728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil

2 cu. ft. Potting Soil

Regionally formulated from organic materials, the Earthgro 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil is a general-purpose growing medium used to pot and repot indoor and outdoor container plants, including flowers, herbs and vegetables. The soil is ready to use straight from the bag and does not require additives. Also, it does not contain fertilizer.
Overall rating:
1.56 / 5
1.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
16%of customersrecommend this product4 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
1.6 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(20)
Quality 
1.4 out of 5.0
1.4 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
16%of customersrecommend this product4 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
everydayguy

Comparing to Miraclegro

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Planted some lettuce in identical pots, growing side by side, one Earthgro and one Miraclegro regular potting soil. After 5 weeks the Earthgro plants were 2-3" and the Miraclegro were 7-10". See photo
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
23out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
Duodynamico
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stunts Growth

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I gave this product a try. I purchased two bags as separate times. Both have stunted growth of anything I plant in this mix. Unfortunately the low price point translates into bad soil for plants. I tried growing flowers and veggies in pots. In every instance, the plants turned a nasty color. THe herbs would bot grow and were stunted. The things from seed just sprouted and would not grow at all. When I finally gave up and dumped out the soil, It smelled a lot like gasoline. Unfortunately this product is no good. You are better off paying more for the miracle grow. Do not use this soil if you want your plants to grow.
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: stunts growth, smells of gasoline
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
CrazyUrbanGardener
from West Covina, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Needs lots of work

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're a novice gardener, and you need a lot of potting soil for a cheap price, this is your product. HOWEVER, you need to add many things to this soil to make it worth while using. I say this because, by itself it looks like cigarette ash and probably has the nutritional value of cigarette ash when it comes to your plants. So i experimented and added some soil amender, compost, and rabbit manure (which I collect from my pets) and so far so good. Plus, if I had any on hand, I would have added some peat moss or some growing medium to help retain moisture. Like i said, this soil needs lots of work. Do not use it on its own for your potted plants... OR ANY PLANTS for that matter. haahahah!
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
peanut
from Arizona, USA

pretty good soil

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Base soil is pretty good, just note that it does not contain any added fertilizers. (miracle grow regular potting mix does have a slow release fertilizer added, but for more than twice the price though). At this price you can't go wrong just add your own favorite fertilizer and you are good to go.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
JPLM
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get What You Pay For

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is very affordable.
Unfortunately, the "soil" is VERY poor in nutrients. It is like growing plants on wood chips and sand. I have seeded basil and morning glories on this product two months ago and they are stunted. Basil has only 4 leaves. Morning glories (usually a fast grower) is only about 6" long.
Pay a little extra and get something that will actually help your plants grow.
Pros: cheap
Cons: not a real potting soil, no nutrients
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
tweebs
from West Valley City, UT, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Full of wood

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second cheap bag of potting soil that I got from Home Depot, and the second one in a row that has a lot of wood in it. This one is 90% wood chips and shavings. I am hardly seeing any dirt in it. I would want to use this for plants. There is nothing to hold the water in. The wood will hold some but it will just promote fungus growth like the last bag of soil that I got. I do have some Miracle Gro potting soil that is much, much better than this stuff. I'm willing to pay an extra dollar or two for dirt instead of wood.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
Lisa

Very poor quality "potting" soil

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't consider this potting soil Potting soil to me is ready to use, ready to put in the containers. It would contain visible pieces of vermiculite or perlite, or something other than a big, hard, brick of... what ever it is.
Cheaper for a reason. I will not compare to Miracle Gro, since I do not want added fertilizers, but I will say that Filthy Rich is so much nicer. With this you have to add everything you were trying to avoid by buying potting soil!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
Rahoo162
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Big dissapointment

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If your idea of the ideal potting mix is a mixture of uncomposted sticks, pine needles, and rocks mixed with a spattering of dirt (not soil), then this is a great prouct. I would give it no stars if I could. I cannot recommend this product for any use in the garden or home.
Cons: contains rocks, contains sticks/wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
tomyboy
from Stockton, CA, USA

FUNKY

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it smells really bad it smells like dog cow horse and human waste put togheter
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 2 cu. ft. Potting Soil
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
1.7 out of 5.0
1.7 out of 5
3 out of 16 recommend this product