728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Registers & Grilles or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

The Thermwell Magnetic Vent Covers are white and can be cut to size. They block floor, wall and ceiling metal vents. The covers also fit large side vents. They can be painted to match the color of your walls. They help redirect air movement from one room to another.
Overall rating:
3.044 / 5
3
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product22 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(18)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product22 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Review 1 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Traverse city, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is fine.

PostedJune 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I cut these covers to fit and they stuck to my ceiling vents just fine. I should mention that I did make little cutouts for the slide (in the closed position) and the mounting screw heads to assure the covers fit flush with the surface of the vent. Turned on the air and they didn't budge. t think many of the complaints in other reviews may have to do with the fact that these covers won't stick to aluminum/plastic vents (nor to stainless refrigerator doors, which aren't magnetic either). It's also possible that some vents just don't have enough solid metal around the louvers to allow the magnet to stick well. I do think making cutouts for the slide and screw heads helped give me a good result. I'm glad I ignored all the bad reviews and decided to give these a try.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not strong hold - Magnet too weak

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Magnet too weak. It is not suitable for walls or ceiling vent outlets. But I found an alternative use for photos or paintings. I do not recommend it for vent covers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from West Lafayette, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great on my vents. Sticks just fine. I think people complaining that this isn't strong enough have vents that are aluminum or something or they're not flat.
Also they're big. Cutting them to the right size is a breeze with a utility knife.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Dover, DE, USA

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Magnets is very weak! Doesn't stick to a vertical surface and I didn't even try covering up the registers in the ceiling because I knew they wouldn't stay up there without me holding them.
I returned these 30min after I bought them.
Best advice I can offer...unscrew your HVAC register from the wall and pull it out. Grab a black trash bag, fold it up so it's about 1" wider all the way around the backside of the register and block the vent from the backside. As you push the register back into your vent, the trash bag gets wedged in and creates a pretty good seal. Don't forget to remove these as the seasons change.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, magnet is weak!, flimsy material
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

Does the job

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good price, good product but they should be thicker and have stronger magnetic pull
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

If it does not stick then it isn't ferrous metal.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to cut to the needed size and shape. If one is not enough two can be used. It sticks to iron based metal grates very well. You can even snip off a piece or two to place over the open/shut lever slot. A sharp cutting knife can also make a slot or hole in the cover for that lever. I use these over the grate in the basement near the heating and ventilation system where the air wants most to come out and where it is least needed in the summer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Woodstock, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frost King Magnetic vent covers

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a package of these yesterday at Home depot and brought them home and tried to apply to my heat vents - yes, they are metal vents and yes, the louvers were closed. . Virtually no adhesion to the vent. Thought I had defective package so I went to a different Home Depot, swapped them out, brought them home and had the same results. These vent covers are supposed to be magnetic and they barely stick to each other. Definitely not a strong enough magnetic attraction to function properly. A waste of time as far as i am concerned.
Cons: poor magnetic attraction
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from VA

IMPORTANT REVIEW!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Past bad reviews take notice. I read all the bad reviews and still bought these vent blockers. The price was right, a 110 degree day in VA, and two vents that wont close so I stayed positive.
I cut one to the size of my vent on my ceiling and it fell to the ground... Used common sense and cleaned the vent to prevent dust and held it back up to the vent and pressed firmly focusing everywhere except where the screws were and lever to open and close. After a few miniutes it is like it formed itself or joined to the metal and 24 hours later it is still up there.
Note: the AC was running at the time and I used a bit of scotch tape. 24 hours later scotch tape not holding but magnet still there. Not sure if the tape helped at all. I think I used it just in case. AC and scotch tape dont mix with cold temps.
I would have paid a bit more if these were a bit thicker/stronger magnet and whiter color to match better with the walls.
End note, patience and common sense.
+28points
30out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 9 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trims and fits perfect on my cold air returns.....
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Ferndale, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

USELESS

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Won't ever stick to themselves. Don't waste your time or money. Had to give it a 1, 0 isn't an option
Cons: not magnetic
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Great !

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This magnetic vent cover did the job.
We closed the air vent with the lever, and the magnetic cover blocked the rest of the air that was coming thru.
One thing to keep in mind. The vent has to be metal, and there cannot be too many layers of paint on the vent. So you might have to remove some paint from the vent, if there are too many layers.
Too many layers of paint will prevent the magnet from touching the metal. Worked great !
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Reliable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Provo, UT
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not super impressed

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It works to keep the cool/heat out, but the magnet was just barely strong enough for our vents that are on our bedroom ceilings. If you touched it the wrong way it'd fall off, so it took so playing around with to get them to stay.
Pros: keep out cool/heat
Cons: Difficult to Use, weak magnet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Internet Order

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The vent covers were of good quality and easy to cut.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Long Island NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make sure your vents are not aluminum before buying.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought these covers and was initially disappointed that they didn't stick to the AC vent. A bit of investigation revealed that the vent assembly was made of aluminum. No magnet could possibly stick to it. I tried it on another type of AC vent and it worked as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Install
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

It works Great!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read some of the negative reviews and some positive reviews. Not sure why someone mentioned that it's not magnetic. It worked prefectly on my vent. It stays on the vent nicely and firmly. The white color look nice too. Just make sure your vent is not aluminum or plastic.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

defeats its purpose

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked perfectly find on my stainless steel refrigerator, absolutely not what I needed it for. It didn't work for any of the vents in my condo. Returned on the same day of purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

HORRIBLE WASTE OF MONEY!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They don't adhere to a brand new metal duct. They wouldn't even make a good refrigerator magnet. I've used these from another mfg. and they were thicker. They worked. Can't find those now anywhere. I had to hold these on with painter's tape just to get them to work.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work for ceiling vents

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These covers did not work well with the ceiling vents I wanted to use them for. They could barely stay attached on their own; the moment the furnace/AC went on, they were blown off (and that was with the vents closed!).
I had to return them - maybe they work fine for floor vents?!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

Awful, not magnetic

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Despite reading other reviews that disparaged the magnetic properties (or lack thereof) of these vent covers, I took a gamble and ordered them anyway, so I guess I am mostly to blame. Don't do it - don't order these. Trust me. They are not magnetic. They didn't stick to my vents, nor to any other number of metallic objects in my apartment such as the refrigerator. They didn't even stick to each other. Completely worthless, waste of money, waste of time.
Cons: does not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
from 14624
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are these magnetic?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These barely stick to the fridge little lone stick to any vent. Worthless.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>