728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater

4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater

The durable Cadet 4,000-Watt Garage Heater requires a NEMA #6-20 240-volt receptacle (not a standard 120 Volt outlet) to provide your garage or workshop with powerful warmth on cold days. It features 2 heat setting positions for versatility in either low or high wattages. It also offers a built-in fan-only switch that provides comfortable air circulation without producing heat during the summer months. Ideal for warming garages and workshops, with rugged construction.
Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(15)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product14 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
Review 1 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Heater

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This heater is great, it does need a 220v outlet. Works great in my garage.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful heating unit

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had to install a 220 volt line into my garage to power the heater. (No problem) The heater worked only a short time and the Fan Delay Relay failed. I called the manufacturer and was pleased with their help. They sent me a new part and I installed it. The heater has been working great ever since. Itis easy on the electrical cost also.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Hood River
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good, Performs poorly!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Fan blade rubs against housing and makes a very annoying noise. i messed with the fan to make it "fit" and it still rubs and scrapes. To fix, i installed the heater box upside down to the mounting brackets. Looks funny but is heats and doesn't drive me out of the garage.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: dosn't operate well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By CadetCustomer SupportFebruary 25, 2015By CadetCustomer SupportFebruary 25, 2015
Marc,
I'm very sorry to hear that you're hearing a noise when the heater is running. I certainly understand that being annoying. I'm glad that you have found a temporary solution to the problem. It sounds like the two nuts that hold the motor might be loose and causing the problem. If you take off the grill and fan blade and tighten those nuts down while the heater is upside down, it should fix the issue. You should then be able to reinstall the heater right side up. If you have any other issues or questions, don't hesitate to give us a call at 855.223.3887. We want to make sure you're satisfied with your purchase.
Review 4 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Oregon City Oregon

"cadet heater/a little workhorse"

PostedNovember 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned and used this product in my 20 x 40 cabinet shop for 4 years. I did extensive shopping before deciding on this heater. It is by far the best value for the money. For such a small unit it puts out a great deal of heat. Easy to install, operates very quietly. I'm purchasing another one for my garage.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from ST. Paul MN

Hot One Garage Heater

PostedDecember 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have 2 of these heaters in my 30 x 32 garage. They
have been in use for 7 years with no problems. It gets
very cold in Minnesota but these heaters do the job
even on a medium setting. They replaced an LP ceiling
mounted furnace that cost more to run than these 2
Hot Ones. I restore collector cars so a heater that works
24/7 is a must. They are built like a tank and I am very
happy with them. It is nice getting in your car on a sub 0
morning and it is all warmed up for you. My friend saw
how mine worked and he bought one for his garage and is happy with his also. Great heater.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great Heater at a Great Price!

PostedDecember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Super easy to install. Heats up my 2 1/2 car garage quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Maryland

Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a small woodworking shop (250 sf) and was using an unvented propane heater for heat. This did not allow me to keep heat in the shop at all times. I researched other means of heating and decided to try the 4000 watts 220 heater (Hot One). Coming from Home Depot I knew that if I was not totally satisfied I could return the unit at my local Home Depot store (great folks to deal with). I have used the heater for about a month and I am 100% satisfied with performance. I have only used the high setting once, which was to test the unit; otherwise, it is always on low and provides more than adequate warmth. The thermostat feature also worked perfectly. Money well spent – should have done this years ago.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Doniphan, MO

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My work shop is 24'x52' with a 10' ceiling, partitioned with garage at one end and workshop at the other end. I use the electric heater to replace a much larger gas furnace for my wood work shop. I have found the thing to work really well, even in the 20 degree weather that has gone on for more than a week, the heater does not run more than 50% of the time, probably less than 20%. And the temperature is comfortable.
When I first got it, I mounted it on a low stand but that was in the way so I mounted it 7' above the floor. PERFECT.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Maine

A "MUST HAVE" for the shop !

PostedSeptember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this jewel for my small cabinet shop in Maine, it's always
comfortable and I keep it on the low setting. I mounted it 6' off the
floor in a corner so it blows diagonally across a 24'x28' area, when it does come on, it heats the place quickly and quietly. I
definitely recommend this for the garage, cellar or small to medium
shop!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from freehold, nj

cadet heaters

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i purchased 2 of these heaters for my garage. approximate 800 square feet. i'm in NJ. garage was always cold. i had an electrician install as they require 220/240 volt circuit. they work great. i put the thermostat on low - automatic - now the garage temperature is comfortable. i can go into the garage in a t shirt.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Suffield, Connecticut

Great product!

PostedNovember 14, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this heater to be of very good quality. I looked at other units that cost more but this one was far and away the best value. It can be set on the floor but I chose to mount it on the wall of my 22' x 22' garage. It looks good and works well. I have nothing negative to say about it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heats 360 sq ft well, noisy fan though and it has no speed adjustment. Limited features

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
NOISEY. very noisy. too loud! the fan is very loud.
it was difficult to get hard facts about the operation of the heater.
I paid sales tax even though it was bought on-line.
When the heater went into initial use it smelled terrible making me think the fumes might be caustic and / or harmful to our health so I used it intermittingly eventually the smell went away. The noisy fan needs a variable speed switch. Is this enough text?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, comes with the required plug attached
Cons: extremely noisy fan, one speed fan, not everyone has access to a 220/240 line
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Riverside, CA

Great Choice

PostedJanuary 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this heater in our enclosed patio. The room is 20x40. There is no insulation in this room and it has mostly windows. This heater at the lowest setting would heat the room up in minutes. It's quiet and the thermostat works great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from South Washington State coast

Cadet The Hot One

PostedNovember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put two in a 26 X 20 shop with vaulted ceilings. Found that probably one would do- They have never been off the lower setting and are wonderful! Weather here has only a couple of weeks a year with freezing temps.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Erwinna Pa.

Heater

PostedFebruary 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Heats a 14'x15' area very easily and without a big jump in the Electric bill. Great heater
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from Bowling Green Ohio

this thing is great

PostedDecember 19, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A friend has this and is works like a charm.. I am buying one right5 now.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
from levittown,PA

its just warm

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this heater for a 20 by 30 garage. Temperature raise is slow,needs to be on at least an hour or more before the temperature its at least bearable.May have to supplement with propane heater. Buying this heater for the usually garage with standard garage doors(which do leak in the cold)you should be prepared to wait for heat longer than you though when buying this 4000 watt heater.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 4,000-Watt Electric Garage Portable Heater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5