728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sewing Machines, Irons & Steamers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine

Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine

The Janome Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine comes in a compact form factor and delivers quality stitching for up to 6 layers of lightweight fabric. Great for beginners and experienced users alike, this sewing machine is great for embellishing clothing, performing small mending jobs, piecing together quilts and for making simple garments, wall hangings and other home decor items.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product38 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Grandma
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great machine

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these machines. One for my 6 y.o. Grandson & 7 y.o. Granddaughter. They love them! They sew great stitches. The only problem one of the bobbin covers was misplaced & I couldn't find any dealers that carry that part. Thankfully we found it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Good Use of Space
Cons: Noisy, not able to find parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Allthingsgood

Simple to use, good for beginner sewer

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the machine I should have bought as my first sewing machine rather than the complicated brother machine with numerous stitches and too intimidating to use. Only slight con if any is its a bit noisy but i think thats common from smaller portable machines. Thank you home depot for the free shipping! :)
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
quiltergram
from Virden IL

Best mini sew on the market

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this little machine for my granddaughter who is longing to "quilt like Grandma". It is just perfect for her. I own a Janome myself and this is why I bought this machine. I am not disappointed in anyway with this product. I highly recommend the product.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Jerry
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very pleased

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not much of a reviewer, but the Janome Sew Mini deserves one. This machine sews straight line and zig zag. That's all I wanted. While it is slower than a full sized macine, it is powerful. I sewed through 6 thicknesses of fairly heavy cotton canvas on a hem corner and was amazed it powered through it. I wouldn't hesitate to hem blue jeans with this machine. The Sew Mini is extremely light, small, and portable, perfect
for my RV. Threading, tension and bobbin are very simple. It is made in Thailand if anyone's interested. Longevity is the only question mark at this point, but that not withstanding, this machine is well worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Convenient, Good Use of Space, Nice Design
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Marlu
from Steubenville, Ohio

Great Find -- the Janome Sew Mini

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I take many quilting classes and have been agrivating an old back problem lifting my regular sewing machine in and out of the car. This little Janome was the answer to my prolem. The brand name Janome was the selling point to my ordering this little gem sight unseen. It does everything I need while attending a few hours of class and the two stitches can both be regulated as to length of stitch. The stitches are fine and can handle several layers of material. Although there isn't a light, or thread cutter or even an auto needle threader....the stitches are what count and for the price it is more than worthwhile to purchase this as a travel machine. It was the hit of the class last week and several of my classmates expressed concern about wear and tear on their expensive sewing machines when taking them to and from classes. Go Janome............
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
nanet
from Los Angeles, CA

Love it!

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this machine. No problems with tension or breakage of thread. Lightweight. I take it to school with me--in my backpack! I pieced quilt tops with it and taught a friend to sew with it. I've even bought two more and gave them away as gifts. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because there is no light and it is a bit slow. But, I use it at my kitchen table while I watch tv. If it went to0 fast I'd have to pay more attention to the sewing! As for the light, I use a small lamp next to it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
melodyscraps
from Newton, KS, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This machine is really easy to set up and use!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't done a lot of sewing in the past because I have a fear of sewing machines. They are hard to thread for me, and the bobbin assembly is difficult for me to keep together and install correctly. Then I can't seem to control the speed and they scare me...A LOT! That all changed this afternoon! I was gifted a Janome 2 stitch Sew Mini! It is so simple to use. It has a dial on one side that has the stitch selector. There are 5 stitch length selections for straight stitch, and 3 length/width selections for zig-zag stitches. There is a small reverse lever on the right side. The tension dial has 1-9, and there is a chart in the manual that simply and clearly explains how to use it.
The manual is very concise and easy to understand in 3 languages. There are very good illustrations of the parts of the machine, and how they work. There are also wonderful illustrations of how to wind the bobbin and install it, and of how to thread the machine. The manual was so well done that I had a bobbin wound, installed and the machine threaded and ready to sew in less than 30 minutes! This from someone who is sewing machine challenged is I think pretty awesome!
I tried it out on a bit of Tyvek envelope that I had left over from making a journal recently. I made an envelope out of it in no time flat! It didn't go so fast it scared me or so slow it frustrated me either. It was just right! After that, My 17 yo ds brought me his favorite shirt asking if I could fix it, so I did! Easy peasy lemon squeezy! I have NEVER been able to do this before! Pretty quickly my other ds brought me a stuffed animal with a split seam and it was trickier...but I did it! Then my dd wanted a dress repaired! And my sweetie brought me a torn sheet for sewing up. They were all so fast and easy I couldn't believe it! And my sewing machine anxiety has vanished!
Now this machine is VERY small! It only weighs 5 lbs. (well under my 10 lb lifting limit!) It's really easy to move around and it already has a home on my desk shelf. It measures 10.5 inches long x 9 inches high and 5 inches deep. The opening on the right side of the needle is only about 3 inches square, so not enough to make large sized projects, but plenty big enough for what I need I'm sure. I don't think I will be making clothing with it or anything like that, but one never knows does one?
I am very happy with this little machine, and I highly recommend it for small projects and for beginners. It definitely works for me!
--Melody
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Convenient, Good Use of Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Imateacher

Perfect Mini Sewing Machine for Beginners

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this Janome sewing machine for my granddaughter (8). She loves it. I also purchased one for me to take on vacation for mini sewing projects. It is light weight and very portable. The setup was easy, basic stitches (2), and foot pedal was easy for child to control. It would be perfect but missing a light. It will sew light weight fabrics, cards or paper projects.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
EdgarTheTailor
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good machine for modifying drapes

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought the Janome Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine because we wanted to make our bedroom drapes shorter. I was a little nervous at the thought of cutting and sewing our drapes since I have never used a sewing machine. But after I cut them to size it was a very easy to sew them after practicing on a T-shirt rag.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
gygytte
from Woodbury, New Jersey

Great sewing companion

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I first ordered this product I was bit skeptical on how the performance will be. So when it arrived I tried sewing hems on my light pants, and to my surprise it actiually worked. I was so astonished by its functions. Then I tried hemming my curtains at my home and it still kept up with my satisfaction. Indeed this is a geart sewing companion anyone can have. It's very handy and it's light to carry around. I'm glad I made the order.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Beverly
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a quality machine for its size and weight. It sews through many layers of fabric with quality stitches.

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this machine. It has a "real" sewing machine feel to it and will be great to travel with. A faster speed and a light would, however, make it extra-special..
Purchasing this machine through Home Depot was fast and easy. The delivery was made within two days of the order.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
rideaside
from Belford NJ

Janome Sew Mini

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine is perfect for my purpose, which is piecing quilt blocks at my desk. I doubt it would serve me as my ONLY sewing machine, but, for what I wanted, it is ideal. Sturdy, operates nicely, and doesn't convey that "this is a piece of junk" feeling.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Lesa
from Waukesha, WI

Janome Sew-Mini

PostedMarch 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE my Sew-Mini. Light, compact, and perfect for my papercrafting needs. Small and easy to store and travel with. Love the simplicity of the machine and that you have options for zigzag. For anyone not sure of how to use it, search You Tube for some great tutorials.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Parisa

It does the job I expected!

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine for not so heavy repairs, trimmings and so on and it does the job. I specially like the compact size and light weight. It's very cute!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Convenient, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
Aperson
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product performs just fine (for the price and the brand).

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to thread, easy to use, perfect for sewing up items quickly -- even my 10 year old daughter can use this (whom it was actually purchased for). It's a good, little, VERY portable machine made by a reputable company.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality, Convenient, Nice Design
Cons: Noisy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
toni456
from Hutchinson, MN

Love the machine.

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The little machine does a great job. It works perfect to take back and forth to my quilting group. I just wish that it had a light, otherwise no complaints.
Thanks Home Depot for shipping so quickly!!!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
cardmaker
from Pacifica CA

Sew Mini Compact Sewing Machine W/2 stitches

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little machine has everything you need for the basics, and is light-weight and small, making storage and travel a cinch. It is simple to thread, use and put away. The quality is much better than the little craft sewing machines you normally find. It is all I expected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
robert53
from katy, texas

PostedApril 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this machine is the perfect answer to my sewing needs. it is lightweight and easy to handle anywhere. i travel alot and the compact size is great. i recommend this product for all. even my 15 year old son uses it to sew on his band patches.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
browser
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

An excellent first sewing machine

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this sewing machine for our nine year old grand daughter. The box says 'this is not a toy' and that certainly seems to be the case. My wife is an experienced quilter and was very impressed with how simple and easy it was to use while providing a consistent, high quality stitch. It certainly does not have all of the features of her high end Bernina but it seems to be the perfect first machine for our grand daughter.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sew Mini 2-Stitch Sewing Machine
jbee
from Bozeman, MT

Great for papercrafts!

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this little machine specifically to sew for my card and scrapbooking hobby, where I only need straight or zig zag stitching. (I own a regular sewing machine for fabric, but paper messes with the tension too much). This one works terrific on papercrafts, although I also have used it to repair clothing (and it works fine there also). I loved that it was so lightweight for travel to crops! It is easy to operate but I wish it had a light.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>