto a table, which will be my man cave beer table, we don't say coffee table. Used two different stains and sealed the table with poly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Bristol,CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Two complaints

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have previously written a favorable review of this product. Since I purchased this to use for woodworking, I was dismayed that I had to purchase the "optional woodworking router base" in order to use this tool for wood. This is not available through Home Depot, so I was not happy that I had to go "out of house" to purchase it and pay shipping and handling as well.
After I got the new base and attempted to use it, I found that the Vermont American bits I purchased with the router do not fit the router properly; collet seems too small. I have had to remove these with pliers. I have not purchased the Ryobi bits yet, so have not been able to use this tool, and feel that it was a poor investment and I should have spent my money more wisely.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, collet too tight
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Marathon, FL 33050, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellant tool very handy

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, very handy and very useful, don't know of any other brand with a cordless router, as long as you use the lithium ion battery it works like a champ, with lots of power, we have 6 of these in the shop. Thanks John
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, cordless
Cons: base could be more accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router
from Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

At last, a battery powered router.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At last, a battery powered router. My first experience with the
router was at my sons house, helping him build shelving units. We were using it to barely round the edges of cut plywood. I was so impressed, I tried to buy one when we went to the Depot to get more screws. They have to be ordered online, so I ordered one as soon as I got back to my laptop. I have other routers, but none as convenient as this to use.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

This router is easy to handle.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think it could be a little more sturdy, but it is sufficient considering the price point.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>