728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18V ONE+ Trim Router is a cordless unit that helps you add the perfect edge for any project with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base. 29,000 RPMs provide fast and efficient trimming. This unit's base can be positioned for right or left-handed operation. The router works with all RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ batteries and chargers (not included).
Overall rating:
4.569 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(72 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product65 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(50)
4
(17)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product65 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great handheld router/trimmer

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pretty happy with this one for sure. While it is supposed to have an optional base for routing, certain small diameter .25" shaft router bits will fit and work with the handheld trimmer attachment as supplied. It rounds and trims perfectly. Be sure to use a lithium battery to keep the speed up to maximum. The lithium batteries run at max right to within a few seconds as they deplete so you can tell when the battery is going to quit and stop working with it. As with any router, good sharp carbide bits work best. Very nice tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: it should come with the router housing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Composite decking trim

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great on the composite decking that used to replace the treated lumber. Put nice radius and angles on the trim decking. Strong motor and easy to adjust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Cincinnati,OH

Not Bad

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought it just for Laminate trim. Very Good. more power than i thought it would have.. Handy tool to have
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Bristow ,VA

wonder tool ( look Mom no Cords}

PostedApril 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cordless tool operates great in the field when you need it most. I have been working in construction for about 30 years and this product really works. It will save you a lot of time, you do not need to take items apart to take back to the shop to route them when the site has no power. Just pop in the battery and the job is done and you are off to the next project.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Central Minnesota

PostedApril 15, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a bit skeptical about the power of this tool due to it being cordless. Wow, what a surprise!!!!! I bought it for use in custom sign making and primarily use it as a router. Light weight is critical and this tool fills this nitch beautifully. Best choice I could have made. I freely recommend it to both peers and my customers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from San Diego, CA

18v trim router "laminate trimmer"

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking at this and the ryobi 18v "speed saw" (rotozip equiv..), and decided on this one.. At first I was confused what they meant, by calling it a "laminate trimmer", so I over-looked it, thinking it was specifically for 1 application, but not so!
(by the way, homedepot's website calls this the trim router, but at the store, and on the packaging, they call it the laminate trimmer)
It's actually physically lighter and shorter than the speed saw, though not as narrow (barely...if you pull the base off, and free-hand with it, it's probably the same).. It also felt way more comfortable in my hand than the speed saw.
I wanted to get something for cutting drywall around window frames and electrical boxes, and I liked that this seemed a bit more useful than just the spiral saw, since it has a (easily removable) really solid base with really fast and easy height adjustment. It's like half way between a dremel and router. And really, it was waaay more comfortable in my hand than the spiral saw.
It's not really a router "replacement", as it definitely doesn't have the full power of a router, but if you take small enough increments while cutting, you can use it as such. And it's SOOOO tiny and light compared to a router. It's great! The manual does suggest you not use a cutting bit with a diameter greater than 1/4 inch, though... In hard wood, you might want to listen to it, but it was fine using a 3/8 inch straight bit, dado'ing 1/8 depth in some 2x4's.
The one "problem" I was looking at was that this trim router comes with a 1/4 inch collet, and all the rotozip bits are 1/8 or 5/32 inch.. Well, it turns out that the rotozip "replacement collet"s fit this router.. Well, there are 2 parts to the replacement kit.. The actually metal grip part (the collet?) And the wrench-down tightening part. The tightening part doesn't fit this, but that doesn't matter, because you can just use the one that the router came with. Just stick the 1/8 inch collet in there instead of the 1/4, and you are good to go! (or 5/32..) It's an exact fit!
It does *not* have an RPM adjustment, though... I'm not sure if the speed saw does, either, though.. I kind of assumed it would have one, so I didn't even think about it until I went to turn it on, and I was like "hmm.. where's the speed setting on this?" If I had known, that wouldn't have changed my decision to buy it, though! It's a great little convenient router/rotary tool!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

type of work we do it's very convenient

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
cordless feature is the best part, no cords to get tangled up with. Base adjusts very easily, no tools required.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Kettering, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This works great. Used it to cut out hinge recesses in a new door

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never owned a router before. My son is putting up new slab doors, and I bought this to route the hinge recesses in the door. It was easy to set up and use. As I have a lot of Ryobi tools and batteries, this router was a perfect fit with my cordless tool inventory. Great tool for easy jobs like I intend to use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Small package with great results! The only battery operated router I could find for a small job.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive router to do a small job before investing in a regular combo fixed/plunge router. I found the Ryobi and thought I'd give it a try based on the decent reviews. The tool worked great for me to round over edges on some utility doors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to locate on/off switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hobbies that can grow

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a skeptic when it came to using batteries to power a tool that normally required high amps to get the jobs done correctly, but this tool did the trick. The battery life is a little short, so have a few batteries lined up and fully charged. Once you start building little things here and there and notice the finish and the craftsmanship that YOU did yourself the "bug" gets into you in a sense of accomplishment.
I had routed out my college onto a table, which will be my man cave beer table, we don't say coffee table. Used two different stains and sealed the table with poly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I should have bought this years ago

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is really good. It is easy to use and I should have bought one years ago. Home Depot should have these in their stores. I only found it by accident.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Marathon, FL 33050, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellant tool very handy

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, very handy and very useful, don't know of any other brand with a cordless router, as long as you use the lithium ion battery it works like a champ, with lots of power, we have 6 of these in the shop. Thanks John
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, cordless
Cons: base could be more accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Rockford,MI

GREAT TRIM ROUTER

PostedFebruary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a full size corded router but wanted this for jobs where I didn't want to take time to run power to. It does go through the battery faster when you are putting a load on it to get through hard woods but all around it is great. I like the feel of the tool and is easy to handle with one hand on trim jobs. I do feel sorry for my corded router because it gets left at home most of the time. Ryobi is the best considering, price, quality and user friendly, but then again I have almost every 18 volt tool they have made and don't even work for them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I wanted -- It delivered based upon my expectations

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool at a great price -- I would not hesitate to buy again!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY small projects

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really handy for small DIY projects. Light weight makes it real easy to handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've only used this tool once so far and it worked perfectly. It did the job that I needed with very little effort. I routed several areas for a recessed swinging door with great results. My only comment is that I wished that the specs had said that it could only use a 1/4 straight router after I bought a set that had several larger straight routers included. I guess that I will give them away. It can handle larger curved and shaped routers. Other than my router bit issue I am pleased with this tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Sillycon Valley

Works well but depth clamp will slip !

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Original older generation (pre-Li-ion batteries), never updated to newer generation (green). Depth clamp does not hold the body tight enough and can slip, mostly to deeper route cut. Put a typical hose clamp around the body.
Routes very well. Powerful with the Li-ion batteries!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, works with new li-ion batteries
Cons: depth clamp slips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best tool in my shop,have wore out 2 of them, and would buy another in a heart beat.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this tool has only one drawback, I bought 2 new battery's for 100.00 and they do not work in the router the old style battery's work better all around.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Wonderful router with natural limitations

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Solid product. The mechanism to remove a bit is easier and more convenient than any other I have used.
User manual says not to use a bit more than 1/4 in diameter (not shank but blade diameter). That would obviously be very limiting, you can use a bigger bit but one must realize the power limitations of the tool (do shallow passes slowly etc).
Very convenient to use and not having to be corded is wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Frostproof, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Battery Router!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great tool for craft work and for medium size jobs too. Especially if you like to travel Rv and have the room Ryobi has some great tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>