728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

12-Volt Cordless Inflator

The Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator features a high-pressure pump with a cooling fan for safety. The inflator runs with a 12-Volt battery and has a built-in pressure gauge that makes reading air pressures for car tires simpler. It also features a 15-Amp fuse that helps prevent overheating and comes with a 7.2-Amp sealed lead acid battery for convenient cordless use.
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product128 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(102)
4
(29)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product128 of 136reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Review 1 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Battery or Charger Was Defective

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be a great product, but when I received it, I was very disappointed. I charge it for 24 hours and it couldn't even inflate one auto tire. I charged it for another 24 hours and it still wouldn't inflate one tire without running out of battery power. I don't know if the battery was weak or if there was a defect in the charging unit. I returned it to the store for a refund. One thing I did find out when I was searching the web for a solution to the lack of charging is that this model is a DISCONTINUED PRODUCT. Campbell Hausfeld doesn't even carry replacement batteries so being able to get a new battery may not b possible in the future
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable, poor battery life
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product. Pressure gauge inaccurate.

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall a great product. This replaces a corded unit from CH which lasted 15yrs. Cordless is the best. Tire gauge is not accurate which is not unusual on these units. Use this almost daily to keep tires on aluminum rims at pressure. Battery holds a charge for a long time. Also, outer case was scratched in numerous places. Happy with unit so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inaccurate tire gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

It's OK

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mind you, i only use this to air up or inflate tires---so we are talking maybe once or twice a week usage at the most. If you need to inflate tires something else everyday, you may want to consider a commercial, or higher-grade compressor.
What i really love about this inflator is the ability to run cordless; This makes it easy to inflate all tires on the car---no wrestling with the extension cord.
It also seems to have stamina and the battery charge seems to last fairly long; I've inflated a few larger tires, P205/70 R15's, from completely deflated to about 40psi and the inflator does not seem to miss a beat(i think the on-board cooling fan helps?). The battery charge could probably last long enough to inflate all four tires on the car from completely flat to normal psi.
One thing that concerns me is that the gauge may not be super-accurate, but it will get you in the ballpark range. And then you can use an separate gauge to verify.
It has served me well so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Waco,Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seriously, You need to buy this immediately

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two Part Review.
1. The Product. Listen up Buddy. I might be one of the BEST testimonials on this actual product.
I purchased this same model 10+ years ago from Wal-Mart for $60.00.
Felt I might be rolling the dice again because if you have had any experience with the many, many , many consumer light to medium duty inflators. Then you know probably half of them choke, smoke, seize and die with-in the first dozen uses. Cheap Chinese compressors.
Particularly in most of the multi-function jump start, light, electric outlet models.
Once the compressor smokes, you just get to flush some money away. Again.
Recently, my 10 year old CC2300 cordless inflator, this same model had to be retired.
The battery finally gave out after probably 100 charges over 10years.
The 12volt battery in this is replaceable however, a decent replacement is about $30.00 by itself.
MInd you.. The inflator (compressor )still worked! The battery just couldn't hold a charge anymore.
I'm not sure Campbell Hausfeld is still actively manufacturing the model anymore.
This model only seems available from a handful of sellers.
Another reason to buy it NOW don't hesitate.
I like to mention in the manual though not in the product description here, that it says on a full charge this thing can inflate EIGHT normal car tires to 30-PSI before needing a full recharge.
I think it probably could, might have to take a few breaks in between to let it rest and cool off.
Myself I just wanted to be able to air up two Automobiles on occasion without a hassle.
So, putting 5-10psi in eight tires was easy with this Model inflator.
Normally, would still have a green light or just turning to yellow on the battery when I was done.
The unit once full charged holds most of it's charge for 3-months maybe more.
It is said, "They don't make things like they used too anymore. "
All too often, Things are made to wear out, fail, or just don't meet expectations.
You can buy a nice looking toy inflator or you can buy this Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator.
I might just buy another in reserve, just so, I don't have to worry about what to do 10years from now.
It may look a tad plain Jane, even not that fancy, but it's built to last and it's built to work.
Buy it for yourself. Buy it as a gift. Either way you got a true outstanding value.
Also, you won't have to keep feeding the gas station air pump $1 worth of quarters.
That's if you can even find a gas station with a working air pump anymore. Think about that.
2. Home Depot.. Blew my socks off on this purchase via the website.
On Sunday night, I bought this on the Homedepot.com website and I used the paypal option.
Personally like paypal and find it more Secure, faster, and just easy.
Woke up the next Morning (Monday) and had an email with tracking that my inflator had shipped.
I was like yeah, ok, whatever probably sitting on some freight dock as a paper weight.
The next day (Tuesday) my package arrived (free shipping mind you).
Literally in less than 36-hours after I clicked "buy" I had my New Inflator DIRECT from the manufacturer warehouse. Not a home depot sorting center or some third party. Direct from Campbell Hausfeld !.
Outstanding Home Depot!! Super Kudos.
I am an average educated consumer and this is a completely independant review.
I have no association, nor do not work for Home Depot (Seller ) or Campbell Hausfeld (Manufacturer)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, strong compressor
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Campbell Hausfeld portable air compressor. The first one lasted over 15 years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Solid Light-Duty Performance

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I owned one of these for five years with moderate use before it quit working. Most jobs were motorcycle tires, balls & mattresses. Don't plan to pump your car tires without plugging the unit into AC power. If you need a light duty inflator that is portable this is great. If you need something with lots of power you obviously need to buy something made for that purpose.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, lasted 5 years
Cons: will not do auto tires on battery
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tire Inflator

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great light weight inflator. I keep in my vehicle to inflate car tires and bike tires. It has come in handy more times then I can remember.
This is my second inflator. My first one lasted several years before the battery failed. I didn't keep it charged the last year. If you read the instructions, you should charge it on a regular basis. You can order a replacement battery through the manufacture but it cost more then half the price of a new inflator plus you have to install it.
If your battery fails, you can still use via the DC charger.
I have found that when you are inflating a tire and you have reached the tire pressure you want, keep the inflator turned on while taking the hose off of the tire. If you turn off the inflator then disconnect the hose, you can lose some tire pressure. Just a suggestion.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Snellville, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has large battery to run for a long time. Had one previously that was great but was stolen.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Blfd Hills, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what I wnated

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
portable and easy to use. I like it a lot and use it a lot.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Seacoast, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the current model of a unit I received as a gift well over 10 years ago. Good then, good now.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Primary reason for getting a new one is that the universal air valve adapter had finally failed--worn out--and replacing it would have been a significant inconvenience . Also, the battery on the old unit needed replacing. All in all, for roughly an additional $10-$15, I got a new unit rather than trying to repair a 10+ year old one. Would have rated the quality higher had the adapter on the old unit had lasted yet another 10 years! Got my money's worth out of the old unit and expect the same out of the new one. Works like a champ for my needs, primarily keeping car, wheelbarrow and bike tires properly inflated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very functional and reliable. It does the job, even on oversized tires.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second one of these, but the first one lasted about 10 years before we finally started having trouble with the battery not taking a full charge any more. We had no other problems with it. We drive a one-ton dually pick-up, and pull a horse trailer. This unit is powerful enough to fill an oversized tire on those vehicles when necessary. It is important to us to have this kind of stand-alone unit, because the cords on the ones that plug into the dashboard power supply will not reach the tires on the trailer. We searched until we found the same brand and same model to buy again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

Hunk of Junk

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sorry to be the contrarian here, but others deserve to hear my experience. We bought two of these to use in sports classes. Inflating about 30 soccer/basket/foot balls a day, one of the pumps lasted two days. The other a week. Returned them both for replacement units. Neither made it through another week. Switched to the Black n Decker.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Investment

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this exact unit at least 8 years ago and it still is working strong. Filling tires on bikes, tractor, carts or kids' balls has never been easier. Great gauge on it to tell you that your battery strength is getting low and time for a charging. Lasts a reasonably long time. Certainly more than enough to fill up tires on the entire families bicycles. Don't hesitate to purchase it.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cool little inflator

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the initial 14-16 hour charge, I topped off: wife's car tires, son's bike tires, VW bus tires, boat trailer tires and my 4 runner tires. The yellow light began to barely blink and according to the instructions recharging for 7 to 9 hours is recommended after multiple uses. I consider what I inflated as multiple uses. I don't know why I didn't get this inflator sooner. It sure does beat several trips to the gas station. So far I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had this brand name product before (Campbell Hausfeld), then later bougth a Craftsman. CH had it 10 times over the Craftsman

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rechargeable Battery (that has a replacement option)
Size and weight were very manageable.
Easy to transport; great portability.
Pros: All In One
Cons: should be easier to find in more local outlets.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect little tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This does exactly what we bought it to do, and it neatly stores all the parts inside the compact structure of the pump. Excellent tool and a good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My purchase was a life saver!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works fantastic. This is coming from a female with no car knowledge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Virginia

Battery doesn't hold a charge

PostedNovember 1, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I originally wanted an inflator that I could plug into the wall. Sure, it's less mobile, but you don't have to worry about charging a battery on something that you use infrequently. Well, I still want a plug-in variety after a year or so with this thing. The battery is real picky about how it's treated (the manual has all sorts of rules about this) and won't hold a charge for anything. I'm on my second battery and it's already gone south. The company did send a new one when the first one ate it, but who needs the hassle. Don't waste your money.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy device to have at home on on the go

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's the second one I got. First one stopped working (battery stopped charging) one day after I haven't used it for a while. Not sure if it happened because I didn't charge it for a coupe of months or just because it was time for the battery to be replaced (about 3 years). It is very handy device to add some air to your car tires without going to the gas station or to your bike tires or fill up inflatable balls, etc. that would take supplied tips.
I just wish that this device would still work when you connect it directly to power outlet when its battery needs charging or on its last leg, like some rechargeable shavers do, so you can still use it when around the house. Another thing to wish here is an indicator when it fully charged. As of now you just to have it charge it long enough, wait when charge indicator shows green and hope it's good to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, won't work when battery is dead with power outlet
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
from Colorado

not dependable

PostedJanuary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had two CC 2300 units during the last 4 years. Average life is two years with either the battery being non-chargeable or the compressor just giving up.
I purchased the extra warranty from HD however the units give up about a month after warranty expires. One time is bad luck, twice is poor product.
While it is functional, unit is good and convenient without having to plug into anything external. A new battery costs almost the same as an entirely new unit at HD so it is not worth replacing just the power source.
I looked for other units from other manufacturers but you can't beat it for the price... you just have to replace every two years.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>