728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator

Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator

The Generac UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator supplies enough power to energize your house during a blackout or accommodate jobsites with high-power requirements. This portable generator starts easily with an electric ignition and offers a 16-gallon fuel tank that runs continuously for up to 10 hours.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
chris
from miami

Excellent and very powerful

PostedMay 29, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this unit in preparations for the 2006 hurricane season. I had my electrician connect a 200 Amp manual transfer switch outside my house. With this unit connected straight to the xfer switch, I can power every device in my house. Granted, not all 220V devices at the same time, but all the lights, refrigerator, microwave at the same time yes. Plus, I have 2 central A/C's, a 5-ton and a 3-ton and it easily powers them both (just not at the same time). But with most of my lights on, the 5-ton A/C unit starts up with no problems. For $2000, this unit can power everything up....I love it! Bring on the Hurricanes!!!!!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
George
from Boca Raton, Florida

PostedMay 17, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used generators in past, this unit for $2,000 for 15,000 watts is a real bargain considering it comes with all the goodies such at the wheel kit,50 amp 120/240 outlet and a oil drain line extention, the manafacture says the generator is Industrial built with a spin style oil filter, the only slight drawback is it lacks an hour meter gauge, will consume 1.5 gallon of gas at 1/2 load per hour and the engine sputters slightly when running, but who cares as long as it continues to run for the 3,000 hours its rated for.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Malseed
from Jacksonville, Florida

Fails right out of the box

PostedJune 22, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit failed right out of the box when appling a load. I called local representative in Jacksonville, Florida and was told that a $80 dollar sevice fee would be required as warrenty requires you to return unit to local dealer.
The local representative stated that they get every unit that Home Depot sells for repair. Ouality control is poor and the main failure is the master control card. This is what happened to me. When the master control card fails the unit will no longer start. I called the manufacturer and they will not speak to purchasers! You must go through their warrenty system.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Joe Power Nut
from Florida

15000 portable generator

PostedApril 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent generator, reliable and will power a good 70% of your home depending on the size. My parents have one, I was so impressed with the perfomance that I'm currently price shopping for an identical one...
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Mooring64
from Windham, NH

A real home saver

PostedDecember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this generator after the 2007 ice storm that left us without power for 4 days and a bunch of frozen pipes. I had it hooked up but never used it until a few weeks ago. We had another major ice storm and lost power for 6 days. I connected it, started it up and flipped the switch and everything just worked. This generator easily ran my five zones of heat, well pump, fridge, microwave, applicances, lights and anything else that I wanted to run. After I got comfortable with it, I even had my 50 inch plasma and Christmas lignts running on it. It uses much less gas than it says it will use. I was getting about 20 hours of use on a 16 gallon tank. I am very happy with this generator.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
SDJB
from Lead, South Dakota

A heavy duty product

PostedNovember 21, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is clearly a generator designed to support the heavy duty requirements and working environment of large construction projects and industrial demands. Residential backup seems to be more of an afterthought. It is very well built and is clearly a much more heavy duty generator than what one usually sees for residential backup. There was nothing on the unit that I found poorly designed or of poor quality.
The generator is very easy to operate and maintain. Most importantly, I was also very pleased at how the unit performed at providing power for my entire house. I didn't run my hot water heater full time, but did put considerable load on the generator with lights, dishwasher, ceiling fans, washing machine, etc. with no problems.
This generator can run your whole house for the fraction of the cost of permanent backup units, and has the advantage of being portable and useful for tasks beyond residential backup.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
SFlaGenTech
from Fort Lauderdale, Fl.

What you may not know about this generator.

PostedApril 23, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator is excelent for anyone that owns a small home or townhouse and is unable to have a perminant installed generator due to local code or assicioation. This is an excelent price based on performance.
Like all generators you should provide a heat resistant shelter to minimize exposure to the elements and not interfer with cooling, todays units use controllers and voltage regulators that can be easily damaged by rain causing out of warranty damage.
Generac family residental units mainly run at 3600 rpm (2 poles 60 hz)so it is on the louder side of residental units, 1800 rmp (4 poles 60hz) units need to have a larger engine to take full load at lower rpm and therefore cost many times more than this unit so make sure your neighbors are aware you are planning to purchace this unit as it may make their evenings unpleasant.
This unit does not have a 2-wire automatic start for use with an automatic transfer switch so you will have to start and switch over to it manually, also no hour meter means you should make sure you change the oil and filters at least once a season if not more based on usage.
Have a liscensed electrican assist you with a hookup plan. I see alot of people injure themselves, start fires and damage household appliances and the generator.
Test the unit before you need it, you may not be able to run your electric dryer and AC at the same time so know how to budget the load to avoid tripping the generators breaker.
Never operate indoors or in a garage , keep unit away from open windows. Consider anti-theft measures such as using heavy chains to a large fixed object.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Diveboss
from SLC, Ut

Never again, will I be without power...

PostedAugust 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After
a 3 day power outage over Christmas a couple of years ago, I swore I
would never again be without power in the house. I found and purchased
a rebuit Generac Ultra 15K from my local Home Depot with the hopes of
never needing it, but after yesterdays heavy storm which knocked out
the power to some 26,000 houses, mine included, was I ever happy I did.
Though I hadn't started the generator for almost a year, she fired
right up and when I flipped the power to the house, we were back on
line and cooking. Literally! Not only would I recommend this product to
a friend, I am going to sell him this one and buy me a brand new one
just like it. I hate used stuff! :D
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
franktren
from St. Louis County

Nice Portable Generator

PostedMarch 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this generator on the Home Depot website and thought it merited more investigation.
Searches on the internet showed that this is one of the few, if only, portable generators with this much electrical capacity. Also, I was impressed with the history of Guardian (Generac)
and their dedication to standby generators. I was just as impressed when I examined the unit and noticed the attention to detail and superior manufacture.
Compared with other generators, this one seemed to offer more for the dollar cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
mookey5372
from Marion, NC

First Run up

PostedApril 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this Gen a year ago and never took the time to add oil or gas. After we had a big wind storm this past week, the wind knocked down trees and took our power out. I finally serviced the unit connected it to our electrician install outlet. With the push of the starter after a year of sitting, it started the first time. It run's the whole house but not everything at the same time. It's a great generator and I would recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
MaryS
from Shepherd Texas

Hurricane Rita

PostedSeptember 27, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one after Hurricane Rita and this generator kept my whole house running for over 1 week. It was easy for this lady to set it up and keep it going. After one year it is still going strong. I go out and start it about once a month and let it run for a while. The starting is very easy. I could have purchased a smaller one but once I saw this one I knew it was what I needed and wanted.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Gullion
from Morland, KS

15000KW

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent packaging, a few nuts and washers short, started right up after doing pre-setup, no 240 volt plug in as described, but a fine machiine, would buy again...For the money an excellent purchase...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
TommyWB
from Lesterville, MO

Generac 15000 generator

PostedFebruary 6, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice item. It arrived safely, though it was missing a few nuts and bolts for assembly. I haven't used it to it's full capacity as of yet, but feel it will easily accommodate my needs. I have used it to run my mig welder and it worked very nicely and I eventually intend to use it as a back-up power source for my home, which I have no doubt will operate to my expectations. Great quality. I would have liked an hour meter, but otherwise this product is high in industrial quality at an affordable price.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
JerrysGenerator
from San Felipe, Baja Norte, Mexico

Generac 15000 Watt

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am totally impressed with the generator. I purchased the generator for our home in Mexico which does not have electric power. It not only provides all the electrical power for the whole house but enables me to use a 225 amp welder at the same time. It is a little loud but the power it provides out weighs the noise factor. Although the generator is very heavy, once the wheels are installed, it is very portable because of the design and location of the center of gravity. The controls for starting and stopping the generator are very accessible as compared to another generator that I have.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Bourge
from Manchester NH

Generac Generator

PostedFebruary 12, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
According to the owners manual the product is not designed to run outdoors in dirty or wet conditions. Isn't the outdoors always potentially wet and dirty. Am I supposed to build a shed around it...? I need a product to get me through power outages caused by bad weather, this certainly is not a candidate.
Now Home Depot is giving me a hard time about returning a product that won't do whart I need it to do.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
JOE123456

NOT A GOOD EXPIERENCE WITH THIS PRODUCT

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I ORDERED THIS PRODUCT ONLINE FROM HOME DEPOT,IT WAS SHIPPED TO MY HOME,UPON ASSEMBLY THE PRODUCT,I WAS MISSING PARTS,CALLED GENERAC,IT TOOK 3 WEEKS TO GET THE MISSING PARTS,AFTER FINALLY ASSEMBLING THE PRODUCT,THE STARTER IS DEFECTIVE,HAVENT RAN IT YET,I NOW HAVE TO TAKE IT TO A AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR REPAIR.YOU DECIDE???
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Danellis
from Douglas MA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

seems ok but idle control switch does not work.

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When you attempt to use the idle control switch the generator turns off. Good thing I have a trailer to bring it to the local service center as they would be charging me $50 to pick it up otherwise. I should not have to get it serviced this soon, I only purchased it three weeks ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Model 4582 UltraSource 15,000-Watt Gas Powered Portable Generator
Buddy
from Miami Springs

Excellent Purchase

PostedJuly 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recommend this generator for anyone who has doubts. It runs the whole house with ease. Wife was uncertain at first, due to cost, but after an afternoon thunder storm power outage she could not wait for me to hook it up. Worth every penny we spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.