728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Daptex Plus is designed to meet the tough standards demanded for professional window and door installations while effectively filling and sealing large cracks, gaps and voids. Unlike polyurethane foams, it will not over expand, is toolable, moldable and cleans up easily with water. It remains soft and flexible when dry so it will not bow, buckle or distort frames. The innovative latex polymer foam technology provides water resistance and is paintable with latex paints once cured. Daptex Plus helps reduce energy loss as well as pest infiltration and is ideal for sealing air leaks to improve energy efficiency and reduce heating and cooling costs.
Overall rating:
3.557 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product48 of 69reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(31)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product48 of 69reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Review 1 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Not "Great Stuff"

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Turns into chalk if you touch the cured product. Does not expand much after it leaves the nozzle. Perhaps this is by design, wont swell and warp your project.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Decatur Alabama
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does what it says.

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product. It is certainly different than the solvent based products. Much softer when dry with the consistency of a loaf of soft bread. I used both the DAP and other products on my project with different results. The project was overhead, filling gaps behind the HVAC registers and tapering for smoother airflow. It was also to keep out bugs that crawl through the cracks. The DAP foam was much easier to apply and stayed where I put it. Though its not sticky, when you apply it, it stays. The other product wanted to fall out, and then trying to caress it back in place didn't work as it then stuck to whatever I was using to try to push it back up. As the project was overhead, the DAP worked better as the can does not need to be held upside down like others. It does take longer to dry (two days for me), but once dry provided a finish like the top of baked bread instead of the lumpy bumpy finish of the other. But the DAP is not as structurally sound once dry. You can easily poke a finger into it or pull it out. I'd estimate that its about 4 times softer than a solvent based product. If you need sturdy, you're better off with something else. It tooled fine once dry. But let it dry completely or you'll make a mess. Water cleanup was great. No need for acetone. Overall, I'd like to see this stuff dry up to a sturdier end product, but it seems to be holding up fine so far.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, easy to remove if desired
Cons: produces a fairly fragile end product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Rye Brook, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be careful where you use it

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Coverage 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
- Easy to apply, expansion is gentle and controlled
- Low odor
- Easy cleanup
Cons:
- After 48-hours @ >60 degrees F a 1/2" bead of Daptex Plus had the consistency of a cupcake. I dug it out effortlessly with my finger.
Recommendation:
- Probably fine within cavities, otherwise use something harder.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Dap ultra plus foam

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worst foam I have ever used. Two days later after applying foam and it is semi-cured. Purchased because it had 25percent more in can, big mistake for thinking this made it better than the other brand. Will have to remove and replace foam. Most of the foam did not expand, just ran out of the space I applied it in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What would you use this for?

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In the process of remodeling 100 year old home. While replacing windows, I thought I'd try this product. It was 2-3 times the price of GS, but was water based and looked like a good yield per can. I bought 4 cans.
The only good things I have to say about this product is that it's easy to clean up and has virtually no odor. It has the consistency of whipped cream and skins over, but never really "sets up". I can imagine it getting blown out if you get any pressure behind it. The can says the yield is 510 feet of a quarter inch bead, but if you can get that out of it, you are a magician. It comes out of the can very slowly and only for about 10 seconds- then you have to stop and rinse the tube and nozzle out with hot water. I only got half-way around a standard 32x46 window before I finally put the can down. I'm going back to Great Stuff Window and Door.
I can't see this product being good for any application. Don't waste your money. I'm taking 3 of my 4 cans back.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from New York, NY

Perfect sealant and insulator.

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wouldn't use anything else for sealing gaps. Low expansion (about 10%) means nothing gets pushed or warped, and nothing will leak out the sides; it stays where you put it. It's non-adhesive, so it cleans off of finished surfaces easy without staining. After setting, you can scrape excess away with just your fingers, leaving a nice even surface that won't block molding and can be painted. If you're concerned about spray foam affecting appearance, this is perfect for the job. Like the label describes, this does not an adhesive, expand to great measures, or have structure. It's simply a clean and workable foam sealant.
To the persons that gave this a low review: Have your requirements and expectations straight when choosing a product, and read the label. If you require a product to expand, have structure, or be an adhesive, then buy a product that does that. Read, ask, learn, then pick the right tools and materials for the job.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for specific applications only

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great for specific applications but NOT for every application.
Holds up to weather VERY well if allowed to set for 24 hours and then painted with a premium latex paint as stated in the directions; I also followed the latex coat with an oil base flat enamel and got excellent weather resistant results with an exterior project, much better than than the exterior caulk that was used initially.
I really love GS for some projects, however, I prefer the DAP foam for others, especially when a quick aesthetic finish is desired or required and clean up needs to be a breeze. I used a dry wall knife and got a great seal and sleek look on interior areas, which I later coated with premium latex. When coating with latex paint I found that the brush should be very WET or the foam will stick to the paint and pull away from the bead, although those areas are easily touched up, it can be a time stealer and with a little care, can be avoided.
If the user follows the directions on the can it should work as stated.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Very easy to work with

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This foam doesn't over expand like Great Stuff. This makes it much easier to work with. Also, the color was white whereas Great Stuff is yellow in color.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Key Largo, Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does not work well

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned this product for refund after many attempts to use I ended up having to remove the product from every we're I used it because it never set up or cured. It remained a sticky mess even after several days.
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from North Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fill in the Gaps!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product to fill in some gaps around pipes, around doorways, and even outside under the roof. We had torrential rain and HAIL that night and the sealant held in place as advertised. Everything sealed up very nicely - would probably be a neater job if I was more handy with a spray can; but any residual foam was easily wiped away or pushed into the cracks once it dried. It doesn't get "hard" but it will get firm enough to do the job and stay in place - won't wash away or fall apart in the elements. Just flush out the straw after each use and you can use this product for several jobs... until it runs out. I just used water to flush out the straw - good as new to use again!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Hickory, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very poor product

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Granted, this product is supposed to remain soft after curing, but considering it will not cure at all makes it worthless. What little does "cure" remains too soft to take a coat of paint and crumbles at a touch.
I was very disappointed in this product.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
Cons: does not cure, remains moist, not paintable as claimed, not "toolable" as claimed
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from New Port Richey, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DAP expanding foam

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are many expanding foams that are superior to this product. But none of them are as easy to use as this product. If you don't need strength or durability this product is superior in ease of use and cost.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Anaheim, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product did not work as advertised.

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Followed directions to the letter and this stuff does not get firm even after 4 days. Second time I shook can for about 4 minutes and tried again with same results. Would not recommend this product to anyone.
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceNovember 22, 2013
Hi Popster,

I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this issue and here is their response to you.

Thank you for submitting your comments. DAPtex® Plus Multi-Purpose Foam Sealant
performs differently from other foams. DAPtex® Plus is a latex polymer foam designed specifically to not over expand. It was also designed to remain soft and flexible when dry to accommodate movement. Because DAPtex® Plus is a latex polymer foam, it can take longer to completely cure when compared to polyurethane based foams. The cure time can vary widely based on the volume of foam applied as well as the application temperature and humidity.

Your satisfaction is important to us. If you are not satisfied with the performance of the foam sealant, please feel free to return the product with a sales receipt to the store which you purchased it from for a full refund or exchange within store policy.

If you have any further questions regarding any DAP products, please contact our Product Information Specialists at 888-DAP-TIPS (888.327.8477).

DAP Products Inc.


Hope this helps.

Thank you.
Review 14 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from 92109
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Weatherproof

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought for 6.97 at Home Depot to fill in some small leaking on the deck cover........Rained the next day and faailed when the water touch DapTex plus Sealant.
If you are thinking about using this for outdoor ???? Dont !
Waste of money in my opinion.................
Cons: not for outdoor use, not weatherproof
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product did not expand like Great Stuff

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Anyone that has used Great Stuff knows that it expands greatly, and most of the time runs over the area you meant to cover and gets messy. This was just right and only expanded a little. Also, I have gotten multiple uses out of it, versus Great Stuff where it seems after the 1st use, if you dont use it all, it goes to waste.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from austin

seems good

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked this stuff up to fill in gaps around my car speakers (I put a 6.5" speaker in a 5x7 hole). Seems pretty sturdy--after it dries, its almost as if you sprayed down some styrofoam, though its a bit fluffier. 4 stars because it could definitely stand to dry a bit faster--it kept rolling down from where I wanted it and I would have to scoop it up and put it where I wanted it. I guess I wasnt supposed to use such thick layers.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from 76210
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like the others

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this stuff to fill in the spaces between some homemade wood pallet shutters, as some of the gaps were too big for caulk. It did okay, but is like the rest of the expanding foam products. It is very messy and not pretty, but I guess it does the job. I used some on the exterior of my house where wasps are always getting in somehow. Haven't seen any since.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Good Protection
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Albany, NY

Should not be used

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, I'm no fan of Great Stuff which is why I was so stoked about an alternative. I replaced 14 windows this summer and was not looking forward to the mess that is Great Stuff. But after a trial can of DAP I'm more than willing to use GS knowing that at least I'm getting a serious product and real air sealing/insulation. DAP foam should not be used by anyone for anything. Minimally expanding! This stuff won't even push aside Tyvek. It has the consistency out of the can of Reddi-Wip. They claim is't toolable, which is true if you're a pastry chef. 24 hours it's skinned over but still soft beneath. 48 hours, no change, After a week I decided this stuff was ridiculous and decided to scrape it out. It took no time, could have vacuumed it out. It came out of the crack in a fine powder and clots. Do not rely on this as an insulating product. If a contractor tries to sell you on it get another quote. Not an acceptable solution for filling gaps and cracks.
+3points
13out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant

Disintegrates when you touch it

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff says on the label "For exterior applications, foam must be painted with a quality latex paint after fully cured." Well, I just let this stuff cure for over 30 hours and tried to paint it... it disintegrates into a white powder with the lightest touch. I can't get any paint on it, it crumbles as soon as the paintbrush touches it - this stuff is completely useless, I'm going to have to scrape it away and start from scratch.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Daptex Plus 12 oz. Window and Door Foam Sealant
from Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"FAIL"

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My experience with this product wasn't very good.
I used it to fill a small gap between walls. The product did not set up and expand like it was supposed to. When I stuck my finger in the hole where I sprayed, the product was still wet and deflated. 24hrs later no luck... YUCK! This product might work well to fill little gaps where walls and pipes meet, but between walls was a "fail".
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>