728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Split logs with ease using the Ryobi 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter. The log splitter uses 4 tons of RAM splitting force to split logs up to 20 in. long and 12 in. in diameter. Made of durable steel, the log splitter features a dependable 1.75 HP electric motor, and it comes with wheels for easy transport. 4 tons of RAM splitting force can split logs up to 20 in. long and 12 in. in diameter.
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product97 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product97 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 1 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Seattle, WA

Bought Based on Other Reviews

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wondered if this Ryobi would do the job. Based on other reviews we bought it. Fantastic product! We had an old dead maple tree in our back yard which a tree removal company cut down, leaving the limbs and much of the trunk in less than 20" sections. The wood was so dead it was already dry and well seasoned for firewood, and the Ryobi handled all of it like a breeze. Probably not supposed to say this, but 15" diameter sections split effortlessly, and it even handled "crotched" sections without a problem. Can't understand why anyone would spend $1,000 more when this machine is available! We had a nice blazing fire in the fireplace tonight!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Flagstaff,AZ

saved me weeks

PostedSeptember 2, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow!
Our firewood in the high desert is twisted and all knots. My wife and I split about three cords the other day (and stacked it) in about 6 hours.!! Knots, 16" rounds, wet, didn't matter. this little splitter went right at it! My only gripe is the levers are about a foot from the ground which keeps you stooped over for operation. I'm going to put it on a work table next time.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from RTP, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned my Ryobi splitter for several seasons now and it's been a real workhorse. When I pulled it out at the start of the second season it wouldn't split a log. But I soon realized that I'd let the hydraulic fluid leak. I added more fluid, cycled it a couple of times, and it was back to it's old self and splitting logs like a champ! I've been very pleased with this purchase.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WOW!!!!!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this with the intentions of it barely doing what I hoped for. I knew Home Depot would take it back no questions asked if that was true. So I took the chance. When I got it home and started using it, I was shocked as to how big of logs it could actually split. I was able to split 75-85% of a "white ash" tree that I cut down. The only logs it would not split was the "real" big ones torward the base. I was able to manuver it around and widdle away at the edges and eventually split it all without using a splitting maul. For a homeowner who burns for the enjoyment of watching a fire, and not to heat the home, this is a perfect thing to have. 5 tons of pressure is plenty to split any typical log.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Monroe, UT

Work Horse

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this in 2008 and have used it for three years now. I split juniper, pine, aspen and fur in rounds up to 16" in diameter. Those logs that are too hard to split such as juniper, I'll first cut in half with the chain saw and then split. This doesn't have the power to split Chinese elm, but makes easy work of everything else. When this machine ever dies, I'll purchase another one.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from toledo ohio

pleasantly surprised

PostedJanuary 1, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have a 25# maul that i use to split firewood. when i was 20 it was "easy". i'm 43 now and was looking for "easier". i found it in the ryobi log splitter. i live in toledo ohio and began heating with wood 2 years ago. i needed quiet and affordable and the ryobi fit the bill. i cannot say enough about that little splitter. it handled all but the nastiest chunks with ease. many of the logs were a "bit" larger than 12", and did require some rolling around and swapping end for end, but at the end of the day my 25# maul never made it out of the shop, and the ryobi never missed a beat. assembly took about 3 minutes and within 10 minutes of opening the box i was plugged in and splitting wood. i suggest setting it up on some sort of platform (concrete blocks, etc.) as the controls are very low and seemed to get even lower as the pile got higher. that is the only thing i would change. it is real easy to move around and takes up very little precious floor space as it can be stored on end. it is extremely portable, surprisingly strong, easy to operate, quiet, safe, and should be considered by anybody in the market for a log splitter.
+15points
22out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use - Powerful beyond specs!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just used this magnificient little device on some pieces I couldn't even lift onto the device. Actually has to leverage them on with a hand truck. The wood was green from the recent Oct storm in MA, but it still split them without any problems. Even if all you had to do is split a half cord of wood, this still worth every penny!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Green Bay, WI. Area

value

PostedOctober 12, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Read most of the reviews prior to purchase. Thanks to all for openess and honesty. I would rate this between 4 and 5 star in that it perfoms as designed based on sizing of wood at 20 inch long by 12 inch diameter pieces. As other reviewers have stated, using the same method as one would using a maul by splitting off edges first, it handled some pretty tough and bigger pieces. Also found that cutting a slot about 4 inches deep with the chainsaw gave it an advantage on the big pieces. For the most part it performed very well splitting about two full cords. Does not like black willow though. The bending over gets old after awhile. I am thinking about raising it up 12 to 16 inches. My buddy and I are (pun) splitting the cost and sharing the unit so for 150 bucks this is a steal. Now I hope it outlasts the 2 year warranty. Good luck to all.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Ovid, MI 48866, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this little splitter

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been heating with wood for 5 years 3 of them with this Ryobi. There is never been a problem with this splitter it just works providing you use it properly. If you dry your wood properly it will split all but the knottiest wood. This splitter is a real trooper I have spit roughly 36 cord so far and it is still going strong. My only warning is don't try to go to fast it is not a speed splitter dedicate time to its use. With two people you can move at a good steady pace and have a lot of wood split at the end of the day. Over all its worth the price and saves your back.
On a side not I have many ryobi tools in my collection including outdoor power equipment and have never had a real issue. Many people say they are cheap junk! It is very much in the way you treat your tools and equipment, read the instructions a follow the care guidelines and your tools no matter the brand will serve you well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Raleigh North Carolina

Another great product from Ryobi

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've always used and trusted Ryobi tools and after reading all the positive reviews about the 4 ton log splitter had no reservations about purchasing one.
I lucked out and got a display model for $200 bucks but would have gladly paid the $299 regular price.
I used it to split green pecan wood that was cut in 18 to 20 inch pieces with a max diameter of 16 inches.
Great product and I highly recommend it.
It will bind up if you try to split too large a piece . Branch knots also will bind it up. Like anything else you have to get use to it. I can operate the power button and ram lever both with one hand. It's not designed for that but it frees up your left hand to hold the log if needed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Durango, CO
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

A woman can easily run this splitter! I need help getting it up open, wood stairs, but the rest is easy!

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used my Ryobi RY49701 splitter for 6 years and it is easy for me to use! Still going strong!! Makes life great in the Colorado mountains when using a wood-burning stove. Logs are split easier and quicker! Kindling in nothing flat!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Florissant, Colorado

Lovin it

PostedApril 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this log splitter last year after realizing that at 65 I have gotten too old to split wood by hand. For the other ladies out there, this splitter is the greatest. It works best for me when I get it up off of the ground. I usually put it up on the ATV trailer and that makes it the right height. I have split several cords with it now and have not had any problems with it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Ohio

Good working at a better height

PostedNovember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read many of the reviews on this log splitter prior to buying it. Most writers considered the low working height a major problem. I made up a 3/4x15x36 inch table with border and placed it on adjustable saw horses. This put my log loading height at 43 inches. I then just split logs into a very long weekend. This little tool just kept going and going. I even tried some larger logs, and when the grain was correct it blasted through them OK. I have three very nice stacks of split wood now and will have more this long weekend. A very nice product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Brookfield, CT

Worth every penny

PostedMay 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is amazing considering the price and size. I read the reviews and it seemed worth the risk.
Well my first day out I split some pretty large logs, some over 20 inches in diameter. This log splitter had no problem. It's also nice and quiet and you don't need to wear ear protection and you won't stink of gas and exhaust when you're done splitting.
The next best thing is that it is small and easy to store and there is very little maintenance so the overall cost of ownership is very good. This splitter is built very well and is a good investment.
Keep in mind this is not a commercial log splitter but it will handle most of the logs you'll ever feed it. Keep a wedge and a sledgehammer around for the few stubborn logs that need a start.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Canandaigua, NY

Makes log splitting fun

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This last winter I started heating with wood again. It did not take me long to realize that I am not 21 any more (I'm 49) and I dislocated my shoulder while splitting wood. My wife talked me into purchasing this electric log splitter which I told her was not heavy duty enough to split wood. Well imagine my surprise when I had to admit I was wrong. This little gem split everything I threw at it. I highly recommend this.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from SW OHIO

I'm a believer!

PostedJune 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have cut and split many cord of firewood in my life time and I was very skeptical when I first saw this little splitter but when I read the reviews I felt better about giving it a chance and after using it now for 3 days it has defiantly made a believer out of me! I have really given it a great test and so far it's been fantastic! No way would I ever spend $1000+ on a splitter when this one works almost as good!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Boston, MA

Good unit, with some limits

PostedJune 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I burn a lot of wood to heat during the winter. It sure beats paying $2.50/gallon for home heating oil. I've found there's a lot of free wood out there to be had. But it requires owning a decent chain saw and the means to split the logs. A $1500 gas-powered hydraulic splitter would take a couple of years to pay for itself.
When I saw all the glowing reviews for this Ryobi splitter, it seemed like it would be worth the money. Well, I'm at the end of day one and I'll admit that it saved me a lot of maul, wedge and hammer work. But for all the reviews that talked about this unit splitting *anything*, I've got some news for you.
The Ryobi splitter was impressive. It split some pretty big pieces. But it also couldn't handle some hickory and poplar logs that I tried to split. It pushed the wedge about a 1/4 inch into the log and just gave up. Guess I won't be retiring the wedge and sledge hammer after all.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Belvidere, Illinois

suprising power

PostedNovember 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product not really sure that it was as good as the reviews I was reading. To my surprise, it was. Plenty of power to split full size logs. Even hardwoods like oak split realitivly easy as long as it wasn't all knotted. My only complaint is what others have said. The operating lever is to low to the ground. All in all, I'm very satisified with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Hagerstown, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Product!!!!!!

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had this splitter about 4 years and have split alot of wood with it. Excellent buy for the money. I would definitely reccomend this log splitter for anyone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from New Jersy

A little wonder

PostedMay 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little splitter is terrific considering the price.
Other reviewers have complained a bit about its so low they needed to put it on a table to comfortably work the 2 starting controls. A better solution is to obtain a 3 foot stick or pole for pushing the yellow handle, and step on the blue button with your foot. This way you don't have to lift the heavy logs so high.
The second complaint is that it will not split some logs. First of all, it is only 4 ton--but aside from that I didn't have any problems after I learned the following-
If the log doesn't split, try rotating it 90 deg. If there is still a problem, flip the log lenghtwise. If that doesn't work, roll the log toward you on the yellow bar, and run out the ram to "slice" off a piece, then keep rolling and slicing. By doing this I was able to easily split even 20 inch diameter logs that were fresh cut.
Splitter is a little slow compaired to a 250 lb, 6'5" guy swinging a maul, bit for this old guy it is just the ticket.
For the price it is the real deal.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>