728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

John Deere 42 in. tow-behind lawn sweeper collects leaves and grass clippings with It's powerful brushes for a clean sweep the first time through. It's 42 in. wide sweeping path and extra large hamper provides one pass performance. Compact storage either hanging or standing upright with a patented and exclusive self storing feature.
Overall rating:
4.149 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product138 of 163reviews
Rating Breakdown 175 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(49)
3
(12)
2
(8)
1
(13)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product138 of 163reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Review 41 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Arnols Mo
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

John Deere sweeper REALLY SWEEPS

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far this sweeper works well. Sweeps the lawn and driveway.
Assembly methods can use improvement but is not difficult. Storage is the big problem. The sweeper unit is huge and does not break down. Needs to be up against a wall or stored in a shed.
I like the sweeping action and the dump action from the tractor seat is fairly good, pull a rope and it tips up and dumps.
I like this sweeper.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A much better option than raking.

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed a longer rope to empty the sweeper, but overall it is perfect for the pinecones.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Covington, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

picked up everything that was not nailed down but owner should be told 3rd gear or higher to pick up.

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
built to last except plastic plugs used in some places instead of nuts and bolts to put carriage arms together.shocked how well and how much this thing holds-did my 1/4 acre back yard in no time emptied bucket twice-front 1/4 acre same.delivery was three days a dream for i dont like waiting0ooo-worth every penny and hats off to all the home depot people -when i had a problem with my order they fixed it -they listened and problem no more and i would get another one from home depot .no more rakin my yard'cept from the seat of my ridin lawnmower.thank you home depot 3 days i got the thing in 3 days wow /wow/wow !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Clayton, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Assembly wasn't a cake walk and I have a mystery part left over that wasn't on the diagram. The sweeper picks up leaves, rocks, small branches, some grass clippings. Keep an eye on the hopper and dump before it gets too full as it can hold a lot of material and can get heavy. HD sells this for less than anyone else and the free delivery was great as I don't own a truck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Good product, but came with damage which was fixed

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was not hard to assemble and worked fine out of the box. Saw some reviews complaining about its ability to pick up item, but seems fine to me. There was a bent bar out of the box, but Deere replaced it no questions asked. I am happy with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

excellert sweeper

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent service ,very easy to assemble with the instructions provided. since I am 87 years old this is a bit help in removing leaves.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

hard to put together...poorly written instructions

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
hard to put together...poorly written instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

ONLY WISH WE'D TRIED THIS YEARS AGO

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Towed the sweeper behind a Gator, and the pastures have never looked so manicured. It picks up leaves, small sticks, pine cones and miniature horse manure. Easy to dump too.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Sweeper ok, Mower dead

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased a John Deere ride-on mower from Home Depot about 3 years ago, and it was running fine, so as the leaves were to start falling this year I purchased the sweeper to add to the snow pusher. I received the sweeper and assembled it, attached it to the mower and began riding it the mower seemed slow, I had remembered during the previous use the top speed seemed slow. I rode about 200 ft stopped the mower to pick up a large branch. Got back on with the engine still running, took off the brake, pressed the gas pedal and the mower moved at about 1/2 mph, put it in reverse it moved a few feet, so I put it back into forward and it would not moved. Over the next 2 weeks I replaced parts based on the advice of John Deere with no success. The transmission was broken and it is not serviceable on the LA line of mowers I was told. It would cost more than $1,000 to replace plus $80 each way for transportation. So I junked it. The tow behind sweeper worked well and made a 200 ft clean line across my lawn.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Great piece of equipment

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well made, works well, it's shinny and green, nuff said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Goshen, CT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Good!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very simple with clear instructions on how to assemble, took a little bit of time but easy to get done. Having used it works real well picking up leaves (my primary use) & even easier to dump them out after the catcher gets filled. Glad I purchased it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Higgins Lake, Michigan 48653, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

John Deere 42in Tow Behind Sweeper

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was impressed with the quality of materials used to construct this sweeper. I did have an issue as the sweeper arrived damaged, but after some repair I was able to assemble it and use it the first time. After completion of I did notice that two of the fasterners to hold the side brackets together did lose their nylock nuts. But, overall a very good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Akron ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Hard to put together

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
hard to read the instruction need more pictures works
okay
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Quality item

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not hard to assemble. Works well. Would recommend to those that love John Deere.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

easy to use, difficult to back up

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A lot of parts so took it back to Home Depot to assemble, then made some adjustments for my tractor. Easy to attach to tractor, easy to discharge leaves while still sitting on tractor and towing is simple, but difficult to back in a straight path to unload. We have huge trees, lots of maples, hickory, oak, ash trees, so to avoid having to emply container every 2 minutes I mow the leaves at least twice a week and sweep at the same time. It's fun!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Comstock Park, MI

I recommend this one!

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only owned this a month, but I have used it at least six times to pick up leaves and it works great. I like the feature that it folds down for easy storage also. This one is only a couple dollars more than the cheap ones and parts are available (through John Deere) if something breaks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 hour assembly is accurate.
Package is horrible, but everything arrived regardless of the condition of the box.
The pull string is useless. I get off the tractor every time I dump them to rake them into a bigger pile.
Overall I would buy this again and it is 1000 time better than raking.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper

Disappointing

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased as a gift took hours to assemble then didn't pick up many leaves going to return it
Don't think this item was worth the time it took putting it together!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from Muscle Shoals, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The parts package was organized in a way that was great! The directions were a little confusing but in the end were fine.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product works well. It is well built and should last me many years. I will be glad when the leaves finally are gone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 42 in. 24 cu. ft. Tow-Behind Lawn Sweeper
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good lawn sweeper...but

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The instructions for assembly are a little confusing. For example, on the parts page the part numbers are marked with a part number that does not correspond with the instruction sheet! for example a part is listed as (K) 3/8 screw 1.5 inches on the parts page , but in the assemble instructions, it says to mount part (C) a 3/8 screw! Also all of the large support rods are not marked at all. Give yourself plenty of time to assemble this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>