728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Havahart Medium 2-Door Cage Traps have been designed with the safety of the small animals in mind. These rabbit traps, with two spring loaded doors, have many features to allow safe, quick and easy catches.Havahart Medium 2-Door Cage Traps are constructed of sturdy rust-resistant wire mesh with steel reinforcements for long life and galvanized for maximum resistance to rust and corrosion. Mesh openings are smaller than competing traps of comparable size to prevent escapes and stolen bait. Two spring-loaded doors allow animals to enter from either direction. Sensitive triggers ensure quick, secure captures that target the specific animal's size, eliminating undesired catches. Solid doors and handle guards protect users during transportation, while smoothed internal edges protect and prevent injuries to animals. These rabbit traps are made in the U.S.A.
Overall rating:
3.948 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product40 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product40 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
Review 1 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

catch and release

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a trap to catch some of the many squirrels that were eating all the birdseed that I put out. Very easy to setup and bait. Within an hour I had my first squirrel. Pickup the cage by its' top handle, put it into the back seat and drove about 3 miles out of town to a large wooded area. Set the cage down , pulled up on the side release and like a flash , the squirrel flew out and down the path into the woods. That was 12 squirrels ago. I need a way to hold more than one so I don't have to make so many trips. The trap works excellent.
Pros: Functionality, Strong
Cons: only holds one squirrel at a time
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This trap works, I caught 7 squirrels

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trap was easy to use set and empty. I put peanuts in a metal tray from mints in the back. At first they would take the bait and not trip the trap. I added some screening around the back to keep them out and added a small mouse trap on the inside. I think the mouse trap scared them into hitting the trip plate. After that I caught a squirrel every day and twice I caught two.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Jax Fl.

Great trap

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been having fun with the Grey Squirrels that have found access to my Attic. Bought a 1030 trap via Home Depot, and set it out near a Oak tree in the back yard, that they love about 1 week ago. Current status: 6 Squirrels, and 2 rats, now gone. (I just missed # 7 Squirrel, because I forgot to drop the bail back on the door, so he "busted out.")
If you have visiting critters, ("Try it, You'll like it!") I use a few black oil sunflower seeds, and a couple of un-salted cocktail peanuts, in a shallow plastic lid, placed at the back of the trap. (I disconnected the 2nd door, to make it 1 entry, pushing the clamp down on the "bail" after I bait the trap.)
Hope this helps you with your problems.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Keep one side closed and it works great!

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of these traps for squirrels in the attic. Placed one in the attic and the other outside. I saw too many times that the squirrels would reach in far enough to trigger the trap but escape. Figured that the trap wasn't big enough. I saw another reviewer suggest closing one side keeping the bait on that end so the squirrel needs to go past the trigger for the food. As soon as I did that with peanuts, I now have no problems trapping the squirrels including the one getting in my attic! I did get one with both sides open but closing one side was definitely the trick.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Fayette County, GA

Great Squirrel Catcher

PostedJune 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was having a problem with squirrels getting in my attic. I tried several things to try to discourage them. I packed steel wool and sprayed it with insulation foam to seal up their entrance to my attic but they chewed right through it. I sat in the attic and gave them a BB treat, but that hardily phased them and it certainly didn't scare them out. I then went on the Internet to see what was available for trapping small animals. Long story short, I ended up at HD and bought a Havahart Model 1030 squirrel trap. It's been great. I put a bit of Jif smooth peanut butter on the tray and they can't resist. I've been able to easily catch four squirrels this way. When you catch them, remember to take them at least five miles from your home before you release them so they can't find their way back to your place.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Easy & Works Well

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this trap based on another reviewers recommendation. It has worked great for catching some destructive squirrels I have in the yard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Sarasota, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Absolutely Great Trap

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a problem with squirrels running on my pool cage here in Florida. I have used a strong water gun to squirt them and drive them off, but they kept coming back. I read reviews on this Havaheart trap and some of them were quite negative, but I decided to try it anyway. Wow! I don't know why some people couldn't get it to work, but take my word, it works wonderfully. In the first two days I caught and relocated six squirrels. There is at least one more around, but I am confident I will get it within 24 hours. Follow the directions and advice in other reviews and you can't go wrong with this trap. It works.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Vernon, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Havahart 1030 and 1079

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Havahart 1030 and Havahart 1079 traps
I have both the 1030 and the 1079 traps. I have caught 55 squirrls that were emptying my bird feeder faster than i could fill it. and 5 woodchucks that were eating my flowers and tomato plants plus 1 possum between the 2 traps. I was using peanut butter on a cracker at first but have switched to just using bird seed for bait. I don't know where all the squirrls are comming from but 2 to 3 new squirrls seam to appear each day. ther must be inviting their friends to come. Both traps work well but on occasion the larger squirrls escape before the door shuts and locks with the smaller 1030 trap because they can reach the bait tray without being all the way in and their tails keeps the door from locking so they can escape. It would be nice if the 1030 trap was about 2" to 4" longer so they would have to be all the way in before it trips. This almost never happens with the 1079 trap plus the 1079 can handle much larger pest. I sure hope that i will run out of squirrls soon! It is a pain relocating them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Yorktown, VA

Animal Cage Trap

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Squirrels were climbing up my brick wall and chewed a hole in my attic fascia board to build a nest.
I set the trap next to the house and caught eight squirrels and one bird in five days. I drove about three miles and set the squirrels free. I used peanut butter and sun flower seeds to bait the trap.
This is an excellent trap, I would not buy a smaller trap for squirrels.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Henrietta, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use and works great

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trap is very easy to set and works great. Excellent way to relocate a pesky rabbit without harming it.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Great product - easy to use

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was successful in ridding my backyard of one oppossum and one rabbit in only the first week of use. Handy tips for baiting, etc., are available on the manufacturer's web site. Trap is very easy to set, and equally easy and safe to extract the animal. Just remember to set the door locks!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Philadelphia, PA

Worked in hours

PostedNovember 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a squirrel that snuck into my basement.
Set it up following the directions with crackers and peanut butter. Came back a few hours late with the squirrel trapped unharmed in the cage.
PERFECT. Price higher in the store than online.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

works great!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works much better than the single door traps. very sensitive release. I haven't even been using bait. The squirrels seem to like running through the trap. I have caught nearly 20 squrrels this season with 2 of these traps.
Pros: Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Newtown, PA 18940, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trap for squirrels.

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the medium trap to catch squirrels before winter nesting. I strapped the cage on my deck railing with 2 bungee cords under my bird feeder and tucked sunflower seeds under the trigger plate. Peanut butter also worked if you placed it on the bottom side of the trigger plate but is slightly messy. Skunks do not climb railing very well and raccoons are too big. Smaller birds can squeeze through the cage wires but I did trap a few birds. Once the squirrel was trapped I covered him with an old towel and moved the cage as soon as possible from my trapping area and let him sit until night. I set the trap at dawn and caught every squirrel in the morning. I caught 11 squirrels in November then another 9 squirrels late January. I drive at least 8 miles over a river and major highway and release them at night.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Fort Worth
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works great for rats

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
bought to catch rats in attic. works great. had three within a couple days. i took other buyers' advice and only opened one door and placed bait on other side of tray (instead of opening both doors and placing bait directly on tray) and it paid off. once i set it up that way, i could see how it would be more effective. the rats in TX are medium-sized kangaroo rats. was concerned this trap would not be the right size, but it's been perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Works great.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use and very effective. Setting it and baiting it are very easy. I caught 2 rodents in the first hour.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Great animal trap!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had the most unfortunate luck of having a squirrel sneak into my house... and although he was rather cute, I needed to evict him ASAP. Though I considered calling someone come and get rid of him, I figured they would most likely charge me an arm and a leg - so I checked out Home Depot and lo and behold they had this trap in stock. It was easy to set up, I threw a piece of bread loaded up with peanut butter inside, and within 24 hours I had my unwanted house guest in custody. The trap worked exactly as it should, and I was quite pleased - it saved me quite a bit of money!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap

Learn how to use it!

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For those of you who had trouble with this, I have found that the most effective way to trap and trigger the cage is by placing the bait UNDERNEATH the trigger plate. This inevitably forces the rodents to lift up the plate and thus trigger the cage to lock them in. I smear a bunch of peanut butter under the plate and no squirrel has ever been able to escape.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from North Dallas area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy-to-Use Product That Works

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our neighborhood has an overabundance of squirrels, and since there are no natural predators to mitigate the population, the numbers continue to grow. Squirrels are interesting to watch as long as they remain in trees, but not when they enter and/or damage your home or dig up your flower beds.
Since purchasing the medium two-door trap, I have captured and relocated 10 squirrels. The trap is easy to set and very effective. A few suggestions. 1. use a tablespoon of peanut butter and insert a few unshelled peanuts in the peanut butter as your bait. 2. If the larger squirrels trip the latch and escape, try setting one door only. 3. Then, place the peanut butter and peanuts on a small piece of cardboard and place in front of the trip plate toward the closed "door." When the squirrel moves toward the bait, it will step on the trigger mechanism and spring the trap door it entered. 4. If you are trapping and relocating, let me recommend that you cover the trap with a large towel to calm the animal. Then, find a wooded area, open one of the doors and enjoy watching the squirrel return to the wild.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Medium 2-Door Animal Cage Trap
from Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caught first squirrel within an hour

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this today and within an hour it had trapped the first squirrel. I went with the recommendations of others and bought this larger trap... and I'm glad I did. The squirrel was driven immediately to a wooded area and released without harm. The trap is very sturdy and the doors lock so it can't escape. You should always wear gloves when handling the trap and it's better to stay away from the cage part. My only recommendations to the manufacturer would be to provide tab on the door and door latch to aid release without getting close too the cage.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>