728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

Featuring a blended mix of forest products, sphagnum peat moss and manure, the Miracle-Gro 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables is for outdoor, inground use when planting flowers and vegetables. The soil contains Miracle-Gro Continuous Release Plant Food, which continues to feed your plants for up to 3 months.
Overall rating:
3.396 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
63%of customersrecommend this product86 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(15)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(43)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
63%of customersrecommend this product86 of 136reviews
Customer reviews for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
Review 1 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Lubbock, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love, love, love this product!!!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product every couple of years in early Spring in my beds to replenish the soil and give the ground cover a head start on looking great before the summer heat. It has great nutients, color and texture and feeds everything for three months. Can't beat that!!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from East Hanover, NJ 07936, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My first raised garden filled with Miracle-Gro garden soil.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used one part garden soil one part peat moss and the balance with vermiculite in my new 4'x12' Cedar garden. Looking forward to a productive garden season.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Central PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

will try something else

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a bag of this to replant seedlings in when they were too big for their starter pots, but it was too early to put them in the ground, I was stepping up the size pot they were in. Every pot I used this in sprouted weeds. I don't know what kind, I didn't let them get big enough to tell. I know it was this soil, because I only had the problem in the pots where I used this. The same thing happened last year with the bag of it that I bought, but I figured it was something I had done. I know now that it's definitely the Miracle Grow garden soil. I also agree with the user who said it is inconsistent quality, I've had rocks and chunks of ?? in the bag. Previously I figured using it was better than nothing, but I've now had enough problems that it's not worth trying again.
Pros: fertilizer
Cons: weeds grow from it, rocks and chunks of wood & ?? in some bags
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Inconsistant quality

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchase this about once per year when I need some extra soil to amend my garden. The quality varies greatly from lot to lot, year to year, even store to store. Some times you get mostly wood chips. Some times it's mostly a very heavy clay-like soil. Other times it's perfect. Very poor quality control. But I find this to be true with other brands of soil too. My advice is that if you happen to find a good batch by chance, then stock up on it.
Pros: variable quality
Cons: variable quality
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

Good quality

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Miracle grow always has good products and this one was no different. Nice light soil. Easy to spread.
Pros: Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great soil.

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this stuff. I mulch my leaves in the fall. In spring, when I plant wildflowers, I put down a little of this (1-2 inches, then put in my seeds and rake over them. I have amazing wildflowers!!!! I use those big bags of wildflower mixes I get from Home Depot every year. My neighbors say I have the prettiest garden in town. Oh...the patio...I built it myself with gray flagstones I bougth at home depot...where I bouth most of my plants, too.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from McLeansville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product to rejuvenate plants

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the miracle grow soil on my tropical plants. I bought the plants on clearance and was hoping that they could be revived. I repotted them with this soil and they are still thriving and look so pretty. I also used this soil on my roses and when I reseeded some areas of my lawn. Great stuff!
Pros: Great Quality, should have bought more while it was on sale
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Poconos
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle-Gro Garden Soil - DO NOT USE IN POTS

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some people may not be getting the results they want if they are using this Garden Soil in a pot. I picked this up in error and good thing I called the company. They said it's too dense for a pot and may suffocate the roots. It has to be used in the ground and mixed 50:50 with regular or top soil. There's a sign on the bag "not for containers". I'll make use out of it in my yard and will pick up the Potting Mix. The Potting Mix is what you want for containers and pots.
Pros: good brand
Cons: not for containers or pots
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Mix, Florida's reclaimed sandy ground needs a heavier mix.

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This Spring I used one bag to plant vegetable seeds. Homes built on reclaimed phosphate mines have sand and clay yards. This bag doesn't go far to amend that sandy ground.
The seedlings in the photo are only a couple of weeks old. This fertilizes the seedlings but after summer rains it washes into the sand.
I prefer a heavier mix for our garden. I also use this garden soil to mix my own potting soil. Miracle-Gro markets good products, quality is generally high.
Pros: Multi Use
Cons: light for sandy ground
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

Mostly wood chips!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had used this product before and liked it, but this year I purchased 7 bags for my smallish front garden and all 7 bags were mostly wood chips! If I had wanted mulch, I would have bought it! VERY disappointed in MiracleGro!
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

Garden soil works great!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This soil is very good. Enjoy seeing the flowers and plants grow fast and healthy when we use this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Port Charlotte, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Miracle-Gro does accomplish miracles!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have trouble keeping plants alive and thriving, I recommend this soil for your projects in flower beds and veggie gardens. Gives plants a good, healthy start, even in questionable soil. I've had marvelous results and will continue to use.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Chicago
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This soil does what it says it will do.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My flowers are HUGE this year and beautiful. I have never had so many people stop and stare at my garden and tell me how beautiful it is. Especially men!! This surprised me but men just love the colors and say how beautiful the flowers are. Mothers stop and show their kids the flowers and ask me what each one is. My vegetables are also doing well. They are also much bigger than last years and there are more of them per plant. (But these I keep hidden from the outside world so I don't have any comments to report.) Before I planted anything I put down several bags of Miracle-Gro for flowers and vegetables. In the 38 years I've been planting my gardens I have never had such a response. All by my adding Miracle-Gro this year. No kidding!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Henderson
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality addition to upgrade existing soil

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mixed this in with existing soil, planted items for spring. So far, the plants seem to be thriving.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables

reliable product

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this easy way of feeding plants & adding soil in one step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Decatur, Al.

top soil

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I h ave mixed this with sand and it works great with my banana trees. Every year I have trees that bare banana's when I don't even expect them to.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Gaylord, MI 49735, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

garden savor

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
this works great year in year out!!! I have been buying miracle grow products for more than 40 yrs
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: packaging
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Newton, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes things grow!

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added this product to a small vegetable garden and to a flower bed. Both areas are growing beautifully. HD had a great sale on the product at the time!
Pros: Great Quality, easy to dispense, makes things grow
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great product and quality

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome and cheap. I use this priduct a lot in my garden. It makes my rose garden look beautiful all the time
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1 cu. ft. Garden Soil for Flowers & Vegetables
from Rocklin
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality is very good

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this garden soil for my new plant bed and all my vegetable plants are growing great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>