728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Create the perfect edge with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base of the RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router. With 29,000 RPM, you can trim quickly and efficiently. The router features a compact design for laminate trimming.
Overall rating:
4.566 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product76 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(22)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product76 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for DIY er

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The many times I could have used a router for a simple job. Now I have one with no cords. Ryobi Rocks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Fort Pierce, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great 'little tool'

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this tool almost daily, my last one was six years old, brushes and bearing worn out, still screaming, using to cut out for hinges and door latches, I was really disappointed it wasn't available when I wanted it, I talked to Ryobi rep and Pro desk to help, tried to drop an email to Ryobi, no luck, but luck changed, it came available, and I ordered two, just in case it happened again. I would be lost with out this tool, I have electric router but I became spoiled by this little tool doing the big jobs from trim, laminate, and doors. The best little tool I ever found, thanks again!
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: never found any problem or job it couldn't do for
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
best suited for small jobs that can or need to be done where house power is not available. be sure to have extra bits with you... the bearing collar on the one supplied failed after less than 30 minutes use
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Portable and Handy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great tool to have without the cord that can do many things especially cutting outlets and lights on drywall.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: straight form in body, shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the fine print.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My router came in the mail to much anticipation. When I opened the box, I was disappointed that there was not even 1 (one) router bit to go with it. When I finally acquired some bits (with no small researching on the net as there was no info about which bits are better, most usable, etc.), I then have the difficulty of finding out exactly how to use it. There was no help or instructions included other than how to assemble it. Not very user friendly at all.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Spokane, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very versatile

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this on almost dailey--very easy to use and control and very adaptive for my needs
Pros: versatility
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Nice little router

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Handy little router for small tasks. Much easier than pulling out the big one for small items. Mechanics of changing bits is a little awkward since you must remove the base to do so but it's just an annoyance and doesn't affect its performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hobbies that can grow

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a skeptic when it came to using batteries to power a tool that normally required high amps to get the jobs done correctly, but this tool did the trick. The battery life is a little short, so have a few batteries lined up and fully charged. Once you start building little things here and there and notice the finish and the craftsmanship that YOU did yourself the "bug" gets into you in a sense of accomplishment.
I had routed out my college onto a table, which will be my man cave beer table, we don't say coffee table. Used two different stains and sealed the table with poly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Palmer, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for small job

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only used it a couple times so far but the router has done what I needed it to. Used it for a small roundover on 1" deck board. The depth adjustment isn't easy to set precisely but seemed to hold once set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Sillycon Valley

Works well but depth clamp will slip !

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Original older generation (pre-Li-ion batteries), never updated to newer generation (green). Depth clamp does not hold the body tight enough and can slip, mostly to deeper route cut. Put a typical hose clamp around the body.
Routes very well. Powerful with the Li-ion batteries!
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, works with new li-ion batteries
Cons: depth clamp slips
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This was very easy to learn how to use, providing great results.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never used a router before. With a little practice I was making plaques with very nice bevels for my wife's crafting. I would recommend keeping an extra battery charging. Once the battery runs down it doesn't perform as well, but for the size and battery operated it is a great craft tool.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and manage. Great for small quick jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Perfect for a quick trim

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great balance with battery installed. Small but powerful enough to do all but the big jobs
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trim Router

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trim router is very convenient and it is nice that it uses the ONE+ batteries that I already have for my other tools.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've only used this tool once so far and it worked perfectly. It did the job that I needed with very little effort. I routed several areas for a recessed swinging door with great results. My only comment is that I wished that the specs had said that it could only use a 1/4 straight router after I bought a set that had several larger straight routers included. I guess that I will give them away. It can handle larger curved and shaped routers. Other than my router bit issue I am pleased with this tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a really great tool

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used corded routers before with not very good results. I was truly amazed at how easy this was to use, you could write your name with it very easily if you wanted.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Red Rock, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Getting rid of the cord is priceless

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Ryobi cordless router should be in every HomeDepot store, but unfortunately is only available online. Getting stuck with a router leaves burn marks; therefore, having a cordless router eliminates any possibility that a cord can get tangled. I am using the router to trim Formica laminate for 10 different countertops for my various built-in furniture. Just like another reviewer mentioned, keep a couple of charged batteries at hand, as the router uses up batteries quite rapidly. The unit is easy to handle and works well with my high-quality router bit. The screw on the depth adjustment requires some fine-tuning before using it the first time to make sure the depth gauge does not start to slip. Highly recommended for anyone who already owns cordless Ryobi tools and several batteries.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from NW Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

perfect little router

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second one. The first one lasted ten years with almost daily use, so I cannot complain about the life span at all. What other tool can you buy for around $50 that will last ten solid years? Has plenty of power with a fully charged battery, bits are easy to change, and it fits my hand perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Naples, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Top notch tool with the obvious limitations of chuck size.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tool is light weight and easily handled. Power seems adequate and the cordless feature is very handy. The jury is still out on the plastic depth adjustment and its durability over time. As intended, the router works best with bearing bits and lithium batteries.
Recommendations For improvement:
1. Metal continuously variable depth adjustment, perhaps using gears and knob.
2. Smaller base so as to make work on thinner strips possible without a jig.
3. Edge guide attachment to fit the two holes.
Pros: Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Newmarket, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable and does the job I bought it for.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for the small jobs. Saves me from getting out the bigger plug me in router. No electrical cord to hassle with for that small 5 minute trim work. That alone saves time on the job. Very convenient seeing I own almost all the Ryobi 18 volt power tools. The new lithium batteries are the BEST!!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>