728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tires & Tire Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator

12-Volt Cordless Inflator

The Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator features a high-pressure pump with a cooling fan for safety. The inflator runs with a 12-Volt battery and has a built-in pressure gauge that makes reading air pressures for car tires simpler. It also features a 15-Amp fuse that helps prevent overheating and comes with a 7.2-Amp sealed lead acid battery for convenient cordless use.
Overall rating:
4.535 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product114 of 120reviews
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(90)
4
(27)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product114 of 120reviews
Customer reviews for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Review 1 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Mickey57

Highly recommend!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Campbell Hausfeld portable air compressor. The first one lasted over 15 years!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Anonymous

It's OK

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Mind you, i only use this to air up or inflate tires---so we are talking maybe once or twice a week usage at the most. If you need to inflate tires something else everyday, you may want to consider a commercial, or higher-grade compressor.
What i really love about this inflator is the ability to run cordless; This makes it easy to inflate all tires on the car---no wrestling with the extension cord.
It also seems to have stamina and the battery charge seems to last fairly long; I've inflated a few larger tires, P205/70 R15's, from completely deflated to about 40psi and the inflator does not seem to miss a beat(i think the on-board cooling fan helps?). The battery charge could probably last long enough to inflate all four tires on the car from completely flat to normal psi.
One thing that concerns me is that the gauge may not be super-accurate, but it will get you in the ballpark range. And then you can use an separate gauge to verify.
It has served me well so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
David
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product. Pressure gauge inaccurate.

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall a great product. This replaces a corded unit from CH which lasted 15yrs. Cordless is the best. Tire gauge is not accurate which is not unusual on these units. Use this almost daily to keep tires on aluminum rims at pressure. Battery holds a charge for a long time. Also, outer case was scratched in numerous places. Happy with unit so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: inaccurate tire gauge
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Mitch
from Waco,Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seriously, You need to buy this immediately

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Two Part Review.
1. The Product. Listen up Buddy. I might be one of the BEST testimonials on this actual product.
I purchased this same model 10+ years ago from Wal-Mart for $60.00.
Felt I might be rolling the dice again because if you have had any experience with the many, many , many consumer light to medium duty inflators. Then you know probably half of them choke, smoke, seize and die with-in the first dozen uses. Cheap Chinese compressors.
Particularly in most of the multi-function jump start, light, electric outlet models.
Once the compressor smokes, you just get to flush some money away. Again.
Recently, my 10 year old CC2300 cordless inflator, this same model had to be retired.
The battery finally gave out after probably 100 charges over 10years.
The 12volt battery in this is replaceable however, a decent replacement is about $30.00 by itself.
MInd you.. The inflator (compressor )still worked! The battery just couldn't hold a charge anymore.
I'm not sure Campbell Hausfeld is still actively manufacturing the model anymore.
This model only seems available from a handful of sellers.
Another reason to buy it NOW don't hesitate.
I like to mention in the manual though not in the product description here, that it says on a full charge this thing can inflate EIGHT normal car tires to 30-PSI before needing a full recharge.
I think it probably could, might have to take a few breaks in between to let it rest and cool off.
Myself I just wanted to be able to air up two Automobiles on occasion without a hassle.
So, putting 5-10psi in eight tires was easy with this Model inflator.
Normally, would still have a green light or just turning to yellow on the battery when I was done.
The unit once full charged holds most of it's charge for 3-months maybe more.
It is said, "They don't make things like they used too anymore. "
All too often, Things are made to wear out, fail, or just don't meet expectations.
You can buy a nice looking toy inflator or you can buy this Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator.
I might just buy another in reserve, just so, I don't have to worry about what to do 10years from now.
It may look a tad plain Jane, even not that fancy, but it's built to last and it's built to work.
Buy it for yourself. Buy it as a gift. Either way you got a true outstanding value.
Also, you won't have to keep feeding the gas station air pump $1 worth of quarters.
That's if you can even find a gas station with a working air pump anymore. Think about that.
2. Home Depot.. Blew my socks off on this purchase via the website.
On Sunday night, I bought this on the Homedepot.com website and I used the paypal option.
Personally like paypal and find it more Secure, faster, and just easy.
Woke up the next Morning (Monday) and had an email with tracking that my inflator had shipped.
I was like yeah, ok, whatever probably sitting on some freight dock as a paper weight.
The next day (Tuesday) my package arrived (free shipping mind you).
Literally in less than 36-hours after I clicked "buy" I had my New Inflator DIRECT from the manufacturer warehouse. Not a home depot sorting center or some third party. Direct from Campbell Hausfeld !.
Outstanding Home Depot!! Super Kudos.
I am an average educated consumer and this is a completely independant review.
I have no association, nor do not work for Home Depot (Seller ) or Campbell Hausfeld (Manufacturer)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, strong compressor
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Sailor52
from Seacoast, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is the current model of a unit I received as a gift well over 10 years ago. Good then, good now.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Primary reason for getting a new one is that the universal air valve adapter had finally failed--worn out--and replacing it would have been a significant inconvenience . Also, the battery on the old unit needed replacing. All in all, for roughly an additional $10-$15, I got a new unit rather than trying to repair a 10+ year old one. Would have rated the quality higher had the adapter on the old unit had lasted yet another 10 years! Got my money's worth out of the old unit and expect the same out of the new one. Works like a champ for my needs, primarily keeping car, wheelbarrow and bike tires properly inflated.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
RoadDog
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect little tool

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This does exactly what we bought it to do, and it neatly stores all the parts inside the compact structure of the pump. Excellent tool and a good price.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
mrvincent
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the best

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
work perfect for what i need it for..... very good battery ...
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Ricky
from Orland Park, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had this brand name product before (Campbell Hausfeld), then later bougth a Craftsman. CH had it 10 times over the Craftsman

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rechargeable Battery (that has a replacement option)
Size and weight were very manageable.
Easy to transport; great portability.
Pros: All In One
Cons: should be easier to find in more local outlets.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Gina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My purchase was a life saver!!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product works fantastic. This is coming from a female with no car knowledge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
dirtbagger
from Albuquerque, New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cool little inflator

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After the initial 14-16 hour charge, I topped off: wife's car tires, son's bike tires, VW bus tires, boat trailer tires and my 4 runner tires. The yellow light began to barely blink and according to the instructions recharging for 7 to 9 hours is recommended after multiple uses. I consider what I inflated as multiple uses. I don't know why I didn't get this inflator sooner. It sure does beat several trips to the gas station. So far I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Wheels
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Tire Inflator

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great light weight inflator. I keep in my vehicle to inflate car tires and bike tires. It has come in handy more times then I can remember.
This is my second inflator. My first one lasted several years before the battery failed. I didn't keep it charged the last year. If you read the instructions, you should charge it on a regular basis. You can order a replacement battery through the manufacture but it cost more then half the price of a new inflator plus you have to install it.
If your battery fails, you can still use via the DC charger.
I have found that when you are inflating a tire and you have reached the tire pressure you want, keep the inflator turned on while taking the hose off of the tire. If you turn off the inflator then disconnect the hose, you can lose some tire pressure. Just a suggestion.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
StlMan
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy device to have at home on on the go

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's the second one I got. First one stopped working (battery stopped charging) one day after I haven't used it for a while. Not sure if it happened because I didn't charge it for a coupe of months or just because it was time for the battery to be replaced (about 3 years). It is very handy device to add some air to your car tires without going to the gas station or to your bike tires or fill up inflatable balls, etc. that would take supplied tips.
I just wish that this device would still work when you connect it directly to power outlet when its battery needs charging or on its last leg, like some rechargeable shavers do, so you can still use it when around the house. Another thing to wish here is an indicator when it fully charged. As of now you just to have it charge it long enough, wait when charge indicator shows green and hope it's good to go.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features, won't work when battery is dead with power outlet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
nancydrew
from Walcott, Iowas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't used yet.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have no idea if product will fit my expectations. I have not had to use it at this time.
Pros: unknown
Cons: no cons at this time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
chris
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tire inflator

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Me and my father have used this brand of inflator before. We have both used them for years and gotten are monies worth. I purchased another brand only to have it quickly fail twice. My dad asked me for one for Christmas. ..I evaluated the previous reviews and special ordered this for him.It looks identical to the older model we both were pleased with. So I am hoping again he gets many years from this inflator.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Tess0306
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have some old chrome wheels on my truck...and one tire does leak when it gets cold. I was having to stop at stations and pay for air..so I got this small compressor. I am a senior citizen and I can handle it very easily. It takes just a couple of minutes to add the air and I can put it in the truck and carry with me. Well worth the money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
bchazz
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Serves its purpose

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It has served its purpose thus far and it is easy to use since there it doesn't have to be plugged in. My complaint is that it does not have a pressure regulator and it has to be disconnected to check air pressure for whatever you are inflating, this is a nuisance.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
geezer
from ilinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bought one 2 years ago. the internal charging transformer malfunctioned. had to purchase another new unit. unit performed well intill "burn-out"

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
bought one 2 years ago. internal transformer just burnt-up. had to buy another new unit.
Pros: All In One
Cons: limited life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Horseowner
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is very functional and reliable. It does the job, even on oversized tires.

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our second one of these, but the first one lasted about 10 years before we finally started having trouble with the battery not taking a full charge any more. We had no other problems with it. We drive a one-ton dually pick-up, and pull a horse trailer. This unit is powerful enough to fill an oversized tire on those vehicles when necessary. It is important to us to have this kind of stand-alone unit, because the cords on the ones that plug into the dashboard power supply will not reach the tires on the trailer. We searched until we found the same brand and same model to buy again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, Powerful
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Deac
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly What I Was Looking For

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've looked at those 12v inflators you have to plug into a car's power outlet and I've looked at and used those bulky 120v compressors with attached air tanks, but for quick small to medium inflation jobs this Campbell Hausfeld Cordless Inflator beats them both hands down.
And there is nothing more convenient than using it anywhere without having to plug it in.
The latches on the bay covers won't stand much abuse, but as for the compressor itself and the battery charger. like I said it is exactly what I was looking for.
Bicycle tires (90psi), air mattresses, inner-tubes, car, cargo trailer and riding lawn mower tires, volleyballs, basketballs and footballs a snap. I've even used it to power pneumatic tools for small jobs.
Definitely worth the money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, inexpensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12-Volt Cordless Inflator
Bob1
from Fairfax, VA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, needs a better caution

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this compressor. My 2 year-old compressor would not hold a charge and I determined it was because I operated it while charging it. Now that I've reread the instructions, this one should last a long time...or I'll offer another review.
Customer service and shipping were outstanding. I received it before the due date and the Home Depot person was very helpful.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>