728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Safely and easily swap out hard-to-reach light bulbs with this Bayco 11 ft. pole light bulb changer kit with attachments. The changer's included adapters allow you to change most light bulbs, including broken bulbs.
Overall rating:
3.721 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product106 of 148reviews
Rating Breakdown 154 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(73)
4
(32)
3
(10)
2
(11)
1
(28)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product106 of 148reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Review 1 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Louisville, KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tip: Use two-sided tape to secure suction cup

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have very high ceilings in our great room and high recessed lights outside. I have only used the suction attachment. I have been able to stand near the top of an 8' ladder and with this device almost fully extended change several bulbs. I found that the suction cup attachment became stripped after just a few bulbs. I added Scotch 3M two-sided-removable tape where the suction cup screws onto its attachment and then where this attachment is secured to the pole. You need to check these junctures to make sure they are tight before each bulb change. To secure the string, I tied it to a plastic laundry hook with a clip bottom. I wrap the string around the stem of the hook and then hang it on a rubber band at the bottom of the pole. This way I only need to unwrap enough of the string for the height needed and the string doesn't get caught in trees and bushes. The hook also provides a way to store the pole with the suction cup/string attached. This product is easy to use with bulbs that are low enough that you can stand on the ground and reach the bulb by only using 2/3 of the pole. Changing a bulb while standing on an 8' ladder with the pole fully extended is difficult.
Pros: less expensive than hiring someone
Cons: the suction cup needs to be improved
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Pelham, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Perfectly!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have 22' cathedral ceilings in my family room with (8) 65W recessed lights. The room was built 12 years ago and this is the first time that I had to change a bulb. I don't have a tall enough step ladder so tried using an extension ladder but just didn't feel safe having the ladder supported against the pitched ceiling.
I jumped onto the internet to find a solution and read through all the reviews for this product. After reading many of them I was very skeptical of a positive outcome. I decided that I would purchase it and very carefully remove it from the packaging in case I needed to return it.
I tied the string to the suction attachment, added a tiny bit of moisture from a damp paper towel and screwed it on. Fully extended I was able to latch the suction cup onto the light and easily turn it out. I very carefully removed it from the recessed lighting fixture and brought it to the ground. I suctioned on the replacement light and just as easily screwed it into place with no problems whatsoever.
One of the things I made sure of is that both extensions and the suction cup were screwed down as tightly as possible before I started. I had planned on adding duct tape to keep them from unscrewing if necessary but didn't need to do so. Additionally, I worked as carefully as possible with the bulb inside the recessed fixture to avoid banging into the sides and possibly causing the bulb to become dislodged from the suction.
Job completed effortlessly in less than 5 minutes. In the near future I will replace all these original bulbs with LED's and plan to do so with the help of this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple to use, and I think it actually reaches higher than advertised. I was easily able to reach can lights that are in our 20 foot living room ceiling. The only downfall of this product is that circle bulbs don't always fit flush (smaller bulbs or larger flanged bulbs and you have to be really careful with the metal grippers because they can catch on the inner part of the flange for a flush mount and get stuck. Eventually I was able to wiggle it loose. Still, all in all I highly recommend this product as opposed to getting up on a ladder, falling, and breaking your spine, scapula, humerus, ankle, foot, etc like the majority of people do daily
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Awesome!

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a two story townhouse and no ladder. I thought I'd try this first before trying to buy a ladder. I changed 3 types of bulbs and even a broken off bulb with no problems! Awesome invention. Only thing was it didn't have instructions for attachments, but I figured it out
Tip: only use the suction to remove large flood lights and the large claw to replace.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Everett, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Does not Work Well

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I tried to change my R30 bulbs in a vaulted ceiling. The 1st attachment I used (which goes around the bulb) got the entire pole stuck in the light fixture. I was able to use the suction cup attachment to get it loose and get the bulb out. On the second light bulb, I used suction cup attachment to unscrew the bulb. The suction did not hold and the bulb dropped to the floor & broke. The 1st attachment was bent from getting stuck. The only reason I gave this product 2 stars versus 1 was that I was able to get the job complete - but not very easily and not without issues.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Los Angeles
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

was good but needs improvement . good for the price for one time use.

PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
it worked better than some of the other reviews said. but could be improved. the screw holding the basket in place. does not go through.so the basket which will be holding the glass bulb is not locked. it just ties tight. but when you try to unscrew the bulb. sometimes the basket unscrew at the same time. then the basket stays way up where the bulb is at... LOL it was fun trying to reSCREW the basket from where I was . I didn't break any bulbs. it would be better if there was a screwing part on the bottom of the pole to make the basket tighter after reaching the bulb. so it would grab it better to unscrew it. it did what I wanted because the bulbs were facing down... it would have been difficult to use if the bulbs were in a incline position.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: basket unscrew as the same time as a bulb.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Does the job better than expected

PostedMay 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had a ceiling fan/multiple flood light fixture above a large model railroad layout where even a ladder couldn't be placed. The nearest access required a 45 degree angle from a distance of 8'. Using this pole, the problem of bulb replacement was solved. In addition, included attachments worked to remove a broken bulb where only the socket remained. For the first time in years, all lights are now working where previously it was impossible to reach to relamp. Careful tightening of the telescoping pole by trial and error is necessary to get the proper torque. A latch/lock mechanism would be better than the plastic slip ring design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Finally worked

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm saying yes to recommend as, if you're using it, you have a need, and it seems to be the only option. The regular wire attachment didn't work on the recessed light, so we had to use the suction cup, and the bulb broke. I used the rubber pieces to try and remove the base stuck in the socket. Unfortunately before I finally got the piece out the rubber pieces were pretty much shredded, but I accomplished the mission. Although imperfectly, the item did work eventually. The instructions were pretty much next to worthless as the only informative pieces involved using the string on the suction piece and minimal instructions on piecing the rubber pieces together.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Glendale, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Here's the secret

PostedMay 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had 5 kitchen spot lights on a 14 foot ceiling that I wanted to change out with LEDs. They are tightly recessed in a can, so the spring loaded attachment did not work. When I first used the suction cup attachment it would slip when I tried to remove the old bulbs, yet it worked fine when I tested the concept on a new bulb. I suspected the old bulbs were coated with several years worth of dust and kitchen grease. I then stuffed the spring attachment with a rag soaked with Windex and cleaned the old bulbs the best I could....also cleaned the suction cup. Like magic...the old bulbs came out easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is just what I needed standing on a stool or ladder to screw in a light bulb has become to tough for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Durham, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great for installing/removing bulbs. I was surprised to find out that it also is great for removing the leftover metal screw when the bulb gets separated when trying to remove old or cheap bulbs.
I will not replace another ceiling bulb without one of these.
Pros: Easy to Use, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Worked Great for Me

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this to replace one of four blown recessed lightbulbs in my 18ft ceiling. The bulb had never been replaced since my home was built 9 years ago. It worked so well, I ended up replacing another working incandescent bulb with an LED, and that was just as easy. I can see where it may not work as well if your bulbs are overly tight, but that is not the tools fault.
I'm just under six feet tall, and with a good stretch, I could have replaced the bulbs without having to stand on anything. I ended up standing on a small chest that happened to be under the bulb which made it so I didn't have to stretch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Los Angeles
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for difficult to remove bulbs

PostedMay 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice and easy to use. Didn't need a lot of instructions to make things work. The suction cup attachment is great to use to get the tall flood lamp bulb. Caution: there is a little spot to hook a piece of string to attach so you can break the suction so you can remove the cup from the bulb when it is the up on the ceiling.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Good idea but not durable

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I had a single head floodlight that is high up on my 3 story house that I did not feel safe using a ladder. I have gone through 2 pairs of the floodlight gripper attachment. The first one broke. The second one it came with broke also. I was trying to unscrew the floodlight bulb and I heard a snapping noise and I turned i around and I saw it broke. I however was able to find the replacement attachment for the pole. Also the suction cup does not really work. It does not work if the bulb is screwed in tight by hand. I just spins of the bulb. The floodlight gripper I have to push down on the bulb which causes it to break easily. Personally next time I would just buy a ladder if it breaks again. Not durable and does not last long.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Complicated, Not Durable
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

Tip for spiral compact fluorescent bulbs

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
When trying to remove the spiral bulbs-try inserting a small styrofoam cup into the bulb changer clamp. Worked great for me. Might even help with other odd shapes mentioned in reviews.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Lakewood, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked better than expected!

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The changer was easy to adapt to the type of light bulb I had and easiey reached to height needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, Easy Replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Design makes using this tool a chore

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have a great room with 18' ceilings and six recessed floods. Ladders aren't really an option, so this is pretty much our "go-to" tool for changing bulbs. It does work, but I'm amazed there isn't a higher quality product with better design. We've just purchased our second of these items, because of poor construction, and even new, out of the box, we have to make modifications to start with.
THE POLE: The pole is a good length, and relatively sturdy and stable. But it consists of three sections, two of which depend on twisting it to release / tighten it. Since the pole itself is used for twisting, this often results in the pole untightening when loosening a tight-fitting bulb. I've had to actually use duct tape to tighten the pole at the expansion joints, just so it wouldn't loosen before I could remove the bulb.
ATTACHMENTS: The primary attachment that attaches to the bulb consists of eight flexible metal strips of metal that are held together at their ends by a spring. The metal strips wrap over the metal spring, and end less than about 1/2 inch below it. The ends of these strips easily get caught on the inside edge of the cowl of a floodlight, and then you are completely out of luck .... not only do you not have the lightbulb, you have this tool hanging from your ceiling notched into a floodlight cowl without any method of retrieving it.
Also, the suction cup is pretty useless. A more advanced cup should be easily available.
ATTACHMENT FITTINGS: The fittings used to fix the attachments to the pole are made out of a cheap, soft, waxy plastic. Simple thumbscrews placed through this plastic are used to "secure" it. The plastic is of such poor quality that it can crack simply by overtwisting the thumbscrews, or by trying to overtighten the attachment, both of which are natural tendencies since twisting the pole frequently results in the attachments, rather than the bulb, unscrewing.
SUGGESTIONS TO MANUFACTURER: (1) The pole itself, and its attachments, should not be fitted using a screw attachment, because it's meant for twisting, which generally tends to result in a loosening of the pole or its attachments, rather than the bulb. Use a simple notch and groove assembly, instead. (2) Remove the ends of the metal strips on the outside of the primary attachment, either by welding, or, preferably, just continue the end of the strip all the way back down to the attachment fitting. (3) Invest in a better suction cup. (4) Use a harder plastic or aluminum for fittings, and don't use thumbscrews; use some type of ratcheting system to secure fittings.
Overall, it's not a bad product, but the construction is so bad that it might cost you more to fix the problems it might cause (e.g., if it gets caught in the light cowling of a 18' tall flood) than it cost to purchase the product. There's no popularly available product other than this one out there, though, so we just have to make due for now.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Davie, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disaapointed

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is too hard to use! Too many parts and the instructions are weird.
Cons: Complicated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments

convenient and easy to use. worth the price

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product very much. It allows you to change bulbs in high ceilings very easily. I like it brings multiple attachments for a variety of bulbs. I recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 11 ft. Pole Light Bulb Changer Kit with Attachments
from Mansfield Center, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The light bulb extender kit with attachments is very easy to use. The attachments are very easy to install and they work very well. I have used the extension kit to remove incandescent bulbs and also spotlight outdoor bulbs. The attachments grip the bulbs with just the right amount of tension in order to unscrew them and remove them. The extension kit works just as well when installing the incandescent and spotlight bulbs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>