728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor

Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor

The Handy Home Products Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Do-It-Yourself Wood Shed Kit with floor offers massive storage and recreational possibilities inside a complimentary gable design. This 12 ft. wide class floor plan features superior-grade 2x4 wood framing and a robust 2040 cu. ft. of storage capacity, providing the mega space you need to store all your outdoor yard tools and lawn gear. The expansive Columbia also boasts a flexible door location – install your doors on eave or gable sides! The smart-sized 7 ft. high side walls and 10 ft. peak compliment the over-sized, over-sized 5 ft. 4 in. wide by 6 ft. high double doors with full-length galvanized steel hinges. A premium rust-resistant, keyed locking handle is included for improved security. This Do-It-Yourself wood shed kit can be easily assembled with a hammer, screwdriver, tape measure, level and stepladder.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
Review 1 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor

Overall a decent product - but NOT easy

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This kit came as 3 different sheds (2) 12x8 and (1) 12x4 in order to build a 12x20. There were no 12 ft 2x4; you had to splice an 8 ft with a 4 ft. The floor was only 3/8" - not very strong. Roof joist are 24" on-center, a little weak. It was NOT easy to build, you must have two people min. Instructions weren't very clear in areas. My kit came with gray and white trim pieces and doors, so looks awful until painted. When finally assembled it came out nice - concidering everything mentioned. The doors are very strong and came with good hardware.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Product issues

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
There was a severe shortage of nails for the kit. We had read that the instructions were a challenge (which they were), which added time to our work, but we were able to figure it out. But we only received enough 2" and 3" nails to complete the floor and the long wall with the door. We had to go buy extra, for which Customer Service will reimburse us, but that obviously added even more time to our efforts.
Cons: challenging instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
from Greer, SC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Shed - Instructions Lacking

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like the shed for the price, but the instructions to put together where lacking good verbal descriptions. We were stumped a few times trying to figure out the pieces of the puzzle, especially the instructions for the floor kit. Instructions and pieces where sent for a 12X12 shed and a 12X8 shed. It would have been much simpler and secure if the instructions and diagrams where written and architected for a 12X20 shed. Luckily we had a carpenter friend to help assemble this puppy! Would suggest if you are not handy with building, get help or pay to have installed.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor

Worst directions ever!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This 12 x 20 shed is fabulous once you can figure everything out! AND our kit was not intact upon arrival so we werent even sure we had all the pieces. we were several pieces shy. Thank goodness we had extra wood handy. Why doesnt Home Depot have EXACT directions for a 12 x 20 shed w/ floor instead of 12x12 adding 2 four foot extentions. The integrity of the building is then comprimised . We had to do alot of fancy woodwork to make it sturdier! The siding is "flimsy". It has 12x12 or 12 x24 floor instructions but not a 12x20. The floor itself was like putting together a jigsaw puzzle!!! AWFUL! If they could come up with directions and matching pieces for all sizes, it would be a whole lot easier!! Not happy as a participating builder of this particular building. Would NOT recommend to novices or even semi-confident homeowners that think they are do-it-your-self-ers!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
from Caledonia, MS

Love this

PostedJune 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this building for my portrait consultations. I was able to easily set it up and finish the way I want. My clients tell me it is homey.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
from Newark, De

Sweet

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Best I've ever owned! It is very roomy for a 12X20 shed. I would recomend this shed to any one who is doubting it. Love it and Thank You, Home Depot!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor

Ok

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not bad. You basically get what u pay for. You'll need someone handy as the directions are not that detailed. The floor is 2x4 instead of 2x6. I recommend doubling them up. Nothing is over 8 ft long so you will be splicing some together if more than 8x8
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
from Newark,DE

The Best

PostedNovember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nothing can compare to this wonder shed. I wish people could see that this shed is better than others, even if it is smaller then the biggest. Thank You for providing me with this wonderful structure!
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit with Floor
from san Diego

poor design

PostedAugust 20, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Columbia 12 ft. x 20 ft. Wood Storage Building Kit
Once built this shed had more room than I thought. It also looks solid and presentable once built but the process of building this shed was incredibly difficult. Much of the lumber is dry and twisted. Some so bad I had to replace. The top and bottom plates for the side walls are made up of one 8 footer and three 4 footers. This leads me to believe much of this lumber is cut offs.
Over all very poor design and very time consuming to erect.
+48points
54out of 60found this review helpful.