728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Organic Compost

40 lb. Organic Compost

40 lb. Organic Compost, derived from composted cow manure, adds nitrogen to the soil to promote healthy plant growth. This ready-to-use compost is good for use in new landscapes, for patching or planting new lawns and for top dressing vegetable and flower gardens.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Organic Compost
Review 1 for 40 lb. Organic Compost
from Miami, FL, USA

Cheap and Good

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cheapest compost available with great quality. The bag looked a little different than the picture. I had mixed it with some top soil for a flower bed.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Organic Compost
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Cow manure compared to other brands

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've bought cow manure from Lowes and from different brands...and was never pleased. I have bought cow manure from ranchers before but this summer project was for a small garden and a few bags was all i needed. After doing research and talking to master gardners I gave this brand a shot...and I was surprised and happy with my purchase. So if your planting a garden and want organic then buy this one. It is rich in humus and slow releasing nitrogen. Great price for something that should cost a lot more. FYI -The picture online isn't how it looks at the store.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Organic Compost

good product at a great price

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive alternative to wood chips to use for both mulch and soil amending and this product fit the bill. I purchased 20 bags to use for various projects and have been generally pleased with the quality of the compost. I have not noticed any foreign objects or large chunks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Organic Compost

Nice

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't even know how many bags of this stuff I have purchased. It has done well for my vegetable and ornamental beds. It doesn't smell bad at all either!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Organic Compost
from Mechanicsville, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems to work as a nutrient but...

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product seemed to work well in providing what asparagus needs - 23 of 24 root clusters have sprouted. The negative is a relatively high amount of gravel is in each bag.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Organic Compost

Working great in my vegetable garden

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put eight bags into my small 120 sq ft garden ... product looked clean and high quality but didn't expect much for the price. But my tomatoes and pepper plants are all healthy and growing very well. Good stuff.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Organic Compost
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pre-order

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product is good. I use this over the other compost and it helps my plants grow.
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Organic Compost
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good as advertised

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Adding new flower beds. Product appears to be as good as advertised. Time will tell.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Organic Compost

A lot of wood in the steer manure

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I hope the product aids in soil nutrients, as I purchased several bags. What is disappointing is the large amount of what looks like aged wooden mulch mixed in this. There are higher quality products at this same low price – when shopping around the better products are easy to find.
Cons: aged wood mixed in
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 lb. Organic Compost

great value

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
did not recieve the same one in the picture, but the description of the product was accurate. used it to add organuc matter to my raised bed garden and vegetables seen to be thriving so far.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.