728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mortar, Cement & Concrete Mix or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray

40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray

A polymer modified, sand and cement repair mortar for the resurfacing and patching of worn or chipped concrete surfaces. Superior bonding strength means long-lasting repairs. SAKRETE Top 'n Bond is a material used for patching, repairing or resurfacing concrete surfaces.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
Review 1 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from Bellingham, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Ambivalent

PostedJune 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
I mixed a bag in a well-washed wheelbarrow. I needed to raise the sidewalk level outside my rear garage door, as during a medium to heavy rain, water would drain into the garage between the bottom of the door and the sill. The area I covered was about 12 square feet, with the thickest area near the door being ~3/4" deep. Well, when dry, about 1 1/2 square feet (this was about ½” thick or less) had that dreaded hollow ring when I tapped it with a hammer. I had followed the directions: cleaning the old concrete, spraying with water, mixing a pancake batter slurry to put on, and then stiffening the mixture to trowel on. Unfortunately, I did not read the curing part of the instructions, as I may have waited too long to spray water on the surface every few hours. Another possibility is that I may have made the final mixture too wet. So, I'm neutral. Oh, the mixture had balled up so much, from baseball size to small marble size, that I had to physically use my hands to break the balls into powder, both in the dry phase and the wet phase. And, I made the mistake of not using gloves! (My hands were rough for a few days.) I will probably buy another bag and try again. This time, I will spray water on the surface and scrub with a brush before putting on the pancake batter slurry. Then, I will spray water on the finished surface after 2-3 hours of set or try using wet burlap bags. Sakrete’s video makes no mention about proper curing.
Cons: Inconsistent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from phoenix
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product to recoat my sidewalk. I used a mixer on my power drill and that worked very well. After mixting I used a broom to apply and had another bucket fill with water to dip the broom in to keep it wet. It made my old worn sidewalk look brand new.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Easy to Clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray

Easy to apply, does not crack

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this on a crumbled corner of my driveway that was starting to fall apart. The area was approximately 25 sq ft with 1/2" cracks between the broken and separated chunks of concrete. Not only did it completely and utterly stop weeds growing through the cracks, it stabilized the entire corner and nicely hid what used to look like a meteor impact point. I part my truck on the patched area every night and, several years later, have yet to see a single crack in the patch. Wonderful stuff.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray

cheaper and better than any concrete prepatch product

PostedMay 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've bought the prepatch concrete, meaning it is ready to use and you don't need to mix it with water, earlier and it was not as good as this one. It is a lot cheaper to buy this one than to buy any of the concrete prepatch product out there.
Honestly, I don't see any reason why you should buy any prepatch product unless you are afraid of water and don't know how to mix this product with water yourself.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from Windsor, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, disappointing color

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, I want to comment on the review by "mistere" on Dec. 31, 2013. That review stated the product contained 1/2" stones the prevented feathering edges. That comment is incorrect. This product has no gravel whatsoever. It is a mortar-like texture that can even be thinned to a thick paint consistency, if desired.
Now for my disappointment, the color. I bought this to create a fresh concrete coating on my painted porch. I have existing concrete next to the porch and I wanted the color to be similar. The Top N Bond dried to a greenish gray that doesn't resemble the true gray of the existing concrete at all. If I were using this to patch a crack or chip in an existing slab, the mismatched color would look even worse. I can't recommend this product for projects where you want to patch to blend in.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product, Could fNOT feather to 1/16 inch

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used product to pour around new storm drain and tie into and cover some old existing concrete. Poured around drain at about 1.5 inches thick then covered existing, adjacent concrete at about 3/8 inch thickness.
Product has not cracked, adhered well to existing concrete, and finished well. Color dried nice gray color, a bit a darker than very old concrete adjacent to it.
The sack I have would not be able to be used to feather to 1/16 of an inch. Has lots of 1/8 to slightly less than 1/4 inch gravel in it. Used left over product on a mock up board and aggregate would come through at about 1/4 or slightly less thickness. Did not have 1/2 material like previous review stated. Product adhered well to mock up plywood board.
Pros: Easy to Work With, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from Huntington WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your cash !!!!

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This about the worst building product I have ever bought in my life. I watched the Videos and followed all the instructions to a tee.Looked good for about a day,then Peeled Up,Flaked off even where almost 1/2" thick. A lot of work for little results.
Contacted the company for help and rep came and took sample.Then let me know they could not stand behind product.
Would not recommend for even the smallest job!! Worthless..
Pros: worthless
Cons: everything
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from New York City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stoned topper

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product states it can be feathered to 1/16 inch. It's loaded with 1/2 stone, making it impossible to get thin coating. I returned the used portion. The part I did use performed as expected for a cement product.
-13points
2out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb.Top 'N Bond Concrete Patcher in Gray
from Alamo, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Used to fill asphalt crack.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to spread and tamp down. Looks nice newly applied. It's loose adherence may take a few hot days to meld together.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: Inconsistent
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.