728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

The Handy Home Products Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Storage Shed allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles (not included) to match your home. The 64 in. wide double doors feature full-length hinges and swivel hasps for easy access to large lawn and garden equipment. The sturdy 2 x 3 construction helps to meet the demands of inclement weather. The free treated wood floor frame is ready for plywood or OSB decking (not included) while the patented EZ frame design reduces installation time.
Overall rating:
3.407 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product140 of 192reviews
Rating Breakdown 204 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(71)
3
(36)
2
(18)
1
(32)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product140 of 192reviews
Customer questions and answers:
91 Questions | 275 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Clinton CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great shed, it was a bit of a pain to put together but for $650 bucks I really can't complain. You will need to build a floor, and shingle the roof. Reenforcing the doors is pretty helpful as well. Overall I am really happy with it. If you are putting it together yourself you will need a friend. It is certainly helpful if you are very mechanically inclined.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good purchase, but a lot of work

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value to the shed! Very difficult to put together. 2 people, 1 experienced, worked on it for days.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, difficult instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Terrible product

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is terrible. The flooring is not included (because why would you want a floor in your shed, right?) nor the pound of nails required to secure it. The treated 4x4x10 runners required for leveling are also not included. What's the point of buying a kit when it lacks flooring, runners, etc. Two inch galvanized nails are included for the base frame and are completely impractical in terms of securing the 2x4s to each other.
Also, I paid $250 extra for "delivery". The delivery company, USF Holland, called me and told me that I needed to have 4-5 guys available during their delivery window to unload the shed off of their truck. My expectation is that if I pay extra for delivery, I shouldn't need to get a crew to unload the truck.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good Valve and Quality

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keep in mind this is a $700 shed. I think it is very good quality for the money. It looks a lot better than the plastic and vinyl ones in my opinion. Mine is painted to match my house and it looks great. I found the materials to be good.. Installation is definitely a challenge and I am a professional handyman. I did it all by myself with the exception of my son helping me raise the walls. I did it over the course of two weekends. Flooring system to last shingle in about 16 - 18 hours. The flooring and roofing materials are not cheap... add at least another $175.00 to the cost of your shed to the cost of the kit.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
55out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from AK via WA state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good Shed

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't be afraid to buy this shed its really pretty good for the money, every piece was the right size it was all there and its is pretty sturdy, I may add a board or 2 here and there but its not bad. I got the extra pressure treated 2x4s for the 12" on center floor joist very sturdy and put it on PT 4x4s. The directions were good just read them a time or two, If you are a nailer buy a few extra nails. (saves a trip to the hardware store) I only used 4 bundles of shingles maybe I did it wrong but I followed the directions. I recommend the drip edge considering the osb roof sheathing just for extra protection. The left side door should have 2 locks but it only has one, but no big deal, $1.99 at the hardware store fixes that, Had it delivered from Kenai Alaska to Anchor point Alaska very prompt and reliable service every thing was there no complaints at all. Thanks again, enjoy
RMB
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great product for a great price!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did the majority of this project by myself. I had some help with the floor and back wall but the majority of this went up real easy by myself over the course of about 5 days.
Instructions were fairly clear and easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+37points
71out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Staten Island , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Princeton 10' by 10" Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great shed for the price. I got this shed in September of 2012, went through Sandy and I did not add studs as some say it needs. Me and my son put this shed together in 3 or 4 days. I installed this shed on a cement slab, made it through sandy with no problems. This 10' by 10' shed has a lots of space, I built it to store my Motorcyle and I have plenty of room left over, my wife asked me when was I moving in. I recommend this shed for purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+45points
64out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as advertised

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Asmbly of the shed is definitely not a one man job. I hired a crew to put it up and it took them 3 days. They did a great job puting it together.
There were some short pieces which they had to work around, but in the end it looks great.
I added about 18 more 2x3 studs to reinforce the walls and the inside base area because it is built on a 24" stud gap vs. the normal 16".
These are things you can do yourself, if you are handy.
Pros: Functional, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: could have used 16" stud to stud gap for more dura
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+41points
54out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cherry Hill, NJ 08002, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

great shed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A few helpfull hints... Have shed delivered.. unles you have 6 friends and an extended truck bed. When inventoring shed.. label all pieces and separate. Be prepared to spend an additional 250-300 on roof and misc.
I scrapped the kits floor plan and bought separate lumber because I wanted to repurpose some plywood I had already.
We took our time and had it up in two days.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
47out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Freeport, IL 61032, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great kit for anyone to build

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shed was assembled in a weekend with 2 or 3 people working for about 13 hours total. The directions were very well written and easy to understand. None of the builders were experienced carpenters, just your average handy guys. All the pieces fit together well...and that's saying a lot, because there were a lot of pieces. I love the space it provides and at half the price of some of the other brands. The picture I attached is just two days after it was built, se we have not painted the shed yet, may have to wait now till spring. Fits my Zero-turn mower and all my wife's outdoor accessories very well. I'm very happy with the entire package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: a couple small mistakes in the instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Wichita,Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This is a great shed.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Picked this item up on 7/23/2013 put the item together with all the rain,was completed on 8/9/2013.All of the content was in great shape,would recommend this shed to anyone.I also added guttering to protect the wood over time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
20out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

love it

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
shed is great, some say replace the studs with 2x4's i don't see the need too.
one thing i did is i used "course drywall screws" instead of nails. i did not use a single nail except for the roof shingle, all screws!!!
if your putting this on a cement slab, the instructions say to use a silicone sealer between the 2x4 base and cement. i suggest you use ALOT, COMPLETELY OVER KILL IT!!!!!!!! when you press the 2x4 down to the cement you want it to ooze out all over!!!! i did not use enough sealer now the water comes in when it rains :(
p.s. USE ALOT OF SILICONE !!!!!!!!!!
+65points
65out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product that does what it is suppose too

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Princeton 10’x10’ wood storage shed can be a very nice shed when you are all done. You do need to know that you will have to put about another $400 into it, to make it nice. The basic kit price does not include the flooring panels, whatever support structure you use for the building, or the roofing shingles, paint, etc. On top of that you can expect to replace about 20% of the wood that is too warped or twisted to use. It took me about four days to complete (partly because of our extremely hot and humid weather) and if you must, one person can complete about 95% of the project. If you really need to, one person can do everything except raise the four walls which will take about an hour.
A few general comments. Replace all ¾” screws with 1” screws, the ¾’s are to small. Anyone that would try to put this shed together with a hammer and nails is crazy. To whatever you have too ( buy, barrow, rent) a pneumatic framing nail gun. It will make things MUCH easier. The design of this shed is predicated on keeping the package only 8’ long. Because of that the layout, especially of the floor joists, is overly complicated and guaranties that you will not be able to build this thing perfectly square. I would say, if you can get it within an inch of square you are doing good and it will go together just fine. If your floor joists or roof joist pieces are warped you need to replace them. If you really want to do this right, scrap all the floor joist pieces and buy all new treated 10’ lumber, copy demensions from the plans and use the extra lumber recommended to have the floor joists at 12” instead of 24. I also built my shed on five 4x4 supports instead of the four recommended in the instructions.
The instructions are easy to follow and the shed goes together without any problems. The wall, door and roof panels were all cut properly and fit well. The door assembly looks a little complicated but goes up easily. I did replace the 2x3 weather strip pieces that go on the inside of doors with 1x3 pieces, looks much better.
Some people have criticized this shed as a waste of time and money. It’s not, It’s a mass produced partial shed kit that does a good job of being what it is intended to be – a low cost kit you can upgrade as much as you want to. My shed is done, is a solid, good looking shed, that took a lot of good hard work to complete. If you expect a perfect product, then buy something that costs 3x as much; if you expect an easy quickie project, then get one of those snap together plastic sheds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: quality of some wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+34points
48out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Jersey Shore
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A terrific kit for the do-it-yourselfer.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kit for this 10x10 ft shed included everything it said it would. I used extra 2" and 3" nails. Having done home projects before, the instructions were thorough and orderly. There were only 1 or 2 instances where things could have aligned better at the end, but worked out fine. It's a nice looking shed too. Plenty of primer on the big panels. If you are 6 ft. tall, you will probably hit your head on the entrance. Toughest part: rafters had a twist and roof panel didn't want to reach. Easiest part: Doors went up in 10 minutes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
18out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Santa Fe, NM
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this shed is fairly attractive in the photo, when ours was delivered, the particle board for the roof was chipped off in two places, the 2x4s for the foundation and the plywood flooring were missing from the package. Also, the size of 2x4s that were included were the wrong size for the size of the shed. The particle board is obvious from the outside when assembled so you must paint over it to make sure it doesn't get weather damage.
You also must purchase shingles to go on this shed (you learn this once you open the box, not before). Be prepared to spend another $400 on materials, and then for construction if you can't do it yourself. This shed is not easy to assemble and so besides all its other shortcomings, at least in my experience, I would not recommend purchasing this. You can probably buy a Tuff Shed of a similar size for what I paid for the shed, extra materials and construction crew to put it together - plus the annoyance of dealing with Home Depot staff who did not reimburse me adequately for the additional materials.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, damaged, materials missing
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Skiatook, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Satisfied repeat Princeton Shed buyer!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second shed I have built in the past 3 years, the first being an 8 x 8. I am 68 years old and a retired pilot with COPD so it took me probably a little longer to assemble this 10 x 10. I only worked on it 4 hours a day and had it assembled in a week. I doubled up on the floor joist (1' centers), added some vents and solar lights. Great quality shed and easy to build.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
36out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

100% solid shed for the money.

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good sturdy shed...did they cut some corners? Yes, but they did that to save on shipping and safe you money. I purchased this shed for under $600. Plan to add on another $400-$500 for flooring, paint, roofing cloth, drip edge, shingles, and I used 2" and 3" screws for everything except the roof. Plan to have it delivered, it is 4X8 and weighs a ton. I put it together in a couple weekends, I'm not a craftsman or a contractor, just a regular d-i-y'er and I found it to be pretty simple. I built 95% of the shed by myself. Don't get caught up in the fact that they used 2X3's and 24" centers, remember it was under $600 and it is still as sturdy as a rock. I plan to add shelving to the back wall and paint the shed to match the house. I will be adding another board to the inside bottom of the two doors for that is the only place that I can see light getting in, don't want to make it too easy for the critters. I also ran a 1X4X10 along both side walls at the roof line, now no one knows it has an 8' and 2' board combined to be 10'. Very happy with the finished product and a cleaned out garage!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: watch for fork lift damage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
30out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Navada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Terrible Quality

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lumber was very poor - 60% of the studs were seriously warped - had to buy more than $250.00 of replacement lumber - initially, I thought this was a great cost efficient method of buying the material to erect a 10X10 shed - I was terribly wrong - instead of saving $200 - $300 to build the shed with this precut package, it ended up costing $360.00 + more
Pros: Great Instructions
Cons: poor material
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not bad for the price and had a lot of piece but had to add more wood to the frames to make it stronger. Also indicates that you have to buy the floor and shingles separately
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Kyle Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Nice shed

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a pretty nice shed. The instructions were pretty easy to follow. I did it myself but I had my wife help me put the walls up. My biggest complaint is that some of the boards were a little tweeked when opened my box and they were not labeled at all. I had to measure the boards myself to verify the ones I needed. And when I put it together even though I followed the instructions closely things didn't line up perfectly. There cuts were a little off but it was close enough. Its a good shed and survived its first Texas rainstorm.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: some boards were warped
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>