728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lighting Accessories & Changers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Safely and easily swap out hard-to-reach light bulbs with this Bayco 11 ft. pole light bulb changer kit with attachments. The changer's included adapters allow you to change most light bulbs, including broken bulbs.
Overall rating:
3.643 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product64 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(19)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product64 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Review 1 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Pelham, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 22' cathedral ceilings in my family room with (8) 65W recessed lights. The room was built 12 years ago and this is the first time that I had to change a bulb. I don't have a tall enough step ladder so tried using an extension ladder but just didn't feel safe having the ladder supported against the pitched ceiling.
I jumped onto the internet to find a solution and read through all the reviews for this product. After reading many of them I was very skeptical of a positive outcome. I decided that I would purchase it and very carefully remove it from the packaging in case I needed to return it.
I tied the string to the suction attachment, added a tiny bit of moisture from a damp paper towel and screwed it on. Fully extended I was able to latch the suction cup onto the light and easily turn it out. I very carefully removed it from the recessed lighting fixture and brought it to the ground. I suctioned on the replacement light and just as easily screwed it into place with no problems whatsoever.
One of the things I made sure of is that both extensions and the suction cup were screwed down as tightly as possible before I started. I had planned on adding duct tape to keep them from unscrewing if necessary but didn't need to do so. Additionally, I worked as carefully as possible with the bulb inside the recessed fixture to avoid banging into the sides and possibly causing the bulb to become dislodged from the suction.
Job completed effortlessly in less than 5 minutes. In the near future I will replace all these original bulbs with LED's and plan to do so with the help of this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Tip for spiral compact fluorescent bulbs

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When trying to remove the spiral bulbs-try inserting a small styrofoam cup into the bulb changer clamp. Worked great for me. Might even help with other odd shapes mentioned in reviews.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Awesome!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a two story townhouse and no ladder. I thought I'd try this first before trying to buy a ladder. I changed 3 types of bulbs and even a broken off bulb with no problems! Awesome invention. Only thing was it didn't have instructions for attachments, but I figured it out
Tip: only use the suction to remove large flood lights and the large claw to replace.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Nocatee, FL 32081, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to use and works!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great, now I don't need my husband to haul out the big ladder or his help to get the lightbulbs changed. After 3 weeks of waiting for him - once I had this took me just a few minutes to get the four bulbs replaced.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Washington, DC

Only works if the bulb is straight on

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have floods I have to change every few months. 8 of them. They are all at an angle and the wide attachment just doesn't work when the socket is at an angle. There is not enough tension or stickiness to the yellow rubber pieces. They should be thicker and more rubbery as opposed to plastic so they grip the bulb better.. The springs around the attachment should also be thicker and stronger so they hold it. The whole thing just stretches out after changing a few bulbs because the materials are so cheap. I have wasted a lot of money in broken bulbs trying to use this thing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Minn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not grab the light bulb to remove it

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not grab bulb to remove it - returned to store
Cons: would grab bulb
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Suches, Ga.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Failed Product, Great Idea

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This seemed like the perfect answer. Won't have to get the ladder out for our 10' ceilings. First the unit is very light duty. Getting the bulb out was tough enough since turning it counter clockwise wants to untighten the pole extensions. The tightening screw for the head is screwed through very thin and light weight plastic. Finally got the bulb out and started to put the new bulb in. It would not screw all the way in and when I tried to get the unit off the bulb it would not come off. Tried for over five minutes and finally went and got the ladder. Well, now the hard part. The spring loaded unit would not come off the bulb and not come out of the ceiling unit. If I pulled hard the lighting unit would come out of the ceiling. Had to bend the spring loaded arms and fight with the spring to get it off. Saw no redeeming features in the whole thing. Back to the ladder.
Pros: none
Cons: just doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This works as advertised

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this to replace burned out recessed flood lights in our vaulted ceiling. It was a little scary at first, but the suction cup held the bulb as we removed the bulbs and as we put in new ones. The string attached to the suction cup does twist around the pole but it is easy to "untwist" it to release the suction when the replacement bulb is installed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Topeka KS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What a piece of junk and a waste of money. Very cheaply made and did not work as advertised.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best help for vaulted ceilings.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When we moved into our home I had worries about our 15' ceiling and what to do when the time came to replace a light bulb. Well the day came so I invested in the pole bulb changer but didn't buy the pricy replacement bulb because I was afraid if the pole didn't work well, the bulb might drop. It worked perfectly. The pole held tight removed the original bulb and spun in the replacement in a heart beat. So...now I will replace all the rest with the energy efficient costly bulbs and not worry about it. The pole works GREAT!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from John's Creek
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It Works! Would be nice if they gave you a box for the various attachments.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Good idea but not durable

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I had a single head floodlight that is high up on my 3 story house that I did not feel safe using a ladder. I have gone through 2 pairs of the floodlight gripper attachment. The first one broke. The second one it came with broke also. I was trying to unscrew the floodlight bulb and I heard a snapping noise and I turned i around and I saw it broke. I however was able to find the replacement attachment for the pole. Also the suction cup does not really work. It does not work if the bulb is screwed in tight by hand. I just spins of the bulb. The floodlight gripper I have to push down on the bulb which causes it to break easily. Personally next time I would just buy a ladder if it breaks again. Not durable and does not last long.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Complicated, Not Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Missouri City, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A "must-have"

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a person 5'2" in a home with high ceilings this kit makes changing lights bulbs a piece of cake! No more climbing ladders, standing on tables, etc.!
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Not for recessed flood lamps

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In order to get the claw around the light bulb it pushed the recessed liner up into the ceiling. After attaching it to the bulb it would not turn the bulb. When I removed it from the bulb the outside frame of the fixture pulled off. My burned out light bulb is still in place but now my liner is pushed up and the frame is on the kitchen counter. I was better before I started when I just had a burned out bulb. One star is too high.
Cons: doesn't work
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Westminster Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bulb changer

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it works great and is easy to use. It will work with a variety of bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Design makes using this tool a chore

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a great room with 18' ceilings and six recessed floods. Ladders aren't really an option, so this is pretty much our "go-to" tool for changing bulbs. It does work, but I'm amazed there isn't a higher quality product with better design. We've just purchased our second of these items, because of poor construction, and even new, out of the box, we have to make modifications to start with.
THE POLE: The pole is a good length, and relatively sturdy and stable. But it consists of three sections, two of which depend on twisting it to release / tighten it. Since the pole itself is used for twisting, this often results in the pole untightening when loosening a tight-fitting bulb. I've had to actually use duct tape to tighten the pole at the expansion joints, just so it wouldn't loosen before I could remove the bulb.
ATTACHMENTS: The primary attachment that attaches to the bulb consists of eight flexible metal strips of metal that are held together at their ends by a spring. The metal strips wrap over the metal spring, and end less than about 1/2 inch below it. The ends of these strips easily get caught on the inside edge of the cowl of a floodlight, and then you are completely out of luck .... not only do you not have the lightbulb, you have this tool hanging from your ceiling notched into a floodlight cowl without any method of retrieving it.
Also, the suction cup is pretty useless. A more advanced cup should be easily available.
ATTACHMENT FITTINGS: The fittings used to fix the attachments to the pole are made out of a cheap, soft, waxy plastic. Simple thumbscrews placed through this plastic are used to "secure" it. The plastic is of such poor quality that it can crack simply by overtwisting the thumbscrews, or by trying to overtighten the attachment, both of which are natural tendencies since twisting the pole frequently results in the attachments, rather than the bulb, unscrewing.
SUGGESTIONS TO MANUFACTURER: (1) The pole itself, and its attachments, should not be fitted using a screw attachment, because it's meant for twisting, which generally tends to result in a loosening of the pole or its attachments, rather than the bulb. Use a simple notch and groove assembly, instead. (2) Remove the ends of the metal strips on the outside of the primary attachment, either by welding, or, preferably, just continue the end of the strip all the way back down to the attachment fitting. (3) Invest in a better suction cup. (4) Use a harder plastic or aluminum for fittings, and don't use thumbscrews; use some type of ratcheting system to secure fittings.
Overall, it's not a bad product, but the construction is so bad that it might cost you more to fix the problems it might cause (e.g., if it gets caught in the light cowling of a 18' tall flood) than it cost to purchase the product. There's no popularly available product other than this one out there, though, so we just have to make due for now.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple solution!

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not very skilled at household fixes but this is so easy that anyone can use it. I have very high ceilings and it is a snap to change a bulb. Be sure to attach the string…its the only way to get the pole to release from the bulb once in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Won't work with ceiling fan lights

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main reason I bought this was to try to replace some lights in my ceiling fan that are at about 10 feet high. None of the attachments will fit these lights. I'll be able to use it for some of the outside flood lighting, I suppose - so the money isn't totally wasted. This still leaves me in a dilemma about what to do with those ceiling fan light bulbs.
Cons: no attachments for ceiling fan light bulbs.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Useless for my needs

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product might work if you're just trying to change a bulb that hangs down vertically, but I needed to reach a bulb that is in a pendant ceiling fixture and mounted horizontally, and reach it from a second floor. (So, I'm coming at it almost at the same height, but across an expanse.) In addition to not being the right tool to reach into the fixture, the telescoping handle just unthreaded when I tried to unscrew the bulb. Maybe I'm not using it correctly, but I found that no matter how tightly I screwed in the telescoping handle to the desired length, when I tried to unscrew the bulb, it just unscrewed the handle. In sum, I think it might be a good product if you're just standing right below a high bulb mounted vertically and trying to unscrew it, but otherwise, not so much
Cons: fit for one task only
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Product works great!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The people who have trouble with this product have their light bulbs screwed in too tight! Light bulbs don't need to be over tightened. The tool works as it should.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>