728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw

5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw

The Ryobi 5.5 Amp Orbital Jig Saw features a 360-degree scrolling blade action and the Exactline laser alignment system so you can create consistent and accurate cuts in small, confined spaces without sacrificing power and performance. Fast, aggressive cuts are easily made with the 4-position orbital action, and the variable speed setting of 0 - 3,200 strokes per minute (spm) helps you adjust the speed to match the application.
Overall rating:
1.875 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
17%of customersrecommend this product5 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
17%of customersrecommend this product5 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
Review 21 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
pivo
from Boston, MA

Misaligned blade, can't do straight cuts

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After cutting opening in a drywall, didn't require straight cuts in my case and it worked fine....
Unfortunately, when I needed to make a straight cut in a wood plank I found out that the blade holding mechanism is misaligned with the saw body. If you lock the blade, It actually stays turned about 2 degrees making it impossible to do straight cuts.
The customer support said that I need to send it for repairs... and that's only after 30 minutes of cutting drywall..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
Al936
from CO

JIGSAW

PostedFebruary 8, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the Ryobi JS550L jig saw and I would not recomend this saw to anyone. The saw cuts great but the blade loading mechinism is plastic and broke after on the second time I used it
unless they have started making them out of metal I would PASS!
I would recomend the Rigid it is really a much better choice I bought it to replace the Ryobi and have no complaints after 1 year of use. Everything about it is top grade and it cuts fantastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
RobV
from Fort Worth, Texas

Good power, but can't cut straight...

PostedJuly 30, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The laser line that comes with this is frustrating to no end... It was off about 5 degrees when I first pulled it out of the box, so I figured I would simply adjust the orbital knob, but it will not lock unless it is in the position to be straight...
So, I figured, click the knob in the straight position and all would work out fine... wrong.
I'm currently cutting laminate flooring and it cuts through it like butter with a dewalt laminate blade (teeth upwards) and it works great, but I ended up putting a black piece of electrical tape over the laser so it wouldn't keep blocking my view and messing up the accurracy of my cuts.
I would have rated this a 5 if the laser would have worked. It's strong enough for the job.
I am not sure if the blade insert is still plastic or metal, but it is quick to use and very stable so far.
I may return this and go for a more expensive ridgid or a dewalt jigsaw, can't go wrong with those companies...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
NewDIYer
from Boston, MA

Good enough

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have mainly used this saw for rough cuts as a DIYer/hobbyist, so maybe that's why my experience (with limited use of the tool) is much better than others on here. So far, at least, the laser, blade angle, etc. are all good enough for what I've needed. I've heard that Ryobi tools have inconsistent quality, so maybe I just got a good one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
MikeyF
from Sun Prairie, WI

You get what you pay for.

PostedDecember 25, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only redeeming feature of this saw is the quick blade change. The bevel lock does not hold, the blade wanders, and the laser line makes it impossible to see your cut line. I am giving this saw away and getting another one, not a Ryobi, that will cut straight. I have other Ryobi tools that have served me well, but not this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
Kevin12345
from Sunnyvale, CA

El cheapo

PostedMay 13, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Considering the price, this saw is so/so. I wish they had spent more on quality and less on bells and whistles. The blade was out of alignment, and difficult to correct. The bevel "lock" actually doesn't hold tight, so the shoe tilts out of square as you saw. I really don't understand the point of a Laser on a Jig saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
PrettyWoman
from Sarasota, FL

AFFORDABILITY

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since my husband lost his job, we've been doing a lot of home repairs looking for extra equity to sell our house. The affordability of the Ryobi tools has helped us tremendously.
Our most recent purchase was the Ryobi Jig Saw for $69. Great tool for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
Anonymous
from Nampa, Idaho

You get what you pay for!

PostedJanuary 20, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cheap is what this unit is, the base will not lock tight therefore it cuts at an angle. The laser cannot be turned off so you cannot see you cut line leaving you wandering all over the place.
Spend the extra money and get a better quality saw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
s3drunner
from Essex, MD

Not this time!

PostedMay 28, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Normally I am one of Ryobi's biggest supporters, but not this time. This jigsaw has got to be one of the worst tools ever created. Right off, out of the box, I could see that the bevel was off. No problem though, because I found out that you can change the bevel setting without unlocking it first. This is accomplished due to the fact that the locking lever doesn't work, which in turn means that it shifts out of bevel as you are using it. No matter what you do, you can not correct this issue (well actually you can simply by buying another brand of saw). The next feature which I liked was the cheap, plastic blade release which broke on the third time of using (I found this to be really special). Finally, just as has been noted by other reviewers, the blade really does wander, and the laser will not calibrate and can not be turned off which makes it a real pain in the wallet. I was going to give this jigsaw away, but I couldn't think of anyone that I hated that much, so the trash men got it. I like a lot of Ryobi's tools, but trust me when I say, "Don't but this jigsaw, it's nothing but junk."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
LoveMyTools

Returning this

PostedJanuary 4, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Loved the idea of a laser jig saw, but the blade will not stay steady and it's impossible to cut straight. I'm returning this today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 5.5-Amp Orbital Jig Saw
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
<< 1 2