728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lighting Accessories & Changers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Safely and easily swap out hard-to-reach light bulbs with this Bayco 11 ft. pole light bulb changer kit with attachments. The changer's included adapters allow you to change most light bulbs, including broken bulbs.
Overall rating:
3.602 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product80 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(55)
4
(24)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(26)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product80 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Review 1 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Pelham, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 22' cathedral ceilings in my family room with (8) 65W recessed lights. The room was built 12 years ago and this is the first time that I had to change a bulb. I don't have a tall enough step ladder so tried using an extension ladder but just didn't feel safe having the ladder supported against the pitched ceiling.
I jumped onto the internet to find a solution and read through all the reviews for this product. After reading many of them I was very skeptical of a positive outcome. I decided that I would purchase it and very carefully remove it from the packaging in case I needed to return it.
I tied the string to the suction attachment, added a tiny bit of moisture from a damp paper towel and screwed it on. Fully extended I was able to latch the suction cup onto the light and easily turn it out. I very carefully removed it from the recessed lighting fixture and brought it to the ground. I suctioned on the replacement light and just as easily screwed it into place with no problems whatsoever.
One of the things I made sure of is that both extensions and the suction cup were screwed down as tightly as possible before I started. I had planned on adding duct tape to keep them from unscrewing if necessary but didn't need to do so. Additionally, I worked as carefully as possible with the bulb inside the recessed fixture to avoid banging into the sides and possibly causing the bulb to become dislodged from the suction.
Job completed effortlessly in less than 5 minutes. In the near future I will replace all these original bulbs with LED's and plan to do so with the help of this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tip: Use two-sided tape to secure suction cup

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have very high ceilings in our great room and high recessed lights outside. I have only used the suction attachment. I have been able to stand near the top of an 8' ladder and with this device almost fully extended change several bulbs. I found that the suction cup attachment became stripped after just a few bulbs. I added Scotch 3M two-sided-removable tape where the suction cup screws onto its attachment and then where this attachment is secured to the pole. You need to check these junctures to make sure they are tight before each bulb change. To secure the string, I tied it to a plastic laundry hook with a clip bottom. I wrap the string around the stem of the hook and then hang it on a rubber band at the bottom of the pole. This way I only need to unwrap enough of the string for the height needed and the string doesn't get caught in trees and bushes. The hook also provides a way to store the pole with the suction cup/string attached. This product is easy to use with bulbs that are low enough that you can stand on the ground and reach the bulb by only using 2/3 of the pole. Changing a bulb while standing on an 8' ladder with the pole fully extended is difficult.
Pros: less expensive than hiring someone
Cons: the suction cup needs to be improved
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Awesome!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a two story townhouse and no ladder. I thought I'd try this first before trying to buy a ladder. I changed 3 types of bulbs and even a broken off bulb with no problems! Awesome invention. Only thing was it didn't have instructions for attachments, but I figured it out
Tip: only use the suction to remove large flood lights and the large claw to replace.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Finally worked

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm saying yes to recommend as, if you're using it, you have a need, and it seems to be the only option. The regular wire attachment didn't work on the recessed light, so we had to use the suction cup, and the bulb broke. I used the rubber pieces to try and remove the base stuck in the socket. Unfortunately before I finally got the piece out the rubber pieces were pretty much shredded, but I accomplished the mission. Although imperfectly, the item did work eventually. The instructions were pretty much next to worthless as the only informative pieces involved using the string on the suction piece and minimal instructions on piecing the rubber pieces together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Tip for spiral compact fluorescent bulbs

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When trying to remove the spiral bulbs-try inserting a small styrofoam cup into the bulb changer clamp. Worked great for me. Might even help with other odd shapes mentioned in reviews.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Good for Can Lights in Cathedral Ceilings

PostedNovember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have 18 ft cathedral ceilings and this just doesn't work. I tried both the suction cup and the large attachment and neither worked. A big part of the problem is the design- no.matter how much I tighthened the parts, they loosened while trying to unscrew the bulb. It seems like they should have reverse threaded it to mitigate this problem. The suction cup is a clever idea but it's too small and comes apart while trying to unscrew the bulb.
The other problem is that, while it easily reaches the bulb, you can't get the proper leverage. It would probably work okay for lower ceilings and/or regular incandescent bulbs.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Denhan Springs,LA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works very well but the arms holding the spring should be bent inward instead of being bent to the outside.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
Cons: arms holding the spring should be bent in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from newport news,va
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very easy to use

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very easy to use worked really well would buy again
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Not great with floodlight

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not work very well with floodlights on a second story house. After two broken bulbs and money down the drain, I just don't feel the product is worth it. The spring does not grip the bulb enough to unscrew it and the suction cup if not used just so loses its grip and sends the bulb crashing to the ground. I've used many types of these products in the past however this one just didn't cut it. The pole was fine the attachments to go on it were not.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Lakeland, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a great tool!

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this product because I really didn't think it would work. We had 3 bulbs burn out in high/hard to reach places, I took a chance. It works great anywhere and is simple/quick to use. I don't write reviews too often but this was worth it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Nocatee, FL 32081, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very easy to use and works!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is great, now I don't need my husband to haul out the big ladder or his help to get the lightbulbs changed. After 3 weeks of waiting for him - once I had this took me just a few minutes to get the four bulbs replaced.
Pros: Easy to Use
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Good idea but not durable

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I had a single head floodlight that is high up on my 3 story house that I did not feel safe using a ladder. I have gone through 2 pairs of the floodlight gripper attachment. The first one broke. The second one it came with broke also. I was trying to unscrew the floodlight bulb and I heard a snapping noise and I turned i around and I saw it broke. I however was able to find the replacement attachment for the pole. Also the suction cup does not really work. It does not work if the bulb is screwed in tight by hand. I just spins of the bulb. The floodlight gripper I have to push down on the bulb which causes it to break easily. Personally next time I would just buy a ladder if it breaks again. Not durable and does not last long.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Complicated, Not Durable
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Extenuating circumstances

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall the product preformed well. I would advise you to use extreme caution changing heavy bulbs like exterior flood lights. These have a tendenancy disengage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Clover, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really do not have 50 words to say about this product. It seems to do what I expected.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Martinez, Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Life saver

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This thing is a tremendous time saver. When it comes to changing over head bulbs
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Design makes using this tool a chore

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a great room with 18' ceilings and six recessed floods. Ladders aren't really an option, so this is pretty much our "go-to" tool for changing bulbs. It does work, but I'm amazed there isn't a higher quality product with better design. We've just purchased our second of these items, because of poor construction, and even new, out of the box, we have to make modifications to start with.
THE POLE: The pole is a good length, and relatively sturdy and stable. But it consists of three sections, two of which depend on twisting it to release / tighten it. Since the pole itself is used for twisting, this often results in the pole untightening when loosening a tight-fitting bulb. I've had to actually use duct tape to tighten the pole at the expansion joints, just so it wouldn't loosen before I could remove the bulb.
ATTACHMENTS: The primary attachment that attaches to the bulb consists of eight flexible metal strips of metal that are held together at their ends by a spring. The metal strips wrap over the metal spring, and end less than about 1/2 inch below it. The ends of these strips easily get caught on the inside edge of the cowl of a floodlight, and then you are completely out of luck .... not only do you not have the lightbulb, you have this tool hanging from your ceiling notched into a floodlight cowl without any method of retrieving it.
Also, the suction cup is pretty useless. A more advanced cup should be easily available.
ATTACHMENT FITTINGS: The fittings used to fix the attachments to the pole are made out of a cheap, soft, waxy plastic. Simple thumbscrews placed through this plastic are used to "secure" it. The plastic is of such poor quality that it can crack simply by overtwisting the thumbscrews, or by trying to overtighten the attachment, both of which are natural tendencies since twisting the pole frequently results in the attachments, rather than the bulb, unscrewing.
SUGGESTIONS TO MANUFACTURER: (1) The pole itself, and its attachments, should not be fitted using a screw attachment, because it's meant for twisting, which generally tends to result in a loosening of the pole or its attachments, rather than the bulb. Use a simple notch and groove assembly, instead. (2) Remove the ends of the metal strips on the outside of the primary attachment, either by welding, or, preferably, just continue the end of the strip all the way back down to the attachment fitting. (3) Invest in a better suction cup. (4) Use a harder plastic or aluminum for fittings, and don't use thumbscrews; use some type of ratcheting system to secure fittings.
Overall, it's not a bad product, but the construction is so bad that it might cost you more to fix the problems it might cause (e.g., if it gets caught in the light cowling of a 18' tall flood) than it cost to purchase the product. There's no popularly available product other than this one out there, though, so we just have to make due for now.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Delafield, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I needed!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have 13 porch lights around my house. They style of light would have required me to disassemble the light to replace the bulb. This tool reduces the time it takes to change one bulb to less than 20 seconds. The multiple sizes of attachments are coming in handy in other areas of our house as well.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Boerne, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool !!!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a new house last year with 10', 12', and 15' ceilings and lots of high-hat lights. When bulbs burned out, it was a real challange changing some of them. This pole is a Godsend. It is very easy to use and works on any bulb. I definitely recommend it.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Cheshire CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was not able to turn / remove a light bulb, and the rubber grips came off during the first use.
Cons: very poor quality, doesn't perform as promised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Brick, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total Dud

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
did not work on energy saver flo bulb. actuall broke the bulb
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>