728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater

4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater

Plug in this Cadet 4,000-Watt Garage Portable Heater wherever there is a NEMA #6-20 240-volt receptacle to provide your garage or workshop with warmth on cold days. This heater features 2 heat setting positions for versatility in either low or high wattages. It also offers a built-in fan-only switch that provides comfortable air circulation without producing heat during the summer months. It is portable and great for warming garages and workshops.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product11 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
Review 1 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Oregon City Oregon

"cadet heater/a little workhorse"

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned and used this product in my 20 x 40 cabinet shop for 4 years. I did extensive shopping before deciding on this heater. It is by far the best value for the money. For such a small unit it puts out a great deal of heat. Easy to install, operates very quietly. I'm purchasing another one for my garage.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heats 360 sq ft well, noisy fan though and it has no speed adjustment. Limited features

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NOISEY. very noisy. too loud! the fan is very loud.
it was difficult to get hard facts about the operation of the heater.
I paid sales tax even though it was bought on-line.
When the heater went into initial use it smelled terrible making me think the fumes might be caustic and / or harmful to our health so I used it intermittingly eventually the smell went away. The noisy fan needs a variable speed switch. Is this enough text?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, comes with the required plug attached
Cons: extremely noisy fan, one speed fan, not everyone has access to a 220/240 line
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from ST. Paul MN

Hot One Garage Heater

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 of these heaters in my 30 x 32 garage. They
have been in use for 7 years with no problems. It gets
very cold in Minnesota but these heaters do the job
even on a medium setting. They replaced an LP ceiling
mounted furnace that cost more to run than these 2
Hot Ones. I restore collector cars so a heater that works
24/7 is a must. They are built like a tank and I am very
happy with them. It is nice getting in your car on a sub 0
morning and it is all warmed up for you. My friend saw
how mine worked and he bought one for his garage and is happy with his also. Great heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Maryland

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small woodworking shop (250 sf) and was using an unvented propane heater for heat. This did not allow me to keep heat in the shop at all times. I researched other means of heating and decided to try the 4000 watts 220 heater (Hot One). Coming from Home Depot I knew that if I was not totally satisfied I could return the unit at my local Home Depot store (great folks to deal with). I have used the heater for about a month and I am 100% satisfied with performance. I have only used the high setting once, which was to test the unit; otherwise, it is always on low and provides more than adequate warmth. The thermostat feature also worked perfectly. Money well spent – should have done this years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Doniphan, MO

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My work shop is 24'x52' with a 10' ceiling, partitioned with garage at one end and workshop at the other end. I use the electric heater to replace a much larger gas furnace for my wood work shop. I have found the thing to work really well, even in the 20 degree weather that has gone on for more than a week, the heater does not run more than 50% of the time, probably less than 20%. And the temperature is comfortable.
When I first got it, I mounted it on a low stand but that was in the way so I mounted it 7' above the floor. PERFECT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from levittown,PA

its just warm

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this heater for a 20 by 30 garage. Temperature raise is slow,needs to be on at least an hour or more before the temperature its at least bearable.May have to supplement with propane heater. Buying this heater for the usually garage with standard garage doors(which do leak in the cold)you should be prepared to wait for heat longer than you though when buying this 4000 watt heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Maine

A "MUST HAVE" for the shop !

PostedSeptember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this jewel for my small cabinet shop in Maine, it's always
comfortable and I keep it on the low setting. I mounted it 6' off the
floor in a corner so it blows diagonally across a 24'x28' area, when it does come on, it heats the place quickly and quietly. I
definitely recommend this for the garage, cellar or small to medium
shop!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from freehold, nj

cadet heaters

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i purchased 2 of these heaters for my garage. approximate 800 square feet. i'm in NJ. garage was always cold. i had an electrician install as they require 220/240 volt circuit. they work great. i put the thermostat on low - automatic - now the garage temperature is comfortable. i can go into the garage in a t shirt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Suffield, Connecticut

Great product!

PostedNovember 14, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this heater to be of very good quality. I looked at other units that cost more but this one was far and away the best value. It can be set on the floor but I chose to mount it on the wall of my 22' x 22' garage. It looks good and works well. I have nothing negative to say about it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Riverside, CA

Great Choice

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this heater in our enclosed patio. The room is 20x40. There is no insulation in this room and it has mostly windows. This heater at the lowest setting would heat the room up in minutes. It's quiet and the thermostat works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from South Washington State coast

Cadet The Hot One

PostedNovember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put two in a 26 X 20 shop with vaulted ceilings. Found that probably one would do- They have never been off the lower setting and are wonderful! Weather here has only a couple of weeks a year with freezing temps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Erwinna Pa.

Heater

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Heats a 14'x15' area very easily and without a big jump in the Electric bill. Great heater
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Bowling Green Ohio

this thing is great

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend has this and is works like a charm.. I am buying one right5 now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.