728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

Soil Doctor 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime is made of pulverized limestone and a natural tree syrup that are processed together into pellets. The pellets can be quickly and easily applied to your lawn with a rotary or broadcast spreader. Lime corrects acid soil and helps balance soil pH to improve fertilizer efficiency. This 40 lb. bag will cover up to 1,000 sq. ft. of lawn.
Overall rating:
3.154 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
58%of customersrecommend this product7 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
Review 1 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Arkansas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer beware check bags

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First let me say they do not carry the Soil Doctor lime that they advertize it is totally a different brand.... I bought 30 bags of this for my yard and out of the 30 bags... I have 5 bags I haven't opened yet, 14 bags were like sand so couldn't use spreader the rest were pelletized like they were suppose to be that is the reason for the one star rating. Homedepot needs to keep this out of the rain and in a dryer place because if there is a small hole or tear it will turn to a sand clumped bag so check all bags before you buy.... if i lived closer to this store I would have taken it all back and got credit for the bad bags.. Also Tractor Supply Company has this (the Soil Doctor) brand inside their store and they were all pelletized and spreadable priced for $ 3.77 if I had known that I would have bought it there.
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

Frustrating and Waste of time and money

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews before I bought this product and thought they must have just gotten some bad bags, but It was just like everyone else has mentioned. I bought 13 bags of this stuff and 3 out of the 13 were nothing but damp sand that I had to throw out by hand. Home Depot really should look at keeping this stuff inside where it can't get wet. I will look elsewhere for pellet lime in the future.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Jackson, NJ 08527, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

HomeDepot.com was very good everything was ready when i got there!!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
HomeDepot.com was very good everything was ready when i got there!!
The lime i put down worked vey well my lawn looks great!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

Pelletized ? WRONG! It's powder.

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money. Don't waste your time. More importantly don't throw out you back pushing this powder around. It was more frustrating than any other lawn product I have ever used. Stick to the more expensive truly pelletized lime used with broadcast/drop spreaders.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Mobile, Alabama
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can store this product and it does not sweat, leech out of the bag, or clump. Easily spreads out using my Earthway spreader without consistently shaking the spreader bag.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from West Branch, MI

Mixed bag

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bags contained semi wet material that clumped and would not pass through my pull behind rotary spreader. Kind of disappointing causing extra time to deal with and finally gave up. Fortunately, I planned on hand spreading some of my bags anyway so I did not return the order.
Cons: wet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Freehold Township, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Price, Nice Performance

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ended up spreading 320 lbs. (8 bags) of this on my lawn based on the recommendation of my landscaper. When I priced the lime, I found a different brand at Walmart and they were charging $15 a bag which seemed outrageous. Sam's Club had a different brand for $13.50 a bag.
In all fairness I can't say that they were both the same, but I had no interest in lime at those prices. I put this down right before another day of heavy rain, and tested the ph the first day it wasn't raining. My soil is now 6.5, which is slightly acidic. I may put down a few more bags later in the season, if tests show that the soil is becoming more acidic.
It was very quick to spread using a broadcast spreader set to half open, and I'm very happy with the results.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Manorville, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult when used with broadcast spreader

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bag was a mix of pellets and powder. The product clogged a high end Broadcast Spreader, easily clumping and had to be hand spread. I gave up after five bags and will return the remainder I purchased.
Cons: not good for broadcast spreaders.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Works well with lawn spreader

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product after having our lawn soil tested. While the bags are heavy (40lbs), I can get the bag in the lawn spreader and spread the lime myself. I have purchased this product before and will continue as long as soil testing recommends.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lime pellets easy to spread

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Trying this for 1st time on my own to neutralize acidic soil and improve grass growth
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

worked as advertised

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
my new lawn is growing due in part to adding this material as recommended by my soil report.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime
from Londonderry, NH, USA

spread great

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked great for the price. It spread easily and did the job for the moss on the lawn.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 lb. Pelletized Lawn Lime

Easy to use and a good price.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
SInce it will take nearly 6 months to see any results, I can only review the ease of use and cost which were both good.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.