728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Top Soil

40 lb. Top Soil

This 40 lb. bag of Top Soil contains an organic humus that is good for top dressing lawns and gardens and for creating berms to elevate planting areas from wet conditions. The ready-to-use soil is also good for blending with peat and compost to create custom potting blends and planting mediums.
Overall rating:
2.983 / 5
3
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product28 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(21)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product28 of 53reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Top Soil
Review 1 for 40 lb. Top Soil

Not suitable for seeding,topdressing or leveling lawn

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought 3 bags to level some spots in a newly aerated lawn and for seeding bare patches. The bags contained about one third to one half wood mulch material and sticks(see photos). Mulch is used to PREVENT weed and grass growth. Even if the grass came up, the decomposing wood would deplete nitrogen for the grass. I raked off what I could. Despite what the label says, it seems this product is not suitable for seeding, topdressing or leveling grass.
Cons: unsuitable for seedingtopdressing leveling lawn
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+75points
79out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Miami, FL, USA

Cheap and Good

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was surprised to read such terrible reviews for this product. I took the risk and bought it. The bag looks a little different than the picture. Just to lower the risk, I also bought the cheap compost intending to mix it. When I opened the bags, they looked very similar. This product had more twigs than the compost, but the soil looked very rich. I guess variability is to be expected with this product.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Cons: seems to be variable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Brunswick, GA

Is Pine Mulch Soil?

PostedMay 9, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I toyed with shelling out $75.00 for a dump truck load of top soil or buying a few bags of top soil to fill in some holes in my yard. The price of $1.29 per bag was certainly appealing. Bags of garden soil and bags of sand were more expensive. I bought 8 bags of top soil to fill in some holes and level a few areas.
When I first opened the bags I was impressed with the dark rich color. However I began to notice that the "top soil" contained alot of pine bark mulch. Once water is applied you can really see the mulch. Pine bark mulch will decay and become "soil" but I certainly didn't expect for the bags of top soil to contain so much pine bark mulch. So, let the buyer beware, the bags contain a mixture of soil and pine bark mulch.
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Top Soil

Mostly sand and sticks

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I have tried this before and have to say, i would only use it to fill in holes before i put better quality stuff on top. It is mostly sand and sticks as shows in the pictures before. The quality is not very good at all.
Overall:
If you intend on doing more than back filling a stump hole and don't really care what it looks like. Then try something else or you will be disappointed.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Top Soil

Just terrible. Full of clay - not top soil.

PostedJune 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought almost 100 bags of this top soil to fill in where we had taken down an above ground swimming pool in order to create a garden. We had to use a hoe and shovel to chop up all the clumps of clay! We had purchased this top soil last year and it was great; we even had a few bags left over from last year and those spread wonderfully. Not this year. What a waste of money for such lousy 'top soil'. Would not recommend to anyone.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

40 Lb Top Soil in Texas

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bags I purchased in Texas do not have clay or bark in them, it is good quality top soil and would recommend it to anyone for use. I bought 20 bags of them to fill in a lot of holes in my back yard from dogs digging around the trees and other low spots that develop over time.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Timberline Topsoil

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this topsoil for years, but I don't use it as an actual 'topsoil'. I use it for large container planting and mix it a bit with some Miracle Grow Garden soil. Yes, I've found some wood in with this soil too, but most of what's in the bag is real dark soil. I've had no problems with my plants - they grow great. I'm actually going to buy multiple bags this year to fill in planting beds and another area to plant some tall grasses along an incline. I do expect some erosion, but if you tamp it down a little and lightly water this after you've put it down, it should stay in place for the most part. If you were to buy screened fill, it would look the same. Screened loam is different - this is not screened loam if that's what these posters are looking for. Hey... it's cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from raleigh nc

top soil ?

PostedApril 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
too much wood, very little soil !
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Midway, GA

Bark Chips, not top soil

PostedApril 5, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 15 bags of this since it said that it is "perfect" for established lawns. I wanted to use this to fill in lows spots in my yard. After putting it down, I found it to be more wood chips, and mulch, than actual soil, or dirt. We got a little rain today, and now that the little bit of dirt there was is now gone, I have nothing left but ordinary decorative tree bark, like you use to keep the weeds down.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Grove City ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME!!!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Amazing price, great product and very clean dirt. I planted grass seed and it was growing within 1 week!
Highly recommend this product!
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Maine

Top Soil

PostedFebruary 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to buy and apply. I've been building a lot of raised vegetable garden bed for people over the last 2 years and this stuff is great!
I mix 1/2 Top Soil and 1/2 compost for each bed.
PS, for a really good bed I suggest laying down that weed preventing fabric underneat the raised bed (fabric, then 2x6 frame, then soil, then plants, then bark mulch!)
The 40lbs bags are just about perfect. The 2-4 cubic foot bags are too heavy and rip undr their own weight when lifted!
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Multi Purpose Goodness

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in a new development that has some hard clay and very very rock soil. I use this for both my raised vegie garden and top dressing my lawn for over seeding. It works great. Two years of a great growing garden, and where I have used it so far for over seeding, I have the thickest and fullest lawn in the neighborhood.
Each bag can vary from organic material, but all in all it's mostly dark soil and I am pleased with it, and it is a great price compared to other brands, and even beats the price for bulk top soil from my local nursery.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Clinton, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's dirt

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is cheap and works great for patch seeding on lawns.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Eureka, Mo
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing wrong with this at all

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sure there was some bark/mulch mixed in, but for the most part it was good, clean soil. There was no manure smell, like another review said. I will buy again when I need more.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from North Little Rock, AR

Best Topsoil for the price

PostedMay 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought many bags of topsoil at several different locations, and I have found none that were comparable to this kind. This soil is just as rich as the compost in my garden! I couldn't believe it for the price! I have been severly diappointed with other stores topsoil after using this one. I will only purchase it from now on!!! Trust me...I've bought over 30 bags of it!
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Pennsylvania, USA

Great Top Soil

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was worried about buying this because of the bad reviews but the price couldn't be beat so I went for it. I bought 21 bags and not one had a single twig or any stones. It was pure black dirt. I'm very happy with it. You have to break it up a bit but I did that with a rake. I'm very happy with it
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 lb. Top Soil

They Should Call this "Sewage, Twigs & Dirt"

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this looking for some cheap top soil to help with a lawn reseeding project. I knew it was trouble, when the bags seemed to be leaking from the stack at HD. The price was a bargain, but when I brought the bags to the cart I knew I had to wash my hands immediately. When I got home I was hoping it wouldn't be too bad. However, this stuff smells awful and there are clumps of manure in in addition to the many twigs. In no time several flies were here to investigate. The bag indicated from Atlanta and I could only imagine them carting semi-dry sewage of some sort into a bag with twigs so some suckers like me would buy it. This one takes the cake in terms of smell and texture. Just was hoping for a little better and I should have read the other reviews beforehand.
Pros: price
Cons: smell
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 lb. Top Soil
from Paducah, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Cu Ft

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bag is 24x16x2.5 inches which is 960 cu inches, a cu ft is 1728 cu inches. Therefore, this bag contains only about .55 cu ft of product.
Cons: not a cu ft
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 lb. Top Soil

Clay, Stones, SEWAGE ODOR!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is absolute junk. Firstly, it reeks of sewage. The same smell that comes from my backed up plumbing!
I purchased a ton of bags. It said 40lbs, I was happy, until that was, I ripped the left over bags open. They were all filled with pebbles, clay like material, and even some pieces of plastic bag.
Read the instructions, this isn't a true bag of top soil, you have to mix it 50/50 with your native soil.
My yard stinks, its filled with junk soil and I really want my money back.
DON'T BUY!
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 lb. Top Soil
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Horrible

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 30 bags of this topsoil to mix for a raised garden, and it is the worst soil we've ever purchased. It is full of clumps, wet, and a very odd color. I chopped the bigger pieces and the centers look like some type of clay or something, I've never seen anything like it. We've bought topsoil here a few years ago and it was nothing like this. I can't get it to mix in with the peat, humus, and manure. I have no idea how I'm going to plant anything in this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>