728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

12-Volt Cordless Inflator

The Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator features a high-pressure pump with a cooling fan for safety. The inflator runs with a 12-Volt battery and has a built-in pressure gauge that makes reading air pressures for car tires simpler. It also features a 15-Amp fuse that helps prevent overheating and comes with a 7.2-Amp sealed lead acid battery for convenient cordless use.
Overall rating:
4.509 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(161 reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product143 of 154reviews
Rating Breakdown 161 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(115)
4
(31)
3
(4)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product143 of 154reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Review 1 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Lighthouse Point, Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Still going strong after 8 years: SUPERB

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had many air compressors for my vehicles, to date this is the best I have owned, and clearly after 8 years is superb with all its use. Most recently my old one let go of another brand I was deciding to purchase another one to go with my new Tesla P85D. After reviewing all the portable air compresses that use the cigarette lighter, I found none made in USA. The vast majority have had poor ratings and cannot inflate sufficiently. I am writing this review after having the product 8 years without failure, and I have inflated as much as 60 psi without any problem. Giving the old one to my wife & buying a new one for my new vehicle. Most reviews are recent usage, 8 years and he keeps on working without a flaw, in the trunk, in Florida heat!!! I do not think you can beat it. The gauge is fairly accurate even after 8 years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, 8 years still works
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice compact compressor

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Really like how you can have a ready to go compressor I put it in the car use it mostly to pump up my bicycle tires before my rides, just don't let the battery go dead says battery life could be diminished love the size easy to operate Gets the job done for sure. Had one of these over ten years ago it was stolen had to get another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product. Pressure gauge inaccurate.

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall a great product. This replaces a corded unit from CH which lasted 15yrs. Cordless is the best. Tire gauge is not accurate which is not unusual on these units. Use this almost daily to keep tires on aluminum rims at pressure. Battery holds a charge for a long time. Also, outer case was scratched in numerous places. Happy with unit so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inaccurate tire gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery or Charger Was Defective

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a great product, but when I received it, I was very disappointed. I charge it for 24 hours and it couldn't even inflate one auto tire. I charged it for another 24 hours and it still wouldn't inflate one tire without running out of battery power. I don't know if the battery was weak or if there was a defect in the charging unit. I returned it to the store for a refund. One thing I did find out when I was searching the web for a solution to the lack of charging is that this model is a DISCONTINUED PRODUCT. Campbell Hausfeld doesn't even carry replacement batteries so being able to get a new battery may not b possible in the future
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, poor battery life
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Minnesota

Highly recommended

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best inflator for home use. I use it to inflate bike tires, playground balls and occasionally a low car tire. It is powerful yet portable. It travels with me to bike rides and is used for multiple bikes. Only inflator that runs on battery yet can be charged with AC. Car charger also included which makes it more versatile. This is the second purchase of this product as I wore our first one out. The battery is replaceable also. Hope they never discontinue this product as I can find no other even close to it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

It's OK

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Mind you, i only use this to air up or inflate tires---so we are talking maybe once or twice a week usage at the most. If you need to inflate tires something else everyday, you may want to consider a commercial, or higher-grade compressor.
What i really love about this inflator is the ability to run cordless; This makes it easy to inflate all tires on the car---no wrestling with the extension cord.
It also seems to have stamina and the battery charge seems to last fairly long; I've inflated a few larger tires, P205/70 R15's, from completely deflated to about 40psi and the inflator does not seem to miss a beat(i think the on-board cooling fan helps?). The battery charge could probably last long enough to inflate all four tires on the car from completely flat to normal psi.
One thing that concerns me is that the gauge may not be super-accurate, but it will get you in the ballpark range. And then you can use an separate gauge to verify.
It has served me well so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from 57049
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Long LIfe Product

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product when moved into an apartment twelve yrs ago. It has held a charge for months at a time and worked flawlessly. A new version, with Ni-Cad battery would be nice............
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from West Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Great I Bought Another One

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Convenient. Dependable. My previous inflator by this manufacturer lasted about 20 years. It always traveled with us, went to Bike day at school, inflated soccer balls and basketballs and blew air through RV water lines to winterize (using a screw-on cap from RV store). Loved it. The battery held a charge for a long time, summer or winter, so we rarely needed to plug it in. The PSI gauge appears to be quite accurate. When it finally quit working, we couldn't imagine how we could find something as good to replace it. Then we found....THE EXACT SAME ITEM! It's already in use and appears to be just as good as our original inflator. It is a bit noisy when inflating things...small price to pay for working well. It has a fuse, right on one end, easy to replace although we never had to do that. It also has 12-volt DC outlet just like a car....portable power. All of the pieces store inside the case. It is small and not too heavy so it's easy to tuck in the van or truck. This makes it so easy to keep the car, bike and trailer tires inflated correctly. Note: this does not jump start a dead car battery. We didn't want the battery clips and thick wires. We didn't need that. Hope this inflator is still being sold many years from now when we need another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, well organized, Convenient, dependable, portable power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from milwaukee, wi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

inflator

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good product, this my second one. the first one lasted 10 years
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Waco,Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seriously, You need to buy this immediately

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Two Part Review.
1. The Product. Listen up Buddy. I might be one of the BEST testimonials on this actual product.
I purchased this same model 10+ years ago from Wal-Mart for $60.00.
Felt I might be rolling the dice again because if you have had any experience with the many, many , many consumer light to medium duty inflators. Then you know probably half of them choke, smoke, seize and die with-in the first dozen uses. Cheap Chinese compressors.
Particularly in most of the multi-function jump start, light, electric outlet models.
Once the compressor smokes, you just get to flush some money away. Again.
Recently, my 10 year old CC2300 cordless inflator, this same model had to be retired.
The battery finally gave out after probably 100 charges over 10years.
The 12volt battery in this is replaceable however, a decent replacement is about $30.00 by itself.
MInd you.. The inflator (compressor )still worked! The battery just couldn't hold a charge anymore.
I'm not sure Campbell Hausfeld is still actively manufacturing the model anymore.
This model only seems available from a handful of sellers.
Another reason to buy it NOW don't hesitate.
I like to mention in the manual though not in the product description here, that it says on a full charge this thing can inflate EIGHT normal car tires to 30-PSI before needing a full recharge.
I think it probably could, might have to take a few breaks in between to let it rest and cool off.
Myself I just wanted to be able to air up two Automobiles on occasion without a hassle.
So, putting 5-10psi in eight tires was easy with this Model inflator.
Normally, would still have a green light or just turning to yellow on the battery when I was done.
The unit once full charged holds most of it's charge for 3-months maybe more.
It is said, "They don't make things like they used too anymore. "
All too often, Things are made to wear out, fail, or just don't meet expectations.
You can buy a nice looking toy inflator or you can buy this Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator.
I might just buy another in reserve, just so, I don't have to worry about what to do 10years from now.
It may look a tad plain Jane, even not that fancy, but it's built to last and it's built to work.
Buy it for yourself. Buy it as a gift. Either way you got a true outstanding value.
Also, you won't have to keep feeding the gas station air pump $1 worth of quarters.
That's if you can even find a gas station with a working air pump anymore. Think about that.
2. Home Depot.. Blew my socks off on this purchase via the website.
On Sunday night, I bought this on the Homedepot.com website and I used the paypal option.
Personally like paypal and find it more Secure, faster, and just easy.
Woke up the next Morning (Monday) and had an email with tracking that my inflator had shipped.
I was like yeah, ok, whatever probably sitting on some freight dock as a paper weight.
The next day (Tuesday) my package arrived (free shipping mind you).
Literally in less than 36-hours after I clicked "buy" I had my New Inflator DIRECT from the manufacturer warehouse. Not a home depot sorting center or some third party. Direct from Campbell Hausfeld !.
Outstanding Home Depot!! Super Kudos.
I am an average educated consumer and this is a completely independant review.
I have no association, nor do not work for Home Depot (Seller ) or Campbell Hausfeld (Manufacturer)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, strong compressor
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Washington, DC
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Campell Hausfeld inflator--If only it worked like it's supposed to!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was prepared to baby the battery as required, but after fully charging it & keeping it at room temperature per instructions, the green charge indicator turned to yellow after not more than a minute of pumping--worse even than other complaints I saw. (Instructions say don't run it on a low charge, or bye-bye battery.) Moreover, the built-in tire guage, which I didn't expect to be fully accurate, never registered anything at all. So I couldn't tell whether it had pumped any air at all into my slightly low tire. I tried again a couple of weeks later, same result, so I very reluctantly returned it--I didn't have time to make a hobby of troubleshooting it. The price was great *if* it had worked properly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Have been using one for years. Design is as robust as ever.

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Charge every 6 months, and this unit will be ready to bail you out of a flat on a moment's notice. Also great for inflating rafts and air mattresses.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tire Inflator

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great light weight inflator. I keep in my vehicle to inflate car tires and bike tires. It has come in handy more times then I can remember.
This is my second inflator. My first one lasted several years before the battery failed. I didn't keep it charged the last year. If you read the instructions, you should charge it on a regular basis. You can order a replacement battery through the manufacture but it cost more then half the price of a new inflator plus you have to install it.
If your battery fails, you can still use via the DC charger.
I have found that when you are inflating a tire and you have reached the tire pressure you want, keep the inflator turned on while taking the hose off of the tire. If you turn off the inflator then disconnect the hose, you can lose some tire pressure. Just a suggestion.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second Campbell Hausfeld portable air compressor. The first one lasted over 15 years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Tucson, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Purchase of Product

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I researched this type of product before purchase. I chose this brand because it plugged in. I already had one that plugged in my car adaptors. What I didn't like after I purchased it was that I could not fill air while it was plugged in. What's the point then. And the fricken yellow light that tells you to charge it again came on the minute I started filling tires with air. So it is a disappointment and I don't like that the information on the HD website did not tell me we cannot fill air while it is plugged into the wall. Disclose fully what it can and can't do.
Cons: stressful to use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Great portable pump!!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this pump to inflate my Quad tires. My Quad is in storage and the tires are flat. I'm ready to use the quad and I need to inflate the tires and this pump did the job and still has battery charge to spare. I'll take it with me on all my road trips!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very functional and reliable. It does the job, even on oversized tires.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is our second one of these, but the first one lasted about 10 years before we finally started having trouble with the battery not taking a full charge any more. We had no other problems with it. We drive a one-ton dually pick-up, and pull a horse trailer. This unit is powerful enough to fill an oversized tire on those vehicles when necessary. It is important to us to have this kind of stand-alone unit, because the cords on the ones that plug into the dashboard power supply will not reach the tires on the trailer. We searched until we found the same brand and same model to buy again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Jupiter, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cute but best with Cars and Sports Equipment

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Three Stars is perhaps too generous. First time use today on RV Tires requiring 50 psi was disappointing. Yes after way too long we got there - 50 psi. Will try on the 80 lb psi tomorrow. I'm disappointed in its umph .
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: weak pressure, takes forever
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Atlanta Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These compressors are the best buy you can get in a portable. This is the third one I have purchased. Took 15 years but I wore out the other 2. I have used it on trucks, cars, campers and an airplane. Can't praise it enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Virginia

Battery doesn't hold a charge

PostedNovember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I originally wanted an inflator that I could plug into the wall. Sure, it's less mobile, but you don't have to worry about charging a battery on something that you use infrequently. Well, I still want a plug-in variety after a year or so with this thing. The battery is real picky about how it's treated (the manual has all sorts of rules about this) and won't hold a charge for anything. I'm on my second battery and it's already gone south. The company did send a new one when the first one ate it, but who needs the hassle. Don't waste your money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>