728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Log Splitters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

Split logs with ease using the Ryobi 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter. The log splitter uses 4 tons of RAM splitting force to split logs up to 20 in. long and 12 in. in diameter. Made of durable steel, the log splitter features a dependable 1.75 HP electric motor, and it comes with wheels for easy transport. 4 tons of RAM splitting force can split logs up to 20 in. long and 12 in. in diameter.
Overall rating:
4.772 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product97 of 99reviews
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(86)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product97 of 99reviews
Customer reviews for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
Review 21 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Gill Hall, PA

Good buy !!

PostedFebruary 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool works even better than the manufacturer claims. I purchased this tool after some research and chose it due to the name Ryobi and my satisfaction with other tools they make. This pup has split a halfed 22 inch thick log of dark cherry wood. I also have used it on some large red oak and it did well with that also. The real beauty of this machine is I use it inside the house with the doors closed when it is cold outside. Never worry about it not starting, never needs gasoline, low noise levels and it fits in the trunk of a car. It is very low to the ground and hard on the back, just raise it up with some stumps or build a table. Great if you burn alot like I do, just buy it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter

electric log splitter

PostedJune 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Most certainly pleased with the performance of this. Easily split oak logs up to 12" dia. I could split logs that were 14" dia. by just splitting the sides off first. The only negative things that I could find is that it takes two hands to operate the ram controls. I suppose that this is a safety thing. Also, you just have to get it up on something to avoid a sore back from bending down to operate the controls. I find by placing it on my snowmobile trailer to be the perfect level. The split pieces can be stacked on the trailer for easy disposal later. This product is well worth the money I spent.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Evanston, Illinois

unbelievable tool!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just spent a weekend with friends in southern Michigan who heat their home by burning wood. They bought this Ryobi log splitter two years ago and it doesn't show any age except for scratches on the splitting wedge. That is fantastic considering that it has seen two years of hard work. While there, we spent a couple afternoons splitting a mixture of hard and soft woods. This tool went through its paces without a grunt! Once you know how to load logs so that the wedge splits the wood in the direction of the trees natural growth, it has no problems with branched logs or knots. The split just flows around any knots or branches with ease. Logs larger than the specified 12' max are split by simply shaving off sections versus trying to split it in half with the first pass.
We have a summer home in the forests of northern Minnesota where I have been struggling each summer with a maul and splitting wedge to get fire wood for our wood burner up there. My wife and I are so excited about this splitter that we can't wait until we get up there this coming spring so that we can get one to use for ourselves. As soon as we have unpacked the car with all our gear, we are going to the nearest Home Depot store and pick up one of these real work horses. My only fear is that Home Depot will be out of stock.
Have no fear. This splitter won't let you down!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Philly, PA

Most Valuable Equip purchase ever (wife agrees)

PostedOctober 9, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For those homeowners needing to split wood for a wood-burning stove, look no further. My wife's coworker (owns 9 acres of land and cuts cords every day), laughed at a 4-ton electric splitter compared to his 27-ton gas splitter. When I told him that it split logs 22 inches in diameter, he wasn't laughing anymore. Granted, this machine isn't for those that need to cut cords of wood every day or have logs >25" in diameter, but for the average homeowner with a couple of trees that were cut down and need to be split, this cannot be beat - esp. at this price!!!
As far as specific thoughts on the machine, here goes:
1 - Wood that has been seasoned at least half a year should split easily. I was splitting oak about 5 months after being chopped down.
2 - I'm not sure what the actual description says, but this thing can split pieces around 2 feet in diameter. You'll have more difficulty picking up that wood and putting it on, than it splitting it.
3 - Wood with grains going in different directions can be a bit difficult at times, esp. Y-shaped ones. Rotating the piece to find the right spot for splitting is required for these pieces. After about 3 cords of wood, there was only one that I couldn't split fully.
4 - Wet wood (from rain) does not split as easily. This is true with most splitters at the 4 ton range though.
5 - The product is very sturdy, and can take quite a bit of abuse. I've dropped at least 125lb logs on there, with no problem.
6 - Splitter was ready to go in about 5 minutes after opening the box. Simply put on the wheels, and "voila."
7 - If you need to use the splitter in an area not near an outlet, do not use some cheap extension cord. Purchase one with a higher ampere. The lower amperes ones do not transfer power adequately, and will decrease the force (tons) for splitting.
Overall, I'd recommend this to anyone. For the price, this CANNOT be beat!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Madison, CT

The Little Splitter that Could

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little splitter is awesome and the value is outstanding. We have had ours for a year now and it has never let me down. Last year I split over 5 cords of oak. Many of the logs were very large (2 feet in diameter) and this machine had virtually no problem. This year I am splitting some really large Poplar and it it going through the large logs with almost no effort.
I share the same complaint that the splitter is low to the ground and it requires two hands. However, for the money I give it an A+.. You'll have to spend a lot more money to get a better splitter than this.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Sturgis, MS

Great little machine!

PostedApril 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having read ALL the reviews, and finding them very helpful, I convinced my husband we needed to purchase this log splitter-and we're really pleased we did! It is small, compact, and tuff. We set it up in minutes, christened it with a seasoned log, and happily laughed as it popped the log in slow motion before our eyes. EASY! We only tried a few splits, (our burning season is nearly over and we don't want a wood pile just now) but feel confident it will be our "friend" next fall. I told my husband I volunteered to do the splitting now that we have this useful tool!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Nevada

Simply Amazing!

PostedJanuary 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on all the reviews, i decided to purchase this splitter. Wow, was i surprised by its performance! In the high desert we have pinyon pine, juniper, and lodgepole pine. This splitter handled it all with ease. It even split rounds that were"slightly" larger than recommended. I am very pleased with this splitter. I had been using my neighbors 20 ton gas powered unit, so i had high expectations. This little splitter met every expectation i had, and then some. Very pleased!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Kentucky

Wow....what an amazing tool

PostedMarch 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the recent ice storms that devestated Kentucky, I lost about 25 trees all over the place and need to get them cleaned up. I was about to spend $1000 on a gas hydraulic splitter, but then read the reviews for this one and went ahead and bought it. WOW.....what an amazing and smiple to use tool. Like others said, out of the box and splitting wood in under ten minutes. My wife thought it was fun and did the button pushing while I sawed up the logs and loaded them on!
We put it up on a deck about 2' off the ground and put a tarp under it and cranked out more wood than I could believe. Wheels make it easy to transport....didn't find a single log it would split and we're talking about GREEN wood that is still very wet from recent rain and snow.
I'm no lumberjack....but this is one great splitter for the price. If you need a lightweight spiltter, this is great!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Tahoe City, CA

Great Tool

PostedAugust 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife ordered up a bunch of tree rounds for firewood that I had planned to split by hand. When I saw the pile of 24-30" tree trunks, I knew it was time for an easier method. After doing a bunch of research, I settled on the Ryobi because it seemed like a great value for the money.
I haven't been disappointed after making short work of a dozen rounds. This is green wood and either pine or fir. The Ryobi splitter handles half rounds up to 27" with a little difficulty and quarter rounds with no problem at all, except for knots. It's easy to use. I like the fact that you have to use both hands to operate it - great safety feature IMHO Like many others, I wish it was a bit taller but that's not a hard problem to solve.
Setup took ten minutes, and only because I managed to misplace one of the washers for the wheels.
Overall, a great machine at a very fair price..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from East Texas

Great Splitter for the Deer Lease

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Ryobi splitter is great for the deer lease. We only have gasoline powered generators at our lease, and this splitter works well on generator power. We use it for splitting oak, and some pine that has dried out. I let my eleven year old son operate it, because it keeps him busy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Dennisville, New Jersey

This splitter really works

PostedJanuary 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this splitter for my husband. He can't say enough good things about it. For the money it is so practical. It split seasoned wood will no problems. It even split some that were about 20 in. in diameter. Great buy!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from northern california

PostedApril 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This splitter is amazing! I have split some "decent" sized rounds and for the size it will compete with any larger unit.Also you would have to be a moron to get hurt operating it, a little plus.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Columbus, Ohio

Excellent Value!

PostedJuly 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews and was able to get an accurate description of what this little guy can do and they are all true. This is an "excellent value" for the money. Buy it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Chicago, Il.

Perfect For The Everyday Homeowner!

PostedDecember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like most, I read other reviews and made my decision based on what I needed and how much I was willing to pay. It's a great piece of equipment for the money! Raising it up on something sturdy to does help immensely. It's compact, sturdy (a bit heavy, so be careful when lifting it), and performs flawlessly for what the needs of an everday homeowner needs. I only wish it had a foot pedal in place of the push button to turn it on, but I understand for safety reason why it was designed that way (two hand operation forces you to keep clear). If your spliiting for personal needs and don't have deep pockets, this is what you have been looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from ARIZONA

RYOBI LOG SPLITTER

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
CANT SAY FNOUGH GOOD ABOUT THIS PRODUCT.IT EVEN SPLIT GNARLY OAK WITH EASE!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Seattle, WA

Two thumbs up

PostedDecember 16, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Count be in as another believer. My house has a small wood stove in the family room that throws a lot of heat. I've had at least a dozen Doug Fir trees in my yard felled in the last 2 years. Last year I gave away a boatload of wood. Not this year. Had I owned this unit last year I would have saved a wad of cash on my heating bill by burning more wood. If you keep the length of you logs at around 12" you can split 20" Doug Fir rounds with ease. It even splits green Doug Fir. I figure this puppy will pay for itself this winter in reduced heating bills. MUCH faster than using a maul. No more chasing log halves and no aching back. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from New York State

Best 300 splitter

PostedMay 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First let me say that I did not believe this thing would work as well as people said it would- not for $300. I know that it had a great rating and Roybi has a good rep- but I used to split wood all winter long at a job once- so I know a bit about splitting. Well I was amazed at how well this worked. I have some 6 month old pine that is difficult to work with just a maul and that is why I go this. NOTHING has even slowed it down yet (some chunks are way more than the recommended limit). OK pine was no problem- but I also have some seasoned wild apple that I use for splitting blocks- I've tried and failed even with a wedge to knock this stuff apart. Loaded a nice 40 Lb chunk onto the splitter and it tore it apart! I'm not saying the splitter did not work at it because it did- but it hardly slowed down and the only sign of any struggle was a bit louder whine from the motor. This is one amazing splitter and worth every penny. About my only complaint is that it sits low to the ground- although this does make it very easy to load real heavy stuff. I also dislike the requirement for the 2 switches- but it does keep my hands out of the way and would let a rookie avoid a potential pinched finger or hand. I'm not sure how this will work with green wood as I never split green anyway- but for seasoned wood from pine to apple this works like a charm and does not break the bank- Oh and I love using it in the garage when its raining out- makes me feel like I'm cheating Ma nature. Once my Dad sees this He's gonna want one too!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Connecticut

Awsome Tool

PostedSeptember 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 12" to 14" oak logs and this splitter went through without hesitation. It's sturdy and stable but small enough to roll around the yard and use in a small place. If you have a pile of logs you're not carrying them to the splitter. Large 12" "Y"-shaped pieces with the grain and knots going in a few different directions actually stopped it (here's where you remember that you didn't spend a ton of money for it) but regular straight logs split with ease. Hint: The instructions say to loosen the bleeeder 2-3 turns. That may not be enough. I unscrewed mine to expose a quarter inch of threads and it started to work right. For the price, I highly reccomend this splitter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Conifer, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job quickly and quietly

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We ordered the Ryobi 4 ton splitter on line. What the store had waiting for pickup was a Homelite 5 ton. The price was the same so we took it. It works great. We've been renting a gas splitter each fall and would just split as much as we could in 2 hours. This electric splitter splits all the pine we could throw on it without the noise and fumes of the rental one. The return stroke is faster too, so you can work faster. Stand it on end, and it stores in very little space. Now we can split wood whenever we cut more rather than in one session. It should pay for itself in a few years by saving the rental fees. Works better for one person too. I built a low platform to set it on for a better working height.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store, Quiet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 4-Ton Electric Log Splitter
from Wister, Oklahoma

ryobi log splitter

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on previous reviews, we purchased one yesterday. I was a bit apprehensive since it looked so small but once we put it to work, we were amazed! Handled large logs easily. Simple to use. As with other reviews, the only gripe(?) I had was the location of the controls being so low to the ground but I expect if you mounted it on a stand that would take care of that problem. Of course then you would have to deal with picking the logs up higher. The replacement and warranty are also great. This was the bargain of the year. Sure beats chopping! I would recommend this to anyone who has to cut their own wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>