728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

The Handy Home Products Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Storage Shed allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles (not included) to match your home. The 64 in. W double doors feature full-length hinges and swivel hasps for easy access to large lawn and garden equipment. The sturdy 2 x 3 construction helps to meet the demands of inclement weather. The free treated wood floor frame is ready for plywood or OSB decking (not included) while the patented EZ frame design reduces installation time.
Overall rating:
3.372 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(242 reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product163 of 230reviews
Rating Breakdown 242 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(76)
3
(42)
2
(26)
1
(39)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product163 of 230reviews
Customer questions and answers:
114 Questions | 320 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

You get what you pay for..

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall this is a decent purchase for $700. As many review state, there is some issues with twisted/warped wood. The kit is built with 2x3's which makes it feel flimsy while building it. Handy Home could bump their price by $25 and jump to to 2x4's for a much better product. Anyhow, even with 2x3's once the walls are secured to the floor, the trusses are secured, and the roof sheeting in place, the shed definitely firms up. It is difficult keeping the shed square, but keep in mind it's just that, a shed. Your lawn mower doesn't care! I'm a fairly experienced carpenter and kept mine within workable tolerances throughout the build. I used the treated for kit included with the shed. It isn't bad but I would recommend adding additional joists for a stronger floor, or use 3/4" plywood for your flooring. You will need to buy about 5lbs of nails or screws, plywood for your flooring, and shingles (I personally put down tar paper, drip edge, then architectural shingles). I also added a second spring lock for the door as I wanted my doors to stay tighter to the shed when closed. Again, not a bad purchase, overall I'm happy with it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Clinton CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great shed, it was a bit of a pain to put together but for $650 bucks I really can't complain. You will need to build a floor, and shingle the roof. Reenforcing the doors is pretty helpful as well. Overall I am really happy with it. If you are putting it together yourself you will need a friend. It is certainly helpful if you are very mechanically inclined.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good purchase, but a lot of work

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value to the shed! Very difficult to put together. 2 people, 1 experienced, worked on it for days.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, difficult instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good Valve and Quality

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keep in mind this is a $700 shed. I think it is very good quality for the money. It looks a lot better than the plastic and vinyl ones in my opinion. Mine is painted to match my house and it looks great. I found the materials to be good.. Installation is definitely a challenge and I am a professional handyman. I did it all by myself with the exception of my son helping me raise the walls. I did it over the course of two weekends. Flooring system to last shingle in about 16 - 18 hours. The flooring and roofing materials are not cheap... add at least another $175.00 to the cost of your shed to the cost of the kit.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
60out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Woodbridge VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Storage Shed

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
To many parts needed that you have to buy extra such as the shingles. There is a shed at SAMS Club that is made of plastic that is easier to put together and has everything. The shed I purchased from Home Depot requires you to buy the shingles, nails, outdoor rated glue, and sealeant. That is to many things extra for the cost and delivery of the shed. In addition, the shed weights 1,000 lbs and was delivered by just one person who was not going to take it off the truck unless I help him. I am a disabled veteran. This is unacceptable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamAugust 22, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamAugust 22, 2015
We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. We do not include the shingles, as we want you to be able to match your house. Wood vs. plastic is the customers preference. If you would like to call us to discuss, please contact us at 800-221-1849. HandyHomeProducts
Review 6 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Flimsy

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this shed kit. The studs were all warped and twisted. Not a single one was cut to an exact length. The panels on the door side were cut an entire inch shorter than the pre built doors. we had to tear the doors apart and cut them down to make them fit. This kit does not come with decking or roofing, despite what we were told at the store. I would recommend buying 3" and 2" screws, and use those instead of the super cheap hardware that is included (I was able to bend a nail with my bare hands). For having to modify or replace most of the warped materials, I wish we would have just bought straight, quality materials, and built our shed from scratch. Definitely not worth the money!
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015
We apologize for the issues you had with your kit. Please reach out to customer service at 800-221-1849. We would be happy to replace or reimburse for any out of pocket expense you had to replace the damaged parts. HandyHomeProducts
Review 7 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Terrible product

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is terrible. The flooring is not included (because why would you want a floor in your shed, right?) nor the pound of nails required to secure it. The treated 4x4x10 runners required for leveling are also not included. What's the point of buying a kit when it lacks flooring, runners, etc. Two inch galvanized nails are included for the base frame and are completely impractical in terms of securing the 2x4s to each other.
Also, I paid $250 extra for "delivery". The delivery company, USF Holland, called me and told me that I needed to have 4-5 guys available during their delivery window to unload the shed off of their truck. My expectation is that if I pay extra for delivery, I shouldn't need to get a crew to unload the truck.
+48points
60out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Get what you pay for

PostedJuly 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not super happy with the design of the framing. Lots of short lumber that is pieced together to make a 10' shed is not a great way to make this design sturdy and strong. This is a fairly weak product, and quite flimsy. I had to reinforce lots of the framing to make a product that will stand the test of time. Pre-cut stuff is nice to not deal with measuring and cutting everything but had you needed to go that route you would probably design it different instead of constantly trying to save money by cutting corners and splicing cheap wood together. It gets the job done. It's not nearly as nice as the tuff shed product. No floor included, no shingles, no paint... After you build a floor, and take the man hours to build this project (10+) and supplement the cheap structure with more support, you could have had the tuff shed installed and built for you at the same cost. Just saying.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Don't let the photo fool you!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say I guess I didn't read the small print! The shed came with no floor, the wood was in poor condition, it was warped, broken, cracked. There was no roof. If I had purchased one I guess it would not have been a problem, but I purchased four. All of them were in equally poor condition. It took 6 days to build all four. We have to completely re-paint, roof, drill holes for floor ventilation, not what we expected.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, we purchased hundreds of dollars of new wood, spent hundreds on new roof
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015
We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. Shingles and flooring are not included to allow the homeowner to purchase the materials to match their preference rather than being stuck with the color of shingles we provide. Some areas have requirements on shingles types for permitting or HOA approval so eliminating them from the kit lowers the price of the kit and allows for more customization for the homeowner. Regarding the damaged parts, please reach out to customer service directly at 800-221-1849. We would be happy to replace or reimburse for the parts you had to purchase to correct the damaged pieces. HandyHomeProducts
Review 10 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Boyne City Mi.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

The Kit needs beefing up

PostedJuly 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
You can use the supplied floor frame but I recommend building your own out of PT 2 x 6 x 10 ft long material. Most of the 2 x 3 wall supports were warped and twisted.
I beefed up the door opening with additional 2 x 4 framing on the inside. I also added 1 x 4 outside corners for additional strength. Yes I would recommend this shed if you or someone working with you has building knowledge
Pros: Great Instructions
Cons: poor quality material
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from AK via WA state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good Shed

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't be afraid to buy this shed its really pretty good for the money, every piece was the right size it was all there and its is pretty sturdy, I may add a board or 2 here and there but its not bad. I got the extra pressure treated 2x4s for the 12" on center floor joist very sturdy and put it on PT 4x4s. The directions were good just read them a time or two, If you are a nailer buy a few extra nails. (saves a trip to the hardware store) I only used 4 bundles of shingles maybe I did it wrong but I followed the directions. I recommend the drip edge considering the osb roof sheathing just for extra protection. The left side door should have 2 locks but it only has one, but no big deal, $1.99 at the hardware store fixes that, Had it delivered from Kenai Alaska to Anchor point Alaska very prompt and reliable service every thing was there no complaints at all. Thanks again, enjoy
RMB
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as advertised

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Asmbly of the shed is definitely not a one man job. I hired a crew to put it up and it took them 3 days. They did a great job puting it together.
There were some short pieces which they had to work around, but in the end it looks great.
I added about 18 more 2x3 studs to reinforce the walls and the inside base area because it is built on a 24" stud gap vs. the normal 16".
These are things you can do yourself, if you are handy.
Pros: Functional, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: could have used 16" stud to stud gap for more dura
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
56out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Staten Island , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Princeton 10' by 10" Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great shed for the price. I got this shed in September of 2012, went through Sandy and I did not add studs as some say it needs. Me and my son put this shed together in 3 or 4 days. I installed this shed on a cement slab, made it through sandy with no problems. This 10' by 10' shed has a lots of space, I built it to store my Motorcyle and I have plenty of room left over, my wife asked me when was I moving in. I recommend this shed for purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
68out of 87found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

One tough shed

PostedJuly 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy enough to build by one person. Well thought out kit. Instructions very intelligible. Would recommend highly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cherry Hill, NJ 08002, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

great shed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A few helpfull hints... Have shed delivered.. unles you have 6 friends and an extended truck bed. When inventoring shed.. label all pieces and separate. Be prepared to spend an additional 250-300 on roof and misc.
I scrapped the kits floor plan and bought separate lumber because I wanted to repurpose some plywood I had already.
We took our time and had it up in two days.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
51out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Definitely some things you need to know before you build.

PostedAugust 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
You can watch the video for a deeper review but here is some info that may be helpful to you.
1. Don't try building it by yourself. It is 10x faster with 2 people as you have someone to hold up the other end of the wood or hand you tools when you are on the roof.
2. Use a compressor and a framing nailer as it will save you a TON of time.
3. Buy 5 additional 2x4's for the floor joists. It will make it much much stronger. You will be glad you did.
4. Buy 2 gable vents and install one on the front and back. Nobody wants a shed thats blasting hot. Plus it will help to stop it from getting musty and moldy inside. I got some cheap vents in the roofing section about 14" wide and 6" high.
5. You will need to buy wood glue, all roofing materials, short and long framing nails, caulk, paint, vents, and something for the shed to sit on, (cement foundation blocks are good.)
The shed itself is fine. I think it will hold up a long time. If you have never built anything I can see this being hard for you. So find a friend that knows his or her way around a 2x4.
Pros: Functional, Nice Design, wide doors
Cons: can be too tough for a novice, needs vent cutouts
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Do not buy this!!!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its framing is very very flimsy, all the boards are warped very badly! Doesn't come with flooring! What shed doesn't come with flooring or shingles! Please please do not buy this huge waste of money! Build your own!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJune 24, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJune 24, 2015
Please call customer service at 1-800-221-1849 with any concerns you may have. HandyHomeProducts
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJune 24, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJune 24, 2015
Please call customer service at 1-800-221-1849 with any concerns you may have. HandyHomeProducts
Review 18 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great product for a great price!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did the majority of this project by myself. I had some help with the floor and back wall but the majority of this went up real easy by myself over the course of about 5 days.
Instructions were fairly clear and easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+40points
74out of 108found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Eagan, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Pay the extra for a tuff shed

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to save a little and 6 months later got a lot of snow and it fell apart. My $2500 riding mower got damaged in the collapsed rubble. HD will not warrantee the handy home, I should have not been cheep.
Cons: more problems than worth
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015
Please contact customer service at 800-221-1849 for assistance with this issue. HandyHomeProducts
Review 20 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Highland Park, Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Disappointing

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Picture and write up does not make it seem that this is incomplete but it is. We needed flooring, roofing and other parts. Overall I needed to spend an additional $450.00 to make this work.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015
We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. Shingles and flooring are not included to allow the homeowner to purchase the materials to match their preference rather than being stuck with the color of shingles we provide. Some areas have requirements on shingles types for permitting or HOA approval so eliminating them from the kit lowers the price of the kit and allows for more customization for the homeowner. HandyHomeProducts
Response from By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015By HandyHomeProductsTeamJuly 27, 2015
We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience. Shingles and flooring are not included to allow the homeowner to purchase the materials to match their preference rather than being stuck with the color of shingles we provide. Some areas have requirements on shingles types for permitting or HOA approval so eliminating them from the kit lowers the price of the kit and allows for more customization for the homeowner. HandyHomeProducts
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>