728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Create the perfect edge with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base of the RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router. With 29,000 RPM, you can trim quickly and efficiently. The router features a compact design for laminate trimming.
Overall rating:
4.576 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product78 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(22)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product78 of 82reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great tool

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent tool for a professional carpenter who doesnt feel like whipping out a 100 foot for 5 min of work. It is very sturdy and durable. Get it while you can these go fast. Ryobi is the only current manufacturer of a cordless router. I am not even a ryobi tool guy so don't think I gave this a good review because of that. This is an excellent buy.
Pros: Powerful, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Wonderful router with natural limitations

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Solid product. The mechanism to remove a bit is easier and more convenient than any other I have used.
User manual says not to use a bit more than 1/4 in diameter (not shank but blade diameter). That would obviously be very limiting, you can use a bigger bit but one must realize the power limitations of the tool (do shallow passes slowly etc).
Very convenient to use and not having to be corded is wonderful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Frostproof, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Battery Router!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great tool for craft work and for medium size jobs too. Especially if you like to travel Rv and have the room Ryobi has some great tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

work horse

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
What an awesome small & light weight, one hand router. Fully charged batteries and I was routing 3/4" red oak cabinet door framework.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from San Diego, CA

18v trim router "laminate trimmer"

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking at this and the ryobi 18v "speed saw" (rotozip equiv..), and decided on this one.. At first I was confused what they meant, by calling it a "laminate trimmer", so I over-looked it, thinking it was specifically for 1 application, but not so!
(by the way, homedepot's website calls this the trim router, but at the store, and on the packaging, they call it the laminate trimmer)
It's actually physically lighter and shorter than the speed saw, though not as narrow (barely...if you pull the base off, and free-hand with it, it's probably the same).. It also felt way more comfortable in my hand than the speed saw.
I wanted to get something for cutting drywall around window frames and electrical boxes, and I liked that this seemed a bit more useful than just the spiral saw, since it has a (easily removable) really solid base with really fast and easy height adjustment. It's like half way between a dremel and router. And really, it was waaay more comfortable in my hand than the spiral saw.
It's not really a router "replacement", as it definitely doesn't have the full power of a router, but if you take small enough increments while cutting, you can use it as such. And it's SOOOO tiny and light compared to a router. It's great! The manual does suggest you not use a cutting bit with a diameter greater than 1/4 inch, though... In hard wood, you might want to listen to it, but it was fine using a 3/8 inch straight bit, dado'ing 1/8 depth in some 2x4's.
The one "problem" I was looking at was that this trim router comes with a 1/4 inch collet, and all the rotozip bits are 1/8 or 5/32 inch.. Well, it turns out that the rotozip "replacement collet"s fit this router.. Well, there are 2 parts to the replacement kit.. The actually metal grip part (the collet?) And the wrench-down tightening part. The tightening part doesn't fit this, but that doesn't matter, because you can just use the one that the router came with. Just stick the 1/8 inch collet in there instead of the 1/4, and you are good to go! (or 5/32..) It's an exact fit!
It does *not* have an RPM adjustment, though... I'm not sure if the speed saw does, either, though.. I kind of assumed it would have one, so I didn't even think about it until I went to turn it on, and I was like "hmm.. where's the speed setting on this?" If I had known, that wouldn't have changed my decision to buy it, though! It's a great little convenient router/rotary tool!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Oak Brook, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very handy for small jobs

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very useful for small jobs with a narrow or shallow depth of cut where you just don't feel like setting up and plugging in a corded router. I've used it to cut shallow recesses into the bottom of shelves for bracket hardware, also quick and easy to use to give nice finish to wood edges with a small 1/8 round over bit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Small package with great results! The only battery operated router I could find for a small job.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive router to do a small job before investing in a regular combo fixed/plunge router. I found the Ryobi and thought I'd give it a try based on the decent reviews. The tool worked great for me to round over edges on some utility doors.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: hard to locate on/off switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Perfect for a quick trim

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great balance with battery installed. Small but powerful enough to do all but the big jobs
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Marathon, FL 33050, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellant tool very handy

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product, very handy and very useful, don't know of any other brand with a cordless router, as long as you use the lithium ion battery it works like a champ, with lots of power, we have 6 of these in the shop. Thanks John
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, cordless
Cons: base could be more accurate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Texas, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

At last, a battery powered router.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
At last, a battery powered router. My first experience with the
router was at my sons house, helping him build shelving units. We were using it to barely round the edges of cut plywood. I was so impressed, I tried to buy one when we went to the Depot to get more screws. They have to be ordered online, so I ordered one as soon as I got back to my laptop. I have other routers, but none as convenient as this to use.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Add to your collection of Ryobi cordless now

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent value and performance. The only reason I gave it four stars is because you can no longer get anywhere the secondary base attachment with handles.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
Cons: no secondary base available any more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Mansfield, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great performer

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put this to work right after opening the box......(did need to purchase the Ryobi routor blade package too)
Routed out three window sills in no time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: came w/o router blades., had to order online vs buying in local home store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Cincinnati,OH

Not Bad

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought it just for Laminate trim. Very Good. more power than i thought it would have.. Handy tool to have
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Bristow ,VA

wonder tool ( look Mom no Cords}

PostedApril 7, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cordless tool operates great in the field when you need it most. I have been working in construction for about 30 years and this product really works. It will save you a lot of time, you do not need to take items apart to take back to the shop to route them when the site has no power. Just pop in the battery and the job is done and you are off to the next project.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Shawnee, KS

Handy tool

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my second One+ tool purchase. Bought it to rout recesses for door hinges in a doorframe that previously had sliding doors. Originally tried the project with a Dremel adapter and it was a pain, didn't work well at all, sending me back to Home Depot to get this instead, and it completed the project better and faster. Now just looking for more reasons to use it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

This router is easy to handle.

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I think it could be a little more sturdy, but it is sufficient considering the price point.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and manage. Great for small quick jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY small projects

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really handy for small DIY projects. Light weight makes it real easy to handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Eatontown, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent in all aspects

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this little wonder online and recieved right on time of need. 'Handy' and hard working. Appreciated myself for the decission to order it. A worthy addition to my Ryobi tool collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great handheld router/trimmer

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pretty happy with this one for sure. While it is supposed to have an optional base for routing, certain small diameter .25" shaft router bits will fit and work with the handheld trimmer attachment as supplied. It rounds and trims perfectly. Be sure to use a lithium battery to keep the speed up to maximum. The lithium batteries run at max right to within a few seconds as they deplete so you can tell when the battery is going to quit and stop working with it. As with any router, good sharp carbide bits work best. Very nice tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: it should come with the router housing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>