728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Axes, Mauls & Hatchets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Estwing’s world famous 24 oz. sportsman's axe is the choice of outdoorsmen everywhere. Both the head and handle of the axe are forged in one piece and are fully polished. This classic axe offers unsurpassed balance and temper. It has a genuine leather grip that is sanded and lacquered for a beautiful finish. This axe also comes with an attractive genuine leather sheath. It has a tempered thin 3-1/4 in. cutting edge for easy cutting. A must for all campers and outdoorsman alike! Made in the USA. Protect your eyes from flying particles and dust. Always wear safety goggles. Bystanders shall also wear safety goggles.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
Review 1 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle

good hatchet for cleanup

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this hatchet extensively when cutting wood. Usually I only use it to remove small limbs from firewood or to chop the stringy bits that are involved with splitting poor quality hardwoods like hackberry. If you need something throw away there are cheaper options. On the other hand, if you want a nice tool that will last, then this is the best one HD has to offer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: sheath is not quick to use it is safe however
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Dayton, Maine

Quality Piece

PostedFebruary 15, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great Axe! I had one for many years when I was younger and loved it; it was durable, balanced, and it held an edge very well. I found many uses for it around the house and it was indispensible on my many trips up to the back woods of Maine.
I made the mistake of lending it out & it was not returned, I looked for many years to replace it & found it here. I got a new one last summer & remembered why I liked it so much! I would recommend this axe to anyone looking for a quality piece. It does need to be sharpened when you first get it but it is easy enough with diamond tool sharpener or I've even used a hand held knife sharpener on it before & it worked just fine.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Winsted, MN

The best hatchet/hand axe ever

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My first introduction to the Estwing Sportsman Axe was more than 25 years ago when one of the leaders of my Boy Scout troop bought and donated it for our use. Used regularly--month in, month out-- for the five years I was there, this marvelous tool saw a lot of abuse but still was *the* hatchet all of us wanted to use. A little oil (to inhibit rust/corrosion) and occasional sharpening was all that was needed to keep it in working order.
These hand axes are built to last. With one piece construction (head and handle), there's no chance the handle will break or that the head will fly off. That also means that more of the force of your swing goes into propelling the blade (a little energy is lost when head and handle are separate).
Besides being functional, this Estwing Sportsman's Axe is a thing of beauty. When camping with mixed groups, or encountering others along portage trails, it often becomes a point of conversation (since I keep mine strapped to the outside of my pack). I love the fact that Estwing provided tool that wonderfully blends form and function.
As to use and care, I've used this little marvel to calve off segments of 8" felled trees, to trim branches on dead fall, to quickly chunk wrist-sized fuel logs, and even to split and separate thin tinder and kindling. I've used it in every weather condition: from sub-zero cold to the heat of summer. It holds its edge quite well, but should be sharpened regularly like any axe or hatchet. About once a month, I'll wipe it down with some fine oil. If I need to store it for a few months (e.g., over the winter), I'll wrap the head in an oiled rag, just to ensure it stays in top shape.
Over the years, the metal will spot and darken. To me, that just adds to the character and charm of the tool. So long as it is kept well-oild, those spots won't turn into any trouble. If you really want to restore the finish, you can always revert to using steel wool before buffing out the scuffs.
I used one as a boy, long coveted my own, and have since even donated them to local Scout troops myself. To me, there is no finer hand axe to be had. Sure, you can find lighter tools made with composite handles, but, to me, the quality and durability of the Estwing Sportsman's Axe make it well worth its weight, even on the leanest back-country trips.
Buy this hand axe--you won't be disappointed!!!
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best hatchet

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best hatchet made, hands down. The solid steel head and shaft allow twisting and prying to help split wood without damage to the handle. Maybe a bit heavy for backpacking but is great for every other use, and will last a lifetime.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Bellmore, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best axe i ever owned

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i am a fisherman and this hatchet is what i use. On my dragger you do not know what is going to come up with the net. if it is a shark i can get at it with my Estwing hatchet and the shark will be no more of a problem. it can cut alot like fish tails and rope. this is a all around tool.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Samson Creek, West Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best mid-sized axe that I've ever owned, used, or held!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been an avid outdoorsman since I was a child, and through 20 years of experience I have learned to only purchase and use top quality tools or they will fail you when you need them, usually at the most unexpected time and in the most unexpected place. Estwing is a top quality company and this particular axe is an amazing tool, it makes the majority of other mid-sized axes look like disposeable junkers. It is solid from top to bottom, excellently crafted, and built to last a lifetime. My 20 years of experience has taught me priceless lessons, going from the woods to the river or just chopping down some small trees to make firewood for a bushcraft campfire, this axe is one impressive tool and is able to be used in multiple ways for any outdoors cutting task from camping to hunting. Don't hassle yourself and waste time reading blogs written without true experience, just buy this axe and get to work doing the outdoor things that make you feel free.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Canandaigua, NY

Great Hatchet!

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this specifically for a 7 day camping trip I was going on. The axe worked perfectly. Great solid handle, sharp edge, no complaints. Some of the wood was really hard and with a little pounding the axe went right through it. The best part was with shaving off kindling, it worked like a dream! Also its nice and small so it can be packed easily. And I'm sure its going to last a long time!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ageless perfection

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My dad had this axe when I was growing up and it served us well for over 40 years! It was lost in a house fire many years back. I was looking for a hatchet to take on a upcoming trip and was settled on one of the new hi-tech polymer versions on the market, but when I saw this one at home depot, I had to have it! So happy I bought this beauty. I know it will serve me as long as my father's did!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Vance, SC 29163, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quality, sharp as can be.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, super sharp, great! Light weight, but heavy enough to get a good chop on wood.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid, classic design

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great little hatchet. Just bought a new one after the one I kept in the car for years got lost. Surprisingly well balanced considering the integrated head/handle design. The leather handle is an attractive, classic look and comfortable to hold. As it comes, you can split dry kindling, so long as you use a bit of force, but for best performance you will need to sharpen it - little axes are easy to sharpen though and any inexpensive sharpening stone for axes and knives will do the trick.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Los Angeles, CA

This axe is beautiful!

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well-crafted using top of the line materials. Balance and size
makes it all so easy!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle

Longlasting hatchet

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My grandfather gave it to me for a Christmas present after having it for 40 plus years and it handles like a charm. Planning on getting a new one and retire the old one.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from East central Indiana

FarmerTom

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really do like the forged steele and leather handle it is great for camp fires esp. for chopping small wood into tender to get a fire started. simple outstanding
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Oklahoma City
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sportsman Axe with cover

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a problem stump and needed to help to remove some roots above ground.
I found this axe that is so easy to use. This helped me remove some of the roots and part of the stump.
I am an older woman that wants to do for myself.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Practical and easy to use

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent tool for work in cramped conditions. Wooden handle designed to securely hold and execute precision cuts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Owosso, MI 48867, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is very durable

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a gift and it was a welcome one! Our son-in-law was delighted with this hatchet! He evidently knew about this item, and was very pleased to receive such a quality gift!
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Rome, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems like a good product. Haven't owned it long enough to see how good of quality it is.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a good quality axe

PostedJuly 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very satisfied with this axe. It didn't need too much sharpening to begin using it, and it also comes with a nice leather holder. I would recommend it to anyone needing a smaller axe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from Pipe Creek, TX 78063, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT FOR THE MONEY

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
VERY SHARP AND EASY TO HANDLE. HOLD ITS EDGE VERY WELL
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Strong, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sportsman's 14 in. Axe with Leather Grip Handle
from eugene

nice looking

PostedMarch 31, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
not
sharp enough though. Was using it to cut large pieces of kindling
down...needs to be sharper...nice if you have someone sharpen it. Nice
case.
-30points
0out of 30found this review helpful.