728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus is designed to meet the tough standards demanded for professional window and door installations while effectively filling and sealing large cracks, gaps and voids. Unlike polyurethane foams, it will not over expand, is toolable, moldable and cleans up easily with water. It remains soft and flexible when dry so it will not bow, buckle or distort frames. The innovative latex polymer foam technology provides water resistance and is paintable with latex paints once cured. Daptex Plus helps reduce energy loss as well as pest infiltration and is ideal for sealing air leaks to improve energy efficiency and reduce heating and cooling costs.
Overall rating:
3.677 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product49 of 67reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product49 of 67reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Review 1 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
HoppinG8r
from Decatur Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product. It is certainly different than the solvent based products. Much softer when dry with the consistency of a loaf of soft bread. I used both the DAP and other products on my project with different results. The project was overhead, filling gaps behind the HVAC registers and tapering for smoother airflow. It was also to keep out bugs that crawl through the cracks. The DAP foam was much easier to apply and stayed where I put it. Though its not sticky, when you apply it, it stays. The other product wanted to fall out, and then trying to caress it back in place didn't work as it then stuck to whatever I was using to try to push it back up. As the project was overhead, the DAP worked better as the can does not need to be held upside down like others. It does take longer to dry (two days for me), but once dry provided a finish like the top of baked bread instead of the lumpy bumpy finish of the other. But the DAP is not as structurally sound once dry. You can easily poke a finger into it or pull it out. I'd estimate that its about 4 times softer than a solvent based product. If you need sturdy, you're better off with something else. It tooled fine once dry. But let it dry completely or you'll make a mess. Water cleanup was great. No need for acetone. Overall, I'd like to see this stuff dry up to a sturdier end product, but it seems to be holding up fine so far.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, easy to remove if desired
Cons: produces a fairly fragile end product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Judiques
from 76210
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the others

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stuff to fill in the spaces between some homemade wood pallet shutters, as some of the gaps were too big for caulk. It did okay, but is like the rest of the expanding foam products. It is very messy and not pretty, but I guess it does the job. I used some on the exterior of my house where wasps are always getting in somehow. Haven't seen any since.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
dman689
from Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA

Great Product for Windows

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is expensive but if you need insulation around windows I like this much more than other foam products. Easier clean up, no worries about too much pressure from expansion and seals well.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Rowlett1
from Garland

Works great low expansion

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well easy to use would recommend to others low expansion, will not push bricks over used for window new construction
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
mallanmba

Disintegrates when you touch it

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff says on the label "For exterior applications, foam must be painted with a quality latex paint after fully cured." Well, I just let this stuff cure for over 30 hours and tried to paint it... it disintegrates into a white powder with the lightest touch. I can't get any paint on it, it crumbles as soon as the paintbrush touches it - this stuff is completely useless, I'm going to have to scrape it away and start from scratch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
fghj
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so so

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A contractor friend of mine recommended this product. We bought seven bottles in all. The first two and the last bottles worked great. The four in the middle, not so good. Sometimes the straw would clog up and the foam would start spewing out the ventilation slits.
Sometimes the straw would fly off in the middle of spraying and get stuck in hard to get places.
I think it would have only taken us 5 bottles not 7 had the other four been as good as the first two and last one.
Sometimes the DAP would sputter and spit rather than coming out nice and smooth. I don't know if we got a bad lot or what, but we even bought one of the bottles at another store and it was one of the four bad ones.
Occasionally the straw would clog and after running hot water through it, it was fine.
Occasionally after running hot water through it, I felt like even thought it was dry, the product was runnier than before.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: clogs a lot, possibly poor coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Laurie
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New back door with shade insert.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Back door with window shade insert which raises shade up and tilts shade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Fattuesdays
from 92109
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Weatherproof

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought for 6.97 at Home Depot to fill in some small leaking on the deck cover........Rained the next day and faailed when the water touch DapTex plus Sealant.
If you are thinking about using this for outdoor ???? Dont !
Waste of money in my opinion.................
Cons: not for outdoor use, not weatherproof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
SRP1

Very easy to work with

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This foam doesn't over expand like Great Stuff. This makes it much easier to work with. Also, the color was white whereas Great Stuff is yellow in color.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
JohnNY
from Rye Brook, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be careful where you use it

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
- Easy to apply, expansion is gentle and controlled
- Low odor
- Easy cleanup
Cons:
- After 48-hours @ >60 degrees F a 1/2" bead of Daptex Plus had the consistency of a cupcake. I dug it out effortlessly with my finger.
Recommendation:
- Probably fine within cavities, otherwise use something harder.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Bruce

Was ok

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I expected to get a bit more volume from the can. I have used similar products in the past and was disappointed in the "thinness" of the application. It did not foam up and expand as much as I expected.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
Cons: did not foam as much as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
gpotnick
from Verdi, Verdi-Mogul, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a fair price

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product applies well, sticks and is easy to clean up. I have used it before and it is still my favorite product for canned insulation which remains pliable and easy to clean.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Terie
from Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product exceeded expectation!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow!! amazing durable product! I filled in cracks and window areas. Very tough, and weather resistant . Every homeowner should have a can around for quick long lasting fixes..Btw, I got some on my coat and it washed right off!!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
OldHomeOwner
from Tacoma, WA, USA

Worked just as needed

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My house was built in 1906; with many cracks, gaps and voids! Daptex Plus took care of all those little spaces that were allowing moister, air and bugs in. Easy to use! It did not over expand, and I was able to easily scrap of any extra in order to leave a smooth level surface. I would recommend this product to anyone with that needs to fill in those random spaces throughout their home.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
MNRemodeler
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What would you use this for?

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the process of remodeling 100 year old home. While replacing windows, I thought I'd try this product. It was 2-3 times the price of GS, but was water based and looked like a good yield per can. I bought 4 cans.
The only good things I have to say about this product is that it's easy to clean up and has virtually no odor. It has the consistency of whipped cream and skins over, but never really "sets up". I can imagine it getting blown out if you get any pressure behind it. The can says the yield is 510 feet of a quarter inch bead, but if you can get that out of it, you are a magician. It comes out of the can very slowly and only for about 10 seconds- then you have to stop and rinse the tube and nozzle out with hot water. I only got half-way around a standard 32x46 window before I finally put the can down. I'm going back to Great Stuff Window and Door.
I can't see this product being good for any application. Don't waste your money. I'm taking 3 of my 4 cans back.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
madentr
from Harrisburg, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
worked well for what I needed it for the associate recommended this product over another I was choosing. good choice
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Andy
from Key Largo, Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not work well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this product for refund after many attempts to use I ended up having to remove the product from every we're I used it because it never set up or cured. It remained a sticky mess even after several days.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
FWJH1971
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Filler

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to fill in around new windows and doors and this did the trick. Great stuff
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Kari
from Noble, OK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love that it is washable off your hands

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has a lot of advantages like you can wash it off your hands & it doesn't foam so large you have to cut it off with a knife.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Darren

Not bad but falls apart when dry

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The stuff did the job but one thing to note is when it dries it really denigrates to the touch. Could be a good thing to clean up extra that spilled over.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>