728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus is designed to meet the tough standards demanded for professional window and door installations while effectively filling and sealing large cracks, gaps and voids. Unlike polyurethane foams, it will not over expand, is toolable, moldable and cleans up easily with water. It remains soft and flexible when dry so it will not bow, buckle or distort frames. The innovative latex polymer foam technology provides water resistance and is paintable with latex paints once cured. Daptex Plus helps reduce energy loss as well as pest infiltration and is ideal for sealing air leaks to improve energy efficiency and reduce heating and cooling costs.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product49 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product49 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Review 1 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Dap ultra plus foam

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst foam I have ever used. Two days later after applying foam and it is semi-cured. Purchased because it had 25percent more in can, big mistake for thinking this made it better than the other brand. Will have to remove and replace foam. Most of the foam did not expand, just ran out of the space I applied it in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Decatur Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product. It is certainly different than the solvent based products. Much softer when dry with the consistency of a loaf of soft bread. I used both the DAP and other products on my project with different results. The project was overhead, filling gaps behind the HVAC registers and tapering for smoother airflow. It was also to keep out bugs that crawl through the cracks. The DAP foam was much easier to apply and stayed where I put it. Though its not sticky, when you apply it, it stays. The other product wanted to fall out, and then trying to caress it back in place didn't work as it then stuck to whatever I was using to try to push it back up. As the project was overhead, the DAP worked better as the can does not need to be held upside down like others. It does take longer to dry (two days for me), but once dry provided a finish like the top of baked bread instead of the lumpy bumpy finish of the other. But the DAP is not as structurally sound once dry. You can easily poke a finger into it or pull it out. I'd estimate that its about 4 times softer than a solvent based product. If you need sturdy, you're better off with something else. It tooled fine once dry. But let it dry completely or you'll make a mess. Water cleanup was great. No need for acetone. Overall, I'd like to see this stuff dry up to a sturdier end product, but it seems to be holding up fine so far.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, easy to remove if desired
Cons: produces a fairly fragile end product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Rye Brook, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be careful where you use it

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
- Easy to apply, expansion is gentle and controlled
- Low odor
- Easy cleanup
Cons:
- After 48-hours @ >60 degrees F a 1/2" bead of Daptex Plus had the consistency of a cupcake. I dug it out effortlessly with my finger.
Recommendation:
- Probably fine within cavities, otherwise use something harder.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What would you use this for?

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the process of remodeling 100 year old home. While replacing windows, I thought I'd try this product. It was 2-3 times the price of GS, but was water based and looked like a good yield per can. I bought 4 cans.
The only good things I have to say about this product is that it's easy to clean up and has virtually no odor. It has the consistency of whipped cream and skins over, but never really "sets up". I can imagine it getting blown out if you get any pressure behind it. The can says the yield is 510 feet of a quarter inch bead, but if you can get that out of it, you are a magician. It comes out of the can very slowly and only for about 10 seconds- then you have to stop and rinse the tube and nozzle out with hot water. I only got half-way around a standard 32x46 window before I finally put the can down. I'm going back to Great Stuff Window and Door.
I can't see this product being good for any application. Don't waste your money. I'm taking 3 of my 4 cans back.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Hickory, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very poor product

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Granted, this product is supposed to remain soft after curing, but considering it will not cure at all makes it worthless. What little does "cure" remains too soft to take a coat of paint and crumbles at a touch.
I was very disappointed in this product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: does not cure, remains moist, not paintable as claimed, not "toolable" as claimed
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from New York, NY

Perfect sealant and insulator.

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wouldn't use anything else for sealing gaps. Low expansion (about 10%) means nothing gets pushed or warped, and nothing will leak out the sides; it stays where you put it. It's non-adhesive, so it cleans off of finished surfaces easy without staining. After setting, you can scrape excess away with just your fingers, leaving a nice even surface that won't block molding and can be painted. If you're concerned about spray foam affecting appearance, this is perfect for the job. Like the label describes, this does not an adhesive, expand to great measures, or have structure. It's simply a clean and workable foam sealant.
To the persons that gave this a low review: Have your requirements and expectations straight when choosing a product, and read the label. If you require a product to expand, have structure, or be an adhesive, then buy a product that does that. Read, ask, learn, then pick the right tools and materials for the job.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Disintegrates when you touch it

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff says on the label "For exterior applications, foam must be painted with a quality latex paint after fully cured." Well, I just let this stuff cure for over 30 hours and tried to paint it... it disintegrates into a white powder with the lightest touch. I can't get any paint on it, it crumbles as soon as the paintbrush touches it - this stuff is completely useless, I'm going to have to scrape it away and start from scratch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from 76210
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the others

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stuff to fill in the spaces between some homemade wood pallet shutters, as some of the gaps were too big for caulk. It did okay, but is like the rest of the expanding foam products. It is very messy and not pretty, but I guess it does the job. I used some on the exterior of my house where wasps are always getting in somehow. Haven't seen any since.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Comes up a tad short

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Loved the idea of soap & water clean up but that also renders this product pretty much NOT water resistant. If you make sure to use the product for interior use only in a location that gets extremely little to no moisture this product should work just fine otherwise use a different product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: does not hold up to moisture
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for specific applications only

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for specific applications but NOT for every application.
Holds up to weather VERY well if allowed to set for 24 hours and then painted with a premium latex paint as stated in the directions; I also followed the latex coat with an oil base flat enamel and got excellent weather resistant results with an exterior project, much better than than the exterior caulk that was used initially.
I really love GS for some projects, however, I prefer the DAP foam for others, especially when a quick aesthetic finish is desired or required and clean up needs to be a breeze. I used a dry wall knife and got a great seal and sleek look on interior areas, which I later coated with premium latex. When coating with latex paint I found that the brush should be very WET or the foam will stick to the paint and pull away from the bead, although those areas are easily touched up, it can be a time stealer and with a little care, can be avoided.
If the user follows the directions on the can it should work as stated.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from New Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DAP expanding foam

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are many expanding foams that are superior to this product. But none of them are as easy to use as this product. If you don't need strength or durability this product is superior in ease of use and cost.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Oxford Charter Township, MI, USA

Great Product for Windows

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is expensive but if you need insulation around windows I like this much more than other foam products. Easier clean up, no worries about too much pressure from expansion and seals well.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Garland

Works great low expansion

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well easy to use would recommend to others low expansion, will not push bricks over used for window new construction
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so so

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A contractor friend of mine recommended this product. We bought seven bottles in all. The first two and the last bottles worked great. The four in the middle, not so good. Sometimes the straw would clog up and the foam would start spewing out the ventilation slits.
Sometimes the straw would fly off in the middle of spraying and get stuck in hard to get places.
I think it would have only taken us 5 bottles not 7 had the other four been as good as the first two and last one.
Sometimes the DAP would sputter and spit rather than coming out nice and smooth. I don't know if we got a bad lot or what, but we even bought one of the bottles at another store and it was one of the four bad ones.
Occasionally the straw would clog and after running hot water through it, it was fine.
Occasionally after running hot water through it, I felt like even thought it was dry, the product was runnier than before.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
Cons: clogs a lot, possibly poor coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

New back door with shade insert.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Back door with window shade insert which raises shade up and tilts shade.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from 92109
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Weatherproof

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought for 6.97 at Home Depot to fill in some small leaking on the deck cover........Rained the next day and faailed when the water touch DapTex plus Sealant.
If you are thinking about using this for outdoor ???? Dont !
Waste of money in my opinion.................
Cons: not for outdoor use, not weatherproof
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Very easy to work with

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This foam doesn't over expand like Great Stuff. This makes it much easier to work with. Also, the color was white whereas Great Stuff is yellow in color.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Was ok

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I expected to get a bit more volume from the can. I have used similar products in the past and was disappointed in the "thinness" of the application. It did not foam up and expand as much as I expected.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Use, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean
Cons: did not foam as much as expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Verdi, Verdi-Mogul, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product at a fair price

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product applies well, sticks and is easy to clean up. I have used it before and it is still my favorite product for canned insulation which remains pliable and easy to clean.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Modern, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Daptex Plus 12-oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"FAIL"

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience with this product wasn't very good.
I used it to fill a small gap between walls. The product did not set up and expand like it was supposed to. When I stuck my finger in the hole where I sprayed, the product was still wet and deflated. 24hrs later no luck... YUCK! This product might work well to fill little gaps where walls and pipes meet, but between walls was a "fail".
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>