728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle

14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Estwing’s world famous 24 oz. sportsman's axe is the choice of outdoorsmen everywhere. Both the head and handle of the axe are forged in one piece and are fully polished. This classic axe offers unsurpassed balance and temper. It has a genuine leather grip that is sanded and lacquered for a beautiful finish. This axe also comes with an attractive genuine leather sheath. It has a tempered thin 3-1/4 in. cutting edge for easy cutting. A must for all campers and outdoorsman alike! Made in the USA. Protect your eyes from flying particles and dust. Always wear safety goggles. Bystanders shall also wear safety goggles.
Overall rating:
4.936 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.9 out of 5
5
(30)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product29 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
Review 1 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A real quality item

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The 14 inch Sportsman's ax is heavy enough to split small logs and light enough for my son's to use it effectively. And it draws attention with the leather grip handle. It is my first Estwing purchase and the high quality will promote me to buy their other products. There are other axes or hatchets for a similar price but they do not look as nice or feel as good when using them (the real reason you buy it anyhow). I used it to reduce larger split logs to kindling and the weight and balance allow it to do its job easily. My sons used it for splitting and bark removal for survivor shelter building and it was easy for them to use. With the one piece design I expect it will be passed down to my sons some day. There is an oval shaped metal plate at the base of the handle with the Estwing name, which makes a great place to engrave and hide your initials.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality Hand Tool

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Initially I purchased a Fiskars hatchet to accompany me on camping trips. I was not aware that Home Depot sold Estwing products (other than hammers).
For around the same price, this Estwing hatchet is superior in every way imaginable compared to the Fiskars. The Fiskars hatchet was made of sub-par steel, and the blunt end was already showing severe signs of wear just from hammering tent stakes. The Estwing is a completely different story - I even dropped it several times (accidentally) on concrete...no damage.
If you want a hatchet that will last a lifetime, this is the one for you.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Dayton, Maine

Quality Piece

PostedFebruary 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great Axe! I had one for many years when I was younger and loved it; it was durable, balanced, and it held an edge very well. I found many uses for it around the house and it was indispensible on my many trips up to the back woods of Maine.
I made the mistake of lending it out & it was not returned, I looked for many years to replace it & found it here. I got a new one last summer & remembered why I liked it so much! I would recommend this axe to anyone looking for a quality piece. It does need to be sharpened when you first get it but it is easy enough with diamond tool sharpener or I've even used a hand held knife sharpener on it before & it worked just fine.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Aurora, Ohio
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced Lost one

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So popular with fellow campers, mine disappeared between camp and home. My favorite, so had to get replacement.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Avondale Az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built Well

PostedJune 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very Sturdy and Well Built. Well balanced and Extremely Sharp
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Kansas city
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good axe for my camping excursions

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wanted an axe to help chop down wood, sharpen sticks, etc. while I am out camping. This axe did just those things. I was pleased with the purchase. Recommended!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Weymouth Mass
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Deal

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you want an axe that is great, buy this one. sharp from the very beginning
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Winsted, MN

The best hatchet/hand axe ever

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My first introduction to the Estwing Sportsman Axe was more than 25 years ago when one of the leaders of my Boy Scout troop bought and donated it for our use. Used regularly--month in, month out-- for the five years I was there, this marvelous tool saw a lot of abuse but still was *the* hatchet all of us wanted to use. A little oil (to inhibit rust/corrosion) and occasional sharpening was all that was needed to keep it in working order.
These hand axes are built to last. With one piece construction (head and handle), there's no chance the handle will break or that the head will fly off. That also means that more of the force of your swing goes into propelling the blade (a little energy is lost when head and handle are separate).
Besides being functional, this Estwing Sportsman's Axe is a thing of beauty. When camping with mixed groups, or encountering others along portage trails, it often becomes a point of conversation (since I keep mine strapped to the outside of my pack). I love the fact that Estwing provided tool that wonderfully blends form and function.
As to use and care, I've used this little marvel to calve off segments of 8" felled trees, to trim branches on dead fall, to quickly chunk wrist-sized fuel logs, and even to split and separate thin tinder and kindling. I've used it in every weather condition: from sub-zero cold to the heat of summer. It holds its edge quite well, but should be sharpened regularly like any axe or hatchet. About once a month, I'll wipe it down with some fine oil. If I need to store it for a few months (e.g., over the winter), I'll wrap the head in an oiled rag, just to ensure it stays in top shape.
Over the years, the metal will spot and darken. To me, that just adds to the character and charm of the tool. So long as it is kept well-oild, those spots won't turn into any trouble. If you really want to restore the finish, you can always revert to using steel wool before buffing out the scuffs.
I used one as a boy, long coveted my own, and have since even donated them to local Scout troops myself. To me, there is no finer hand axe to be had. Sure, you can find lighter tools made with composite handles, but, to me, the quality and durability of the Estwing Sportsman's Axe make it well worth its weight, even on the leanest back-country trips.
Buy this hand axe--you won't be disappointed!!!
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a solid keeper

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This weekend I put this to the test and can already tell that this is a good strong durable hatchet ("sportsman axe"). Light and balanced, comfortable grip, and handled everything I used it for with ease. The solid one piece design made ease of twisting when I was finishing hollowing out a log to be used as a planter. Also hammering in wooden stakes made from tree limbs. Hope the leather pouch holds up because this will be hanging from my belt every trip into the woods. Thoroughly pleased with this purchase.
Pros: Durable, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle

good hatchet for cleanup

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this hatchet extensively when cutting wood. Usually I only use it to remove small limbs from firewood or to chop the stringy bits that are involved with splitting poor quality hardwoods like hackberry. If you need something throw away there are cheaper options. On the other hand, if you want a nice tool that will last, then this is the best one HD has to offer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: sheath is not quick to use it is safe however
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Rock Springs WY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

My Hatchet

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I inherited an Estwing hammer from my grandpa many many years ago so I know their tools that last generations. I needed a hatchet and got this one. I removed the stickers and used WD 40 to remove the glue from the stickers. Gave it a bit of sharpening and will be mostly using mine for breaking up cow femur bones. Can also be used for splitting elk, moose, and deer spines for horse packing or quartering. You can either chop with the hatchet or place the blade where you want to cut and strike it with a mallet or hammer.
Remember to use safety glasses as bone fragments will be going everywhere, but this hatchet will not be damaged what so ever. I just cut up a frozen cow femur bone with ease! Can't even tell I used the hatchet. Their tough tools!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Canandaigua, NY

Great Hatchet!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this specifically for a 7 day camping trip I was going on. The axe worked perfectly. Great solid handle, sharp edge, no complaints. Some of the wood was really hard and with a little pounding the axe went right through it. The best part was with shaving off kindling, it worked like a dream! Also its nice and small so it can be packed easily. And I'm sure its going to last a long time!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best hatchet

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The best hatchet made, hands down. The solid steel head and shaft allow twisting and prying to help split wood without damage to the handle. Maybe a bit heavy for backpacking but is great for every other use, and will last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Dubois Wy.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The quality of the hatchet is very good which is what you expect from Eastwing , I have not used it yet but I think it work just fine .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ageless perfection

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My dad had this axe when I was growing up and it served us well for over 40 years! It was lost in a house fire many years back. I was looking for a hatchet to take on a upcoming trip and was settled on one of the new hi-tech polymer versions on the market, but when I saw this one at home depot, I had to have it! So happy I bought this beauty. I know it will serve me as long as my father's did!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Bellmore, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best axe i ever owned

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i am a fisherman and this hatchet is what i use. On my dragger you do not know what is going to come up with the net. if it is a shark i can get at it with my Estwing hatchet and the shark will be no more of a problem. it can cut alot like fish tails and rope. this is a all around tool.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Los Angeles, CA

This axe is beautiful!

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well-crafted using top of the line materials. Balance and size
makes it all so easy!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Great Hatchet!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Solidly built and the blade comes very sharp. No other hatchets in the store even came close to comparing to the quality of this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Longlasting hatchet

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My grandfather gave it to me for a Christmas present after having it for 40 plus years and it handles like a charm. Planning on getting a new one and retire the old one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. Sportsman's Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from East central Indiana

FarmerTom

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really do like the forged steele and leather handle it is great for camp fires esp. for chopping small wood into tender to get a fire started. simple outstanding
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>