728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

The Handy Home Products Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Storage Shed allows you to customize your shed with paint and shingles (not included) to match your home. The 64 in. wide double doors feature full-length hinges and swivel hasps for easy access to large lawn and garden equipment. The sturdy 2 x 3 construction helps to meet the demands of inclement weather. The free treated wood floor frame is ready for plywood or OSB decking (not included) while the patented EZ frame design reduces installation time.
Overall rating:
3.418 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(194 reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product134 of 182reviews
Rating Breakdown 194 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(67)
3
(36)
2
(16)
1
(30)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product134 of 182reviews
Customer questions and answers:
85 Questions | 263 Answers
Customer reviews for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
Review 1 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Fuquay Varina, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Good Valve and Quality

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keep in mind this is a $700 shed. I think it is very good quality for the money. It looks a lot better than the plastic and vinyl ones in my opinion. Mine is painted to match my house and it looks great. I found the materials to be good.. Installation is definitely a challenge and I am a professional handyman. I did it all by myself with the exception of my son helping me raise the walls. I did it over the course of two weekends. Flooring system to last shingle in about 16 - 18 hours. The flooring and roofing materials are not cheap... add at least another $175.00 to the cost of your shed to the cost of the kit.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
49out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Vancouver, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Good purchase, but a lot of work

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value to the shed! Very difficult to put together. 2 people, 1 experienced, worked on it for days.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install, difficult instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from AK via WA state
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Good Shed

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't be afraid to buy this shed its really pretty good for the money, every piece was the right size it was all there and its is pretty sturdy, I may add a board or 2 here and there but its not bad. I got the extra pressure treated 2x4s for the 12" on center floor joist very sturdy and put it on PT 4x4s. The directions were good just read them a time or two, If you are a nailer buy a few extra nails. (saves a trip to the hardware store) I only used 4 bundles of shingles maybe I did it wrong but I followed the directions. I recommend the drip edge considering the osb roof sheathing just for extra protection. The left side door should have 2 locks but it only has one, but no big deal, $1.99 at the hardware store fixes that, Had it delivered from Kenai Alaska to Anchor point Alaska very prompt and reliable service every thing was there no complaints at all. Thanks again, enjoy
RMB
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

Great product for a great price!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did the majority of this project by myself. I had some help with the floor and back wall but the majority of this went up real easy by myself over the course of about 5 days.
Instructions were fairly clear and easy to read.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
64out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Staten Island , New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Princeton 10' by 10" Shed

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great shed for the price. I got this shed in September of 2012, went through Sandy and I did not add studs as some say it needs. Me and my son put this shed together in 3 or 4 days. I installed this shed on a cement slab, made it through sandy with no problems. This 10' by 10' shed has a lots of space, I built it to store my Motorcyle and I have plenty of room left over, my wife asked me when was I moving in. I recommend this shed for purchasing.
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+46points
64out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Cherry Hill, NJ 08002, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

great shed

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A few helpfull hints... Have shed delivered.. unles you have 6 friends and an extended truck bed. When inventoring shed.. label all pieces and separate. Be prepared to spend an additional 250-300 on roof and misc.
I scrapped the kits floor plan and bought separate lumber because I wanted to repurpose some plywood I had already.
We took our time and had it up in two days.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
46out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Navada
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Terrible Quality

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The lumber was very poor - 60% of the studs were seriously warped - had to buy more than $250.00 of replacement lumber - initially, I thought this was a great cost efficient method of buying the material to erect a 10X10 shed - I was terribly wrong - instead of saving $200 - $300 to build the shed with this precut package, it ended up costing $360.00 + more
Pros: Great Instructions
Cons: poor material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Product was as advertised

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Asmbly of the shed is definitely not a one man job. I hired a crew to put it up and it took them 3 days. They did a great job puting it together.
There were some short pieces which they had to work around, but in the end it looks great.
I added about 18 more 2x3 studs to reinforce the walls and the inside base area because it is built on a 24" stud gap vs. the normal 16".
These are things you can do yourself, if you are handy.
Pros: Functional, Vibrant Color, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: could have used 16" stud to stud gap for more dura
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+41points
54out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Wichita,Ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

This is a great shed.

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Picked this item up on 7/23/2013 put the item together with all the rain,was completed on 8/9/2013.All of the content was in great shape,would recommend this shed to anyone.I also added guttering to protect the wood over time.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+14points
20out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great price / shed to build on

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am a weekend warrior but I have done full basements and bathrooms. For the price ($569), this is a good shed to complete and finish up to a high end look if you choose. Remember its NOT 10 x 10. Its 10 x 9'8'. Important if you build your own 2 x 4 x 10's - 16" on center base which I did. No way am I sectioning a floor with a 10 x 7 and 10 x 2'8" attachment. Expect sagging if you do. I made a 4 x 10 PT post base using 4 of them equally spaced on concrete block.
I did all the walls at 12" on center as well so I had to buy extra 2 x 4 x 8's. Purchase hurricane ties to secure the trusses to roof. They are .76 cents each at Home Depot and they secure trusses properly. DO not use the supplied nails / screws. Purchase 9D or 10D 3" deck screws and same in 2" for flooring / roofing. Use 10D galvanized nails only for the hurricane trusses. This shed is best built with screws. The wood is sometimes crowned / warped / short cut. You go blasting framing nails in and you are stuck with it. Easier to pull out a screw and adjust.
As to beautifying it , I added a ladder soffit to the front over door thus extending / overhanging the roof by 10 inches using the leftover 2 x 4's they supplied for floor. I am siding it as well.
As stated by others the walls do not overhang the base thus creating a water issue with rain. Once you build the floor and sheath it, put drip edge around the perimeter to keep water from sneaking under walls. I was able to run my siding down enough to protect from water rolling under walls as well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: sectional stud floor, wall sheathing not long enough
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Freeport, IL 61032, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great kit for anyone to build

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This shed was assembled in a weekend with 2 or 3 people working for about 13 hours total. The directions were very well written and easy to understand. None of the builders were experienced carpenters, just your average handy guys. All the pieces fit together well...and that's saying a lot, because there were a lot of pieces. I love the space it provides and at half the price of some of the other brands. The picture I attached is just two days after it was built, se we have not painted the shed yet, may have to wait now till spring. Fits my Zero-turn mower and all my wife's outdoor accessories very well. I'm very happy with the entire package.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: a couple small mistakes in the instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed

junk material

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 10×10 shed material also but no Good because I have to buy lot a extra need meterial most junk stuff materials
Very cheap materials too thin roof boards, 2×3 too small size most size is not fits.
I am not happy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Jersey Shore
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

A terrific kit for the do-it-yourselfer.

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kit for this 10x10 ft shed included everything it said it would. I used extra 2" and 3" nails. Having done home projects before, the instructions were thorough and orderly. There were only 1 or 2 instances where things could have aligned better at the end, but worked out fine. It's a nice looking shed too. Plenty of primer on the big panels. If you are 6 ft. tall, you will probably hit your head on the entrance. Toughest part: rafters had a twist and roof panel didn't want to reach. Easiest part: Doors went up in 10 minutes!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
18out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

love it

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shed is great, some say replace the studs with 2x4's i don't see the need too.
one thing i did is i used "course drywall screws" instead of nails. i did not use a single nail except for the roof shingle, all screws!!!
if your putting this on a cement slab, the instructions say to use a silicone sealer between the 2x4 base and cement. i suggest you use ALOT, COMPLETELY OVER KILL IT!!!!!!!! when you press the 2x4 down to the cement you want it to ooze out all over!!!! i did not use enough sealer now the water comes in when it rains :(
p.s. USE ALOT OF SILICONE !!!!!!!!!!
+62points
62out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good product that does what it is suppose too

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Princeton 10’x10’ wood storage shed can be a very nice shed when you are all done. You do need to know that you will have to put about another $400 into it, to make it nice. The basic kit price does not include the flooring panels, whatever support structure you use for the building, or the roofing shingles, paint, etc. On top of that you can expect to replace about 20% of the wood that is too warped or twisted to use. It took me about four days to complete (partly because of our extremely hot and humid weather) and if you must, one person can complete about 95% of the project. If you really need to, one person can do everything except raise the four walls which will take about an hour.
A few general comments. Replace all ¾” screws with 1” screws, the ¾’s are to small. Anyone that would try to put this shed together with a hammer and nails is crazy. To whatever you have too ( buy, barrow, rent) a pneumatic framing nail gun. It will make things MUCH easier. The design of this shed is predicated on keeping the package only 8’ long. Because of that the layout, especially of the floor joists, is overly complicated and guaranties that you will not be able to build this thing perfectly square. I would say, if you can get it within an inch of square you are doing good and it will go together just fine. If your floor joists or roof joist pieces are warped you need to replace them. If you really want to do this right, scrap all the floor joist pieces and buy all new treated 10’ lumber, copy demensions from the plans and use the extra lumber recommended to have the floor joists at 12” instead of 24. I also built my shed on five 4x4 supports instead of the four recommended in the instructions.
The instructions are easy to follow and the shed goes together without any problems. The wall, door and roof panels were all cut properly and fit well. The door assembly looks a little complicated but goes up easily. I did replace the 2x3 weather strip pieces that go on the inside of doors with 1x3 pieces, looks much better.
Some people have criticized this shed as a waste of time and money. It’s not, It’s a mass produced partial shed kit that does a good job of being what it is intended to be – a low cost kit you can upgrade as much as you want to. My shed is done, is a solid, good looking shed, that took a lot of good hard work to complete. If you expect a perfect product, then buy something that costs 3x as much; if you expect an easy quickie project, then get one of those snap together plastic sheds.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: quality of some wood
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+33points
47out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from New Canaan, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Decent product for the money

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built the shed myself off and on over the course of a few days. I am licensed contractor and cabinet builder so I took a number of steps to improve on the basic structure which added to the cost but made the end product a lot sturdier. For a complete novice with no prior building or carpentry experience this might be too big a project to take on but it was pretty smooth sailing for someone like me with the skills who also owns every power tool known to man. And for an all-in cost of around $1,100 I am pretty satisfied given this seems a reasonable amount of money for the sizable, good looking wooden shed that I ended up with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Slidell, LA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Decent Kit Shed

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LET'S BE REALISTIC. I bought this shed as a kit shed on a 4th July sale, I got it for about $640 with $100 discount. As some mentioned it does not include floor decking (OSB or Plywood), shingles, felt paper, flashing (roofing material), 4x4 runners, masonry blocks and gravel (foundation materials) and several pounds of 2" nails (I used screws). All in all I got away with a decent storage shed for around $900. Within the original packing some of the studs were warped, I did have to shim one of the support frames to square the right wall. Overall the quality was good, not great (it's a kit shed people!).
It took me a full weekend and several nights to complete this, mostly by myself. However with the walls and roof sheeting you will need assistance. With the rafter joists I would set one side and use a bar clamp while I squared the other side, this allowed me to mostly complete the shed alone. The directions are easy to follow for most weekend-warrior-handy-man. If two competent people are working together it will take about a weekend.
Yes I could have built a better shed by myself, probably for cheaper, but time is valuable and having pre-cut sections really saved on time.
Ensure that you properly level and square the floor, walls and roof! Learn the racking technique, if you don't know it, Youtube it.
In closing I have recommended this shed to another friend and I will be helping him install his own.
Pros: Functional, Great Instructions, heavy duty pre-hung doors and hardware, pre-cut, kit will fit in back of pick-up truck (without the
Cons: several warped pieces that will require knowledge, the purchase extra material (all kit sheds are lik
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Fayettville NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Not well desined

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The side walls are longer than the floor
the roof dose not fit it is too short
had to modify areas to make things work
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Nahant, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Quality at an unbeatable price

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the 10X10 shed for $650 put another $250 into it and had a beautiful shed for the unbeatable price of $900. The direction were easy to follow and working after hip surgery I was ableI purchased the 10X10 shed for $650 put another $250 into it and had a beautiful shed for the unbeatable price of $900. The direction where easy to follow and working after hip surgery I was able to assemble it in about 20 hours. That's paint and roofed.
Pros: Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Princeton 10 ft. x 10 ft. Wood Storage Shed
from Casa Grande, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worst Purchase Ever

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most studs were warped, floor boards cut wrong length. Had to return to store to get missing pieces. Roof boards were not in package. Sorry but this shed was a total dissapointment. Probably should have loaded it in my truck after opening the product and returned it but had many things to do so built it but completely dissatisfied with it. I get a lot of product from Home Depot and it has all been good except for this shed. Advertised as your best quality shed, hate to see what your lesser quality shed is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>