728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Create the perfect edge with the correct router bit and optional woodworking base of the RYOBI 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router. With 29,000 RPM, you can trim quickly and efficiently. The router features a compact design for laminate trimming.
Overall rating:
4.566 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product76 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(22)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product76 of 80reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Review 21 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Fort Pierce, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great 'little tool'

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this tool almost daily, my last one was six years old, brushes and bearing worn out, still screaming, using to cut out for hinges and door latches, I was really disappointed it wasn't available when I wanted it, I talked to Ryobi rep and Pro desk to help, tried to drop an email to Ryobi, no luck, but luck changed, it came available, and I ordered two, just in case it happened again. I would be lost with out this tool, I have electric router but I became spoiled by this little tool doing the big jobs from trim, laminate, and doors. The best little tool I ever found, thanks again!
Pros: Long-Lasting
Cons: never found any problem or job it couldn't do for
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Nice little router

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Handy little router for small tasks. Much easier than pulling out the big one for small items. Mechanics of changing bits is a little awkward since you must remove the base to do so but it's just an annoyance and doesn't affect its performance.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for quick jobs

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and manage. Great for small quick jobs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Palmer, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for small job

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Only used it a couple times so far but the router has done what I needed it to. Used it for a small roundover on 1" deck board. The depth adjustment isn't easy to set precisely but seemed to hold once set.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Perfect for a quick trim

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great balance with battery installed. Small but powerful enough to do all but the big jobs
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIY small projects

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Really handy for small DIY projects. Light weight makes it real easy to handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a really great tool

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used corded routers before with not very good results. I was truly amazed at how easy this was to use, you could write your name with it very easily if you wanted.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Newmarket, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Portable and does the job I bought it for.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for the small jobs. Saves me from getting out the bigger plug me in router. No electrical cord to hassle with for that small 5 minute trim work. That alone saves time on the job. Very convenient seeing I own almost all the Ryobi 18 volt power tools. The new lithium batteries are the BEST!!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for DIY er

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The many times I could have used a router for a simple job. Now I have one with no cords. Ryobi Rocks.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ryobi 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
best suited for small jobs that can or need to be done where house power is not available. be sure to have extra bits with you... the bearing collar on the one supplied failed after less than 30 minutes use
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Eatontown, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent in all aspects

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ordered this little wonder online and recieved right on time of need. 'Handy' and hard working. Appreciated myself for the decission to order it. A worthy addition to my Ryobi tool collection.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Marin, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great starter router for home shop

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If you already have a tool or two in the Ryobi One Plus series the addition of this tool (which comes WITHOUT battery) makes a great starter router for home shop. I can see that someday I'll want a corded one with a router table, but at this price it makes a good training tool that can actually do real work. Just rounding off the edges of some 3 1/2 inch window sills made it worth the money.
Here's why I give it four not five stars. The only thing that irritates just a bit is if you want the optional "Woodworker's router base" you'll have to really search Google to find a source. For some reason HD does not carry it. Then when it finally arrived from a Ryobi parts outlet, they'd sent me an electrical cord with the same part number hand written on it (warehouse error, I'm sure), but a quick phone call later and they instantly swapped it for the right part which arrived a day or two later. No biggie. Also, be aware that it does not come with any cutter bits. Seems like for less than $100 Ryobi could add in a small selection of bits for starters. I do like the Ryobi combo deals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, easy to adjust
Cons: not easy to buy the optional woodworker's base, no bits included
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've only used this tool once so far and it worked perfectly. It did the job that I needed with very little effort. I routed several areas for a recessed swinging door with great results. My only comment is that I wished that the specs had said that it could only use a 1/4 straight router after I bought a set that had several larger straight routers included. I guess that I will give them away. It can handle larger curved and shaped routers. Other than my router bit issue I am pleased with this tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Portable and Handy

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great tool to have without the cord that can do many things especially cutting outlets and lights on drywall.
Pros: All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: straight form in body, shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from south jersey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this router has a lot of unff

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I do freehand routing and engraving of signs. This little router is fun and has a lot of guts for its size.
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Puyallup, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the fine print.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My router came in the mail to much anticipation. When I opened the box, I was disappointed that there was not even 1 (one) router bit to go with it. When I finally acquired some bits (with no small researching on the net as there was no info about which bits are better, most usable, etc.), I then have the difficulty of finding out exactly how to use it. There was no help or instructions included other than how to assemble it. Not very user friendly at all.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, No Instructions, Difficult to Use
-10points
3out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Great little trimmer/router

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
strong little trimmer for the price, worked great.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Winchester, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hobbies that can grow

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a skeptic when it came to using batteries to power a tool that normally required high amps to get the jobs done correctly, but this tool did the trick. The battery life is a little short, so have a few batteries lined up and fully charged. Once you start building little things here and there and notice the finish and the craftsmanship that YOU did yourself the "bug" gets into you in a sense of accomplishment.
I had routed out my college onto a table, which will be my man cave beer table, we don't say coffee table. Used two different stains and sealed the table with poly.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)

Nice little router.

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great little router. Works great for routing out hinges. No issues. Cuts through wood with little hesitation. When using lithium battery, it will last a long time.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 18-Volt ONE+ Trim Router (Tool-Only)
from Spokane WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great for door hinges

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up this little guy about 5 years ago to speed up door hinge preparation. I figured it would be quicker than using a chisel, but I had very low expectations. Was I ever wrong. I, and several co workers have routed hundreds of door hinges, and several laminate garden window sills over the last 5 years with absolutely no problems whatsoever. I even used a plunge bit to router out a piece of 3/4 inch plywood for the battery tray on my pontoon boat. My advice to anyone considering it is this....be patient and take your time, use the lithium batteries, and spend the money on quality bits. I personally use Diablo and have had no issues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>