728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED

Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED

Create your fence project with the official design software of Home Depot. Big Hammer software helps you design, plan, and build your fence, making it your One Trip Project Planner. Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer gives you the tools you need to design the fence you want. Design with the multiple styles of fencing and gates to get the look you want. Point and click your way to a fence designed for privacy, protection, or decoration. Observe the positioning of end posts and line posts for each style of fence. Intuitive design tools help you customize your fence to fit your needs and your yard. Build with several different styles of fence such as picket, lattice, French gothic, and cape cod. The shopping list will have everything you need down to the nail, no more guesswork!
Overall rating:
1.9 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product4 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
1.9 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(7)
40%of customersrecommend this product4 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
HuneyDoEr
from Sacramento, CA

First Impressions

PostedApril 13, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The disc showed up in a paper cd cover, Not even in a 5 cent plastic case with a cover. How Cheap. It was not at all usefull to me. The program is designed to sell/price and configure in Panels. Panels that are premade and cost more. Not very usefull on uneven terrain. I wanted a board count. Assembly by Me. In order to use this disc you will have to do your home work. Spend some time at the store and look at the real thing and possible options as it isn't as it seems on the disc. The Pricing option for materials was also vague as some items are special orders and pricess may vary. So It leaves them out. Their are no how to tips on how to build it either. Your better off buying an actual How To Book at least it will help with the technical and required steps. And shop around for lumber as prices tend to vary alot. GOOD LUCK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
Skeemer
from Albany, OR

Don't Bother

PostedSeptember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was reluctant to try this software out after reading other reviews. When I saw the option for a free download, I figured hey, why not? Let me first say that I am quite computer literate. I am a webmaster and I write web applications fairly frequently. This software is no good. It freezes and crashes often. The only fence it will quote you on is panels, and it doesn't even do that right. It quoted me for 2 x 8' ft panels for a 64' section of fence. 8 times 2 is not 64. Don't bother with this software, it will only frustrate you.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
LPatterson7
from Akron, OH

Product does not work

PostedMarch 18, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this product to lay out a fence for my home. As soon as I started to use it, I was halted with program errors. After reinstalling the program 3 times, I contacted the customer support center at Big Hammer (which you can only do by e-mail, as they will not publish a phone number). Their answer to my errors were: "We were able to recreate your error and you need to re-install the program and make sure you do not register the product or import any pricing information from your local Home Depot." (this is the point of the program, to get a product list and a price quote). After completing this task and having to lay out the fence yet again, the program worked. I was happy until I tried to print my lay-out. The product gave me more errors and will not print the lay-out nor the product list to take with me to purchase the fence from Home Depot. I can't even get into try and check the printer settings, the program just shuts down. This product has terrible errors that are known by the manufacturer to exist and their answer is not to use all of the features that are advertised. I am waiting on an answer to see if I can get my money back because your payment goes to Big Hammer, not The Home Depot. Please STAY AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT and just buy some graph paper.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
SirSparksalot
from ICT, KS

Don't Do It

PostedMarch 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This software is horrible. I laid out a fence that was 118 total feet long. I hit the 'figure my material' button and found that it did not include the (estimated) 109 1'x6" boards I would need as filler panels and it didn't include the lumber needed for all the trim. It misfigured the lattice. I did however, like the price of my fence project. $590.00. It is total junk. I'm surprised The Home Depot associates it's name with this software.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
mjpopa
from Rineyville, KY

Fence Designer - An outstanding program

PostedJuly 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great piece of software, placed the dimensions of the fence click a button and I had a list of all of the items I needed to get to put up my new fence. The one problem I found was that it over estimated one item on the list and I bought to many of them, not a problem though took the extras back to Home Depot and got my money back. This software made buying the parts I needed simple and easy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
SteveinOklahoma
from Oklahoma

This Software is BAD!

PostedFebruary 3, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This software is a bunch of junk! Don't buy it!! It is hard to learn how to work it; the tutorial is worthless; running the software often locks up the computer; and it's almost impossible to get the right dimensions on the screen. Even if you can get the right dimensions on the screen, the materials calculator and price estimate is worthless. You can't change quantities and when it checks prices, it'll tell you that for most of the items you need to take the materials list to the store to get it priced. That makes it absolutely worthless for easily comparing the cost of different types of fences. A pen and paper and tape measiure is a much easier way to build a fence.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
denny

advirtised as working with windows vista and did not

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not work with vista and service pack 2. after buying it went to suport and that siad it would not work with vista.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
Anonymous
from visalia, ca.

Just what I was looking for!

PostedApril 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had been continplating puting in a new fence, but with material prices going up and up, it was hard to figure the total cost would be. Thank God for Home Depot for this marvolous computer program. It help me to design the fence I desired, but it also gave me the material cost where I consider my Home Depot the place to GO!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
stamos
from Portagep Michigan

did not work

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was very unhappy with the do it yourself fence designer. It would not load on my computer or on 2 other computers I tried. Had to send back for refund
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Do-It-Yourself Fence Designer How-To Software-DISCONTINUED
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product