728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

12-Volt Cordless Inflator

The Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator features a high-pressure pump with a cooling fan for safety. The inflator runs with a 12-Volt battery and has a built-in pressure gauge that makes reading air pressures for car tires simpler. It also features a 15-Amp fuse that helps prevent overheating and comes with a 7.2-Amp sealed lead acid battery for convenient cordless use.
Overall rating:
4.515 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product123 of 131reviews
Rating Breakdown 138 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(99)
4
(27)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product123 of 131reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Review 1 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery or Charger Was Defective

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a great product, but when I received it, I was very disappointed. I charge it for 24 hours and it couldn't even inflate one auto tire. I charged it for another 24 hours and it still wouldn't inflate one tire without running out of battery power. I don't know if the battery was weak or if there was a defect in the charging unit. I returned it to the store for a refund. One thing I did find out when I was searching the web for a solution to the lack of charging is that this model is a DISCONTINUED PRODUCT. Campbell Hausfeld doesn't even carry replacement batteries so being able to get a new battery may not b possible in the future
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, poor battery life
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product. Pressure gauge inaccurate.

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall a great product. This replaces a corded unit from CH which lasted 15yrs. Cordless is the best. Tire gauge is not accurate which is not unusual on these units. Use this almost daily to keep tires on aluminum rims at pressure. Battery holds a charge for a long time. Also, outer case was scratched in numerous places. Happy with unit so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inaccurate tire gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

It's OK

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mind you, i only use this to air up or inflate tires---so we are talking maybe once or twice a week usage at the most. If you need to inflate tires something else everyday, you may want to consider a commercial, or higher-grade compressor.
What i really love about this inflator is the ability to run cordless; This makes it easy to inflate all tires on the car---no wrestling with the extension cord.
It also seems to have stamina and the battery charge seems to last fairly long; I've inflated a few larger tires, P205/70 R15's, from completely deflated to about 40psi and the inflator does not seem to miss a beat(i think the on-board cooling fan helps?). The battery charge could probably last long enough to inflate all four tires on the car from completely flat to normal psi.
One thing that concerns me is that the gauge may not be super-accurate, but it will get you in the ballpark range. And then you can use an separate gauge to verify.
It has served me well so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Campbell Hausfeld portable air compressor. The first one lasted over 15 years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Waco,Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seriously, You need to buy this immediately

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two Part Review.
1. The Product. Listen up Buddy. I might be one of the BEST testimonials on this actual product.
I purchased this same model 10+ years ago from Wal-Mart for $60.00.
Felt I might be rolling the dice again because if you have had any experience with the many, many , many consumer light to medium duty inflators. Then you know probably half of them choke, smoke, seize and die with-in the first dozen uses. Cheap Chinese compressors.
Particularly in most of the multi-function jump start, light, electric outlet models.
Once the compressor smokes, you just get to flush some money away. Again.
Recently, my 10 year old CC2300 cordless inflator, this same model had to be retired.
The battery finally gave out after probably 100 charges over 10years.
The 12volt battery in this is replaceable however, a decent replacement is about $30.00 by itself.
MInd you.. The inflator (compressor )still worked! The battery just couldn't hold a charge anymore.
I'm not sure Campbell Hausfeld is still actively manufacturing the model anymore.
This model only seems available from a handful of sellers.
Another reason to buy it NOW don't hesitate.
I like to mention in the manual though not in the product description here, that it says on a full charge this thing can inflate EIGHT normal car tires to 30-PSI before needing a full recharge.
I think it probably could, might have to take a few breaks in between to let it rest and cool off.
Myself I just wanted to be able to air up two Automobiles on occasion without a hassle.
So, putting 5-10psi in eight tires was easy with this Model inflator.
Normally, would still have a green light or just turning to yellow on the battery when I was done.
The unit once full charged holds most of it's charge for 3-months maybe more.
It is said, "They don't make things like they used too anymore. "
All too often, Things are made to wear out, fail, or just don't meet expectations.
You can buy a nice looking toy inflator or you can buy this Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator.
I might just buy another in reserve, just so, I don't have to worry about what to do 10years from now.
It may look a tad plain Jane, even not that fancy, but it's built to last and it's built to work.
Buy it for yourself. Buy it as a gift. Either way you got a true outstanding value.
Also, you won't have to keep feeding the gas station air pump $1 worth of quarters.
That's if you can even find a gas station with a working air pump anymore. Think about that.
2. Home Depot.. Blew my socks off on this purchase via the website.
On Sunday night, I bought this on the Homedepot.com website and I used the paypal option.
Personally like paypal and find it more Secure, faster, and just easy.
Woke up the next Morning (Monday) and had an email with tracking that my inflator had shipped.
I was like yeah, ok, whatever probably sitting on some freight dock as a paper weight.
The next day (Tuesday) my package arrived (free shipping mind you).
Literally in less than 36-hours after I clicked "buy" I had my New Inflator DIRECT from the manufacturer warehouse. Not a home depot sorting center or some third party. Direct from Campbell Hausfeld !.
Outstanding Home Depot!! Super Kudos.
I am an average educated consumer and this is a completely independant review.
I have no association, nor do not work for Home Depot (Seller ) or Campbell Hausfeld (Manufacturer)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, strong compressor
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Investment

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this exact unit at least 8 years ago and it still is working strong. Filling tires on bikes, tractor, carts or kids' balls has never been easier. Great gauge on it to tell you that your battery strength is getting low and time for a charging. Lasts a reasonably long time. Certainly more than enough to fill up tires on the entire families bicycles. Don't hesitate to purchase it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tire Inflator

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great light weight inflator. I keep in my vehicle to inflate car tires and bike tires. It has come in handy more times then I can remember.
This is my second inflator. My first one lasted several years before the battery failed. I didn't keep it charged the last year. If you read the instructions, you should charge it on a regular basis. You can order a replacement battery through the manufacture but it cost more then half the price of a new inflator plus you have to install it.
If your battery fails, you can still use via the DC charger.
I have found that when you are inflating a tire and you have reached the tire pressure you want, keep the inflator turned on while taking the hose off of the tire. If you turn off the inflator then disconnect the hose, you can lose some tire pressure. Just a suggestion.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Seacoast, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the current model of a unit I received as a gift well over 10 years ago. Good then, good now.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Primary reason for getting a new one is that the universal air valve adapter had finally failed--worn out--and replacing it would have been a significant inconvenience . Also, the battery on the old unit needed replacing. All in all, for roughly an additional $10-$15, I got a new unit rather than trying to repair a 10+ year old one. Would have rated the quality higher had the adapter on the old unit had lasted yet another 10 years! Got my money's worth out of the old unit and expect the same out of the new one. Works like a champ for my needs, primarily keeping car, wheelbarrow and bike tires properly inflated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Chicago

Quality Product

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best portable generator out there. Holds charge for a long time and has good strong pressure. Beats Ryobi hands down. I had a Ryobi and replaced it and have not looked back.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from houston,texas
Gender:Male

AIR COMPRESSOR

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT ONE OF THESE WHEN I WORKED FOR H D.I COULDN,T FIND ONE IN THE STORE SO I ORDERED ONE OVER THE PHONE.I NOT ONLY BOUGHT ONE ,I BOUGHT 2.I TRULY HOPE THESE ARE AS GOOD AS THE LAST ONE I HAD,IT REALLY WORKED GOOD.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect little tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This does exactly what we bought it to do, and it neatly stores all the parts inside the compact structure of the pump. Excellent tool and a good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My purchase was a life saver!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works fantastic. This is coming from a female with no car knowledge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from SW Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Used once so far and it worked for filling 2 car tires and 1 truck

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
2nd one of these units I have had - 1st 1 lasted me10yrs..After doing alot of reading about the others out there I decided to buy a 2nd 1...The new 1 preforms as good as the old 1 so far...I always charge my new battery operated items 24 hrs. the 1st time..and only when the unit says afterwards.The only reason I didn't rate it excellent all the way across - I haven't it it long enough yet to tell.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Hunk of Junk

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry to be the contrarian here, but others deserve to hear my experience. We bought two of these to use in sports classes. Inflating about 30 soccer/basket/foot balls a day, one of the pumps lasted two days. The other a week. Returned them both for replacement units. Neither made it through another week. Switched to the Black n Decker.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from lawrence,new york
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excelllent product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the drill. It is very handy. It is convenient. It is easy to operate. It holds the charge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best portable air pump ever

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had this inflator for more than 10 years, finally battery went bad. I'm just about to buy another one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had this brand name product before (Campbell Hausfeld), then later bougth a Craftsman. CH had it 10 times over the Craftsman

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rechargeable Battery (that has a replacement option)
Size and weight were very manageable.
Easy to transport; great portability.
Pros: All In One
Cons: should be easier to find in more local outlets.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like the portability and convenience.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the third unit I have had. The batteries last about 5-6 years and then I feel it is smarter to buy new then replace only the battery.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, very portable
Cons: battery charging schedule is not easy to remember
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from San Luis Obispo, CA 93401, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

compact cordless rechargeable inflator

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well on inflating my automobile tires. Also includes
12 volt power outlet. A well-constructed and most useful
product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Appleton, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Inflator

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 12 volt cordless inflator for my husband. He loves it. Exactly what he was looking for. Perfect for blow up toys (pool/balls). Home Depot had the best price. I feel we really got our moneys worth. He wants to order a 2nd one for his son!
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>