728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer

2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer

The RIDGID 2-1/8 in. 18-Gauge Brad Nailer offers lighter weight and better handling due to a magnesium housing. The molded rubber handle and trigger offer greater user comfort for extended use. The nailer features a tool-free jam release and depth-of-drive feature for quick and convenient adjustments while working. A lock-out feature helps prevent dry firing for a more consistent driving pattern. The oil-free motor eliminates the need for daily oiling and provides consistent power with the internal piston catch. A rafter hook and tool hanger are included for convenient storage and transport.
Overall rating:
4.829 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
99%of customersrecommend this product74 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(73)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
99%of customersrecommend this product74 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
Review 1 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from NKY

Great features and extremely usable

PostedMay 1, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only been using this nailer for about a month, but the oil free design, quick nail reloads, easy to adjust depth setting, and wide range of fastener size make this worth tool worth its weight in gold. Seemingly minor features such as the ability to adjust the exiting air and the swivel air inlet (huge bonus) are a testament to the thought and design that Rigid put into this tool.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer

Solid/Reliable

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In deciding between this and the bostich 18 gauge, I was originally sold by the quick jam clearing latch of the rigid. Then I read the reviews of the two and the rigid was 5 stars all of the way. Can't be happier. Works like it is supposed to. No jams, every nail goes like it is supposed to so far 3 weeks into using it. I also have come to like the placement of the safety under the nail opposed to on top of the gun like most other manufacturer. Great quality so far for a great price. Only wish the bag was a hard case, at the very least give you a pocket or container to keep nails in.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Modesto, CA.

Great Brad Nailer

PostedNovember 8, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A great brad nailer to have, no complaints. It has alot of power, quiet, and doesn't use oil making it easy to use. Not to heavy, and has many great features, like the belt hook, and the tool-free jam release. I believe it is probably one of the best brad nailers on the market. I would recommend this product to others.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Somerset, MA

Nice Nailer!!

PostedFebruary 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this nailer up a few weeks ago to go with my new Ridgid air compressor. I wanted something that was powerful, quick and affordable. This piece is all that and then some. It has a depth adjuster on it so you can control how far the nail head is recessed. I have also found that there isn't a wood hard enough for this powerful gun. It has pushed nails into any wood I've used it on. I can see that home improvement projects will be finished much quicker with this. I can't wait to pick up the finish and framing nailer and start building a shed for my yard!! Great tool and the price isn't bad either. Definitely worth it!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Kitsap County, WA

Best bang for your buck.

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little pin nailer. Easy to use, adjust, load, and clear jams (not many to clear in 4 years of use). I do add a drop of oil before ea. use and drive a couple of brads into a scrap block to discharge oil from exhaust. The reason I do this is I have used other nailers that claimed to be oil free and have burned them up. After rebuilding them, I lubricated them and had no further issues.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Allen Park, MI

Great Nailer!

PostedJune 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reviewed several other brands of brad nailers and decided to purchase this one. What a great product! I actually got it for $99 at home depot store and not the online price of $109. Everything about this nailer feels right. Works great, quiet, easy to clear nail jams if there ever is any. None yet! Oil less, dry fire lock, belt hook, etc. Lots of great features. Easy to load fasteners. Ability to use from 5/8ths to 2 1/8 is great! A lot of other nailers only allow 1 length of fastener. Once you register the tool you qualify for the Lifetime Service Agreement offered by Ridgid. Can't beat that. I would highly recommend this tool.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Denver

Awesome

PostedAugust 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been dealing with mounting frustration using my Bostitch 18ga nailer for over 3 years. Every time I grabbed the thing, I'd also grab a pair of pliers to pull out the inevitable partially sunk nails. When putting up some MDF door trim yesterday and seeing this thing only sink the nails 1/4", I threw it in the trash and bought the RIDGID......WOW! This is what a brad nailer should be. The differences between the Ridgid and Bostitch are overwhelming! Everything about the Ridgid is better, feel, sound, loading, and most importantly...the operation. Every nail sunk to the proper depth and with authority. I also appreciate that Ridgid provides a selectable single shot or bump shot trigger. Amazing product that I HIGHLY recommend.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Wisconsin
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome brad nailer

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ridgid did another great job with this tool. They made it so easy to use even my girlfriend uses it for putzing around in the wood shop. I've had it for about a month now and installed all the trim in our basement and haven't had any problems with it. It worked flawlessly! If you're looking for a great brad nailer at a good price I'd definitely recommend this.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Maine

The Ideal Brad Nailer!

PostedDecember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am quite new to air tools in general, but I have been in wood working for years, and it did not take me long to discover that this is the ideal brad nailer! It handles a full range of 18 gauge brads, from 5/8-2-1/8! The swivel connector makes for easy maneuvering and reduced hose kinking. All the features are tool-less adjustments, from the trigger selector and depth adjustment, to the jam release. I've fired hundreds of brads and no sign of a jam any time soon. All these great features and an oil-less design makes for very tidy, trouble free nailing, even hardwoods!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from No. CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a time saver!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my son-in-law bought this nailer to replace the molding his house I decided to buy my first nailer. I wish I had gotten one 20 years ago. I used it to put new molding in our kitchen, it worked like a charm. This is a well built tool by a reputable company, easy to use and dependable.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Middle of nowhere Ozarks

Does what it's supposed to

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finishing a 2 story house using 3/4 & 1" oak, cherry and walnut. my old brad nailer was having trouble sinking the 2" brads. Due to the warranty offered with Ridgid tools I'm replacing everything with Ridgid as it wears out. I'm very happy with the performance of the brad nailer so far
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Fox Lake, IL

the Ridgid nail gun

PostedJanuary 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is one of the best if not the best nail gun i have ever used. I am happy to say it is worth every penny and it has never let me down. this is a very easy to use, noncomplex tool and i have never had a single problem with it. many people i work with recomend this tool and i am recomending it to all of my readers because it is a high quality, efective tool.
-please excuse any errors in spelling and punctuation, ater all in high school i got a b- in englesh and an a+ in woodshop.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Grand Rapids, MI

Must have tool!

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent tool straight out of the box. Shot about 2000 nails without 1 jamb or a single nail that didn't drive to the desired depth. I thought it was a tool I could do without and on a whim decided to buy one. Can't live without it now. Frees up wood clamps in a hurry. Don't believe their is a better brad nailer out there. Rigid....you definitely put alot of thought into this nailer. I'll build up my tool collection with your finish nailer and framer next!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer

Great Brad Nailer!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I own several other brad nailers, this is the only one that I don't have to put oil in and that is a really great thing. This gun shoots all brands of brads without fail. It originally was part of a two gun kit with the other gun being the Ridgid 16 ga. straight nailer, both are outstanding!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Upstate, SC

Awesome product

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is probably one of the best brad nailers I have ever owned, and it is the only one I have ever owned that comes with a LIFETIME serivce warranty. The brads shoot very nice and another great feature is that it will not fire when there is no brad so you know you are empty and it does not beat up your molding or quarter round. You want find a better price and warranty.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Puyallup, WA

A Comprehensive Brad Nailer

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great little oil-less 18 gauge nailer. The combination of balance and light weight meld together superbly. I test drove both its Hitachi and Porter-Cable counterparts before happily settling on the Ridgid. It has all the "bells and whistle" along with power to spare. Whether driving 1 or 10,000 nails you won't be disappointed with this Brad Nailer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Norton Ma

Best of all nailers

PostedNovember 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a porter cable (BN125) nailer that continually jammed stuck and would not work Frustrated I purchased a Ridid brad R213BNA nailer and boy what a difference fires well, uses up to a 2"1/2 brad and NO OIL needed plus a lifetime garrantee!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, cuts down on time.

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price, and with this warrantee, a great deal. Handy, light, and quick.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing Value!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keep in mind that I caught this beauty on sale for just under half the price so it was hard to go wrong. After using it for several jobs I can assure you that the full price tag is still a good value.
It accepts Rigid and Porter Cable brads. I've put about 300 through with no hangs. There's plenty of power with my small compressor. You can blow brads straight through a 1/4" piece of pine if you don't have it set correctly.
The best feature is the adjustable exhaust. It makes it perfect for working on small projects with odd angles. Just flip the exhaust and tilt the nailer however you need.
It also comes with a soft carrying bag that comes in handy. It doesn't off much protection but it looks nice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: no hard case
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-1/8 in. x 18-Gauge Brad Nailer
from Charleston, SC

PostedAugust 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a custom home builder and one who does fine woodworking in my spare time, i would definitely recommend this brad nailer. The depth adjustment, wide choice of brad sizes, and tool free jam clearing are great things to have in a nailer. The belt hook is a nice feature also. If you're looking for a solid performer then look no further.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>