728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Drill Guide and Chuck

Drill Guide and Chuck

Since 1910, General Tools has grown to become the recognized industry leader for specialty hand tools and instruments. The General Tools Drill Guide and Chuck can be adjusted in 5-degree increments from 0 - 45 degrees, left and right. V-guides on the base permit drilling through dowel or other rounded stock. Slide lock for sanding and buffing applications. Use with 3/8 in. and 1/2 in. portable electric drills. Portable and lightweight, it folds flat for toolbox storage.
Overall rating:
2.25 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
27%of customersrecommend this product6 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
27%of customersrecommend this product6 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for Drill Guide and Chuck
Review 1 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Buford Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Junk

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this on clearance from my local HD. My Dad had a tool similar to this one that was all aluminum and worked great. This one though is all plastic the slides stick from one side to the other to the point it is unusable, and the screws also fall out of it in the toolbox rendering it useless.
Pros: there is none
Cons: useless
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Service was good and the price was similar to like products but the quality of the product is very poor.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too many parts of this product are made of plastic and render it inaccurate at best. I'm sure any extensive use would quickly make it unusable.
Cons: Not Durable, inaccurate
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Baltimore
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap plastic parts.... you get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic parts for guiding drill were difficult to adjust and rubber pads on base caused inaccuracy in making only perpendicular drill hole I tried. I should have bought a drill press from my project but hoped this product would work.
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurated drilling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Drill Guide and Chuck

Disappointed about the result

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tasks i needed this drill guide to do almost cost me a burnt out Drill. i would not recommend this device other than drilling straight holes with a regular wood bit.
Cons: Difficult to Use, weak soft material
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Drill Guide and Chuck

worse contraption yet

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it is impossible to use, I even mounted it to a table to try and secure it, its going in the trash.
Cons: Difficult to Use, does not do the job
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Drill Guide and Chuck

It broke

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is an adequate tool. Somewhat wobbly but this is likely inherent in its design. I used it perhaps for 30 holes and it bound up-now it is useless.
Cons: Not Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute garbage - chuck bearing bound up after drilling two holes.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Chicago, IL

A Guide That Doesn't

PostedMarch 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up to add some bench-dog holes to a new set of workbenches that I had built. Assembly was easy, but I quickly noticed that the bearing for the chuck was not ideal for this. Once I chucked up a bit, and this to my drill, the end of the bit moved in an almost 1/8" circle. Also, when assembling the guide, I set both sides to zero, but it was clearly not square.
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Useful Tool

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product assembled easily. The tool does what it is supposed to do. Should have bought one years ago.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Drill Guide and Chuck

Good idea, bad design

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good idea, but bad design. Slide is a bit sticky, but I eased this with some silicon lube. The hinge mechanism allows easy adjustment for the desired angle, but doesn't keep the guide aligned from side-to-side. Unfortunately, it's not possible to position a square against the slide rails. It is also difficult to read angle gauge as it is inside the rails and obscured by body of the guide. Won't be using it again.
Cons: Difficult to Use, inaccurate
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as good as they were in past.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have one of the same from about 15 years ago, it works much smother at the pivit point. This indicate that the quality of manufacture has fallen below what I would consider aceptable
Cons: Difficult to Use, a negative on all the pros
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Drill Guide and Chuck

Poor alignment

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really disappointed in the ability to drill a straight hole. The guide is not riding is enough
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drill Guide and Chuck
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ok, not great

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I got this, it took an hour to get it together, there was plastic in the threads of one of the screw holes and it took heating it up to scrape it out.
This is not a precision device! Not that it should be at this price, but the chuck is very shaky and your holes will not be perfect. I used it to drill 6 holes close together in a 1.75" block. The holes on the other side were VERY random. Not even close to be uniform. I think I could have done them better by hand.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Clifton Park
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Certainly not for any serious carpentry or projects.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The footprint is too narrow. Tried to use it on a 1x5 and there was no way of securing the base without screwing it into the wood surface.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Drill Guide and Chuck

Pretty decent.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you need to drill a pretty straight hole, this is a great tool. If you need a perfectly straight hole, you need a drill press. The grey parts are plastic and not metal, and there is a little bit of play in the mechanism, so you need to line up the bit before you start drilling. For the price it does a nice job.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from milford maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product did what I needed it to do

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was making a large cribbage board and needed to drill 246 1/4" holes and also needed them to be in line without the wandering you see in many cheap cribbage boards. This board is oak and walnut so it is high end. The portable drill press worked smoothly and the chuck assy itself had very little wobble so my customers cribbage board is coming out nicely
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only fair

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product works as long as you are drilling down on the top of something. Trying to use it sideways or drill into the ceiling is nearly impossible.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Drill Guide and Chuck

OK, but not great

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product is at best a stop gap until you buy a cheap drill press. its a little clunky and the holes are straighter if not straight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Santa Ana, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for repetitive bores; not high precision.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked well for repetitive bores at similar angle on woodworking project. Plastic friction plates and loose arbor make precise alignment tough; a three-handed job.
Made angled drilling on a low-res storage rack much better than my freehand work. Good depth control.
Does not replace a drill press for furniture quality work, but adds consistency to rougher projects.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Drill Guide and Chuck
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not impressed!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
needed to drill 1 1/2" holes at 45 degrees for a wine rack. when drilling, the bit started to cut into the base of the guide, the guide being made of about 90% plastic wasnt able to hold the propper angle while drilling and slipped way too much. a great idea but this was not for me and i ended up taking it back after using it for about 10 minutes.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>