728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base

ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base

Post and Column Bases secure the bottom of posts or columns to concrete and are perfect for decks or patio covers. Models are available for attaching to existing hardened concrete, wet concrete, as well as wood. The AB series also offers adjustability around the anchor bolt to achieve optimum post placement. And many models provide a 1 in. standoff from the concrete to help avoid post-end rot from moisture.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product38 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
Review 1 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Molalla, OR 97038, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

A great post anchor when you can't 'go to ground'!

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When you are trying to make a firm upright connection to a flat surface this is a great fix! It mounts to both surfaces securely and makes a stable post for your project.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Auburn, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed.

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used two of these to anchor the stair rail posts at the base of stairs to a new deck I built. I also have angle ties anchoring the stair stringers to the concrete pad on the other side. By tying the posts to the post base and the stringers it made everything very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Vermont
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not good for a fence

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I see a lot of people recommending this for decks, it's definitely not sturdy enough for a fence. Used the to put up a 4 ft fence and the fence moves quite a bit. The metal is not strong enough to support the post the same way that burying them into the concrete would.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Parlin, Sayreville, NJ 08859, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

necessary for post

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
could use a slot on one side to work a wrench on nut , this only necessary when you are replacing existing rotted out older post base.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Bath, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

They do the Job!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The adjustable post bases are a great product. They get the wood off the ground and are very durable. Though there is minimal adjustability, there is enough if you have set your bolts well from the beginning, you can get everything lines up straight at the end.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, High Quality
Cons: a bit pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base

Fit my need fine

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fit the newly cut 4 x 4 fine, reasonable price for what it does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Paramount CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Worked

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Even tho the posts have other anchoring and are treated, I used these to elevate them from standing in the water.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Las Cruces, NM
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works great

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used these post anchors for a pergola I was building on a back yard slab. Drilled 1/2" holes for Red Head wedge inserts, applied post anchors over them and tightened nut to hold in place. Everything worked as expected and posts were securely attached. No surpirises.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Furlong PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works well, but tough to install without the right tools

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
very sturdy! It is hard to tighten the lag bolt with out a deep set socket, but with the nails installed it is very sturdy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base

Strong fast way too put up deck railing.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this product for securing my 4×4 post too the deck .The design of the product made it quick and easy for me too get it tied in too the deck as well as the side walls of the product walls held it in place ,I was able plum i it up with the pre dilled holes with one hand and with out the help of some one else too hold it in place for me.This product Rocks!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Belmont, CA (San Francisco Peninsula)

Sensible & Easy to Use

PostedApril 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Meets Code for separation of post from concrete in a sensible, easy-to-use manner. Using common sense, it's quick and easy to install this correctly if you have the proper tools for fastening it to the concrete, particularly a hammer drill. It is well-built from heavy-duty galvanized steel and should last for several decades if properly installed. I've used these quite happily on several projects.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

I used these galvanized steel supports because I had used them before. They work great and termite proof!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like these supports for several reasons. First they are very easy to install. The second reason is, I installed them on a concrete base and it was easy to secure them to that base. This securing makes my project very sturdy. Lastly, they keep my wood posts off the ground. If I hadn't used these, my wood would soon rot and termites would soon attack that fresh wood.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Lots of Features, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight, they come in various sizes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product will help insure the integrity of this particular project

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
When I build or repair something the first thing that I require is functionally sound and aesthetically pleasing solutions. This particular bracket has both of these qualities and therefore passed the quality control test. Combined with the pressure treated lumber and deck screws this project is aesthetically pleasing and functionally sound. Our soon to be 15y old dog "Sandy" appreciates this ramp everyday.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight, weather resistant, Durable
Cons: too expensive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Best way to anchor posts to concrete

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set in the correct position and anchor wooden post
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from North Berwick, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

i was pleased with the product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased with the product, the only problem is that is a very tight fit with using pressure treated lumber. the lumber is bigger then the bracket
Pros: Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Hays, KS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent post base

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High quality, durable, easy to use. Used on j-bolts set in concrete columns so that we could affix the beamers to begin framing our front porch. I liked how easy it was to make alignment adjustments with this product. High quality and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worked well for my needs

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
A good option to attach 4x4 posts into concrete etc.
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good Product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
intelligent design, fair price, great Home Depot service. recommend.
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Smyrna, delaware
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
TThe pole base worked out great. Easy to use even for the beginner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ABA 4x4 ZMAX Galvanized Adjustable Post Base
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

worked great for my 4x4 posts!!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great for my 4x4 posts! Installed four posts.
Pros: Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>