728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

The Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router is a cordless unit that helps you add the perfect edge for any project with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base. 29,000 RPMs provide fast and efficient trimming. This unit's base can be positioned for right or left-handed operation. The router works with all Ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ batteries and chargers (not included).
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product68 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product68 of 72reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Marin, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great starter router for home shop

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you already have a tool or two in the Ryobi One Plus series the addition of this tool (which comes WITHOUT battery) makes a great starter router for home shop. I can see that someday I'll want a corded one with a router table, but at this price it makes a good training tool that can actually do real work. Just rounding off the edges of some 3 1/2 inch window sills made it worth the money.
Here's why I give it four not five stars. The only thing that irritates just a bit is if you want the optional "Woodworker's router base" you'll have to really search Google to find a source. For some reason HD does not carry it. Then when it finally arrived from a Ryobi parts outlet, they'd sent me an electrical cord with the same part number hand written on it (warehouse error, I'm sure), but a quick phone call later and they instantly swapped it for the right part which arrived a day or two later. No biggie. Also, be aware that it does not come with any cutter bits. Seems like for less than $100 Ryobi could add in a small selection of bits for starters. I do like the Ryobi combo deals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, easy to adjust
Cons: not easy to buy the optional woodworker's base, no bits included
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Power of a plug-in

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased one about 5 yrs. ago and still going strong. Even better now with the lithium batteries. I made all the baseboards for my home using it, and while doing so, a professional home builder watched me use it, and was amazed at how it powered through 1/2 in. yellow pine.
Easy to use and guide when using roller bearing tipped bits. Just clamp down the material to be routed, and have at it! Purchased a second unit so that if the first one dies, I'll have a back-up.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: none
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Nice little router.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little router. Works great for routing out hinges. No issues. Cuts through wood with little hesitation. When using lithium battery, it will last a long time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Sillycon Valley

Works well but depth clamp will slip !

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Original older generation (pre-Li-ion batteries), never updated to newer generation (green). Depth clamp does not hold the body tight enough and can slip, mostly to deeper route cut. Put a typical hose clamp around the body.
Routes very well. Powerful with the Li-ion batteries!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, works with new li-ion batteries
Cons: depth clamp slips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Albany, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy Tool!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This works great for small jobs, and light edge routing. It is a bit of a power hog so it goes though a battery charge very quickly/
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Short Battery Life
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Marathon, FL 33050, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellant tool very handy

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, very handy and very useful, don't know of any other brand with a cordless router, as long as you use the lithium ion battery it works like a champ, with lots of power, we have 6 of these in the shop. Thanks John
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, cordless
Cons: base could be more accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a really great tool

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used corded routers before with not very good results. I was truly amazed at how easy this was to use, you could write your name with it very easily if you wanted.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Red Rock, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Getting rid of the cord is priceless

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Ryobi cordless router should be in every HomeDepot store, but unfortunately is only available online. Getting stuck with a router leaves burn marks; therefore, having a cordless router eliminates any possibility that a cord can get tangled. I am using the router to trim Formica laminate for 10 different countertops for my various built-in furniture. Just like another reviewer mentioned, keep a couple of charged batteries at hand, as the router uses up batteries quite rapidly. The unit is easy to handle and works well with my high-quality router bit. The screw on the depth adjustment requires some fine-tuning before using it the first time to make sure the depth gauge does not start to slip. Highly recommended for anyone who already owns cordless Ryobi tools and several batteries.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

This product is awesome

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had this router for about five years, I loved it then it finally died, trying to buy another one . I think they stopped making them because every time I go online or in the store they do not have any.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Perfect for a quick trim

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great balance with battery installed. Small but powerful enough to do all but the big jobs
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Kalispell, MT 59901, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

love how light it is does not bother my forearm at all

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
plenty of power with no cord i love it . perfect light weight tool for my furniture buisness
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Small package with great results! The only battery operated router I could find for a small job.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive router to do a small job before investing in a regular combo fixed/plunge router. I found the Ryobi and thought I'd give it a try based on the decent reviews. The tool worked great for me to round over edges on some utility doors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to locate on/off switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
best suited for small jobs that can or need to be done where house power is not available. be sure to have extra bits with you... the bearing collar on the one supplied failed after less than 30 minutes use
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hobbies that can grow

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a skeptic when it came to using batteries to power a tool that normally required high amps to get the jobs done correctly, but this tool did the trick. The battery life is a little short, so have a few batteries lined up and fully charged. Once you start building little things here and there and notice the finish and the craftsmanship that YOU did yourself the "bug" gets into you in a sense of accomplishment.
I had routed out my college onto a table, which will be my man cave beer table, we don't say coffee table. Used two different stains and sealed the table with poly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Spokane WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great for door hinges

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up this little guy about 5 years ago to speed up door hinge preparation. I figured it would be quicker than using a chisel, but I had very low expectations. Was I ever wrong. I, and several co workers have routed hundreds of door hinges, and several laminate garden window sills over the last 5 years with absolutely no problems whatsoever. I even used a plunge bit to router out a piece of 3/4 inch plywood for the battery tray on my pontoon boat. My advice to anyone considering it is this....be patient and take your time, use the lithium batteries, and spend the money on quality bits. I personally use Diablo and have had no issues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

what they don't tell you

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The wood working base is optional and the manufacturer stopped making them 16 months ago. When you order the wood working base you also need to order the spindle handles which are sold individually. I paid $7.87 for each. Spent more time waiting for parts to do a small job than I spent doing the job.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: optional parts are a pain to get, handles (2) are sold seperately
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from KENT WASHINGTON
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very goog product

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The router was ready to use right out of the box. It has plenty of power for edge profiling, which is what I wanted it for. This is a great addition to my routers. This one makes eight, but is the only cordless one. I have an excelent trim router but I sometimes find that the cord is in the way. Being battery powered this router solves that problem. If one was planning on using this for large jobs I would recomend getting the largest capasity battery available, but for my projects my smaller batteries have been acceptable.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Portable and Handy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great tool to have without the cord that can do many things especially cutting outlets and lights on drywall.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: straight form in body, shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Only one of its kind

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great mobile router that gets the job done on light applications such as laminate repairs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY small projects

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really handy for small DIY projects. Light weight makes it real easy to handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>