728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

E/O Magnetic Vent Covers

The Thermwell Magnetic Vent Covers are white and can be cut to size. They block floor, wall and ceiling metal vents. The covers also fit large side vents. They can be painted to match the color of your walls. They help redirect air movement from one room to another.
Overall rating:
3.061 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product16 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(13)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product16 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Review 1 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Ducky
from Woodstock, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Frost King Magnetic vent covers

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought a package of these yesterday at Home depot and brought them home and tried to apply to my heat vents - yes, they are metal vents and yes, the louvers were closed. . Virtually no adhesion to the vent. Thought I had defective package so I went to a different Home Depot, swapped them out, brought them home and had the same results. These vent covers are supposed to be magnetic and they barely stick to each other. Definitely not a strong enough magnetic attraction to function properly. A waste of time as far as i am concerned.
Cons: poor magnetic attraction
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Patrick
from Dover, DE, USA

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Magnets is very weak! Doesn't stick to a vertical surface and I didn't even try covering up the registers in the ceiling because I knew they wouldn't stay up there without me holding them.
I returned these 30min after I bought them.
Best advice I can offer...unscrew your HVAC register from the wall and pull it out. Grab a black trash bag, fold it up so it's about 1" wider all the way around the backside of the register and block the vent from the backside. As you push the register back into your vent, the trash bag gets wedged in and creates a pretty good seal. Don't forget to remove these as the seasons change.
Pros: cheap
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, magnet is weak!, flimsy material
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
GregW

Awful, not magnetic

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Despite reading other reviews that disparaged the magnetic properties (or lack thereof) of these vent covers, I took a gamble and ordered them anyway, so I guess I am mostly to blame. Don't do it - don't order these. Trust me. They are not magnetic. They didn't stick to my vents, nor to any other number of metallic objects in my apartment such as the refrigerator. They didn't even stick to each other. Completely worthless, waste of money, waste of time.
Cons: does not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Mike
from VA

IMPORTANT REVIEW!!!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Past bad reviews take notice. I read all the bad reviews and still bought these vent blockers. The price was right, a 110 degree day in VA, and two vents that wont close so I stayed positive.
I cut one to the size of my vent on my ceiling and it fell to the ground... Used common sense and cleaned the vent to prevent dust and held it back up to the vent and pressed firmly focusing everywhere except where the screws were and lever to open and close. After a few miniutes it is like it formed itself or joined to the metal and 24 hours later it is still up there.
Note: the AC was running at the time and I used a bit of scotch tape. 24 hours later scotch tape not holding but magnet still there. Not sure if the tape helped at all. I think I used it just in case. AC and scotch tape dont mix with cold temps.
I would have paid a bit more if these were a bit thicker/stronger magnet and whiter color to match better with the walls.
End note, patience and common sense.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
JZhang

It works Great!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read some of the negative reviews and some positive reviews. Not sure why someone mentioned that it's not magnetic. It worked prefectly on my vent. It stays on the vent nicely and firmly. The white color look nice too. Just make sure your vent is not aluminum or plastic.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
hydramaniac
from 14624
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are these magnetic?

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These barely stick to the fridge little lone stick to any vent. Worthless.
Cons: Difficult to Install, Difficult to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Homeowner

They don't work

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unless you use duck tape they will will not work .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Brittany
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked Great !

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This magnetic vent cover did the job.
We closed the air vent with the lever, and the magnetic cover blocked the rest of the air that was coming thru.
One thing to keep in mind. The vent has to be metal, and there cannot be too many layers of paint on the vent. So you might have to remove some paint from the vent, if there are too many layers.
Too many layers of paint will prevent the magnet from touching the metal. Worked great !
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Reliable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
review

Do not work, not magnetic enough

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we bought several of these and have to hold them down with tape or place a book on top of them. although they are cheap, they are not worth it. spend a few more dollars and find the vents that have a inner flap that closes to block vent.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
JoeinSLC

Useless

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I initially looked at this product online, it was highly rated. Too many people that said it didn't work still rated it 4 or 5 stars, as after I got it home and found it didn't work, I actually read the reviews. Basically, this thing will barely stick to my fridge. It won't even attempt to stick to a vent, even on the floor.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Andy
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work for ceiling vents

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These covers did not work well with the ceiling vents I wanted to use them for. They could barely stay attached on their own; the moment the furnace/AC went on, they were blown off (and that was with the vents closed!).
I had to return them - maybe they work fine for floor vents?!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
JC0368
from Denville, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT LOOKING, BUT......

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
THE FINISHING IS NICE. BUT IT DIDN'T WORK ON THE VENT GRILL ON THE CEILING. THE MAGNET POWER WASN'T STRONG ENOUGH TO HOLD IN PLACE. I RECOMMEND IF USE IN OTHER PLACE INSTEAD OF THE CEILING. OTHER THAN THAT NO.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: Inconsistent, no strong enough
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Paul
from Long Island NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Make sure your vents are not aluminum before buying.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought these covers and was initially disappointed that they didn't stick to the AC vent. A bit of investigation revealed that the vent assembly was made of aluminum. No magnet could possibly stick to it. I tried it on another type of AC vent and it worked as advertised.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
afox

not a magnet

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
these are not magnets, they don't stick at all - and that's with no air coming out of the vent. if the heat or ac is actually on, it literally blows off. pathetic product. my refrigerator magnets are significantly stronger.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
nomad1220

This product is very white, clean and light

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very flexible and light, no problems staying attached. Surface is very white and smooth, I was able to use a dry erase to mark for trimming and it wiped right off. MUCH better than the poster board magnets I got from the dollar store.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
unhappywithventcovers1

Magnetic Vent Covers-Yuck

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These do not work! Do not waste your money. The magnet is not strong enough. I would do better covering the vent with Duct Tape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
ernesto
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

MC815/3 Magnetic vent covers, by Frost King

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a waste of money, I think the company forgot to magnetize the pack I bought! I tried them on the wall and ceiling vent, they fell off without the heat/ac running.I put one on a floor vent turned on the ac and it lifted up, totally useless, as soon as I find my receipt I will have my wife bring them back to the store.
Pros: they don't have any pro's
Cons: they don't work.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Redhuskerred
from Topeka, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT STRONG ENOUGH

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Magnets are not strong enough and keep sliding off vents, and do NOT hold on celing vents at all! I would not recommend to anyone.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
CGATL
from Atlanta, GA

Just say no

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be great product. What a mistake. I would have given it a zero if I could. I closed my vents and placed this over them, but as soon as the heat came on it blew them right off. You would have better luck with plastic wrap and tape!
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for E/O Magnetic Vent Covers
Kevin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is what it is.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's a magnet. It covers your vents. You can cut it if you need. The covers are priced exactly where I would expect them to be. If you need magnetic vent covers at a reasonable price. These are the ones.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>