728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White

30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White

The Magic Chef 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White has a compact design and can be used as a portable or freestanding unit. Featuring an ice indicator light that tells you when the bin is full, this ice maker produces approximately 30 lb. of ice cubes every day. The electronic touch-pad controls offer easy operation and the bin stores up to 4 lb. of ice. This ice maker comes with an ice scoop, a built-in side drain and removable basket for added convenience.
Overall rating:
4.634 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Review 1 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
UffDa
from Hesperia, CA

Better than sliced bread.

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For many years, we have been Off Road Racing. Whenever anyone came to our race, they had to bring ice to the pit. The investment in the ice maker was a god send. It performs better than expected. I started making ice at home and putting in the freezer. It made ice for one week constantly and never faltered. It is now a permanent fixture in our 5th wheel. Highly recommended for any family that goes camping alot and has access to electricity.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
sylnt
from Tallahassee, Fl

Portable ice maker review

PostedMay 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love it! It is so fast and easy to keep up with. We are going to take it camping soon. It's a life saver. Thanks!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
eric
from wv

money saver

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we used the icemaker over the holiday weekend at camp. since we have limited power and space, we buy lots of ice, with this unit we filled the coolers once initially, and the rest of the weekend the machine kept up, probably saved 30 dollars memorial day weekend alone, the savings will only continue. worked well
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
gary
from tennessee

ice maker

PostedJune 17, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this little ice maker to be used in a summer use house boat..It is perfect plug it in add water tap or bottled and makes excellent beverage ice..once basket is full we just empty into cooler and make ice 24/7..It is saving and average of $25.00 a month in ice purchase from marina..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Croz
from Fairfield, California

Magic Chef Ice Maker Model MCIM30TW

PostedJune 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just as all the other reviews indicate.. This is the best Personal Ice Maker money can buy.
I had my first batch in less then 10 minutes, (Large size).
The Ice cubes are a little scary in size for children..(potential Choking hazard) the cubes are the shape and size of a 1 inch Diameter Bon-Bon.
I am 100% satisfied with this produce.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
acornchief
from Seattle, WA

Countertop Ice Maker

PostedDecember 27, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our kitchen isn't arranged so the fridge can have water access, so we were always "down and out" when it came to ice cubes (where ice trays tipped and took up space in the freezer). Now we're glad to have ice on-hand. This product is easy to use and almost as fast as it claims (it took closer to 30 minutes to get cubes, not 14). It's a little on the noisy side, however, and the cubes come with large holes in the middle (they look like little hollow bullets), so we didn't get the solid ice "chunk" we were expecting, but overall we're glad to have this ice maker. It does take up a LOT of counter space, so make sure you have room!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
JJohnson
from Fort Smith, AR

Well worth the price

PostedSeptember 24, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this ice maker for a few days now but I can already tell that this product is well worth its price.
The maker does produce a bit of noise (not that I expected it to be whisper quiet), but with the speed that it produces ice (7 minutes for small cubes), the noise definintely outweighs having to use ice cube trays or purchasing bags of ice that have to be pounded into a pulp to get manageable ice cube sizes.
And to top it all off, it's extremely easy to use.
I have already recommended this product to several friends and will continue to do so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Dude45
from Texas

Nothing Negitive to say

PostedApril 22, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this ice maker due to the one in my freezer burned out a few years ago, and just tired of buying and messing with bags of ice, and tray's.
I recieved the unit promptly after online ordering with Home Depot, plugged it in, and soon we had more ice than we could use. We generally turn it on for a few hours in the evening, turn it off before going to bed, and it produces enough ice for both of us on a daily basis. There is even enough to dump in my small ice chest I take to work in the morning.
Two thumbs up!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Woodykins
from Tampa, FL

Counter Top Ice Maker What A Time Saver

PostedAugust 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family and I are very please with how easy the Counter Top Ice Maker is to operate. Set this ice maker on the counter in the kitchen, garage, workshop, and Just ad water to the ice maker and it does all the work. Ice is produce in just a few minutes. What a time saver, we don't have to waiste time going some where to purchase ice anymore. I have been looking for something like this for awhile and I didn't want a big bulky ice maker. In my opinioin it will pay for itself. I would highly recomment this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Marilyn
from Corydon, IN

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product produces ice quickly, within 7-8 minutes, in 3 different size cubes. It is made to sit on a countertop.However the height prevents this in older homes where the space between counter and cabinet is less than 20 inches, thus requiring it to be placed on a solid surface outside the kitchen. If one doesn't remove the ice cubes as they are made and transfer them to another freezer the ones on the bottom seem to melt somewhat. Finally, the instruction booklet was not clear in where to put the water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
cowgirl
from idaho

amazing!!!

PostedDecember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this ice maker for my dad for Christmas!! We have used it everyday since and have not had any problems!!! We LOVE it and are very impressed on how fast and how much ice it really makes!!! We have a ton of ice in the freezer now b/c we can't keep up with it!!! ~the only thing that we didn't like was that it was a little bigger than we thought but we have a big kitchen so it really doesn't matter!! Would tell all of our friends and family to get one!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Kent
from Fresno, CA.

Counter Top Ice Maker

PostedAugust 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Never new an Ice maker could make ice this fast - In less than 10 minutes after pouring water into the unit, I had my first batch of Ice. Made a difference in the latest Heat wave of 113 deg for 14 days.
This is a great unit and since I live in a small Mobile home with no build-in ice maker in the refer., comes in very handy and is very light weight to take with me to a party or even to work.
It really does make 30 lbs of ice in 24 hours.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Osmin
from Jacksonville, FL

Very Pleased with Purchase

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My family and I are very please with this counter top Ice Maker. It's impressive to see how fast and how much ice it makes! A real time saver, we don't have to waste time going somewhere to purchase ice anymore. I've been looking for something like this for awhile and finally found it here. In my opinioin it will pay for itself. I highly recommend buying this product. Don't forget to tell all of our friends and family to get one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Rvingdogs
from Quincy, IL

Love it

PostedJune 23, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 5th wheel RV. We were always buying bags of ice here and there and now we have all the ice we need all the time. All you hear is when the ice drops into the basket but it is not annoying. It makes small medium and large cubes. We love it and wish we had bought this a long time ago! I would recommend it to anyone who uses a lot of ice for RV's, outings, boating, etc and even at home. It works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
happycamper2
from West, Texas

Greatest Ice Maker

PostedJuly 21, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love my ice maker. We take it in our RV and don't have to worry about buying bags and bags of ice. I love it because I have fresh ice for my tea now. I don't have to try to save a bag of ice for it. I also make up gallon bags of ice ahead of time and store them in my freezer at home. Then when I need a whole bunch, I take them out. I really love the different sizes of ice cubes. It's the best investment I ever made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
alfons
from San Diego, CA

Ice maker

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this product about two weeks ago. It is wonderful. I have used it 24/7 for the past two weeks and it has never let me down in providing plenty of ice. I live in a very hot location in the US and I need plenty of ice for myself and my dogs. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who needs plenty of ice for their needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
Michigancamper
from Saginaw Michigan

Saved the Day Over and Over In Michigan

PostedApril 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We put this in our travel trailer that is parked permanently in an RV park. Before we bought it, we were constantly buying ice for our coolers from the park store. Now we have all the ice we could possibly need. And they are formed in such a cute shape. We are considering another machine for our home in town. It has paid for itself I am sure!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
BarbG
from New Mexico

Okay....

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Machine was alot larger than I expected and very heavy! Also, it would be nice if they made something to keep the ice refrigerated. It seems to melt awfully fast! Although it does make ice quickly and good tasting. I can't seem to get the water to drain through the drain and you are not supposed to "tilt" the machine. That's a pain.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
diggersbride
from Iowa

Great product for the money!

PostedJanuary 2, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband built a bar in our basement and had no ice for his drinks. I purchased this for him and it was a great investment! It makes the ice cubes quickly and does not take up much space. It fit perfectly in his bar! We have used it many times since receiving it. It kept up to high demands over the holidays! It was worth every penny!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 30 lb. Portable Ice Maker in White
PATRICIA
from CLINTON, CT

ICE MAKER

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS PRODUCT ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO I LOVE IT, IT WAS A VERY GOOD INVESTMENT, IT WORKS VERY WELL I HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS TO EVERYONE WHO COULD USE AN ICE MAKER. IT HAS 3 SETTINGS FOR THE SIZE ICE CUBES YOU WANT. WE USE THE LARGE SIZE, IT DROPS LIKE 12 ICE CUBES AT A TIME, GREAT FOR PARTYS AND TO FILL COOLERS OVER A PERIOD OF TIME.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>