728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

The Handy Home Products Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Storage Shed allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles (not included) to match your home. The 64 in. W double doors feature full-length hinges and swivel hasps for easy access to large lawn and garden equipment. The sturdy 2 x 3 construction helps to meet the demands of inclement weather. The free treated wood floor frame is ready for plywood or OSB decking (not included) while the patented EZ frame design reduces installation time.
Overall rating:
3.397 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(219 reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product149 of 207reviews
Rating Breakdown 219 reviews
3.4 out of 5
5
(53)
4
(73)
3
(37)
2
(20)
1
(36)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product149 of 207reviews
Customer questions and answers:
99 Questions | 292 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

You get what you pay for..

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall this is a decent purchase for $700. As many review state, there is some issues with twisted/warped wood. The kit is built with 2x3's which makes it feel flimsy while building it. Handy Home could bump their price by $25 and jump to to 2x4's for a much better product. Anyhow, even with 2x3's once the walls are secured to the floor, the trusses are secured, and the roof sheeting in place, the shed definitely firms up. It is difficult keeping the shed square, but keep in mind it's just that, a shed. Your lawn mower doesn't care! I'm a fairly experienced carpenter and kept mine within workable tolerances throughout the build. I used the treated for kit included with the shed. It isn't bad but I would recommend adding additional joists for a stronger floor, or use 3/4" plywood for your flooring. You will need to buy about 5lbs of nails or screws, plywood for your flooring, and shingles (I personally put down tar paper, drip edge, then architectural shingles). I also added a second spring lock for the door as I wanted my doors to stay tighter to the shed when closed. Again, not a bad purchase, overall I'm happy with it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Clinton CT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great shed, it was a bit of a pain to put together but for $650 bucks I really can't complain. You will need to build a floor, and shingle the roof. Reenforcing the doors is pretty helpful as well. Overall I am really happy with it. If you are putting it together yourself you will need a friend. It is certainly helpful if you are very mechanically inclined.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Flimsy

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very disappointed with this shed kit. The studs were all warped and twisted. Not a single one was cut to an exact length. The panels on the door side were cut an entire inch shorter than the pre built doors. we had to tear the doors apart and cut them down to make them fit. This kit does not come with decking or roofing, despite what we were told at the store. I would recommend buying 3" and 2" screws, and use those instead of the super cheap hardware that is included (I was able to bend a nail with my bare hands). For having to modify or replace most of the warped materials, I wish we would have just bought straight, quality materials, and built our shed from scratch. Definitely not worth the money!
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Don't let the photo fool you!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have to say I guess I didn't read the small print! The shed came with no floor, the wood was in poor condition, it was warped, broken, cracked. There was no roof. If I had purchased one I guess it would not have been a problem, but I purchased four. All of them were in equally poor condition. It took 6 days to build all four. We have to completely re-paint, roof, drill holes for floor ventilation, not what we expected.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, we purchased hundreds of dollars of new wood, spent hundreds on new roof
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good purchase, but a lot of work

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value to the shed! Very difficult to put together. 2 people, 1 experienced, worked on it for days.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, difficult instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good Valve and Quality

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keep in mind this is a $700 shed. I think it is very good quality for the money. It looks a lot better than the plastic and vinyl ones in my opinion. Mine is painted to match my house and it looks great. I found the materials to be good.. Installation is definitely a challenge and I am a professional handyman. I did it all by myself with the exception of my son helping me raise the walls. I did it over the course of two weekends. Flooring system to last shingle in about 16 - 18 hours. The flooring and roofing materials are not cheap... add at least another $175.00 to the cost of your shed to the cost of the kit.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+32points
58out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Terrible product

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is terrible. The flooring is not included (because why would you want a floor in your shed, right?) nor the pound of nails required to secure it. The treated 4x4x10 runners required for leveling are also not included. What's the point of buying a kit when it lacks flooring, runners, etc. Two inch galvanized nails are included for the base frame and are completely impractical in terms of securing the 2x4s to each other.
Also, I paid $250 extra for "delivery". The delivery company, USF Holland, called me and told me that I needed to have 4-5 guys available during their delivery window to unload the shed off of their truck. My expectation is that if I pay extra for delivery, I shouldn't need to get a crew to unload the truck.
+43points
54out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from AK via WA state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good Shed

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't be afraid to buy this shed its really pretty good for the money, every piece was the right size it was all there and its is pretty sturdy, I may add a board or 2 here and there but its not bad. I got the extra pressure treated 2x4s for the 12" on center floor joist very sturdy and put it on PT 4x4s. The directions were good just read them a time or two, If you are a nailer buy a few extra nails. (saves a trip to the hardware store) I only used 4 bundles of shingles maybe I did it wrong but I followed the directions. I recommend the drip edge considering the osb roof sheathing just for extra protection. The left side door should have 2 locks but it only has one, but no big deal, $1.99 at the hardware store fixes that, Had it delivered from Kenai Alaska to Anchor point Alaska very prompt and reliable service every thing was there no complaints at all. Thanks again, enjoy
RMB
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Staten Island , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Princeton 10' by 10" Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great shed for the price. I got this shed in September of 2012, went through Sandy and I did not add studs as some say it needs. Me and my son put this shed together in 3 or 4 days. I installed this shed on a cement slab, made it through sandy with no problems. This 10' by 10' shed has a lots of space, I built it to store my Motorcyle and I have plenty of room left over, my wife asked me when was I moving in. I recommend this shed for purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
67out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as advertised

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Asmbly of the shed is definitely not a one man job. I hired a crew to put it up and it took them 3 days. They did a great job puting it together.
There were some short pieces which they had to work around, but in the end it looks great.
I added about 18 more 2x3 studs to reinforce the walls and the inside base area because it is built on a 24" stud gap vs. the normal 16".
These are things you can do yourself, if you are handy.
Pros: Functional, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: could have used 16" stud to stud gap for more dura
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+43points
56out of 69found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great product for a great price!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did the majority of this project by myself. I had some help with the floor and back wall but the majority of this went up real easy by myself over the course of about 5 days.
Instructions were fairly clear and easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+38points
72out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cherry Hill, NJ 08002, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

great shed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A few helpfull hints... Have shed delivered.. unles you have 6 friends and an extended truck bed. When inventoring shed.. label all pieces and separate. Be prepared to spend an additional 250-300 on roof and misc.
I scrapped the kits floor plan and bought separate lumber because I wanted to repurpose some plywood I had already.
We took our time and had it up in two days.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
50out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Eagan, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Pay the extra for a tuff shed

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to save a little and 6 months later got a lot of snow and it fell apart. My $2500 riding mower got damaged in the collapsed rubble. HD will not warrantee the handy home, I should have not been cheep.
Cons: more problems than worth
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

love it

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
shed is great, some say replace the studs with 2x4's i don't see the need too.
one thing i did is i used "course drywall screws" instead of nails. i did not use a single nail except for the roof shingle, all screws!!!
if your putting this on a cement slab, the instructions say to use a silicone sealer between the 2x4 base and cement. i suggest you use ALOT, COMPLETELY OVER KILL IT!!!!!!!! when you press the 2x4 down to the cement you want it to ooze out all over!!!! i did not use enough sealer now the water comes in when it rains :(
p.s. USE ALOT OF SILICONE !!!!!!!!!!
+66points
66out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Wichita,Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This is a great shed.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Picked this item up on 7/23/2013 put the item together with all the rain,was completed on 8/9/2013.All of the content was in great shape,would recommend this shed to anyone.I also added guttering to protect the wood over time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product that does what it is suppose too

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Princeton 10’x10’ wood storage shed can be a very nice shed when you are all done. You do need to know that you will have to put about another $400 into it, to make it nice. The basic kit price does not include the flooring panels, whatever support structure you use for the building, or the roofing shingles, paint, etc. On top of that you can expect to replace about 20% of the wood that is too warped or twisted to use. It took me about four days to complete (partly because of our extremely hot and humid weather) and if you must, one person can complete about 95% of the project. If you really need to, one person can do everything except raise the four walls which will take about an hour.
A few general comments. Replace all ¾” screws with 1” screws, the ¾’s are to small. Anyone that would try to put this shed together with a hammer and nails is crazy. To whatever you have too ( buy, barrow, rent) a pneumatic framing nail gun. It will make things MUCH easier. The design of this shed is predicated on keeping the package only 8’ long. Because of that the layout, especially of the floor joists, is overly complicated and guaranties that you will not be able to build this thing perfectly square. I would say, if you can get it within an inch of square you are doing good and it will go together just fine. If your floor joists or roof joist pieces are warped you need to replace them. If you really want to do this right, scrap all the floor joist pieces and buy all new treated 10’ lumber, copy demensions from the plans and use the extra lumber recommended to have the floor joists at 12” instead of 24. I also built my shed on five 4x4 supports instead of the four recommended in the instructions.
The instructions are easy to follow and the shed goes together without any problems. The wall, door and roof panels were all cut properly and fit well. The door assembly looks a little complicated but goes up easily. I did replace the 2x3 weather strip pieces that go on the inside of doors with 1x3 pieces, looks much better.
Some people have criticized this shed as a waste of time and money. It’s not, It’s a mass produced partial shed kit that does a good job of being what it is intended to be – a low cost kit you can upgrade as much as you want to. My shed is done, is a solid, good looking shed, that took a lot of good hard work to complete. If you expect a perfect product, then buy something that costs 3x as much; if you expect an easy quickie project, then get one of those snap together plastic sheds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: quality of some wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+34points
48out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Freeport, IL 61032, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great kit for anyone to build

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This shed was assembled in a weekend with 2 or 3 people working for about 13 hours total. The directions were very well written and easy to understand. None of the builders were experienced carpenters, just your average handy guys. All the pieces fit together well...and that's saying a lot, because there were a lot of pieces. I love the space it provides and at half the price of some of the other brands. The picture I attached is just two days after it was built, se we have not painted the shed yet, may have to wait now till spring. Fits my Zero-turn mower and all my wife's outdoor accessories very well. I'm very happy with the entire package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: a couple small mistakes in the instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Willow Grove, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Princeton Shed

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The instructions should have a master list of the screws and nail that you need to buy. Several extra trips back to Home Depot could have been eliminated. The instructions covered all the steps with accuracy.
When building the floor, know where you want the front door. The floor is not actually 10x10. Great value,and strong materials. I would purchase this shed again.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Excellent Quality, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Jersey Shore
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A terrific kit for the do-it-yourselfer.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kit for this 10x10 ft shed included everything it said it would. I used extra 2" and 3" nails. Having done home projects before, the instructions were thorough and orderly. There were only 1 or 2 instances where things could have aligned better at the end, but worked out fine. It's a nice looking shed too. Plenty of primer on the big panels. If you are 6 ft. tall, you will probably hit your head on the entrance. Toughest part: rafters had a twist and roof panel didn't want to reach. Easiest part: Doors went up in 10 minutes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
18out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Costs and Time Misquoted

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read some of the customer reviews and heeded some of the "faults" with this product. However, it did cost me extra in materials ($250.00+). So be prepared if you want a sturdy product that there will be out-of-pocket costs involved.
Fortunately I had someone to install the shed (at no cost to me for labor). Including him and two other helpers it took three days to erect this shed. No, it does not go up in a weekend and you do need 1 or perhaps 2 people to help.
It was decided to use piers rather than situate the shed on the ground so that took extra time. Additional lumber for joists and sidewalls also needed to be purchased to make the structure sturdier than the limited amount of supplies furnished; additionally other minor changes had to be adjusted (one being the spring lock on the inside of the door and stabilizing the rafters). And yes, part of the extra cost did include roofing and flooring but also extra 2x4s, etc. One reviewer suggested using the online manual rather than the enclosed booklet and my installer agreed it was better for instructions.
So for the do-it-yourselfers, the current price on the shed is actually more than the original price. Ultimately, due to the "infrastructures" made, it did turn out to be much better built but my installer felt that just buying all original materials (rather than a kit) and building it ground up would have been a lot cheaper. So keep that consideration in mind.
It looks very nice, indeed, but because of the extra materials and structural corrections, I could only rate the shed for 2 stars.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: expenditures required, cheaper to build using own materials, manual enclosed difficult to read
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>