728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Drill Guide and Chuck

Drill Guide and Chuck

The General Tools Drill Guide and Chuck can be adjusted in 5-degree increments from 0 - 45 degrees, left and right. V-guides on the base permit drilling through dowel or other rounded stock. Slide lock for sanding and buffing applications. Use with 3/8 in. and 1/2 in. portable electric drills. Portable and lightweight, it folds flat for toolbox storage.
Overall rating:
2.263 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product5 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product5 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for Drill Guide and Chuck
Review 1 for Drill Guide and Chuck
lavawill
from Buford Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this on clearance from my local HD. My Dad had a tool similar to this one that was all aluminum and worked great. This one though is all plastic the slides stick from one side to the other to the point it is unusable, and the screws also fall out of it in the toolbox rendering it useless.
Pros: there is none
Cons: useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Customer

It broke

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is an adequate tool. Somewhat wobbly but this is likely inherent in its design. I used it perhaps for 30 holes and it bound up-now it is useless.
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drill Guide and Chuck
NicC
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute garbage - chuck bearing bound up after drilling two holes.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Disappointed
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as they were in past.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have one of the same from about 15 years ago, it works much smother at the pivit point. This indicate that the quality of manufacture has fallen below what I would consider aceptable
Cons: Difficult to Use, a negative on all the pros
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drill Guide and Chuck
GuywithTools

Good idea, bad design

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good idea, but bad design. Slide is a bit sticky, but I eased this with some silicon lube. The hinge mechanism allows easy adjustment for the desired angle, but doesn't keep the guide aligned from side-to-side. Unfortunately, it's not possible to position a square against the slide rails. It is also difficult to read angle gauge as it is inside the rails and obscured by body of the guide. Won't be using it again.
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurate
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drill Guide and Chuck
TonyN
from Chicago, IL

A Guide That Doesn't

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up to add some bench-dog holes to a new set of workbenches that I had built. Assembly was easy, but I quickly noticed that the bearing for the chuck was not ideal for this. Once I chucked up a bit, and this to my drill, the end of the bit moved in an almost 1/8" circle. Also, when assembling the guide, I set both sides to zero, but it was clearly not square.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Docljc
from Clifton Park
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Certainly not for any serious carpentry or projects.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The footprint is too narrow. Tried to use it on a 1x5 and there was no way of securing the base without screwing it into the wood surface.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drill Guide and Chuck
None

Poor alignment

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really disappointed in the ability to drill a straight hole. The guide is not riding is enough
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drill Guide and Chuck
blackdog
from milford maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product did what I needed it to do

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was making a large cribbage board and needed to drill 246 1/4" holes and also needed them to be in line without the wandering you see in many cheap cribbage boards. This board is oak and walnut so it is high end. The portable drill press worked smoothly and the chuck assy itself had very little wobble so my customers cribbage board is coming out nicely
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drill Guide and Chuck
HoleDriller

Pretty decent.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need to drill a pretty straight hole, this is a great tool. If you need a perfectly straight hole, you need a drill press. The grey parts are plastic and not metal, and there is a little bit of play in the mechanism, so you need to line up the bit before you start drilling. For the price it does a nice job.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Nunya
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok, not great

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I got this, it took an hour to get it together, there was plastic in the threads of one of the screw holes and it took heating it up to scrape it out.
This is not a precision device! Not that it should be at this price, but the chuck is very shaky and your holes will not be perfect. I used it to drill 6 holes close together in a 1.75" block. The holes on the other side were VERY random. Not even close to be uniform. I think I could have done them better by hand.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drill Guide and Chuck
aaron

OK, but not great

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product is at best a stop gap until you buy a cheap drill press. its a little clunky and the holes are straighter if not straight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Superfish
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only fair

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product works as long as you are drilling down on the top of something. Trying to use it sideways or drill into the ceiling is nearly impossible.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drill Guide and Chuck
HoneyDew
from Santa Ana, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for repetitive bores; not high precision.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked well for repetitive bores at similar angle on woodworking project. Plastic friction plates and loose arbor make precise alignment tough; a three-handed job.
Made angled drilling on a low-res storage rack much better than my freehand work. Good depth control.
Does not replace a drill press for furniture quality work, but adds consistency to rougher projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Ronnie
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bearing bound up in mine also

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I drilled one hole then started another. I got half of the second hole drilled when it bound up. After removing it from my drill, I found it was easier to freehand my drilling instead of trying to keep this thing lined up correctly.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drill Guide and Chuck
maxdh3
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not impressed!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
needed to drill 1 1/2" holes at 45 degrees for a wine rack. when drilling, the bit started to cut into the base of the guide, the guide being made of about 90% plastic wasnt able to hold the propper angle while drilling and slipped way too much. a great idea but this was not for me and i ended up taking it back after using it for about 10 minutes.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drill Guide and Chuck
James

Pleasantly Surprised

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well, I for one was very thrilled with this drill guide and chuck. The set up was easy and it has been perfect for all the woodworking jobs that I have run across over the past few weeks. I would definitely recommend this product because it makes drilling out holes consistently accurate and user-friendly.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drill Guide and Chuck
HVAC

LIke the locking handle for the different angles

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. We have bought a couple for our company.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Thomas
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, works in the "A-1" category.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to drill straight holes and this tool helps to do just that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.