728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

The Handy Home Products Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Storage Shed allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles (not included) to match your home. The 64 in. wide double doors feature full-length hinges and swivel hasps for easy access to large lawn and garden equipment. The sturdy 2 x 3 construction helps to meet the demands of inclement weather. The free treated wood floor frame is ready for plywood or OSB decking (not included) while the patented EZ frame design reduces installation time.
Overall rating:
3.496 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(133 reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product94 of 124reviews
Rating Breakdown 133 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(49)
3
(19)
2
(11)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product94 of 124reviews
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 195 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
steve

Great product for a great price!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did the majority of this project by myself. I had some help with the floor and back wall but the majority of this went up real easy by myself over the course of about 5 days.
Instructions were fairly clear and easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+22points
44out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Thriller53
from Wichita,Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This is a great shed.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked this item up on 7/23/2013 put the item together with all the rain,was completed on 8/9/2013.All of the content was in great shape,would recommend this shed to anyone.I also added guttering to protect the wood over time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
JCKAT
from Freeport, IL 61032, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great kit for anyone to build

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shed was assembled in a weekend with 2 or 3 people working for about 13 hours total. The directions were very well written and easy to understand. None of the builders were experienced carpenters, just your average handy guys. All the pieces fit together well...and that's saying a lot, because there were a lot of pieces. I love the space it provides and at half the price of some of the other brands. The picture I attached is just two days after it was built, se we have not painted the shed yet, may have to wait now till spring. Fits my Zero-turn mower and all my wife's outdoor accessories very well. I'm very happy with the entire package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: a couple small mistakes in the instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Djoast
from Staten Island , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Princeton 10' by 10" Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great shed for the price. I got this shed in September of 2012, went through Sandy and I did not add studs as some say it needs. Me and my son put this shed together in 3 or 4 days. I installed this shed on a cement slab, made it through sandy with no problems. This 10' by 10' shed has a lots of space, I built it to store my Motorcyle and I have plenty of room left over, my wife asked me when was I moving in. I recommend this shed for purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+47points
63out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Emily
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

The product is good and almost matches up perfectly.

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit isn't top quality but does come with everything you need, other than the floor. Glad to see there were some screws instead of strictly nails too!
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no floor, large gaps in joints
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
k2013
from Cherry Hill, NJ 08002, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

great shed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A few helpfull hints... Have shed delivered.. unles you have 6 friends and an extended truck bed. When inventoring shed.. label all pieces and separate. Be prepared to spend an additional 250-300 on roof and misc.
I scrapped the kits floor plan and bought separate lumber because I wanted to repurpose some plywood I had already.
We took our time and had it up in two days.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
42out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Bandman13
from Jersey Shore
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A terrific kit for the do-it-yourselfer.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit for this 10x10 ft shed included everything it said it would. I used extra 2" and 3" nails. Having done home projects before, the instructions were thorough and orderly. There were only 1 or 2 instances where things could have aligned better at the end, but worked out fine. It's a nice looking shed too. Plenty of primer on the big panels. If you are 6 ft. tall, you will probably hit your head on the entrance. Toughest part: rafters had a twist and roof panel didn't want to reach. Easiest part: Doors went up in 10 minutes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
14out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
lplum
from Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as advertised

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Asmbly of the shed is definitely not a one man job. I hired a crew to put it up and it took them 3 days. They did a great job puting it together.
There were some short pieces which they had to work around, but in the end it looks great.
I added about 18 more 2x3 studs to reinforce the walls and the inside base area because it is built on a 24" stud gap vs. the normal 16".
These are things you can do yourself, if you are handy.
Pros: Functional, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: could have used 16" stud to stud gap for more dura
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+39points
52out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Anthony12345

Worth the money

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the price you will not find a better shed. I made my own 10x10 floor with 2x4x10's to make the floor stronger, but its not neccessary. The directions are very to read and follow. Some of the wood was slightly warped, however its easy to make adjustments. I reccommend this shed for someone looking for a lot of storage at a small price
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Splais
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product that does what it is suppose too

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Princeton 10’x10’ wood storage shed can be a very nice shed when you are all done. You do need to know that you will have to put about another $400 into it, to make it nice. The basic kit price does not include the flooring panels, whatever support structure you use for the building, or the roofing shingles, paint, etc. On top of that you can expect to replace about 20% of the wood that is too warped or twisted to use. It took me about four days to complete (partly because of our extremely hot and humid weather) and if you must, one person can complete about 95% of the project. If you really need to, one person can do everything except raise the four walls which will take about an hour.
A few general comments. Replace all ¾” screws with 1” screws, the ¾’s are to small. Anyone that would try to put this shed together with a hammer and nails is crazy. To whatever you have too ( buy, barrow, rent) a pneumatic framing nail gun. It will make things MUCH easier. The design of this shed is predicated on keeping the package only 8’ long. Because of that the layout, especially of the floor joists, is overly complicated and guaranties that you will not be able to build this thing perfectly square. I would say, if you can get it within an inch of square you are doing good and it will go together just fine. If your floor joists or roof joist pieces are warped you need to replace them. If you really want to do this right, scrap all the floor joist pieces and buy all new treated 10’ lumber, copy demensions from the plans and use the extra lumber recommended to have the floor joists at 12” instead of 24. I also built my shed on five 4x4 supports instead of the four recommended in the instructions.
The instructions are easy to follow and the shed goes together without any problems. The wall, door and roof panels were all cut properly and fit well. The door assembly looks a little complicated but goes up easily. I did replace the 2x3 weather strip pieces that go on the inside of doors with 1x3 pieces, looks much better.
Some people have criticized this shed as a waste of time and money. It’s not, It’s a mass produced partial shed kit that does a good job of being what it is intended to be – a low cost kit you can upgrade as much as you want to. My shed is done, is a solid, good looking shed, that took a lot of good hard work to complete. If you expect a perfect product, then buy something that costs 3x as much; if you expect an easy quickie project, then get one of those snap together plastic sheds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: quality of some wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
43out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
JoshB
from North Carolina

It's a shed!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had been looking at the various shed offerings in the $1000 price range and found this one with a special discount at our local HD. The "kit" only includes about 75% of the items needed, so be aware that the total cost will be a bit higher. That said, the instructions spelled out what was included, and what you had to add so it was easy to pack up a cart full of the extras. In total, we spent around $1,100 on the whole project including the footings, flooring, shingles and other details. Overall, the shed came out great and we couldn't beat the value.
the instructions are fairly straight-forward, though there were a few details I wished were spelled out better. I would recommend downloading the .PDF and review it several times before you start construction. At first we were concerned with the 2x3's and that there didn't appear to be any support in the corners, but I now realize that the exterior trim pieces and the walls provide that extra support. Overall it's a sturdy construction and did not appear flimsy, even with me walking on the roof to finish up the shingles.
I added a second catch at the bottom of the door as the single catch left the door to flop around a bit too much for my liking. Also, loading it in my pickup truck was a bit or a chore, and renting the HD truck to bring it home, or having it delivered is worth considering. I also plan to add some vents to control the heat and keep it from getting too stuffy.
Overall I am happy with the purchase, and for the price it was was the best deal I could find in the area that matched our HOA restrictions (no metal or plastic sheds) and was small enough that I didn't have to get any permits in our area. It was exactly what we needed.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: kit is not complete
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
JemW
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

The quality of the product is lacking in all respects

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At least 1/2 of the 2x4s & 2x3s were warped badly. Getting the frames to square up with the plywood siding was almost impossible. And don't think that this product is complete. Additional purchases are required to put it together. I just completed tying the four walls together, and it was a very difficult. Also beware of their shipping technique. In my case, they insisted that I provide a crew to unload the package from the truck. Had to bring Home Depot into the picture to enforce the delivery method I paid for. After opening the package and seeing all the pieces, I thought it best to have Home Depot install the product. Surprise, Home Depot would not touch it. That should speak volumes as to the product. VERY disappointing.
Pros: can't think of one
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, poor quality
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
jaydale
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

love it

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shed is great, some say replace the studs with 2x4's i don't see the need too.
one thing i did is i used "course drywall screws" instead of nails. i did not use a single nail except for the roof shingle, all screws!!!
if your putting this on a cement slab, the instructions say to use a silicone sealer between the 2x4 base and cement. i suggest you use ALOT, COMPLETELY OVER KILL IT!!!!!!!! when you press the 2x4 down to the cement you want it to ooze out all over!!!! i did not use enough sealer now the water comes in when it rains :(
p.s. USE ALOT OF SILICONE !!!!!!!!!!
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Jason

Garbage!

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This price is for the VERY basic components. It doesnt include many of the basic parts: like flooring shingles or even nails. Most of the wood is the cheapest quality wood that is warped beyond belief! I had to return a sheet of plywood because it was damaged when they loaded it; the sheet I grabed from inside the store was SO much better quality than the piece that came with the kit. Just download plans for a shed and do it yourself, it will be such better quality and cheaper! Trust me!
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
1dissapointed
from Lancaster, Ca.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Not what expected from Homedepot

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wished I had read all the reviews, before buying this shed, I would not have bought it. Warped studs, sides do not line up, hardware missing, cheap blocks split when drilling and roof rafters need more support between them. If you are thinking about buying this shed-- DON"T !!! Had a contractor install the unit. I helped some. I have spent $2000 including labor and material that I had to furnish and buy because of missing screws and etc. The contractor said that he could have built me a 10x10 with 2x4's and all materials/labor for $1600. Oh, well, Stupid me!!
Pros: it is done! finally
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, poor quality, not heavy duty, 2x3 studs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Mark
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

100% solid shed for the money.

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good sturdy shed...did they cut some corners? Yes, but they did that to save on shipping and safe you money. I purchased this shed for under $600. Plan to add on another $400-$500 for flooring, paint, roofing cloth, drip edge, shingles, and I used 2" and 3" screws for everything except the roof. Plan to have it delivered, it is 4X8 and weighs a ton. I put it together in a couple weekends, I'm not a craftsman or a contractor, just a regular d-i-y'er and I found it to be pretty simple. I built 95% of the shed by myself. Don't get caught up in the fact that they used 2X3's and 24" centers, remember it was under $600 and it is still as sturdy as a rock. I plan to add shelving to the back wall and paint the shed to match the house. I will be adding another board to the inside bottom of the two doors for that is the only place that I can see light getting in, don't want to make it too easy for the critters. I also ran a 1X4X10 along both side walls at the roof line, now no one knows it has an 8' and 2' board combined to be 10'. Very happy with the finished product and a cleaned out garage!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: watch for fork lift damage
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
30out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
DDub
from Bound Brook, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

As Advertised - Solid, nothing fancy, does the job well.

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The kit arrived with one of the OSB sheets damaged, but the local Home Depot replaced it. The instructions were very small (you might need your glasses), but adequately explained each step. The extra tips were good.
I would definitely recommend reinforcing the floor, described as an optional step in the instructions. You might also consider adding studs to the walls as well. All the materials were cut precisely and fit together well, though some of the studs came a little warped.
After purchasing the required and optional additional materials, I'm not sure I saved much by purchasing a kit and building it myself. However, if you enjoy these kinds of projects like I do, this is one that should go pretty well.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: included door clasp too small for regular padlock
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Bikerdood
from Skiatook, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Satisfied repeat Princeton Shed buyer!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second shed I have built in the past 3 years, the first being an 8 x 8. I am 68 years old and a retired pilot with COPD so it took me probably a little longer to assemble this 10 x 10. I only worked on it 4 hours a day and had it assembled in a week. I doubled up on the floor joist (1' centers), added some vents and solar lights. Great quality shed and easy to build.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
33out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
ArtnShea
from North Windham
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Decent shed for the money

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not a bad shed for the money, Insructions were written quite well and shed went together quite nicely, Built it with help from my daugther in a day and a half.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Jeff
from Syracuse, IN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A pretty good project!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading several reviews and worrying about our ability to actually get this project done, I bit the bullet and bought the kit.
As most of the reviewers mentioned, plan on spending about $ 200 to get roofing material, flooring, paint and screws to replace the provided nails.
I built the shed on bare ground, so i spent about 4 hours getting the ground prepared and the blocks and 4x4 level before i even unwrapped the product.
I built the remainder of the shed over a 3 day period, using only my 70 yr old dad and my girlfriend as helpers. I spent a total of about 20 hours over those 3 days.
The quality of the materials is a bit suspect in some places, but it is a shed, not a room addition.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>